Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your most hated word?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

! wrote: »
    Im.

Im is the Irish for butter so why use it in your sentences when you can't think of what to say next.

You're some poxy fecker. How did you get that username!??!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭!

Overblood wrote: »
    You're some poxy fecker. How did you get that username!??!?

What's up with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Legend (purely due to it's overuse and of course the variant, lege)
    Going forward
    Disconnect (lots of politicians talking about addressing the 'disconnect' between the public and x,y or z)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

right now ... recession

generally ... geebag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

One I often see on boards: kids, when used to describe children. They are not goats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭shift

tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

When Irish people say distinctively American words:

Candy
    High School
    Mom
    Trash
    Janitor

and put on annoying American accents, who are they trying to fool???
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: ARGH!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

"Delicious", in my experience it's only used by highly irritating people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

basically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Shady

When i hear the word, it makes me want to punch the offender

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Dean09 wrote: »
    Im just wondering if you all have a word you hate!
    Personally I hate all these new made up words, but my most hated is "Fashionista".:mad:
    I don't know what it means,...I dont want to know what it means..but every time I hear it I want to throw my shoe at whoever said it!

''Recessionista'' is even worse- it describes those poor fashionistas who can no longer afford 10,000 quid designer bags, and can only get £5, 000 ones instead. :rolleyes:

I have many hated words- ''supple'' is a horrible word. I hate the word ''blouse'' too.

Gah, I'm feeling sick just writing these, I'll have to stop. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

if someone keeps repeating a word at the end of a sentence on the radio for example, like 'em', 'as a say' like'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

the phrase "go figure"
    :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

I hate hearing not, followed shortly by tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Happy Days.
    Luvvly Jubbly.
    Savage.
    Eh hello?

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

Hate phrase "Go Figure"

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

Snr Mgr in work uses the phrase " categorically speaking" in every talk/sentence cause she is such a dumb bitch she hasn't a bean of a notion about IT.:mad:

Its my new most hated word/phrase ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

pseudo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

mum mummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

The phrases "to be perfectly honest" and "bar none"

WTF are you contributing with those words?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Hate phrase "Go Figure"

Holy Sigasaurus Batman! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭lightning_saa

my friend used to hate the phrases
    by and large, & part and parcel so as a group we came up with the superphrase "by and pacel,part and large" in the midst of every sentance :D
    skools great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

my friend used to hate the phrases
    by and large, & part and parcel so as a group we came up with the superphrase "by and pacel,part and large" in the midst of every sentance :D
    skools great

You sir are just a big bag of awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Does 'LOL' count as a word? If so, then that is my most hated word.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭gstar

my pet hate is; issues/tissues, but only when its pronounced "iss-yous/tiss-yous" instead of "ih-shoes/ti-shoes". Ann Doyle (newsreader) and our compliance person in work use the first pronounciation, and it really irritates me for absolutely no reason whatsoever lol ;) on the same note i do love the word noodles, oodles of noodles yay :)

another worky related word i tend to dislike is "kick to touch" whatever that means lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Souwester

Excessive use of "dude".
    Anyone attempting to communicate by using "in'it" and "end of" = automatic disqualification.
    "Legend" unless its printed on the side of a diagram.

and Acacia if you hated .....
    Acacia wrote: »
    ''Recessionista'' is even worse- it describes those poor fashionistas who can no longer afford 10,000 quid designer bags, and can only get £5, 000 ones instead. :rolleyes:

I have many hated words- ''supple'' is a horrible word. I hate the word ''blouse'' too.

Gah, I'm feeling sick just writing these, I'll have to stop. :p

...didn't you forget "plump"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

'It's common knowledge'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Skuxx

I hate the word "spuds", as in potatoes!

Only Irish people say it but personally I can't stand the word!

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Fundamentally...The most over used word in Ireland Today!

another one is

'Basically'...I used to work in a warehouse and there was this one guy and no matter what you asked him his opening statment was "Basically its like this....." :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Savage! used by boggers (Muck Savages)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

been or seen when it should be being or seeing in the context of the sentence.

Jackine - Possibly the most boggery thing someone can say. Worse than calling someone a townie because they live 1 km away lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

waraf wrote: »
    To be honest I feel that going forward we need to get all our ducks in a row to increase our bandwidth to enable us to move the goalposts vis-a-vis our target objective. Now is the time to ringfence the baseline for a win win situation at the coal-face.....

Eugh....no offence mate, but I really wanted to stab you in the face after reading that!

I hate, and yes, its more of a phrase, "I am'nt". Its just plain wrong, people! Its suppose to be "I'm not".

I also hate the word "pleasant" for some reason. "Did you enjoy that?" - "Eh, it was pleasant". It doesn't seem like a very nice word does it?

And finally, the needless use of "Honestly". Something like: "Honestly, I don't know". Well what if you're dishonest? Do you know then?!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

The new kid on the block: "Optics"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

"Sicko"
    One of the most unattractive words in the English language. Idiots use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

Oh, I forgot to add the phrase "due to the fact that.....". This always annoys me when I read it. It adds nothing to the text what so ever. You could just say "due to..."

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,887 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Podcast. I hate that word.

Also jailbreak now being used as a replacement for hacking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

"Banter" .ahhhhhhh that word annoys me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

"The Jacks"... no you're not going to the jacks, you're going to use the toilet/bathroom/wc but definitely not a jack.

Stupid slang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

i hate when people say "HIYA!!!"
    or O-M-F-G! like they spell out the letters?? why would you spell out OMFG? its pointless.. just say oh my fukcing god.. or even better, don't say it at all!
    it really grinds my gears..
    or anything polish, i've heard so much I'm nearly flipping fluent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"Banter" - as used by posh south Dublin ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Daisypicker5

I say like aLLL the time and wish I could stop but when people use like and speak in one of those annoying valley girl accents I just walk away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭JC06

" So I was like...and he was like." God I hate when people say that, can they not just say I said? Banter is the other one that I hate, and buzz e.g. OMG Desperate Housewives buzz tonight :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I say like aLLL the time and wish I could stop but when people use like and speak in one of those annoying valley girl accents I just walk away from them.
    i say "like" all the time as well and when i'm explaining things people say i use the word "right" alot as well which pisses them off.

So theres this guy, right.
    and he has a dog, right.
    and its a brown dog, right.
    oh and your man from down the road has a blue car, right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

aoibhebree wrote: »
    Guesstimate.

And also when people add "-age" to the end of words ... e.g. "love-age", "dance-age" ... so irritating.
    Back when skillage in the village was doing the rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Two more: 'Legend' and 'No offence but'

The former is a word that should only be used for TRUE legends (Ok, I might use it to describe Ronnie Drew or Luke Kelly but I mean.. come on!) describing someone as a legend because they said something slightly amusing "OMFG LIKE, SERIOUSLY, YOU LEGEND!!" - just no; I have a mate who feels the need to call me it constantly, I have to sit on my hand to stop me from punching him

And the latter.. "No offence"
    I mean for fcuk sake, if someone says that; I just turn off... "No offence but like, you're really ugly". The only good thing about this phrase is it gives me time to start stropping before I'm insulted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

j1smithy wrote: »
    "The Jacks"... no you're not going to the jacks, you're going to use the toilet/bathroom/wc but definitely not a jack.

Stupid slang

Second that. I know a girl who says jacks and thinks that makes her tough. How I do not know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

''At this moment in time''

thats now, right?

''At the end of the line''
    ''At the end of the day''
    ''At the end of the show''

All those have me at the end of my rope.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

"ye"

when people mean "you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

'want'

i want this, i want that.

i hate the word with a vengeance, can people not just say 'i would like'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Any and all skanger slang for a woman's most intimate area

*shudder*