Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Right. The lads running the show are just determined to make it a lifetime job, capable of withstanding everything they are going to throw at it. I'm only cobbling it together for them.

If they are prone to driving into things nothing will save it.. otherwise i would say getting it galvanised would be a lasting job. Keep it up off the ground and maybe fit stokboard to the inside to protect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

That's why I hate box section with a passion. You can't tell the wall thickness by looking at it. On a farm too they rot away from the inside out in no time.
    All those cheap trailers you see on Donedeal, all have box section for beams undernath the body.

True to a point, but the radius of the corner of the box will give you a good idea of how heavy the wall is. Bigger radius = thicker wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,939 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

True to a point, but the radius of the corner of the box will give you a good idea of how heavy the wall is. Bigger radius = thicker wall
    Maybe, but they still rust from the inside out.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I must make a sliding door to allow the loader access to the calving shed from the yard with out going through the slats.

Door will be 9 feet wide and 12 feet high.

Is 80mm box enough for this?? Thinking with a 4 or 5mm wall in it.

Any advice much appreciated

Massive overkill, as said above 40 or 50mm box 3mm wall is plenty, i have doors hanging here that are lighter than that even and never had a problem.

Edit: Just read your second comment, if you're making it for them and they're paying for it then make it to the spec they want, but factor in extra runners for the extra weight and the hastle of standing something that heavy!

• Registered Users Posts: 38 5 wheel drive

trg wrote: »
    Hey, does anyone have a pic of a homemade silage pusher that works well on a front grab or the back lift arms? Would appreciate it, thanks in advance

Here it is. The bottom row of tones on silage grab go in throu the slot and then the wheel turns against the weight of the silage. Works perfect for us.

That's a fine looking tyre. Did it have an accident or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Massive overkill, as said above 40 or 50mm box 3mm wall is plenty, i have doors hanging here that are lighter than that even and never had a problem.

Edit: Just read your second comment, if you're making it for them and they're paying for it then make it to the spec they want, but factor in extra runners for the extra weight and the hastle of standing something that heavy!

Thanks for your reply. There was nothing specified only to "make it f#$%ing strong enough".

Steel for it landed today 50x50x3mm box.

Tbh I'd never made a door any bigger than a garage door and had assumed that section would have to increase with scale. After the replies got here the main thing that led me to get the 50mm was the thoughts of trying to hang the thing.

That's a fine looking tyre. Did it have an accident or what?

No I’ve just loads of money, haha.

Ya got it off a lad where the stabilizer off the linkage arm came off and went through the side wall. Tyre only on a week when it happened. Sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I just came across a different silage pusher for the guntering gang in here.

https://twitter.com/peter_cags/status/950657264033193984

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭mayota

Making some calf pens here. Anyone know if a cheap electromagnet could be made to pick up metal filings ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

mayota wrote: »
    Making some calf pens here. Anyone know if a cheap electromagnet could be made to pick up metal filings ?

9v battery bit of insulated wire and a piece of iron

wrap the wire around the iron lots of times and connect each end to the battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Nice Job,

Use an old speaker from a car maybe???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Nice Job,

Use an old speaker from a car maybe???

They're permanent magnets

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

ganmo wrote: »
    They're permanent magnets

I often use a magnet from a cb radio mount inside a light plastic tub. Pick up filings, hold tub over bin, pull out magnet and filings drop away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

I've made them here for numerous farmers and always use 50mm galvanised pipe. With the top section made from angle to allow door adjustment when fitting the door rollers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I often use a magnet from a cb radio mount inside a light plastic tub. Pick up filings, hold tub over bin, pull out magnet and filings drop away.

Cloth will do the same thing

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭The Rabbi

Round magnet from broken amber beacon or trailer lights in cap of aerosol can with thread tied to magnet to whip it out fast over scrap container.If you had a magdrill in a container it would be contractor scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just sweep them up :D

And there’s me trying to over complicate it! Thanks lads for the tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

trg wrote: »
    Hey, does anyone have a pic of a homemade silage pusher that works well on a front grab or the back lift arms? Would appreciate it, thanks in advance

https://mobile.twitter.com/peter_cags/status/950496829392805888/video/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Great job but you want a door at both ends of shed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭emaherx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,168 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Didnt somebody here have a yard scraper on a golf cart or mower? Could do similar just change the angle of the pusher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,360 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Base price wrote: »
    The other thing is we made two holes rather than cutting out one large hole in the center. This helped the barrel to hold its shape and not collapse. I will take a pic tomorrow.
    Here is one that we used last year. We originally started to cut out the centre but decided not too have way through the job. It worked well as a drinker and was placed between two pens, but there was too much volume of water for the calves to keep it fresh, iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,360 ✭✭✭✭Base price

OH has been busy making gates (in the feed barriers) to move calves in and out of the pens in the slatted unit. Still more work to be done filling in the triangles made when the barriers were cut and refitting the timbers. Lots of painting in store.

That’s a fine looking gate. I am doing up calf shed at the moment and went to price nine 12foot calf gates for the front of each pen. Over 140 euro plus vat per gate. Sounds very expensive to me.

Wat steel are you using there and what kind of hangers are you using.

I must decide if I’m going to make or buy?? I’ve only 2/3 week till calving starting.

That’s a fine looking gate. I am doing up calf shed at the moment and went to price nine 12foot calf gates for the front of each pen. Over 140 euro plus vat per gate. Sounds very expensive to me.

Wat steel are you using there and what kind of hangers are you using.

I must decide if I’m going to make or buy?? I’ve only 2/3 week till calving starting.

I’m using 1/2” heavy galv box. I got it for 50c/foot from a mushroom place that was closing. I’m hanging them off 3” pipe set in the floor so I’ve made round brackets that clamp on. Takes time. You could maybe use 12’ light gates at approx €75+vat?

I'm thinking this is from the advanced guntering class...
    https://twitter.com/Jimbutcher10/status/952603957536395264

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Noice double cab pickup, is it 4wd? Fairly big turning circle though.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Great yoke to block a gap though!

Muckit wrote: »
    Great yoke to block a gap though!

'Twould block a dual carriageway!

Anyone know a good place to get some chain, as in your regular welded chain? Need some for bits and pieces around the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭White Clover

Anyone know a good place to get some chain, as in your regular welded chain? Need some for bits and pieces around the farm.

Anderco lifting in cork would have what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭enricoh

Try a local scrapyard, new chain is gone expensive, if not genfitt in Mayo, give credit card no. n they courier it out to u

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭einn32

No dump line in the farm here so I bought few rolls of 1 inch yellow pipe, a submersible pump, a 3 pin socket that turns on when you phone it and cut open a barrell. Bucket the red milk from jar to barrel. It's not perfect but hopefully will save the backs and time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Not farming guntering but happy with the creativity.

The science students have to do a tensile year experiment on hair and we had no equipment capable of clamping the hair and also having it at a set weight calculations.
    This was my solution to their extensionometer problem
    439966.jpeg

439967.jpeg

I think a set of ramps would be a better idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The problem with ramps is that a lot of modern cars are very low to the ground and will actually get caught and scrape underneath and might even pull off the exhaust or sump ,that would be some fun

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Aravo

If it dosent look right it's not right. In my mind that's a tad dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Aravo wrote: »

Its the height of the walls on both sides is the issue. Pipe would barely bend enough to touch the road I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,795 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Aravo wrote: »

It looks like a specially made extension for the job on the loader. The pipe is supported all along the frame and the frame is well braced. There's no weight in the pipe anyway. They even got the correct curve right for the height.
    Thing of genius I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Aravo

Some undesirable could have a field day saying they came into contact with that. I know them ramps over the pipes are sometimes a disaster as they can be very steep and catch a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I suppose a bit of belt and braces approach would be no harm as regards Health & Safety- a few of those warning "ribbons" suspended from the hose, like you'd see on sites where there's a road passing under power lines or height restrictions? No advance warning on the approach road either...

Repaired old dung fork. I don't think we ever used it before, must have it 20 years or more. Always used the bucket. The pins were left lying around so got used as crowbars etc to dig holes. The tops got destroyed. Ended up with mushroom heads on them.
    Repaired them by grinded back the heads, cut M16 bolts and welded them on. Grand job. Saves me buying a new fork. Want it to clean out the calves shed.

First pic is how they were initially. A few pins are still on the fork.

440130.jpg

Bull wouldn't fit up the crush for herd test!
    So 2 gates, some scaffolding clamps and a tractor later.....

39260601634_b84ab680c0_c.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

What's he by?^^^^:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

blue5000 wrote: »
    A tractor a couple of gates and a wall by the look of the picture.:D
    :D:D:D.............

Do I take it you want to know who sired him? the AI man or a bull............

blue5000 wrote: »

RAWBURN ROMMEL E423