Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Traffic in Dublin this evening

• 17-06-2009 11:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭

Been a while since seen so bad after 7pm. Christchurch & surrounding areas was gridlocked.

Guards had Dame road going from Christchurch to Dame Street.
    I heard afterwards man killed in accident on Ormond Quay so roads closed there too.
    Also a big fire in Inchicore with road closed.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

RIP
    Condolonces to their families
    Two dead in separate road crashes
    Wednesday, 17 June 2009 21:49

A man in his 70s and a woman in her 40s have died following separate road accidents in Dublin and Cork.

The man died in Dublin after he was hit by a bus on Ormond Quay at the Millennium Bridge at 3.45pm this afternoon.

Traffic diversions have now been lifted and the north quays have fully reopened.

Elsewhere, the 44-year-old woman died following a crash at Shandangan in Co Cork this afternoon.

The victim has been named as Martina O'Driscoll from Ovens in Co Cork.

She was taken to Cork University Hospital but died of her injuries this evening.

The crash happened at Shandangan, Carrigadrohid near Macroom at about 1.45pm this afternoon.

The woman was the only occupant of the car and there were no other vehicles involved.

Gardaí are appealing to people who may have witnessed the accident to contact them in Macroom at 026 20590.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0617/rta.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Just a general observation?

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

What I should have said is sometimes we sit in our car bitching about the traffic not knowing there may be an accident ahead...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

What I should have said is sometimes we sit in our car bitching about the traffic not knowing there may be an accident ahead...

That is bloody annoying it's true. You don't know whether you should cancel your plans or if it'll be cleared in 2 mins.

Be nice if the AA did some sort of mobile website or if there was some sort of dedicated traffic radio station (not interupted by bad music and out of date reports etc).

Random wrote: »
    Be nice if the AA did some sort of mobile website or if there was some sort of dedicated traffic radio station (not interupted by bad music and out of date reports etc).
    http://dublincityfm.ie/
    103.2FM

Actually, I recall driving along the old N4 from Dublin towards Enfield. Traffic was moving very very slowly that it took IIRC about an hour to travel a few kms and I and the driver behind (and possibly most others) were becoming irate.
    Anyhow we eventually turned a bend and saw an ambulance and felt less irate until we got to it, where the ambulance drivers were handing out feckin leaflets about driving safely and slowing down. There was no accident or anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There was a fire earlier at the old knorr factory on the canal just after the marble arch pub. There were traffic diversions in place and the garda directed everyone into drimnagh, sure not everyone could navigate there way around. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

There was also this on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Dam cyclists using our roads! Who pays the road tax now!? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Hal1 wrote: »
    Dam cyclists using our roads! Who pays the road tax now!? :pac:
    Nobody. Motorists do pay motor tax though :P