Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ok not gunthering, but I know you guntherers would appreciate this. :cool:

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

jeasssus ! that place is cleaner than some canteens I eaten in...............but it deffo don't belong in a guntering thread................the vid that is...............

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Patsy it would make a grand patio table with a glass top on it:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Odelay

I was waiting for him to take out the template made from an old cornflakes packet. :)

Odelay wrote: »
    I was waiting for him to take out the template made from an old cornflakes packet. :)

F u I'll have you know I got a brand new 3lb b'smith cross pien hammer, just itching to ban someone with it:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Latest project. Added channel to side of trailer to carry silage bales. First added two 300mm lengths to each end with a flat plate welded on underneath. I drop the longer length on the lower plates and slide it in. Had to cut slots for the side hinges. Easy enough to get on and off using the crane hoist. Toughest part was cutting the slots with the angle grinder. It's 200x90mm channel and side walls are about 12mm. Bolted on with m16 bolts.

Brings the overall width of the trailer to 8 feet. Haven't figured how to make the channel ends covered yet. An accident waiting to happen with an oncoming car.

Nice tidy bit of work there fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

Where the fig did this lad come from? Edit: post i tried to quote is deleted. Well done mods.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Grueller wrote: »
    Where the fig did this lad come from? Edit: post i tried to quote is deleted. Well done mods.

Rereg troll squashed by Admin.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭visatorro

Won't get past those admin crowd too handy, they are worse than the department!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

visatorro wrote: »
    Won't get past those admin crowd too handy, they are worse than the department!

Better than the Dept :pac:

I posted this before but, I used this method again to straighten the vertical bar on a gate (hanging side) yesterday. Great job.
    Must get working on all the other gates that got bent out of shape over the years.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

I posted this before but, I used this method again to straighten the vertical bar on a gate (hanging side) yesterday. Great job. Must get working on all the other gates that got bent out of shape over the years.

"UP THERE FOR THINKING "

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭MfMan

I posted this before but, I used this method again to straighten the vertical bar on a gate (hanging side) yesterday. Great job.
    Must get working on all the other gates that got bent out of shape over the years.

Good thinking.
    We've all seen gates with the top bar bent where an animal leapt out over it. If they're not too badly damaged I sometimes get to hang them upside down as an internal field gate; not too pretty to look at but they do the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

A jack has so many uses. Just need to think outside the box

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

Any one any cunning ideas on removing a Stanley oil cooker from an alcove for a repair job

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

2018na wrote: »
    Any one any cunning ideas on removing a Stanley oil cooker from an alcove for a repair job

Sack truck or two?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

a few fence posts under it and roll it away, bringing the one from the back up to the front as you move it

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Have you room to lift it enough to get a round bar under and roll her out on a couple more .

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭The Rabbi

Get a deck of cards and a slab of beer and invite a few hardy lads round.
    Move it on rollers before you start drinking.They weigh the best part of 400KG.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Figerty

Make sure the fire is out...

I just saw a clever clip but I can't link or share here.

But anyways it was a socket welded to an electric fencing strip wire reel.
    They then put a cordless drill to the socket and hey presto no more winding the strip wire up by hand anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

Got the cooker moved anyway. Thanks for the suggestions everyone. I had no room or way to get any sort of roller underneath,so what I did was put two pieces of 6mm ply underneath using a nail bar. Then I got a long strap right around it and pulled it out an inch at a time each side. Quite heavy alright but doable

• Registered Users Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭9935452

They then put a cordless drill to the socket and hey presto no more winding the strip wire up by hand anymore.

In a similar way i have used a cordless drill to power a scissors jack to jack up a car

Hi there say my name, click on the you tube icon top right of a new post beside spoiler, then copy and paste the web address between the square brackets.

Found this, when I went looking for your youtube video

blue5000 wrote: »
    Hi there say my name, click on the you tube icon top right of a new post beside spoiler, then copy and paste the web address between the square brackets.

It was on a private regenerative pasture group on Facebook so I couldn't really link. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

It was on a private regenerative pasture group on Facebook so I couldn't really link. :o

This it?

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Had a crack at knocking out a few forged rivets for the gate.
    Might have another go tomoro in daylight now that I’ve the process kind of figured out.

Then again, these might do too...

Only another 39 to go...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Odelay

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Had a crack at knocking out a few forged rivets for the gate.
    Might have another go tomoro in daylight now that I’ve the process kind of figured out.

Then again, these might do too...

Only another 39 to go...

You're almost there! Soon you'll have it nailed.

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Had a crack at knocking out a few forged rivets for the gate........

Can you get them 'of the shelf'? I remember putting them on a finger bar mower cutting bar years ago.

timple23 wrote: »
    This it?
    '
    It's not the clip but that's the principle. :)

Just need to guide the wire left and right with your hand and slow the drill down maybe a little.