Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

DM3x8M.jpg

mGWBBt.jpg

You can see in both pictures the spring loaded bolt we used to keep them in place .. a friend of my brother in law is a contractor and has his own workshop with a big press on a ram .. he bent them for us in an hour .. we used lightish sheeting to keep weight down .. my dad is 76 and he is able to use them .

So how much and when are ya available?☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Brilliant idea. No way to bend sheet metal but might try it with corripipe. What size would ye use 18"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Brilliant idea. No way to bend sheet metal but might try it with corripipe. What size would ye use 18"?

Our local steel merchant cuts and bends flat galvanise....maybe there's a supplier near you that does too.
    Much tidier and more professional looking to cut it in a guillotine and bend it in a press

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

rangler1 wrote: »
    Our local steel merchant cuts and bends flat galvanise....maybe there's a supplier near you that does too.
    Much tidier and more professional looking to cut it in a guillotine and bend it in a press

Not exactly guntering then though...

:-P

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Not exactly guntering then though...

:-P

No but it's labour saving .. :-)

Wildsurfer wrote: »

Not sure what size they come in to be honest
    12 inch might work too it would still be 6 inches deep by 12 inches wide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Yes 12" corripipe is what I used to make field troughs and adult finishing cattle use it no bother. Plenty deep enough

next project .. bit of trial and error .:)

TCl30Y.jpg

WWPE5p.jpg

start of mobile ton bag holder for moving around silage yard and other slatted shed gathering plastic .too much time on my hands :D

job done for now till we see how she goes full :D ...dont look too closely at the welding :o .... the wheels are solid and i got them in aurivio for €25 a piece with bearing in them to suit 20mm round bar .

nQxCMo.jpg

7ohMZT.jpg

9x1Mse.jpg

QtBxtw.jpg

Excellent idea! All l would add is a light lid from corribord or stokbord to throw off the rain. But l will be robbing that idea!!

Quick and dirty extra short top link to allow trailers to be attached without removing bale spike. Handy for feeding bales from home on the outside place, load tipping trailer with bales using loader at home, draw them out to outfarm with tractor, tip off and feed with spike

http://imgur.com/LvDPX0L

http://imgur.com/Dh9u8I2

Does it work as a top link? I thought it was hydraulic or something. Would a rope not do that job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Muckit wrote: »
    Does it work as a top link? I thought it was hydraulic or something. Would a rope not do that job?

Rope would wear out after a day or two.

Nah the proper link is in the cab on the road, then swapped in to feed the bales
    Being deadly honest I don't see why he couldn't just use a bit of chain or something, but I got to call to knock up "a yoke to keep that c*** of a spike from hopping off the pto" and this is what I came up with. :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Or possibly a chain with a few o ring's made of rebar so it can be used for transport and feed out.
    Attie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Saw this on the Teagasc discussion group on Facebook. A fine bit of guntering

410868.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Saw this on the Teagasc discussion group on Facebook. A fine bit of guntering

Yeah seen that myself. How practical I don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,933 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Are both rollers pulled together?

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Ya I'd say so and the arm works to throw it out like the mower . Great idea but would want big fields

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

I have a number of old bath tubs going making steel frames using for water troughs, what have lads used to plug them? Thinking just the plug and plenty tec7?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Peter90 wrote: »
    I have a number of old bath tubs going making steel frames using for water troughs, what have lads used to plug them? Thinking just the plug and plenty tec7?

Normally cut a piece of rubber from an old tube and get a small steel plate and bolt through the outlet

dzer2 wrote: »
    Normally cut a piece of rubber from an old tube and get a small steel plate and bolt through the outlet

Have one did similar 2 washers instead of rubber the tec7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Anyone priced lengths of steel lately?
    Would like to get a couple of lengths of 1/2/4 inch box and some 1and 2 inch angle, and some sheet steel I've a few small projects id like to get started on.
    Just want some sort of idea of cost.
    Thanks.

Anyone priced lengths of steel lately?
    Would like to get a couple of lengths of 1/2/4 inch box and some 1and 2 inch angle, and some sheet steel I've a few small projects id like to get started on.
    Just want some sort of idea of cost.
    Thanks.

I found chadwicks in Galway city cheaper than Coens steel oranmore, length of 40x40x2.5mm box only €20 in chadwicks around €22 a length in coens, only bring chadwicks don't have same selection won't have the sheet steel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

I found chadwicks in Galway city cheaper than Coens steel oranmore, length of 40x40x2.5mm box only €20 in chadwicks around €22 a length in coens, only bring chadwicks don't have same selection won't have the sheet steel

How long is standard length of box, 20'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

delaney001 wrote: »
    How long is standard length of box, 20'?

25'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭mengele

on the question of steel? Do the metal crowds supply if primed and painted as well as an extra or is it just far cheaper to do it yourself. The last stuff I ordered spent almost 2 days painting the stuff and another 2 days suffering from back ache from bending sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭9935452

mengele wrote: »
    on the question of steel? Do the metal crowds supply if primed and painted as well as an extra or is it just far cheaper to do it yourself. The last stuff I ordered spent almost 2 days painting the stuff and another 2 days suffering from back ache from bending sideways.

Some stuff like RSJ can be bought shotblasted and primed . ive never seen angle or box primed though
    IMO if you are going to the extra cost of buying steel shotblasted and primed you need to paint the steel with a good paint anyways as primer is just primer

Hadn't looked on Greendragon3's restoration thread since Christmas. Went over for a gawk and seems he not been on for a while. He is one skilled operator. Hope all is well with him. His work is top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭contrary_devil

9935452 wrote: »
    Some stuff like RSJ can be bought shotblasted and primed . ive never seen angle or box primed though
    IMO if you are going to the extra cost of buying steel shotblasted and primed you need to paint the steel with a good paint anyways as primer is just primer

Angle and box or indeed any other section can be blasted and primed though obviously the hollow sections will only be done on the exterior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hadn't looked on Greendragon3's restoration thread since Christmas. Went over for a gawk and seems he not been on for a while. He is one skilled operator. Hope all is well with him. His work is top class.

He's still missing? That can't be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Reggie. wrote: »
    He's still missing? That can't be good

Hopefully his brother is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Hopefully his brother is OK.

I was thinking that too. Hopefully all is well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Went into Coens yesterday for a few lengths of 40x40x2.5 and it seems they don't want people walking in to buy stuff anymore and don't want orders less than €100 either.
    I'll be shopping elsewhere no matter what from now on because of that crap
    €72 for 3 lengths inc VAT

Bullocks wrote: »
    Went into Coens yesterday for a few lengths of 40x40x2.5 and it seems they don't want people walking in to buy stuff anymore and don't want orders less than €100 either.

What ressession? Always found coens a bit jumped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭MfMan

Really? Always found them sound enough to deal with - often they would have off-cuts that would suit as gate posts etc. Haven't been there in 6 months or more, maybe they're tightening up now and being more selective in letting stuff out. Pity. Is there anyone else around Galway that would have the range they have?

kennedys in craughwell have a good selection, chadwicks have box, angle, some flat and some round tube and one or two rsjs

What ressession? Always found coens a bit jumped up.
    MfMan wrote: »
    Really? Always found them sound enough to deal with - often they would have off-cuts that would suit as gate posts etc. Haven't been there in 6 months or more, maybe they're tightening up now and being more selective in letting stuff out. Pity. Is there anyone else around Galway that would have the range they have?

I've had plenty of dealings with Coens and found them sound to deal with so
    I was surprised aswell with the way its was .
    They have a huge range of steel , I'd say Kennedy in Craughwell would be next with a good range

Correction to my post €18.50 a length 40x40x2.5 incl tax in chadwicks got 8 lengths today

I feel robbed now , big difference there

Bought 75x75 box with a 6mm wall today, 15.30 a metre plus vat.
    75x75 with a 3mm wall was 7.50 plus vat.
    Adds up very quickly.

Bought 75x75 box with a 6mm wall today, 15.30 a metre plus vat.
    75x75 with a 3mm wall was 7.50 plus vat.
    Adds up very quickly.

Heavy stuff Nek , whats the plan for stuff like that ?

Making some feeding barriers for ewes. The 6mm walled stuff is for the "foot" and the 3mm is for the up-rights. Each one is going to be 5 metres long, with crash barrier as the lower element where the silage will be, and a 4" pipe as the upper. These pipes were originally straight rails in a slatted house. (Before diagonal barriers were fitted)
    Will stick up a photo, easier than typing!

I really hate welding through galvanise. Somehow the fumes always seem attracted to the inside of the helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Watch the fumes off the galv. Got a dose of zinc fever after welding some box last yr. About 8 hrs later was shivering violently and frozen. Far worse than any flu. Not poisonous but you could be laid up for half a day if you get caught. A handheld shield might be a better option when welding galv steel. Outdoors if possible.

Making some feeding barriers for ewes. The 6mm walled stuff is for the "foot" and the 3mm is for the up-rights. Each one is going to be 5 metres long, with crash barrier as the lower element where the silage will be, and a 4" pipe as the upper. These pipes were originally straight rails in a slatted house. (Before diagonal barriers were fitted)
    Will stick up a photo, easier than typing!

I really hate welding through galvanise. Somehow the fumes always seem attracted to the inside of the helmet.
    Do thanks, the one I made was with the 2.5 thick and I thought it was plenty heavy but it was only 3.2 long.
    What height will your ewes be resting over to eat through, mine is. 300mm hopefully not too high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Watch the fumes off the galv. Got a dose of zinc fever after welding some box last yr. About 8 hrs later was shivering violently and frozen. Far worse than any flu. Not poisonous but you could be laid up for half a day if you get caught. A handheld shield might be a better option when welding galv steel. Outdoors if possible.

Sorry to inform you but that was you getting poisoned.
    It doesn't have to kill you to be a poison
    https://www.google.co.nz/search?q=zinc+poisoning&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-nz&client=safari

Do thanks, the one I made was with the 2.5 thick and I thought it was plenty heavy but it was only 3.2 long.
    What height will your ewes be resting over to eat through, mine is. 300mm hopefully not too high

Well, those were the only thicknesses the local place had in stock, went with it.
    If they don't get bent with careless loader work, they'll see me out! :D
    The crash barrier is 300mm, plus the height of the leg underneath.
    Bedding will soon build up, raising the ewes height.

Gix2Wzg.jpg

4Rnj5rg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Sami23

Well, those were the only thicknesses the local place had in stock, went with it.

Gix2Wzg.jpg

4Rnj5rg.jpg

Do you mind me asking where you got the crash barriers and rough idea of price.
    Tia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Gix2Wzg.jpg

4Rnj5rg.jpg

They're very high for sheep if you want them to reach the ground.....the build up of bedding and the corrugations of the barrier will make it even harder

Probably should have notched the barrier and dropped it down a few inches.
    Barriers came from Johnston farm equipment in Longford. Got them 18 months ago. They were around 30 euro. They mainly come in 11 foot lenghts