Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Real Madrid pre season in Ireland! [Merged]

• 11-06-2009 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0611/realmadrid1.html
    might be playing shamrock rovers?!!
    Will they have the second stand finished by then?
    What will the ticketing be like for the game if it is on in tallaght? all rovers fans?? Will other LOI clubs get a share or general public get to buy them would anyone think? dont think id like the sky tv watchers taking all the tickets:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭Trampas

Real set for pre-season training in Ireland

Thursday, 11 June 2009 10:15
    Spanish giants Real Madrid will spend some of their pre-season training in Ireland with new coach Manuel Pellegrini set to take his side to Kildare's Carton House for ten days next month.

The move follows the appointment of Irish sports management company Platinum One by Real Madrid as its Official Pre-Season Partner for its 2009/2010 pre-season training programme.

A press release issued by Platinum One this morning confirmed: 'Discussions between the two parties began in November when officials from Real Madrid CF visited Scotland and Ireland with PLATINUM ONE.

'Within the past few weeks negotiations for the ten-day visit of the world's biggest football club were concluded in Madrid.

'The pre-season programme, which will involve the full senior squad under new first team coach Manuel Pellegrini, will take place at Carton House, Maynooth, Co Kildare from 13 to 22 July.'

Platinum One also confirmed that Real will play one match in Ireland as part of the training programme, details of which will be announced next week.

However, it is rumoured that Shamrock Rovers will host Kaka, Robben, Raul, and the host of other Real stars at the Tallaght Stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Aye, heard yer man Graham Hunter on Newstalk this morning going on about it.
    Ramos was supposedly to have recommended it before he got the boot, to go to a more temperate climate for pre-season training.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Rovers are in the middle of securing this preseason friendly and temporarily expanding the capacity to 10,000 to accomodate such a big game. Would be a major coup for the team and the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

stick it in croker sure:p

Reported that temporary seating to bring the capacity to 10,000 for the match. NO word yet on allocation i presume it will be fans and generall ticket sales with no allocation to any of the other teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

adamski8 wrote: »
    might be playing shamrock rovers?!!
    Will they have the second stand finished by then?
    What will the ticketing be like for the game if it is on in tallaght? all rovers fans?? Will other LOI clubs get a share or general public get to buy them would anyone think? dont think id like the sky tv watchers taking all the tickets:p

Well if it is in tallaght and they play rovers it would make sense to offer tickets to Rovers fans they might sell them during a game, bonus round getting extra people in for one match just to get tickets for the real game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Times must be tough for them if they are needing to come here :)

Also talk of Barcelona over. They are certainly playing Glentoran and rumours of Dundalk. However, I have since heard that this will be a Barca side maanged by Luis Enrique and will not have many first etam squad players there.

Has there ever been as much Real Madrid talk on this forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Afaik it has nothing to do with Rovers or Madrid except they're playing in the match, supposely it's Platinum One (the same crowd behind the AIL) and they're renting the Tallaght Stadium, installing temp seats, etc... and just paying Rovers and Madrid a playing fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

OMIGOD WRE IS DIS SHAMROCK ROVERS? WRE CAN i GET A TICKET OMIGOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

stovelid wrote: »
    OMIGOD WRE IS DIS SHAMROCK ROVERS? WRE CAN i GET A TICKET OMIGOD.
    I cant find them on the sky epg wtf lol

I find the suggestion of rovers playing in croke park most amusing btw, most amusing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

so doubtful that roooonaldo will appear for any game.

Huge publicity expected for the "training camp" ..... what are they thinking....seriously , Irelands expecting a great summer - they'll be a perfect training camp away from all the media.:rolleyes:

Who cares if there even is a friendly?

The media are full of publicity gold and even the Galatico-lovers are doing our bidding ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Fair play to rovers if they get a game out of this, knowing P1 thats all they will get and tbh they shouldnt expect anymore.

Its a financial venture for P1 and they will make money, shame that rvoers fans may get priced out of going.

P1 did the ryder cup, chicago trophy, barcas freindlies and are very good are making events hit all the national media. win win for rovers tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Cool, im going to throw eggs at them

CiaranC wrote: »
    I cant find them on the sky epg wtf lol

I find the suggestion of rovers playing in croke park most amusing btw, most amusing

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Fair play to rovers if they get a game out of this, knowing P1 thats all they will get and tbh they shouldnt expect anymore.

Friendly smiendly.

The (more important) game on Saturday is not a rumour.

The publicity is very welcome though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

CHD wrote: »
    Cool, im going to throw eggs at them

Real or Rovers? :D

Sully wrote: »
    Ronaldo.

Sully wrote: »
    Irish Chelsea fan goes to see Rovers, at home, vs Real Madrid, Pat Flynn marks Cristiano Ronaldo

Universe collapses due to improbability overload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Irish Chelsea fan goes to see Rovers, at home, vs Real Madrid, Pat Flynn marks Cristiano Ronaldo

meh our groundsboy threw chips at paul Robinson for warming up in the goal.

Beat that :(:D

Pat Flynn marks Cristiano Ronaldo

Marks is right. Bit red ones down his calf. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

So is this a Real Madrid XI or proper team. If they are like english teams in friendlies, a XI will comprise of exactly zero players you will have heard of.

Wouldnt be going to see that excuse for a football team take on Madrid. Pointless.

dooferoaks wrote: »
    So is this a Real Madrid XI or proper team. If they are like english teams in friendlies, a XI will comprise of exactly zero players you will have heard of.

Reports say that it a proper time however that could just be as a way to attract support do would take that with a pinch of salt

CHD wrote: »
    Wouldnt be going to see that excuse for a football team take on Madrid. Pointless.
    You should come, bring your mates

CFC_LOYAL_FLAG_SM.JPG

You should come, bring your mates

CFC_LOYAL_FLAG_SM.JPG
    Ah, the English Chelsea fans, don't know them.

LOL at you and your rawr rawr Irish football, yous then moan and bitch about Irish football. Such a confused idiotic bunch tbh. Yous need to get rid of the bitterness as much as the FAI need rid of Delaney. I also support a LoI club and go watch there games the odd time these days, used to have a season ticket, unfortunately it's Bray and i don't go much anymore. There is good reasons! its ****E for one.

So keep your lol at you English people support the same team you do OMG look at ya ya SkySports subscriber and keep your pathetic rabble to your LoI threads where SectionF can do his whole RFRF aren't we so great crap.

kthnxbai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,355 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Look more Irish (the NI variety) Chelsea fans to me

So?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

What a delightful looking bunch. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I cant stop laughing at OMIGOD

fuppin hilarious stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

dooferoaks wrote: »

Real are contracted to play the strongest available side - which means all fit players who aren't involved in the Confederations Cup.

Game to be televised in Spain and beyond which is where P1 make their money.

They are in Carton House for a week and training will be open to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

There was a rumour that Real would play Limerick FC at Thomond Park in a pre-season friendly to commerorate their meeting in the old UEFA Cup in 1980 at Market Fields, which Real won 1-0.

That seems to have fallen by the wayside though..... :mad::mad::mad:

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/796-friendly-matches-in-july

Buy a half-season ticket and you can go and throw your knickers at Princess Ronaldo.

Sounds like a good deal for all involved. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Shams get Real Madrid , We get Barcelona :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

Sarge wrote: »
    Shams get Real Madrid , We get Barcelona :-)

Any source for this sarge?

Its Barcelona Atlètic (formerly Barcelona B) who are coming to Bohs and Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Off topic crap deleted. Keep your views on a particular place to yourself and discuss the football.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

There was a rumour that Real would play Limerick FC at Thomond Park in a pre-season friendly to commerorate their meeting in the old UEFA Cup in 1980 at Market Fields, which Real won 1-0.

That seems to have fallen by the wayside though..... :mad::mad::mad:

Seems to have, alright. The Limerick Leader reported in February that talks were at an advanced stage about Real coming to Limerick this summer:

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Real-Madrid-all-set-to.4999766.jp

I think Limerick were depending on a high-profile friendly fixture to boost their revenue for this season. The Irish Times reported last Friday that they are in serious financial difficulty.