Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

Can't wait to see finished smoker Bog man .. being meaning to do one for years .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

SCOL wrote: »
    A few photo's of a fork I made for my Ferguson 20 a while ago. the ESB changed poles and left all the old steel in the ditch behind them, 2 or 3 months after poles were put up and no sign of them collecting the steel I got it so it only cost a cutting disc and a few rods.

I was surprised that the old Ferguson could lift a round bale of Hay and also that
    the forks held. It's got plenty of use so far.

Now that's proper gunthering

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I was giving out to herself a week ago that the midges and horse flies were terrible that they had my arms and head destroyed. Big red welts, horrid itchy and sore.

Then it dawned on me a few days later that l'd been using the angle grinder with just a tee shirt and not a cap that was ever known !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Muckit wrote: »
    I was giving out to herself a week ago that the midges and horse flies were terrible that they had my arms and head destroyed. Big red welts, horrid itchy and sore.

Then it dawned on me a few days later that l'd been using the angle grinder with just a tee shirt and not a cap that was ever known !!!

dropping enough hints to get a plasma cutter for Christmas :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,066 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Any body know where I could get u section safety edging like this?
    https://www.themetalstore.co.uk/products/U-Section-Safety-Edging-Section

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Have you tried any steel suppliers? They might get a few lengths in. How much do you need?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭emaherx

Themetalstore.co.UK have some :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,066 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

blue5000 wrote: »
    Have you tried any steel suppliers? They might get a few lengths in. How much do you need?

Not much. 6 foot would probably do me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Quick one. Can you use standard angle grinder/chop saw discs to cut aluminium?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Yes but it's a very rough cut, with a "burr" raised on the edges. Will open your hand like a razor blade. If possible, get an engineering place to chop it with the guillotine.

An engineering place will chop off a three inch strip of mild steel and then put a 90 degree bend in it. Probably be able to "close" it over to what you want.

Muckit wrote: »
    Quick one. Can you use standard angle grinder/chop saw discs to cut aluminium?

you can get saw blades for it

https://www.milwaukeetool.com/accessories/cutting/48-40-4530

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Clutch in the strimmer is sticking here and the head is turning the whole time. I took it apart and there's a bit of rust on it that's making it too stiff to close in when it's idling. Can anything be done with it to loosen it out or is it fecked? Tried to find a replacement one online but can't find one, strimmer is a stihl fs260 if anyone can help.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭dzer2

Clutch in the strimmer is sticking here and the head is turning the whole time. I took it apart and there's a bit of rust on it that's making it too stiff to close in when it's idling. Can anything be done with it to loosen it out or is it fecked? Tried to find a replacement one online but can't find one, strimmer is a stihl fs260 if anyone can help.

Go to your local dealer he will have one that was run on too lean a mix and get the clutch out of it.

industrial scale guntherin

Just a little spring loaded catch for the gate on a chute.
    Will be able to open it from the far end, by way of a rope.

Has anyone used the Zinc/Galvanize aerosol from Lidl?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Did you form that circular ring? If looks like it is welded.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

Cut from an old HayBob tine, the weld is just to take the sharp edge off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭bgrove

I use the floor mats from the playroom when I'm under machines etc. Cheap lidl/aldi yokes. Serious comfort instead of concrete esp if the knees are on the way out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

bgrove wrote: »
    I use the floor mats from the playroom when I'm under machines etc. Cheap lidl/aldi yokes. Serious comfort instead of concrete esp if the knees are on the way out.

http://www.halfords.ie/workshop-tools/garage-equipment/garage-essentials/rolson-6-piece-floor-mat-set-120-x-180cm

A lad on twitter used them for the pit in the parlour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

bit of a problem with a nut and bolt, i've a nut insert that is stuck into something, cannot be cut out and replaced, but the bolt i have is too small, the bolt is attached to something and it cannot be cut and a bigger one welded on.

can the bolt be built up using thread repair pieces? Basically turning an m4 bolt into a m5 or m6

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

timple23 wrote: »
    bit of a problem with a nut and bolt, i've a nut insert that is stuck into something, cannot be cut out and replaced, but the bolt i have is too small, the bolt is attached to something and it cannot be cut and a bigger one welded on.

can the bolt be built up using thread repair pieces? Basically turning an m4 bolt into a m5 or m6

I had to read that a few times..

A helicoil may well do the job for you..

Maybe a photo or two of the setup would yield some ideas.. unless its some S&M equipment.... then we need videos :o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

timple23 wrote: »

Can you get a drill in at the nut? If you can, re-thread it and use a bigger bolt to suit the tap. Not 100% sure what you have to be honest.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Looking at making up a movable pallet for the shaker. Just gonna put castors onto one of those blue chep pallets. Where would be best to source some heavy duty castors?? TIA

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Looking at making up a movable pallet for the shaker. Just gonna put castors onto one of those blue chep pallets. Where would be best to source some heavy duty castors?? TIA

Caulfields?
    http://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/advsearch/index?keywords=Castors

• Registered Users Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭TheBody

These may not be heavy enough for you, but they are cheap!!

http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?action=showDetail&id=42930

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

But I reckon a pallet truck is a better job

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭ABlur

TheBody wrote: »
    These may not be heavy enought for you, but they are cheap!!

I used a set of the Lidl ones on a light pallet for the 5 bag Vicon and they are fine. A blue Chep pallet is not a light yoke to move!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Caulfields?

TheBody wrote:
    These may not be heavy enough for you, but they are cheap!!

ABlur wrote:
    I used a set of the Lidl ones on a light pallet for the 5 bag Vicon and they are fine. A blue Chep pallet is not a light yoke to move!

The lidl ones might do the trick. At a fiver it's worth a punt and sure get something stronger if needs be.

The chep pallets are heavy but I'm hoping it will withstand a bit of abuse!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭SCOL

12.5W LED Spotlight from Lidl any good ???

I'm just after putting on a few new sheets on the cattle shed and I took down the
    old halogen spot lights I was going to replace them but seen these coming up in Lidl does anyone know if they are any good for light ?