Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

gctest50 wrote: »
    one of these and you'd never leave the shed

Oh my Jebus, that's just ... I mean it's ... you're right, I'd need to bring another kettle and microwave out to the shed ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Oh my Jebus, that's just ... I mean it's ... you're right, I'd need to bring another kettle and microwave out to the shed ...

Can we get leibowitz a change of pants there please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    What you are describing sounds like you're looking for a scaled up version of a crush panel. I have them in my crush and they came from conden engineering. They hinge and can open on both sides.

http://www.condonengineering.ie/crushes/crush-races/
    Yeah just without all the faffing about with pins clips or nuts and bolts. Just pull a lever on either end and the gate opens but should be animal proof too.
    I have a few ideas in my head. Going to be a sleepless night for me thinking it over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

Reggie. wrote: »

Can we get leibowitz a change of pants there please
    Actually, could you make that two ??? May have to watch that video again before I hit the scratcher. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

the ULTRA jig - you want the ULTRA jig you do , not one of those other ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Yeah just without all the faffing about with pins clips or nuts and bolts. Just pull a lever on either end and the gate opens but should be animal proof too.
    I have a few ideas in my head. Going to be a sleepless night for me thinking it over.

I think i'd still leave the adjustable hinges on each side on the bottom of the gate on it. If you could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Damn....now I'm trying to figure out the double hinge gate :D

What about if you had something like a calving gate, have a smaller gate built into a larger gate with each opening different ways.
    Like below but with no top/bottom rails.
    jzayTpll.jpg

Or tubular steel as posts put over a smaller rod. Latches welded on the outer so the bolts can close at either side and swing on the outer steel?

Kovu wrote: »
    Damn....now I'm trying to figure out the double hinge gate :D

What about if you had something like a calving gate, have a smaller gate built into a larger gate with each opening different ways.
    Like below but with no top/bottom rails.
    jzayTpll.jpg

Yeah that would work too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Couple of ideas, depending on whether you have an RSJ at each end or not. The crush panel idea is good, you see feed rails on sheds done like that, just with one long rod dropped down through both hinges, each end. The weight of the rod keeps it secure and cattle can't fiddle it open.
    Then you could get technical and design something along the lines of a Euro loader headstock locking lever, pulling the pins in and out of the hinges, if you know what I mean.
    Or the same principal only sliding a pair of brackets up and down the RSJ, each with a pieces of tubular steel top and bottom to engage the normal gate "spikes"

Gate is 15ft with bullnose rails at both sides. Tolerances would have to be tight so gate will lock and open without having to lift or slam or pull the gate.

Don't think you're gonna hang a 15 food heavy gate without some small amount of droop or sag, without some impressive engineering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

Who needs a tailboard

delaney001 wrote: »
    Who needs a tailboard

First bump :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭O.A.P

delaney001 wrote: »
    Who needs a tailboard
    Ash or beech ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

O.A.P wrote: »
    Ash or beech ?

Ash. Fell during Desmond or whatever one of those storms was called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Gate is 15ft with bullnose rails at both sides. Tolerances would have to be tight so gate will lock and open without having to lift or slam or pull the gate.
    I can't see how you could do that without the gates sagging . You could put a roller wheel on each end with a spring on it, but the ground would have to be fairly level .

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Single wheel in the centre would work. Great idea Patsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Tested the fence and no power going to the Spring gate. A cheapo jump lead hanging up in the dairy came to the rescue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Probably been posted here before but one of the little tricks we use here for the loader is to colour code the pipes with coloured cable ties. Simple and saves a lot of time and hardship and the bag of cable ties was only 5 you yos in B&Q.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭thomasthomas19

Slat scrapper.
    An 2005. Partner lawnmower
    Paid 150 for it at a hire place
    Pumped up the tyres. . Cleaned the carb
    Rewired it and away it went

Then put 3point hitch on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Hard to bate a corolla for the farm work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Slat scrapper.

Have you used it? How well does it work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,858 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Does anyone have anything on front loader for lifting slats at a manhole in gang slat? Use j hooks here , but have had a few near accidents. We have safety manholes in most of the gang slats so its only 1 or 2 that we would be lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭9935452

whelan2 wrote: »
    Does anyone have anything on front loader for lifting slats at a manhole in gang slat? Use j hooks here , but have had a few near accidents. We have safety manholes in most of the gang slats so its only 1 or 2 that we would be lifting

We would have half width slats where they need to be removed for agitating.
    2 crowbars , 2 lads , tip them up on their ends and use the crowbars to lift the half slat out onto the next slat.
    What i have seen lads use is lifting slings. Thread them through the slats. one on each side and up to the loader. unless the sling breaks they cant really go wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Slat scrapper.

She looks like a craftsman. You've a good yoke there if it's similar

Shes prob worth 500 even without the deck. That man mustn't b well in the head

Muckit wrote: »
    She looks like a craftsman. You've a good yoke there if it's similar

Shes prob worth 500 even without the deck. That man mustn't b well in the head

He said it was a trade in . Was looking for 250 going . So I said I would 150. And fix it myself. Deck and collecter bin all came with it

Jb1989 wrote: »

Hard to bate a corolla for the farm work .

Yeah great yoke She is 93 Passed test first go last week
    Spent just 70 euro on it
    Brought for 200 euro couple of years ago with 1 years nct

Have you used it? How well does it work?

Haven't used it yet . But will let you know

see post 1656 ?

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Picked up this few weeks ago as a project , put on new bottom bar , two new sides and rest just needed cleaning

Very nice. Much work in it? Bought a tidy one myself the other day. A vicon aswell but a 300 kg one. That is 500kg or 1000kg?

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Very nice. Much work in it? Bought a tidy one myself the other day. A vicon aswell but a 300 kg one. That is 500kg or 1000kg?
    500 kg , the lad I got it off had fine new sides made up for it , but rented land few miles away so bought a 1 tonne one , so he gave me them to use as they were the worst bits , they had rusted away from base frame , but I replaced that with new gal pipe , I had it done in about 3 evenings and painted it last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

They are pure hardship and can be replaced cheap enough. Replaced them all here a few years ago for a couple of hundred afair. Got the steel manhole covers on the safety grant last year for them.

Some one used their head when roofing this "landrover" trailer.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Some one used their head when roofing this "landrover" trailer.

Reminded me of something I saw when googling recently. An extreme form of "recycling".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Looks like a handy yoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭annubis

Looks like a handy yoke!
    ya very handy

annubis wrote: »
    ya very handy

Not a bad price either

i have an older type one here but its hopeless, wont cut into bag right so you couldnt trust it to stay in place, think you would need bag to be lifted though and be fitted your adapter in underneath bag as opposed to photo, you would have enough flow id say with the bag just resting ontop like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

annubis wrote: »
    i have an older type one here but its hopeless, wont cut into bag right so you couldnt trust it to stay in place, think you would need bag to be lifted though and be fitted your adapter in underneath bag as opposed to photo, you would have enough flow id say with the bag just resting ontop like that

I was going to order the one in LC pictures yesterday but didn't like the little blades and screwing it in so had a rethink . I'd say the other one on DD that's a bit dearer might be more robust . What ye think ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    I was going to order the one in LC pictures yesterday but didn't like the little blades and screwing it in so had a rethink . I'd say the other one on DD that's a bit dearer might be more robust . What ye think ?
    ya my one has little blades and screws in, as i say its hopeless

I ordered the one in Cork there awhile ago , €161 including VAT and delivery. Hope it works well now

Bullocks wrote: »
    I ordered the one in Cork there awhile ago , €161 including VAT and delivery. Hope it works well now

Keep us posted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Not ground breaking but this is a catch I made up to keep a covered gate open.
    You just push the gate and it latches on to the plate on the pillar on the house.
    2016_03_24_14.jpg

Keep us posted

Will do , depending on the weather though it could be a month before I use it if I get to spread what I have here before it arrives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭mengele

Not a bad price either

what is the reason for people buying these? that there spinner wont hold a big bag? they don't want to use a whole bag and don't want to be lifting small bags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

@ pedigree 6

The sharp point on the end of the latch looks like an accident waiting to happen, would it not be a good idea to grind it back or round it over for fear someone would do themselves an injury if they walked or backed into it?

mengele wrote: »
    what is the reason for people buying these? that there spinner wont hold a big bag? they don't want to use a whole bag and don't want to be lifting small bags?

Quad spreader that holds four or so cwt. Or that you don't want to fill completely due to soft or hilly ground . Leave the bag hanging on the forks and you can zoom in and out in minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 EJ88

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Quad spreader that holds four or so cwt. Or that you don't want to fill completely due to soft or hilly ground . Leave the bag hanging on the forks and you can zoom in and out in minutes.

Why not use 50kg bags?

EJ88 wrote: »
    Why not use 50kg bags?

Easier on the back