Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Trivia Questions

• 15-06-2009 10:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

You either love em or hate em. These are a few I collated for a table quiz last year. Does anyone else have anymore?

---

Q. Where is Dublin's second O'Connell Bridge?
    A.
    Over the pond in St. Stephen's Green

Q. Name the only village that lies North of the Liffey that has an even number for its postal code.
    A.
    Chapelizod, Dublin 20.

Q. Besides along the Grand Clanal, where is the only other statue of Patrick Kavanagh in the world?
    A.
    Raglan Road Irish Pub at Downtown Disney Pleasure Island , Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, Florida

Q. Name five Dublin streets named after Irish counties.
    A.
    Clare Street (Between Nassau St. and Merrion Sq. North)
    Cork Street (Off Patricks St. Coombe)
    Kildare Street (Off St. Stephens Green)
    Wexford St. (Links Lower Camden St. to Aungier St.)
    Meath St. (Coombe)

Q. Name the Dubliner who is the only person in history to win both a Oscar and a Nobel Prize in Literature.
    A.
    George Bernard Shaw for his play, Pygmalion (aka My Fair Lady)
    - Nobel Laureates in Literature (1925)
    - Academy Award for Writing Adapted Screenplay/Oscar for Best Screenplay (1938)

Q. In relation to Irish Rock Music, what does the bandstand in Herbert Park, Ballbridge and the Long Hall pub on South Great George's Street have in common?
    A.
    Both are used as locations in the video to Philip Lynott's 'Old Town'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Nmae 5 areas in Dublin that end with an o?
    Pimlico, portobello, rialto, marino and phibsboro (debateable)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

what does DART stand for?
    dublin area rapid tranist

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Do you know where the Five Lamps are?
    Go and hang you're bollix off it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Q: the "Luke Kelly Bridge" crosses which river?
    the Tolka

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Do all Nigerians coming in to Dublin automatically get a cheque from the government to go out and buy a family car?
    Eh, no.

Where were the first pedestrian lights in Dublin?
    I was told Clontarf... along the coast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

1968 wrote: »
    A.
    Meath St. (Coombe)

..and Wicklow St?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

... Great and Little Longford Streets?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

IanCurtis wrote: »
    A.
    Meath St. (Coombe)

..and Wicklow St?

Kildare Street is name for the Earl of Kildare, rather than the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

In reply to the above three comments, I stand corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

It was "Name 5 Streets" not "Name ALL streets"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Nmae 5 areas in Dublin that end with an o?
    Pimlico, portobello, rialto, marino and phibsboro (debateable)

Ah. I was going to ask that one :pac: apparantly they are 5 Boroughs.

Don't forget Monto (carry me up to) ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

IanCurtis wrote: »
    A.
    Meath St. (Coombe)

..and Wicklow St?

Clare St. is named after the Clare region/lordship/burrough? in Suffolk. Named iun honour of Denzil Holles...The Earl of Clare (Suffolk).

How about Offaly Rd in Cabra or Armagh Rd. in Crumlin just to fill in the ones that don't count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

name the one place in dublin that ends in 2 'o's
    the zoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

What does south Dublin have more of than San Francisco?
    Homosexuals

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Im guessing thats a lie?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Where in Dublin is Fusiliers Arch ?
    What is Chesterfield Avenue better known as ?
    What is Archbishop Ryan Park better known as ?

chughes wrote: »
    Where in Dublin is Fusiliers Arch ? stephens green
    What is Chesterfield Avenue better known as ? the pheonix park:pac:
    What is Archbishop Ryan Park better known as ?
    dont know

• Registered Users Posts: 41 kayakboy

Merrion Square?

There's definitely a memorial to archbishop Ryan there.

Admiral, Chesterfield Avenue is actually the main road in the Phoenix Park. That's probably what you meant.

kayakboy wrote: »
    Merrion Square?

There's definitely a memorial to archbishop Ryan there.

Yes, the park itself is Archbishop Ryan Park whilst the roads around it are Merrion Square.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

How many statues on O'Connell street?
    one - in a glass case at the taxi rank. Parnell and Daniel O'Connell are monuments :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Davy wrote: »
    How many statues on O'Connell street?
    one - in a glass case at the taxi rank. Parnell and Daniel O'Connell are monuments :D

Surely Smith o Brien, Grey, Fr. Matthew and Larkin are statues? Sure look like it to me.

whats the bearest town to dublin city

bargaintown!