Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Anybody know where I could get a steel pipe with a right angle bend and a thread to match the top of an oil barrel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Anybody know where I could get a steel pipe with a right angle bend and a thread to match the top of an oil barrel?

2"gun barrel fittings will do the job any plumbing store will havethem and if you need a long length of pipe they will be able to point you to a plumber nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Making a BBQ smoker

That's just a barrel with an angle grinder in top! :p

And? :D
    Second pic wouldn't load last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

And? :D
    Second pic wouldn't load last night

Your ahead of yourself bogman, signs made up before the smoker is finished. ðŸ˜

mayota wrote: »
    Your ahead of yourself bogman, signs made up before the smoker is finished. ðŸ˜

That was my straight edge for marking it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That was my straight edge for marking it
    Ah here was me thinking that you were going to invite us all to a feast of delicious smoked food. Aww I'm disappointed now ;)

Base price wrote: »
    Ah here was me thinking that you were going to invite us all to a feast of delicious smoked food. Aww I'm disappointed now ;)

Well if you are doing nothing on the 23rd swing on by! Bee you a ribs or a brisket girl Base?

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭SCOL

A few photo's of a fork I made for my Ferguson 20 a while ago. the ESB changed poles and left all the old steel in the ditch behind them, 2 or 3 months after poles were put up and no sign of them collecting the steel I got it so it only cost a cutting disc and a few rods.

I was surprised that the old Ferguson could lift a round bale of Hay and also that
    the forks held. It's got plenty of use so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Well if you are doing nothing on the 23rd swing on by! Bee you a ribs or a brisket girl Base?
    Either, I will have a bit of both :D

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

Can't wait to see finished smoker Bog man .. being meaning to do one for years .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

SCOL wrote: »
    A few photo's of a fork I made for my Ferguson 20 a while ago. the ESB changed poles and left all the old steel in the ditch behind them, 2 or 3 months after poles were put up and no sign of them collecting the steel I got it so it only cost a cutting disc and a few rods.

I was surprised that the old Ferguson could lift a round bale of Hay and also that
    the forks held. It's got plenty of use so far.

Now that's proper gunthering

I was giving out to herself a week ago that the midges and horse flies were terrible that they had my arms and head destroyed. Big red welts, horrid itchy and sore.

Then it dawned on me a few days later that l'd been using the angle grinder with just a tee shirt and not a cap that was ever known !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Muckit wrote: »
    I was giving out to herself a week ago that the midges and horse flies were terrible that they had my arms and head destroyed. Big red welts, horrid itchy and sore.

Then it dawned on me a few days later that l'd been using the angle grinder with just a tee shirt and not a cap that was ever known !!!

dropping enough hints to get a plasma cutter for Christmas :p

Any body know where I could get u section safety edging like this?
    https://www.themetalstore.co.uk/products/U-Section-Safety-Edging-Section

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Have you tried any steel suppliers? They might get a few lengths in. How much do you need?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭emaherx

Themetalstore.co.UK have some :D

blue5000 wrote: »
    Have you tried any steel suppliers? They might get a few lengths in. How much do you need?

Not much. 6 foot would probably do me.

Quick one. Can you use standard angle grinder/chop saw discs to cut aluminium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Yes but it's a very rough cut, with a "burr" raised on the edges. Will open your hand like a razor blade. If possible, get an engineering place to chop it with the guillotine.

An engineering place will chop off a three inch strip of mild steel and then put a 90 degree bend in it. Probably be able to "close" it over to what you want.

Muckit wrote: »
    Quick one. Can you use standard angle grinder/chop saw discs to cut aluminium?

you can get saw blades for it

https://www.milwaukeetool.com/accessories/cutting/48-40-4530

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Clutch in the strimmer is sticking here and the head is turning the whole time. I took it apart and there's a bit of rust on it that's making it too stiff to close in when it's idling. Can anything be done with it to loosen it out or is it fecked? Tried to find a replacement one online but can't find one, strimmer is a stihl fs260 if anyone can help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Clutch in the strimmer is sticking here and the head is turning the whole time. I took it apart and there's a bit of rust on it that's making it too stiff to close in when it's idling. Can anything be done with it to loosen it out or is it fecked? Tried to find a replacement one online but can't find one, strimmer is a stihl fs260 if anyone can help.

Go to your local dealer he will have one that was run on too lean a mix and get the clutch out of it.

industrial scale guntherin

Just a little spring loaded catch for the gate on a chute.
    Will be able to open it from the far end, by way of a rope.

Has anyone used the Zinc/Galvanize aerosol from Lidl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Did you form that circular ring? If looks like it is welded.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Cut from an old HayBob tine, the weld is just to take the sharp edge off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭bgrove

I use the floor mats from the playroom when I'm under machines etc. Cheap lidl/aldi yokes. Serious comfort instead of concrete esp if the knees are on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

bgrove wrote: »
    I use the floor mats from the playroom when I'm under machines etc. Cheap lidl/aldi yokes. Serious comfort instead of concrete esp if the knees are on the way out.

http://www.halfords.ie/workshop-tools/garage-equipment/garage-essentials/rolson-6-piece-floor-mat-set-120-x-180cm

A lad on twitter used them for the pit in the parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

bit of a problem with a nut and bolt, i've a nut insert that is stuck into something, cannot be cut out and replaced, but the bolt i have is too small, the bolt is attached to something and it cannot be cut and a bigger one welded on.

can the bolt be built up using thread repair pieces? Basically turning an m4 bolt into a m5 or m6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

timple23 wrote: »
    bit of a problem with a nut and bolt, i've a nut insert that is stuck into something, cannot be cut out and replaced, but the bolt i have is too small, the bolt is attached to something and it cannot be cut and a bigger one welded on.

can the bolt be built up using thread repair pieces? Basically turning an m4 bolt into a m5 or m6

I had to read that a few times..

A helicoil may well do the job for you..

Maybe a photo or two of the setup would yield some ideas.. unless its some S&M equipment.... then we need videos :o

timple23 wrote: »

Can you get a drill in at the nut? If you can, re-thread it and use a bigger bolt to suit the tap. Not 100% sure what you have to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Looking at making up a movable pallet for the shaker. Just gonna put castors onto one of those blue chep pallets. Where would be best to source some heavy duty castors?? TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Looking at making up a movable pallet for the shaker. Just gonna put castors onto one of those blue chep pallets. Where would be best to source some heavy duty castors?? TIA

Caulfields?
    http://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/advsearch/index?keywords=Castors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

These may not be heavy enough for you, but they are cheap!!

http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?action=showDetail&id=42930

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

But I reckon a pallet truck is a better job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭ABlur

TheBody wrote: »
    These may not be heavy enought for you, but they are cheap!!

I used a set of the Lidl ones on a light pallet for the 5 bag Vicon and they are fine. A blue Chep pallet is not a light yoke to move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Caulfields?

TheBody wrote:
    These may not be heavy enough for you, but they are cheap!!

ABlur wrote:
    I used a set of the Lidl ones on a light pallet for the 5 bag Vicon and they are fine. A blue Chep pallet is not a light yoke to move!

The lidl ones might do the trick. At a fiver it's worth a punt and sure get something stronger if needs be.

The chep pallets are heavy but I'm hoping it will withstand a bit of abuse!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭SCOL

12.5W LED Spotlight from Lidl any good ???

I'm just after putting on a few new sheets on the cattle shed and I took down the
    old halogen spot lights I was going to replace them but seen these coming up in Lidl does anyone know if they are any good for light ?

Got to fire up the new smoker over the weekend. Pretty happy with how it worked out. Zero welds just cut, drilled and bolted

In action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

In action

I'm hungry now (heads to chippers).

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Hi does anyone have a made up bracket mounted of a shed or similar to hook a big bag of fert onto with loader tractor that you can then reverse under bag and fill spreader on the loader tractor . Would appreciate any pics if anyone can help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Limofarmer wrote: »
    Hi does anyone have a made up bracket mounted of a shed or similar to hook a big bag of fert onto with loader tractor that you can then reverse under bag and fill spreader on the loader tractor . Would appreciate any pics if anyone can help.

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/labour-saving-tip-big-fertiliser-bag-hanger-205207

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Thanks I will have a look at that when I get tomorrow's F J . Link won't open for me till i enter code from paper . Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I saw a guy with that setup from journal but he had a frame underneath bags with a sheet of galvanised mesh on it. It had two purposes... To filter any lumps out of fertilizer and also as a safety measure if hanging poles failed the bag would just fall the few inches onto frame. Another option if you have freestanding space... Two RSJs a few feet apart, X braced, and another RSJ sitting on top horizontally. You can hang two bags on either side. When spreading a lot you can fill spreader with however many bags it will take then hang up four more bags and then take off grab off loader.

I signed up for a newsletter with wws and they have a mag drill on special at €335 but not sure on the vat, handy hardware have one for €322.
    http://www.wholesaleweldingsupplies.ie/index.php?route=product/product&path=682&product_id=915

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I signed up for a newsletter with wws and they have a mag drill on special at €335 but not sure on the vat, handy hardware have one for €322.
    http://www.wholesaleweldingsupplies.ie/index.php?route=product/product&path=682&product_id=915

That's 335+vat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

just bought that same drill but from this crowd

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Evolution-EVO42-110v-Mag-Drill-Magnetic-Rotabroach-Drill-42mm-Capacity-/251871434477?hash=item3aa4b516ed:g:nLYAAOSwkNZUfacZ

I am after getting it. it only took 3 days to come. didn't take it out the box yet though as I didn't have time plus I have no drill buts for it. Must find out what are the biggest bolts my local coop sell and buy that bit first