Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

look what someone put on wikipedia

• 14-06-2009 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭

look what someone put on wikipedia

Spicer

Spicer is a subculture that is based only in Dublin, Belfast, Newry and other parts in Ireland. It first came to prominence in the summer of 2007 through social networking site Bebo, where a few young boys that were known for their style set up a site and started the trend. The style included an Irish revival of a mullet, straightened and spiked on top using hair products; combat jeans tucked into socks, Converse runners or Keds, and bright tops, and hoodies, usually from high street shops such as Topman and River Island. The style became very popular, and is now the dominant subculture of most teenagers from Irelands working class areas. The women tend to wear highlights and hair extensions with spikes, neon off-the-shoulder tops, and hi-top runners. The main hanging-spots were Henry Street and Mary Street on Dublin's Northside, and Jervis Shopping Centre as the hub. The word Spicer was created in Newry in the Abbey Grammer School as a slag (annoying name) given to them. it comes from the spice girls
    link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000s_in_fashion#Spicer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I dunno who's sadder.

The person that wrote that, or me for reading it

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I heard security guards using the term "spice girls" as a codeword for young female shoplifters for years....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Just one more reason to hate bebo imo.

Young fella's who dress like that need a slap

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Not there any more by the looks of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

was that "someone" you OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

Not there any more by the looks of it.
    back now

Mrmoe wrote: »
    was that "someone" you OP?
    no its not me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

Never heard them called that but know the type, giving converse a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

God knows I live with one of those spice tossers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

back now

I can't find it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

no its not me
    I'd like proof of that.

Can we get a mod to check his IP and compare it to the wiki page's edit history?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Overheal wrote: »
    I'd like proof of that.

Can we get a mod to check his IP and compare it to the wiki page's edit history?
    Mods can't see his IP address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Muppet teens... What's next...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

And there was me thinking you were omnipotent, first God and now this, I have no faith anymore:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

suuure you cant ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Same As

One Word - Pathetic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

them fecking mullets. they look ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

them fecking mullets. they look ridiculous

Mullets never looked good on anyone. Fact. I've seen a few women with these too. Whhhhy? :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Curly haired perm-mullet complete with bald patch on top FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

In all fairness, the mullet used to be cool!

...."business up front and party around the back" and all that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Abigayle wrote: »
    Mullets never looked good on anyone. Fact. I've seen a few women with these too. Whhhhy? :(

I'll mullet over and get back to you on that one Abi.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Ohhh dat was naaaaysty. Go on wit yo bad self :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Zing! Thank you Sharpshooter. That was A-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,919 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I assume the people reading this thread know that the op has had multiple troll accounts on this such as: xbox36016/golfguy/thenewbigguy/marco789/netopia789

I wouldnt be surprised if it was he who created that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

One of my friends dresses like that. He has become a twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

One of my friends dresses like that. He has become a twat.

He was always a twat, you were just slow to notice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I refuse to wear white lo-top converse because of them.

i have full black converse but a have then under skinny jeans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

I refuse to wear white lo-top converse because of them.

Wow you're so cool.

Converse are only worn by knobs anyway and that includes before the rise of the 'spicer'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Wow you're so cool.

Converse are only worn by knobs anyway and that includes before the rise of the 'spicer'

I say fúck you buddy, that's just a ridiculously stupid generalization; And for that reason, you are a knob.

Spicers are twats yes, they just have the second most punchable faces going.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Wow you're so cool.

Proof?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Just looking at your bebo you have proven my point.

one word instantly springs to mind :

Loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Funny thing is that I'm from newry and my bros at that school and he's always on about spice boys. So some of its true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I quite like posts made by Jesus Juice and Cian Ryan actually. :)

Just looking at your bebo you have proven my point.

one word instantly springs to mind :

Loser.
    CianRyan wrote: »
    I say fúck you buddy, that's just a ridiculously stupid generalization; And for that reason, you are a knob.

Spicers are twats yes, they just have the second most punchable faces going.

Both of you are banned for abuse.