Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭FeelTheBern

Election poster turned into cabinet doors.
    Btw I'm not affiliated in any way with FF.
    I took it to cover my windscreen on frosty nights.....

My uncle made a handy little trough for shed out of a couple of posters there few weeks ago. Must take picture and stick it up next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭White Clover

Made of tough stuff alright, great to lie on under a machine

Have a shot of em here for that job too!

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭SCOL

I used them to insulate my pump house great job about 3 or 4 tick. It used to freeze up in bad weather but not any more.

And it free !!!! when is the next election ? I need another 20 or so for another job !!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

SCOL wrote: »
    I used them to insulate my pump house great job about 3 or 4 tick. It used to freeze up in bad weather but not any more.

And it free !!!! when is the next election ? I need another 20 or so for another job !!!!

Hang an energy saving lightbulb over the pump, touching it even and plug it in.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭emaherx

SCOL wrote: »

Might not have to wait too long :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,066 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

2 Sein Fein posters will sheet a 8foot gate but you need 3 Fianna fail to do the same gate

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

2 Sein Fein posters will sheet a 8foot gate but you need 3 Fianna fail to do the same gate

More BANG for your SF bucko.!!!
    Them FF lads are pure wimps anyway.
    What will lads do if they do away with election posters?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

You can buy corriboard for about a euro in builders providers for an 8' x 4' sheet , worth anything not to have to see some waster of a politicians face around the yard :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Bullocks wrote: »
    You can buy corriboard for about a euro in builders providers for an 8' x 4' sheet , worth anything not to have to see some waster of a politicians face around the yard :cool:

sure draw a funny moustache or something on them, cheer yourself right up

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

sure draw a funny moustache or something on them, cheer yourself right up

It would take drawing a kick on most of them to cheer me up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Bullocks wrote: »
    It would take drawing a kick on most of them to cheer me up :D

There's a few faces that would make great dartboards.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Bought a 500g tub of Copper Grease today in Halfords, €12. Being looking for the stuff for a long time. Nobody seemed to have it. I reckon its the bees knees to stop nuts from seizing up over time.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 24,446 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bought a 500g tub of Copper Grease today in Halfords, €12. Being looking for the stuff for a long time. Nobody seemed to have it. I reckon its the bees knees to stop nuts from seizing up over time.

Yeah. The grease evaporates but the copper stays between the studs threads

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭SCOL

I find vasline great for that !!!

I have a few gates I put up when the cattle come into the shed for the winter, cover the bolts in vasline and no problems
    opening them up in spring.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Here is an election poster from a long forgotten election.
    It's still pristine, cause I was never brave enough to get down on it ...... :D

XPFJwBI.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

^^^^Everyone checks to see what Neks has lying around in the workshop:D Dexta?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

blue5000 wrote: »

Surprised I can only see 1 chainsaw.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Was that after the hurricane hit? :)

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Is it not a small Massey.? Looks like back end of one. And a dexta steering cone is off other tractor?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,446 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I'd say if you look hard enough you'd see the bones of sherfar in there somewhere

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Is it not a small Massey.? Looks like back end of one. And a dexta steering cone is off other tractor?

Not a Massey, a 1963 Super Dexta. Was lying for years and frost burst a lump out of the water jacket into the middle cylinder. Engine is on the bench there. Centre cylinder machined out, massey 35 heavy liner fitted, then bored back to standard Dexta size.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Here is an election poster from a long forgotten election.
    It's still pristine, cause I was never brave enough to get down on it ...... :D

XPFJwBI.jpg

Jaysus Nek, think she would sweep the floor for ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That workshop is for work, not for show

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

New addition to feed barriers.

VMn6Vq.jpg

kB0Qhz.jpg

cjwxqU.jpg

Super job, Ren.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Super job, Ren.

Thanks Nek .... just makes life a little easier and faster for feeding meal ..... and stops them rooting out silage looking for meal .The brother in law gave me hand to fold the sheet steel ... he is thinking of doing some now himself using the jfc corri trough in a steel frame .

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Great job! V neat job as usual. If you could set it half way to block barrier so they can't stick out head when putting in silage blocks/bales be icing on cake.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

New addition to feed barriers.

VMn6Vq.jpg

kB0Qhz.jpg

cjwxqU.jpg

Is there a pin to keep them up? Also how did you bend the sheet metal? Looks a right job

Muckit wrote: »
    Great job! V neat job as usual. If you could set it half way to block barrier so they can't stick out head when putting in silage blocks/bales be icing on cake.

Ya Muckit It would only be a matter of having an extra 2 inch sleeve on both ends of trough and boring out for pin at centre of arms and end of arms for 2 different settings .. for me it's not necessary as we have a good bit of room even with there heads out for passing with tractor ... but would be a good job for lads putting blocks in with shear grab ... no missing ears 😀

Peter90 wrote: »
    Is there a pin to keep them up? Also how did you bend the sheet metal? Looks a right job

DM3x8M.jpg

mGWBBt.jpg

You can see in both pictures the spring loaded bolt we used to keep them in place .. a friend of my brother in law is a contractor and has his own workshop with a big press on a ram .. he bent them for us in an hour .. we used lightish sheeting to keep weight down .. my dad is 76 and he is able to use them .