Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you being unpatriotic if you don't like GAA. Keep it clean please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭July

stovelid wrote: »
    What makes you think this is specific to the GAA? It could be any sport - even the dirty, foreign tan ones.

Agreed. It could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

July wrote: »
    I fail to see your point..

GAA catchment areas are determined by parish boundaries so you can't talk about GAA without mentioning parishes. .

I thought that was just so the priests could get the pick of the young lads in the under-age teams? :confused:

I couldn't read this thread without thinking one thing in particular.

LOL at the idea that patriotism is a good thing.

fryup wrote: »
    The GAA is the sport and leisure wing of Sinn Fein

*cough*

http://www.celticfc.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

I think it's awful to say anyone in being unpatriotic? Who gives any of us the authority to say that? I love rugby and gaa...is that ok?! Of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Maybe you do, maybe you don't, how am I supposed to know how you feel?

I'm talking generalisations. You are a specific person. In general, in most parishes in this country, GAA is 'the' central thing that binds the community, the corner stone of the activites of the place. Your community may be different but I don't know where you're from.

I seem to be having a problem getting a straight answer here. As per my original post, I consider myself to be as Irish as anyone can claim to be. I am a soccer supporter myself but I applaud anyone who represents Ireland in any sport, eg rugby, cricket, athletics etc. I do have a pride of place and a sense of belonging. I'm just not a GAA supporter. I live in County Dublin and I don't think that the GAA would be considered the central thing that binds the community in Dublin. This may well be true in other counties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭well horse

I really hate GAA players. You know the type:

He works as an accountant, primary teacher or as some sort of tradesman.

Just dosen't find films like "Borat" or comedians like Frankie Boyle funny because he is so sour. Is far more likely to engage in jokey banter with his other GAA friends. For example, picture this scene: some GAA player, a 6th year/ college student in my imagination kicks a bottle on the ground and it dosen't go where he says it would....at this point the other GAA player says something like "aww wouldn't ya know he was a joe's man, hahah". That wasn't a funny joke at all :confused:

Acheived about 400 points in the leaving cert after beginning to study from about the middle of April before the exams.

Is seen in a niteclub, standing slightly awkwardly in the midst of a small group of people, wearing one of his only three striped shirts, one hand in a pocket, the other holding a bottle/ pint glass of bulmers.

Like sterophonics, the killers and snow patrol.

Is not the type of person you could have a conversation with in the pub etc unless you were a big GAA supporter/player yourself ie. is a one trick pony when it comes to interests

Drink "lucozade sport" and "powerade" and thinks it is healthy :rolleyes:

Oh yeah. Did anybody see the new inititive set up to help supply redundant intercounty GAA players with work? Eh...sorry, but if they want a job I firmly believe they should be assessed in terms of their suitability for the job and by that criteria alone. Why should those sour, expectant son's of teachers/ tradesmen be protected from having to emigrate while everybody else is forced to? Really pissed me off when I saw that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

K-9 wrote: »
    Hurling at its best is the game of the Gods, but Gaelic is getting more and more like Rugby, unfortunately.

Unpatriotic? Well the only people who could in anyway claim that, would be people from the 6 counties who went through hell to just get to play the game for years. Even then it doesn't make you less Irish or something like that.

Ah well, some twats follow GAA, Rugby, Soccer, Cricket etc.

Lol, 'gaelic'. I presume ur talking about football. Why is it called 'gaelic'? it makes abosulute no sense to refer to it as gaelic on its own, its either football or gaelic football.

'Gaelic' is rugby without rules and talent.

Funniest thing about GAA in either sport is when a sub runs onto the field he (by the laws in the GAA rule book i presume) has to shoulder the guy marking him...its retarded.

I remember a few years ago watching a junior game of 'gaelic' and my brother's buddie who was 16 at the time came on. He ran up to mark the guy in his opposite position. The guy was at least mid 30's, first thing your man did was punch the 16 year old in the stomach as he ran onto the pitch, and he went down into the fetial position...its so ridiculous and funny.

Where in the world of sport would you have a guy in his mid 30's punching a 16yr old in the stomach the second he stepped onto the pitch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The thing is most people who claim to hate the GAA only do it to emphasise their own self-inflated notions of class.
    Where did you get that idea from?
    In Dublin especially sport is just another arena for the class divide to play itself out in.
    Ah... you're referring specifically to Dublin.
    If you really hate the sport then fair enough but if you're just saying stuff like this to play billy-big-willy with the northsiders then get over yourself.
    I'd imagine most people, despite your earlier claim, would be of the former persuasion rather than the latter.

I think hurling looks amazing (but I am not a Cork supporter - if I ever, for some strange reason, utter "up the rebels" I'd hope the nearest person would shoot me), can't see what's particularly great about football. The organisation itself strikes me as extremely parochial and provincial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

PrivateEye wrote: »
    To me, 'the gah' is lumped in there with parish priests, Fianna Fail, gombeenism and crap local 'arts festivals' Seeing that idiot in Munster become an M.E.P purely on the back of 'the gah' just summed it up perfectly for me*, its been made a cornerstone of the typical rural community and maybe its the great rural-urban divide but god I really h ate Jacky Healy Rae Ireland and everything about it.

I'm a League of Ireland man anyway.

I speak the Irish language, am studying mainly Irish History and am a keen lover of Irish traditional music, I'm not some "West Brit gah hater" as some might say, but I can't stand them. They'd play the national anthem before taking a sh/te.

Also, what has it got to do with peoples attitude to the North of Ireland? Nothing.One of my best mates is a republican socialist and he agrees its a pile of sh/te that falls beteen Killinascully and Father Ted.

I normally just respond by asking them where they were in 1916 ;)

Remember these are the kind of people (see Roscommon if I remember right) that returned as many/if not more Fianna Fail cllrs.recently. Sure Granddad didn't fight for Enda Kenny.

*In relation to 'that idiot', the cancer has spread to FG. The 'gah' is not your entry to politics!

+1000 %, and the same idiot is Mrs Enda Kenny's cousin.......:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

The GAA has the largest flock of sheep in the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I fail to see your point..

GAA catchment areas are determined by parish boundaries so you can't talk about GAA without mentioning parishes. The grass-roots of GAA is at parish level.

"GAA catchment areas are determined by Parish boundaries."

Eh you're completely wrong there.I'm from a village in the country and nobody ever says the word 'parish' or indeed ever goes to mass. Parish is a religious term and nothing to do with the GAA.

I like the GAA and it is the predominant sport in rural areas. But people in rural communities who cant see that people can get the same sense of belonging and community out of soccer/rugby whatever are very small minded.

All it boils down to at the end of the day is this: you support the sport you grew up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

well horse wrote: »

Can't believe you left out the bank and civil service! :pac:

Other omissions: sends the Ray Darcy show texts ending in "How mad is that?"
    Uses the phrase "well horse". ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭well horse

Dudess wrote: »
    Can't believe you left out the bank and civil service! :pac:

Other omissions: sends the Ray Darcy show texts ending in "How mad is that?"
    Uses the phrase "well horse". ;)

Nuff said horsebox! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I love the GAA and I can't stand this 'east of country' referall to the G.A.A. as 'gah'. GAA is something that's in the blood or not and if you have it it's wonderful.

I actually nearly started a thread earlier in LL while I watched the hurling match just to say aren't the GAA boys great? isn't it wonderful that championship season is in full swing? don't ya just love the whole thing? It doesn't have to be an inter-county match, I love going down to the pitch and watching the lads, listening to/having the banter on the sideline and watching people playing a sport for the love of the game, the pride of the parish.

I can understand though that if someone doesn't have that sense of belonging, the sense of community, the sense that your ancestors battled it out on the very same playing field then they surely can't understand what it means to people.

I blame soccer and the English and Sky Sports for these negative attitudes. And as for bringing in foreign sports to the sacred ground....

Ok the last bit was said in jest but for God's sake, haven't you all seen the AIB ad on TV. You know the little fella talking about how many sandwiches the old lady has made or how the aul fella lines the field. PRIDE OF PLACE. SENSE OF BELONGING. COMMUNITY.

Edit: To answer the OP's question. No, you're not unpatriotic if you don't like the GAA. But I think there's something intrinsicly Irish missing in the genetic make-up of someone who doesn't love it.* Maybe it's just the culchie gene that's missing. Now that's another thread entirely 'isn't it wonderful to be a culchie? can you imagine life if you weren't a culchie?' Maybe tomorrow.. :-)

* has no scientific basis, purely personal opinion

Yes if you are one of the lucky few to have the appropriate surname, if not then you are treated like sh1te. Where is the so called Irish friendliness then?

As for being a culchie, i can drink tae and ate me granny's home made bread with the best of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

But people in rural communities who cant see that people can get the same sense of belonging and community out of soccer/rugby whatever are very small minded.

All it boils down to at the end of the day is this: you support the sport you grew up with.

Thank you, Midlandsmissus, and well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

And when the players retire, they become TDs, building society branch-managers or get to run government agencies. Another reason why Ireland is in the sh1t. It's like another religious order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Hazys wrote: »
    Lol, 'gaelic'. I presume ur talking about football. Why is it called 'gaelic'? it makes abosulute no sense to refer to it as gaelic on its own, its either football or gaelic football.

'Gaelic' is rugby without rules and talent.

Funniest thing about GAA in either sport is when a sub runs onto the field he (by the laws in the GAA rule book i presume) has to shoulder the guy marking him...its retarded.

I remember a few years ago watching a junior game of 'gaelic' and my brother's buddie who was 16 at the time came on. He ran up to mark the guy in his opposite position. The guy was at least mid 30's, first thing your man did was punch the 16 year old in the stomach as he ran onto the pitch, and he went down into the fetial position...its so ridiculous and funny.

Where in the world of sport would you have a guy in his mid 30's punching a 16yr old in the stomach the second he stepped onto the pitch?

By "football" do you mean Association Football?

Jaysus, can we not call "Association Football" Soccer and Gaelic Football Gaelic without getting pulled up on it?

The problem with the GAA at the minute is the amount of appeals of suspensions if they by chance happen to be handed out.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just to clear this up is the OP agin the Gaelic Athletic Association or Gaelic sports? Clearly having a dislike for an organisation of bumptious fools is perfectly correct and having people declare you unpatriotic for holding that view is plainly asinine if not bovine stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Eh you're completely wrong there.I'm from a village in the country and nobody ever says the word 'parish' or indeed ever goes to mass. Parish is a religious term and nothing to do with the GAA.

I like the GAA and it is the predominant sport in rural areas. But people in rural communities who cant see that people can get the same sense of belonging and community out of soccer/rugby whatever are very small minded.

My local club have committee meetings in the parish hall, the parish priest is the chairman of the committee and is also one of the selectors. Only people living it the parish play for the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Really couldn't be arsed reading through this thread. Not that I have to, it's just your average GAA v Soccer v Rugby arguments that never change. i.e. lots of mentions of Boggers and posh folk.

I play GAA but like Soccer also but don't see what patriotism has to do with anything tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

super-rush wrote: »
    My local club have committee meetings in the parish hall, the parish priest is the chairman of the committee and is also one of the selectors. Only people living it the parish play for the team.

Right but you understand what parish means don't you? The area that a priest ministers to. Alot of places aren't religious and don't use the word...For example we call our local hall 'the village hall' not the parish hall, and always call the place the village not the parish. Your place is obviously quite religious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Watching people spend most of their free time playing a hilarious cross between football and basketball (or baseball and golf) is funny. Knowing that they're not being paid for it is the icing on the cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

K4t wrote: »
    Rugby is just a load of ****e tbh. You're not patriotic if you watch it, just trying to be one of the boys or a rich.

guess im not patriotic then.....

emm one thing about GAA i hate is the commentators, their voices do my head in.... especially guys on some radio stations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

well horse wrote: »

Just dosen't find films like "Borat" or comedians like Frankie Boyle funny because he is so sour. Is far more likely to engage in jokey banter with his other GAA friends. For example, picture this scene: some GAA player, a 6th year/ college student in my imagination kicks a bottle on the ground and it dosen't go where he says it would....at this point the other GAA player says something like "aww wouldn't ya know he was a joe's man, hahah". That wasn't a funny joke at all :confused:

Acheived about 400 points in the leaving cert after beginning to study from about the middle of April before the exams.

Is seen in a niteclub, standing slightly awkwardly in the midst of a small group of people, wearing one of his only three striped shirts, one hand in a pocket, the other holding a bottle/ pint glass of bulmers.

Like sterophonics, the killers and snow patrol.

Is not the type of person you could have a conversation with in the pub etc unless you were a big GAA supporter/player yourself ie. is a one trick pony when it comes to interests

Drink "lucozade sport" and "powerade" and thinks it is healthy :rolleyes:

That's an unbelievably accurate description of about ten people I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

But take a rugbyhead and take a GAA man and who do you thinks going to be more patriotic?
    I would say the ruggerhead any day of the week! Compare the reaction to the national anthem when played at a hurling match in Thurles compared to the reaction to the anthem played in Lansdowne Road. Half the crowd at the hurling match wont even sing it and the end is always drowned out by these idiots shouting 'come on limerick' or 'up the rebels', a total lack of respect is shown towards the Amhrán na bhFiann at GAA matches. The song is given its due respect at rugby internationals. They sing it with pride, until the end. No idiots drowning it out towards the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Agreed. I pissed myself laughing.
    I'm suprised that this thread has gotten such a serious response. It's retarded and pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

never liked bog ball..

I didnt like the people who played it either...
    farmer's....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Same here.

Genuine question as it has always intrigued me; why are so many GAA players seemingly employed as teachers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

tribulus wrote: »
    Genuine question as it's always intrigued me; why are so many GAA players seemingly employed as teachers?

I think it's because all of their friends are gonna go to the same colleges to do the same thing and because it isn't that intellectually taxing.*

I remember when I was in school, about 50-75% of the year (all GAA heads) went on to study either primary school teaching, woodwork teaching or PE teaching in Limerick or Dublin. I really couldn't get over it at the time.

They're all hanging out with the same people from secondary school as well, the only new pals they've made in college would be friends or cousins of friends.

*Not that I've done anything myself since then that justifies such snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't think any sport should ever be a core part of national identity, they're just games. How much fun would boards be if only the quake players could claim to be proper members?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

GAA is muck, pure & simple

it will never be sexy imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's the GAA's sneaky underhanded anti-other sports tactics that sicken me. Trying to prevent Shamrock Rovers from moving into their stadium in Tallaght and dragging the whole thing through the courts, delaying the completion for two years. Digging up fields used as football pitches in the middle of the night in Kerry. The attitude that banned people who attended football match from playing Gaelic Football still hasn't gone away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

GAA is utter crap. Bunch of farmers chasing a ball around.

I'm from Kilkenny and they treat anyone who plays hurling like a god down here even though most of them are borderline retarded assholes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

tribulus wrote: »

Genuine question as it has always intrigued me; why are so many GAA players seemingly employed as teachers?

with the hours per day and the amount of time off it suits perfectly for busy training schedules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Bog-ball and stick-fighting, panem et circenses..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

In answer to the OP - no there is no relationship between liking GAA and being (un)patriotic.

Personally, I think football has gone to ****e in the last 10 or 15 years, as it has become faster, more reliant on hand passing etc. Also the inability to tackle legally makes it a bit of a daft sport (imho).
    Hurling is the dog's bollix, however the dominance of a couple of teams in the last few years had devalued it's appeal to me..

Generally, especially in rural areas, the GAA is an exceptionally impressive grass roots organisation, almost every little village has some form of GAA club. The vast majority of GAA activities are run on a voluntary basis, and I personally am impressed by the work they do keeping young people active and entertained (of course the same could be said for any sporting organisation).

I think the reality is that a lot of people involved in GAA have no particular political allegiance, and are involved become of there interest in sport.

However all sports have their issues. By some, GAA is seen as provisional and backward, Soccer is seen as urban and more aggressive (off the field as opposed to on), Rugby is/was seen as more upper class, and to an extent unpatriotic (Ireland's call etc)

Personally I like them all, but I have the most respect for Rugby. I have no issue that the Rugby team does not represent exclusively my country (Rep. Of Ireland), rather it represents my Island. I have not problem that we stand up to Ireland's call. I have no problem that a portion of the players consider themselves to be British and would have allegiance to God Save the Queen over the Solider's Song. Personally I have great respect for the Irish Rugby team, and it's supporters. The fact that such diversity has existed and thrived in this angry little Island fills me with respect for all those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

grenache wrote: »
    I would say the ruggerhead any day of the week! Compare the reaction to the national anthem when played at a hurling match in Thurles compared to the reaction to the anthem played in Lansdowne Road. Half the crowd at the hurling match wont even sing it and the end is always drowned out by these idiots shouting 'come on limerick' or 'up the rebels', a total lack of respect is shown towards the Amhrán na bhFiann at GAA matches. The song is given its due respect at rugby internationals. They sing it with pride, until the end. No idiots drowning it out towards the end.
    Do they not play "Irelands Call" at rugby internationals?

Personally, I'd say it's more unpatriotic to look down on your fellow countrymen for not liking a game(s). Also, I would generally just ignore a drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Are you being unpatriotic by not following GAA. No, your simply saying I don't like the sport. I personally couldn't care less about the GAA. I can't stand hurling, although I do respect the players and the fact thats its clearly one of the most skillfull games in the world. I can't stand football and more so I hate the backward "800 years!" thinking of a head boys who can't seem to move on and still see all other sports as "foreign" games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

You clearly know nothing about GAA whatsoever... Cathcment areas are based entirely on parishes. The only a person can play for without transferring is the one based in the parish they reside in, or the one in which their parents resided at the time of their birth. People whos parish doesnt have a club can play for whoever they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I'm not patriotic and I love Gaelic sports.

Lot of hatred around, wonder why that is? Yeah you can point to the stereotypes described in a few posts, but you could easily do that for soccer, rugby etc. I suppose it must come from the whole notion of it being part of our national identity. I haven't heard that "you're not a true Irish man unless you like GAA" type comment, maybe because I don't invite it by saying I don't! Though I have heard similar from rugby supporters in recent times. In the pub I didn't know who Ireland were playing the next week (nor care much, but I'd certainly watch it). Was duly accused of not supporting the country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

toiletduck wrote: »

Lot of hatred around, wonder why that is? Yeah you can point to the stereotypes described in a few posts, but you could easily do that for soccer, rugby etc. I suppose it must come from the whole notion of it being part of our national identity. I haven't heard that "you're not a true Irish man unless you like GAA" type comment, maybe because I don't invite it by saying I don't! Though I have heard similar from rugby supporters in recent times. In the pub I didn't know who Ireland were playing the next week (nor care much, but I'd certainly watch it). Was duly accused of not supporting the country...

Same thing happens to me every time Ireland are playing-of course I support the country but to be honest I don't like sport all that much and find Rugby to be exceptionally dull, so I don't watch the games at all. The only sport I follow is Gaelic Football, and thats because I was brought following it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

toiletduck wrote: »

I think alot of it is to do with the organisation itself, not the sports it endorses.

Closed minded, over-traditional bunch of idiots imo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Happens with soccer fans too. Even worse are the soccer fans who can't understand that you don't support a team... But then I wouldn't lambast the whole FAI based on the moronic elements of the fanbase :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Soccer all the way, there's more skill involved in the game!

cashback wrote: »
    Really couldn't be arsed reading...

Me too.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

what s silly ****in thread!
    if this was the case i should the strung up by the thumbs cause I ****in hate GAA :pac:

super-rush **** em mate!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Personally, I'm not really into sports in general, so I neither love nor hate teh Gah. I do think it's nice to have some old sporting traditions that sets us apart from other countries.

However, I do find it annoying that people think you're 'unpatriotic' if you don't like the GAA or have no interest in it. Little do they realise that they are merely conforming to a definition of 'Irishness' dreamt up back in the nineteenth-century by the independence movement (which led to the GAA being set up, among other things.) I think this where the 'Dublin/West Brit', 'not Irish enough' attitude comes from - it was during this time that a largely fictitious Irish identity was created- rural, Irish-speaking, GAA-loving and Catholic. If you didn't fit this criteria then you weren't really Irish.

So when people spout sh1te about you not being 'Irish' enough if you don't like the Gah, tell them the above and it will shut them up. Most of them won't have the foggiest what you're on about as they seem to believe that this defintion of Irishness stretches back into the aeons of time. Which goes to show how little they know about Irish history. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Even though I'm not Irish I have a comment on this, as we live in a very GAA area and I've been treated with horror by some of the locals about my complete and utter lack of interest in the GAA... We had some people come around collecting for GAA sponsors and raffles etc, I duly inform them that I don't support it so I'd rather not.... the predictable answers of "they do so much... does your son not play.... etc etc"... And I'm not bothered what they do and nor does my son play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,605 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I dont think so. Im not a fan of the sports, but ill not knock anyone who is

Soccer FTW.

FWIW I hate Rugby/Cricket/Hurling equally, mainly because their fans do try to pressure you into getting into the sport

Gaelic Football...its ok but again, not much of a fan

Soccer FTW again