Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rent Allowance

Options
  • 17-06-2009 11:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Hi ,

I am new to all this but was wondering if I could get some advice off people who know more about the subject than me. I am currently living at home with my parents and my three year old son in toe but am hoping to move out soon, give everyone a bit more freedom. I am working part time (15 hours a week) and am in receipt of the lone parent supplement. In september, I have applied to go back to college to do a masters so I presume all I will be entitled to will be lone parent and child benefit. Can you apply for rental allowance straight away or do you have to be living in the accomodation a certain amount of time? Also how much would you expect to pay on rent if you were entitled to rental allowance?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.:)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

A while ago they changed the system so you have to have been renting for 6 months before you could be entitled to apply for rent allowance. I heard they changed the system again to allow for people who NEEDED to get out of where they were.
    Given the current circumstances I would say that they are stricter on the process now. As with most things I am sure there are ways and means to get it such as claiming your parents threw you out.