Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"If I'm not out there training, someone else is."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

ecoli wrote: »
    Been a very hectic few days since I got back. Will do a full update tomorrow when I get all the info off the Garmin but give a brief summary

Week 1: 90 miles

Session 1 6x800m on roads
    (2.35, 2.29, 2.23, 2.27, 2.29, 2.27)

Session 2 3 mile tempo
    (5.59, 5.42, 5.46)

Week 2 93 miles

Session 1 2x4k tempo, 4x200m
    (13.53, 13.56) (27, 28, 28, 28)

Session 2 1 mile, 1200m, 1000m, 800m, 400m
    (5.10, 3.56, 3.11, 2.30, 64)

Session 3 4 x (5x400m)
    (Average 71, quickest 67, slowest 73)

All in all a very good two weeks training more to follow

Thats some crazy fast sessions ya done in Spain! Id deffo be well happy with those splits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Day|Training|Distance|Pace|Time
    Sunday|Easy Run|8.51 miles|7.14 mile pace|1.01.29

Week Total 65.96 miles (7/7 days)
    MTD 43.78 miles (7/7 days)
    YTD 587.72 miles (56/64 days)

Monday AM|Steady Run|5.96 miles|6.28mile pace|38.34
    Monday PM|Session|9 miles||

Session: 3 miles warm up, 6x800m w/2.30 recovery, 3 miles cooldown
    Splits: 2.35, 2.29, 2.23, 2.27, 2.29, 2.29

The track was slightly further away from accomodation than originally thought so ended up doing this on a flat straight cycle path. First one was a little slow due to getting into the pace. on the third one half way through I passed by two local kids who proceeded to race me and being in good spirits put in a little extra spurt to stick with them for a bit and then brush past hence the stupidly fast split. Surprisingly held it well and was delighted with the session

Tuesday AM|Easy Run|6 miles|7.02 mile pace|42.08
    Tuesday PM|Easy Run|8.88 miles|7.01 mile pace|1.02.17

Wednesday AM|Easy Run|5.94 miles|6.45 mile pace|40.05
    Wednesday PM|Easy Run|8.15 miles|6.59 mile pace|56.02

Thursday AM|Easy Run|6.19 miles|6.42 mile pace|41.28
    Thursday PM|Tempo|9 miles||

Session:3 miles easy, 3 miles tempo, 3 miles easy
    Splits: 17.24 (5.59, 5.40, 5.45)

On the roads again so not in the mood for this especially with the first mile being on a bigger drag than I thought but after this got into my running

Friday AM|Easy Run|7.97 miles|7.02 mile pace|56.00
    Friday PM|Easy Run|9.37 miles|7.02 mile pace|1.05.57

Saturday |Easy Run|4.33 miles|7.22 mile pace|31.54

Sunday |Easy Run|13 miles|7.15 mile pace|1.33.15

All in all while I did get in decent enough training this was more a holiday with a fair bit of drinking and ending up in the pub most nights atleast having a couple before heading too bed. Thankfully though with no work I could lie in which meant that there was very rare times when hang overs impeded on training

Week Total 93.79 miles (7/7 days)
    MTD 137.57 miles (14/14 days)
    YTD 681.51 miles (63/71 days)

This week was a big contrast to last. Last week it was me and the best mate who is only getting back to fitness after very long time laid up with injuries. This week there was a smaller group than usual for this trip but loads of talent, amongst which there was All Ireland Indoor mens champion, 3 other sub 1.55 800m runners, a 4.15 1500m runner, a sub 16 5k guy and a mid 33 10k guy, not to mention some very strong XC women (Irish team standard) so it was a good bit more serious.

Monday AM|Easy Run|8.37 miles|7.03 mile pace|58.54
    Monday PM|Easy Run|6.89 miles|7.12 mile pace|50.24

Tuesday AM|Easy Run|6.20 miles|7.35 mile pace|46.59
    Tuesday PM| Track Session|9 miles||
    Tuesday PM|Weight Session|||

Session 3 miles warm up, 2x4km AT w/ 3.30 recovery, 5 min rec, 4x200m w/3.30 rec

Spilts: 13.54 (3.30, 3.26, 3.28, 3.29)
    13.57 (3.33, 3.26, 3.30, 3.27)
    200ms: 27.8, 28.1, 28.7, 28.6 (handtimed)

This session was supposed to be 5ks but given the traffic on the track and mostly people alot better than me (there was a french group doing 2k reps between 5.50 and 6 min:eek:) I cut this short. Happy enough with the consistency especially being shoved out into lane 2 coming around a few bends and finished strong. Did a similar session last year over here and ran about 20 sec per rep slower coupled with fact that I felt I was running within myself here. Then came the 200s which by the end I was ready to throw up but needed to keep in touch with speed. Give me tempo work anyday:D

Wednesday AM|Easy Run|4.11 miles|8.14 mile pace|33.50
    Wednesday PM|Easy Run|9.5 miles|6.48 mile pace|1.04.32
    Tuesday PM|Core Session|||

Thursday AM|Session|8.12 miles||
    Thursday PM|Easy Run|5 miles|7.48 mile pace|38.59
    Thursday PM|Weight Session|||

Session: 2 mile warm up, 1 mile jog bends/stride straights, 1 mile, 1200m, 1000m, 800m, 400m, 200m*w/ 2 min rec

Spilts: 5.10, 3.56, 3.11, 2.30, 64

Did this session with the group. First rep the lads had planned to go out in 75s for a 5 min mile so I immediately tucked in behind them. Unfortunately they were in better shape than they thought as I went through in 72 behind them at this stage eased off a bit and was in no mans land and slowed to 5.10. The 1200 I was suffering a bit from last rep but dug in for a 3.56. The 1000m was not too bad as the other lads behind me were starting to get into there running and one lad tore off so I pushed to stay with him finishing strong. It was on this rep felt a small little hamstring tightness but nothing major.
    The 800 and I was running strong still dispite the discomfort. Pushed on in the 400m for a solid 64 which I was happy given how late in session it was. Started the 200 and I was going for it. The only problem with this was my body didnt agree and I got to about 40m before the Hammy cramped up big time but thankfully I stopped before it had a chance to cramp so bad I was gonna do damage

Friday AM|East Run|5.89 miles|7.30 mile pace| 44.07
    Friday PM|Easy Run|10.04 miles|7.03 mile pace|1.10.44
    Friday PM|Core Session|||

Saturday AM|Session|12 miles||

Session: 3 mile warm up, 4x (5x400m) 400 jog between sets, 45 sec between reps, 3 mile cooldown

Spilts: (70, 69, 70, 69, 71)
    (70, 71, 71, 71, 71)
    (71, 69, 71, 70, 72)
    (73, 67, 70, 70, 69)

By far one of the hardest sessions I have done in a while. Wasn't sure how this one would go as the Hamstring was still a bit tight but thankfully the fact that this was not all out speed meant that the leg held up. After the first two sets I was considering shortening the session but thankfully one of the lads decided to hop in the 3rd set which was a big mental help. Was delighted with the consistency

Sunday AM|Session|5.42 miles|7.08 mile pace|38.38

Post Paddy's day run just to cleanse the system. No drink all week and all the heavy training meant that yesterday was about having a bit of fun and blowing off some steam

Week Total 90.54 miles (7/7 days)
    MTD 228.11miles (14/14 days)
    YTD 772.05.51 miles (70/78 days)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Some great sessions there ecoli - you will surely reap the benefits later in the year, what's next for you?

dna_leri wrote: »
    Some great sessions there ecoli - you will surely reap the benefits later in the year, what's next for you?

4 miler this weekend. still have to update the last two weeks though here and last week was a catastrophic disaster to say the least but hopefully should still have a good run out. Ran 21.48 last year so will be hoping sub 21.30 atleast

Since the warm weather training my running has been a disaster to say the least. I could use catching up with work or other factors as excuses but they are just that the fact is I should have done more so but here goes

Week 1
    Saturday (Yes 5 days off!)|Steady Run|4.52 miles|6.38 mile pace|30.00

Week 2

Monday|Easy Run|4.46 miles|6.44 mile pace|30.00

Tuesday|Easy Run|6 miles|6.44 mile pace|40.26

Wednesday AM|Easy Run|7.8 miles|6.58 mile pace|54.18
    Wednesday PM|Easy Run|6 miles|6.52 mile pace|52.09

THursday|OFF|||

Friday|Recovery Run + Strides|4 miles|8.01 mile pace|32.05

Saturday|Race|8 mile||

Sunday|Easy Run|12.69 miles|7.09 mile pace|1.30.45

Just a handy one with theRoadRunner this morning nice and handy.

Week Total 50.55 miles (6/7 days)
    MTD 283.18miles (24/31 days)
    YTD 827.12 miles (76/91 days)

4 hours sleep due to drunken taxi service for the family meant that I was fairly exhausted for this one. Coupled with the 2 weeks of poor training meant that this was gonna be a struggle to say the least.
    The idea was that hopefully a bad race here would give me a good kick up the backside needed to get back on track with training.

Got out to Raheny with plenty of time turned on the watch to see BATTERY LOW, perfect the day just kept getting better and better so decided to just race it and not worry bout time.

For the warm up just did a loop of the course as a) I knew the distance and b) near enough to start at all times as didnt have a watch to keep an eye on the time. Was fairly cold but by the time we got to the race it had turned into a great day.

Gun went and I went off comfortable enough the 1st 2 tore off then there was 2 more groups forming behind. I was kinda in the middle of these feeling relaxed enough. When things settled down I ended up in the 3rd group which was fine as I was not making same mistake of going off too hard as I did in this race last year.

Came by the mile marker hearing the splits being called out "5.03-5.04" wtf I didnt think the pace was that hot still I was sticking with the pack and even pushing on a bit trying to track down the group up ahead.

Was on for a huge PB but the bubble was burst when I got to mile marker 2 and here "10.40" called out. Talking to 7 people after who faced a similar scenario so think there was probably some sort of misdirection about where the mile markers were. Still was on for a PB and was feeling pretty good so I was happy enough.

The next mile marker hit in 16.14 slightly slower than in Raheny 5 miler but still well on for PB. I was also catching lad ahead of me however this didnt last long as I began to hurt on the last mile (Think this is when the lack of sleep kicked at this point) finished okay but by no means my usual strong kick finish.

As I came to the line there was a crowd of supporters blocking the camera so I had no idea of what time I was on for. As I got closer i see the 21. which is a good sign then a 3 and begin to worry its gonna be close and by the time I get to the line its............

21.40 (8 sec PB)

If you would have told me this 2 weeks ago I would have been gutted as I know I am in low 21 shape but given the last two weeks suppose I am lucky to come away with a PB at all. Definitely back on the horse now though

Spilts (by time keepers not watch)

Monday AM|Easy Run|4 miles|7.09 mile pace|28.53
    Monday PM|Easy Run|9.32 miles|6.51 mile pace|1.03.53

Back to the grind proper this week after what was a very mixed March will look to improve on that this month and hopefully get a perfect month and being a busy month race wise hopefully a few PBs.
    Met up with one of the lads this morning for an earlier than normal early run but suited and meant could get both my runs out of the way by 3pm and have the evening to myself

WTD 13.32 miles (1/1 days)
    MTD 26.01miles (2/2 days)
    YTD 840.44 miles (77/92 days)

Tuesday|Session| 10.12miles||

Session:
    3.12 miles easy, drills, 1 mile jog bends/stride straights
    4x1k @ 3k pace w/ 3 min recovery (walk/jog 200m rec)
    3.12 miles easy

Splits: 3.11, 3.09, 3.12, 3.19

Strong wind out today. The plan was five but I pulled the plug after 4. Vo2 max type session have been one of the missing elements to my training the last few years. I have always seems to opt for short sharper 1500 paced type work or long endurance stuff for 10ks but the sustained efforts is the missing piece of the puzzle at the moment and will be one of the focuses of my training over next few months as I look to drop the 1500/5k times

WTD 23.44 miles (2/2 days)
    MTD 36.13 miles (3/3 days)
    YTD 850.56 miles (78/93 days)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What races are you targeting this month?

Good question. Work constraints this month mean that I am basically a slave to what days I can get off (can't really request off as per usual ATM) but list of possible targets

April 11th UCD/TCD Colours (3k)
    Apr 21st BHAA K Club 10k
    OR (Depending on Work)
    Apr 22nd Road Relays
    Apr 25th Graded 800m

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

What are you working at chief that limits you?

snack_ie wrote: »
    What are you working at chief that limits you?

Its shift work where we are at our busiest at the weekends (Sport related) so they are the hardest time to get time off. Just at the moment I have a few future requests pending (Holidays + pacing gigs) so makes this month little harder especially after just coming back off 2 and half weeks warm weather training/ holiday

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Is your training going to change a lot, now that track season is starting? Shorter runs, more track sessions, that kind of thing?

RayCun wrote: »
    Is your training going to change a lot, now that track season is starting? Shorter runs, more track sessions, that kind of thing?

Runs will stay roughly the same. I have been building up my 1500m sessions over the last few months so they will not change to much prob more reps per sets but maintain volume of sessions.

Other than this will aim to do a bit more Vo2 max work (1k-1 mile @ 3k/5k paces) and throw in some 800 sessions for quality

Wednesday|Easy Run|6.12 miles|6.44|41.05

Thursday|Hill Session| 7.28 miles||

Session2.19 miles warm up, 10 x .15 mile hills, 2.17 miles cooldown

Splits 46 (slightly short), 52, 55, 55, 54, 55, 56, 55, 55, 54

Over to Chapelizod for this one to meet up with Dr Quirky. Was the first time that I have done hills in a while so I didnt know how the body would feel. All in all though turned out to be a grand session and remained consistent and was working well. A solid hill and nice alternative to my usual hill in bournabreena

WTD 36.84 miles (4/4 days)
    MTD 49.53 miles (5/5 days)
    YTD 863.96 miles (80/95 days)

Friday|Easy Run|4 miles|6.51 pace|27.23

Saturday|Session| 10 miles|6.40 pace|66.40

Session 2 miles easy, 1 mile hard, 1 mile easy, 2 miles tempo, 1 mile easy, 1 mile hard 2 miles easy

Splits HARD: 5.24, 5.28 TEMPO: 5.42, 5.42

I was supposed to do a different session but didn't have a chance to get down to the track so I had to improvise. Decided on what was supposed to be a comfortable enough session but never felt good in it. To be honest the training has not been going well since I got back from Portugal and today was no different

Sunday|OFF|||

Monday|Easy Run|6.07 miles|6.52 pace|41.41

Tuesday|Vo2 session|10.87 miles||

Session: 3.12 miles easy, drills, 1 mile jog bends/stride straights
    5x1k @ 3k pace off 3 min rec (200m jog followed by 2 min walk)
    3.12 miles easy

Splits 3.09, 3.07, 3.04, 3.05, 3.06

This was an attempt at the session I did last week which was a bit of an epic failure. Where as everything went wrong last week this week just seemed to click into place. I dunno whether it was so soon after the 4 miler, first session in nearly two weeks, the wind, or the fact that it was morning when I attempted last weeks session but just didnt seem to work. Went into this one feeling as terrible as I have for the last two weeks, nothing physical just struggling with training and feeling blah.
    Said I would take the first one easy and try to build into hitting roughly 3.12-3.15. Was nice and relaxed yet shocked to see it was the same as split last week and started to get worried might blow up again.jogged the 200 and surprisingly felt I could have went after 90 secs but knew to stick to the set recoveries as it was important for getting this session right.
    Second one came through quicker and then again on the third. I was feeling great. Breathing was going 90 but on this type of sessions its what you are supposed to be working on especially as this is a weak enough area for me (fast sustained efforts). Times leveled off and by the last one the legs were heavy enough but thankfully finished strong and first one was by far slowest compared to that being fastest last week.
    This was the first run/session I have been happy with including the 4 miler race since I got back from Portugal and hopefully it will revive my training efforts and give me the kick up the back side I badly need. It was getting so bad I was looking to the autumn and building up training again and kinda writing off the summer race season

The difference a week makes I suppose;)

WednesdayAM|Easy Run|10.10 miles|7.08|1.12.05

Down to Corkagh park this morning to meet up with Roadrunner for an easy ten. Was nice and relaxed thankfully as the legs were still heavy from the session last night. All in all flew by and was great to have the company on beautiful morning

WTD 27.04 miles (3/3 days)
    MTD 90.57 miles (10/11 days)
    YTD 905 miles (85/101 days)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

You could tell you were going well last night, you looked very smooth out there.

Woddle wrote: »
    You could tell you were going well last night, you looked very smooth out there.

Yea like I said one of those nights where even though I wasn't feeling great going into it everything clicked into place.

Well done on your session today after the Half it will take a few weeks to get the body adapting to the quicker paces especially off the shorter recoveries. You have the strength now time to just fine tune the speed for the track and you will see the times fall into place

Wednesday PM|Easy Run|4 miles|7.16 mile pace|29.04

Thursday AM|Steady Run|4.2 miles|6.31 mile pace|27.23

WTD 35.24 miles (4/4 days)
    MTD 98.77 miles (11/12 days)
    YTD 913.2 miles (86/102 days)

Thursday PM|Session|4.5 miles||

Session: 3.12 miles easy, 1 mile jog bends/stride straights
    4x500m, 4x400m, 4x300m (1 min between reps/jog 400 between sets)

Splits: 33*

Had felt a bit of a weakness in the Hamstring since Wednesday. This was the same hamstring that cramped up in Portugal and one that had a niggle with this time last year. It was sore on morning run but figured I would massage and stretch it out in afternoon and be grand.
    Warming up for the session and the strides was still a bit sore but manageable. Figured it would be like Portugal where I would feel it on the session but not get any worse. Came through the 200m mark comfortable enough in 33-34 and got to the 250 and next thing the hammy felt like it was a violin string being plucked.
    My first reaction was that it snapped but thankfully I knew I was not in that much pain so was only a twinge. In the end hobbled up to the gym stretched it and iced it and did a upper body gym session so that the evening wasn't a complete waste.
    Will pop down to Vinny when he is back in the country next week and get it sorted but I think in the mean time just gotta take things very light and when heals up a bit will look to strengthening the hammy and the hip as I can feel that is where it is stemming from.
    I am fairly calm about it though as exact same thing happened last year and was easily recitfied but now just a case of building up the body in the mean time and keep myself ticking over

WTD 39.74 miles (4/4 days)
    MTD 103.27 miles (11/12 days)
    YTD 917.7 miles (86/102 days)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Thursday PM|Session|4.5 miles||

Session: 3.12 miles easy, 1 mile jog bends/stride straights
    4x500m, 4x400m, 4x300m (1 min between reps/jog 400 between sets)

Splits: 33*

Had felt a bit of a weakness in the Hamstring since Wednesday. This was the same hamstring that cramped up in Portugal and one that had a niggle with this time last year. It was sore on morning run but figured I would massage and stretch it out in afternoon and be grand.
    Warming up for the session and the strides was still a bit sore but manageable. Figured it would be like Portugal where I would feel it on the session but not get any worse. Came through the 200m mark comfortable enough in 33-34 and got to the 250 and next thing the hammy felt like it was a violin string being plucked.
    My first reaction was that it snapped but thankfully I knew I was not in that much pain so was only a twinge. In the end hobbled up to the gym stretched it and iced it and did a upper body gym session so that the evening wasn't a complete waste.
    Will pop down to Vinny when he is back in the country next week and get it sorted but I think in the mean time just gotta take things very light and when heals up a bit will look to strengthening the hammy and the hip as I can feel that is where it is stemming from.
    I am fairly calm about it though as exact same thing happened last year and was easily recitfied but now just a case of building up the body in the mean time and keep myself ticking over

WTD 39.74 miles (4/4 days)
    MTD 103.27 miles (11/12 days)
    YTD 917.7 miles (86/102 days)
    Sorry to hear that hops its not to bad. Though you were going over to watch this weekend?

shels4ever wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that hops its not to bad. Though you were going over to watch this weekend?

The intention was to but work commitments meant the trip over the to cheer him on was not on the cards unfortunately

Friday |Rehab work|||

Thankfully the leg was a bit better today. Lots of stretching/massaging and strengthening work. Rather than just sit around waiting for an injury to heal for once i am doing the right thing by actively working on rehabilitation with stretching and loosening out the Hamstring. I know it is stemming fromm tight hip and glutes so I have paid particular attention to these

Saturday |Rehab work|||

Leg improved a good bit again today. Laced up the shoes and out the door. 200m later I played it safe and stopped hamstring still not good to run on so I wasn't gonna push it. Back for more stretching and massaging and will do a bit of strengthening later (via core work) tomorrow If i can't run gonna hit the gym for some cross training just to keep ticking over. Seems that when I was health I got lazy then when the motivation came back the injury set in, talk about it being one thing or another:rolleyes:

WTD 39.74 miles (4/6 days)
    MTD 103.27 miles (11/14 days)
    YTD 917.7 miles (86/104 days)

Sunday |Strength work|||

Lots of core and stretching the leg improving slowly

WTD 39.74 miles (4/7 days)

Monday |Weight session plus strength work|2 miles||

On To Vinny today and down to see him on Thursday so left to my own devices till then. Down to the track did 4 laps recovery around the track (Thankfully leg held up) the heavy weight session and also some strength work for the glutes and hammy Finished off with 15 min rowing followed by another mile on the track. Positive step with actually being back on my feet

Monday |Easy run|2.2 miles|7.20 mile pace|16.02

Back out on the roads here kept it handy as the hamstring is still could feel it and any faster and probably would have went again still step in the right

WTD 4.2 miles (2/2 days)
    MTD 107.47 miles (13/17 days)
    YTD 921.9 miles (88/107 days)

Right so been lazy with this simply because I have been without a car the last while and was doing alot of easy running too and from work with no watch so didnt . Enough to keep ticking over but nothing too drastic as was a suspected Hamstring strain so just ran at a pace which didnt aggravate the hammer. Also lots of walking (1-2 hour walks)

Come Friday though I needed to make sure I was fit enough to pace Limerick on the Sunday so I headed out with theRoadRunner

Friday |Easy Run|10.10 miles|7.15 mile pace|1.13.14

Nothing too major and felt generally grand with the pace so no problems thank god

Sunday|Steadyish Run|13.25 miles|6.49 mile pace|1.30.18

Working late Saturday off Sunday and early monday meant that pacing the Limerick Half was gonna be a day trip so left the house at six to get down to get the bus. Got down early enough to get in breakfast and met up with few the other pacers (which was handy as meno picked up my race pack)

Was pacing the 1.30 on my own which I didnt mind to much so race kicked off and away I went. Heard the beep of the first mile in 6.46 a little quick but nothing too major, was more worried as the mile marker was still a good bit away so I knew was off and made the group who had slotted in around me aware of this as we crossed the HM marker outside the 7 min mark and didnt want people getting spooked. Come second mile and again came through it nicely in 6.50 which was grand considering I was still bit under pace to compensate for the race line I figured was pretty much bang on pace. Again by time I got to HM mile marker we were bit outside 14 so I was losing faith in the mile markers.

Third was not much better and it was at this stage I knew I was going to have to rely on the watch and just make sure to compensate for the race line (at this stage was averaging 6.48 so I was 4 sec per mile under pace enough to make up for the race line)

As the miles went on the average was down around 6.46, 6.47 so i was starting to question whether this was too much and whether or not I was going too fast and gonna make the lads pay for it in the latter parts of the race. Thinking about the pace I was gonna be nearly min and a half ahead of target pace and even with race line that was still around the 1.29 mark which probably a bit hot especially as I looked and there were the odd one dropping off the back of the group (though surprisingly my biggest ever group for 1.30 pacing)

I made a judgement call and eased up the pace slightly especially around the hills to try let the guys tag back on to the group. Even with the pace drop I was still good bit ahead on the watch and at 5 miles ( was bang on pace at the mile marker (which I still figured was off)

The hills were starting to take there toll on the group and they began to drop one at a time. Some roars of encouragement and trying to get the few pockets of spectators going and seemed to help a few. All along me thinking they were well on course to hit the target.

The last few miles and the group was down to three one guy slipped off the back but I was not about to let him die off. I shouted and badgered him to dig in and he reacted well to it. Looking at the pace on the watch I was averaging 6.49 roughly 40 sec cushion to adjust for race line meaning I figured I was spot in and should come in roughly 10-15 secs under which would have been perfect. I started to edge the guys on to push forward and in fairness they were pushing on. Hit the 13 mile mark (off the watch) and still no sign of the finish and I was starting to get worried. The lads were ahead of me and I started winding it up a little as there was no one with me and thought me looming behind them would inspire them to dig in as was shouting and roaring.

As I came around the corner into the home straight saw the Marathon clock overhead but desperately looked for the half one. It was only as I came closer to the finish line do I see it down to the right hand side crowd blocking so only get the 01: get a little closer to see to my dismay 01:30.

I was disgusted with myself how could I have got it wrong and crossed the line in 1.30.18. The only consolation was that the lads were ahead of me so hopefully it was enough.

All in all I was furious with myself for missing the target was an error of my judgement not one to me made again anytime soon. Just trying to get my hands on the full results to see whether the lads got under in the end (bit of a joke full list of results still not available on site)

Mile Splits

Monday|Easy Run|6.7miles|7.26 mile pace|49.50

Nice easy run into work

Tuesday|Track Session|13 miles||

3.12 miles warm up, 1 mile Jog bends/Stride Straights, Drills
    24x200m off 65-70 sec rec
    3.12 miles cooldown

Splits:
    33, 35, 33, 34, 34, 33, 34, 34, 34, 33, 33, 34,
    33, 33, 33, 32, 33, 33, 33, 33, 32, 34, 32, 33

First session in a few weeks so I didnt know how it would go. Rather than high intensity I said I would keep it handy and get the volume high instead, recovery involved jogging 200m in double the rep time. Happy enough with these as the target was sub 35 consistently which I managed. At various points people hopped in on reps or I would coincide with some of the younger runners doing 200s/400s at similar pace so would latch on back or target them. All in all happy with this session as you are getting basically 40 min of constant running with pace changes from 1500m pace. Hopefully now the Hamstring problems are fully behind me though I do need to address my stretching a good bit as flexibility at moment is poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

I was disgusted with myself how could I have got it wrong and crossed the line in 1.30.18. The only consolation was that the lads were ahead of me so hopefully it was enough.

All in all I was furious with myself for missing the target was an error of my judgement not one to me made again anytime soon. Just trying to get my hands on the full results to see whether the lads got under in the end (bit of a joke full list of results still not available on site)

Mile Splits

Nothing at all wrong with those splits, or the way you were pacing; both were textbook in those circumstances. Don't start being annoyed at yourself or your pacing abilities (ditto the other Limerick pacers). Fault lies with inaccurate mile markers and its anyone's guess as to 13.1 measurement being correct. There's only so much pacers can compensate for, and this mickey mouse event doesn't deserve a quality pacer like yourself. It's a shame for all the runners looking to hit a time with the pacer, but its a reflection on the organizers rather than your pacing abilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

What specific time and race targets have you got in mind for the track season? I take it you will be looking at 1500, 3000 and 5000?

04072511 wrote: »
    What specific time and race targets have you got in mind for the track season? I take it you will be looking at 1500, 3000 and 5000?

Regarding the last few months I have been working on my speed a bit more in order to bring me to a new level in the longer distances. I feel this has gone well minus the last few weeks but still feel it has helped. Ideally I would like to show this in PBs in the 1500/3000 so I would like to run sub 4.20/9.20 by the end of the summer but we will see how it goes.

In terms of races though I went through my summer race calendar and looks like I will have a fairly hectic race schedule with no less than 10 races over the next 3and 1/2 months which will include 1500m, 3000m,3000m S/C, 5k, and 10k

I am starting this with a 1500m next week but tbh given only back on sessions this week dunno how this will go and just hoping to use it as a rust buster