Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

apparently its fathers day tomorrow

• 20-06-2009 9:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭

what is everyone getting theirs?i only remembered it was fathers day earlier,reliable old whiskey has come to the rescue once again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

and it comes exactly three months after mothers day or ,ironically,nine months before mothers day next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I got my dad a ped-egg

...it's gross, but I know he'll love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whats the definition of confusion?

fathers day in sheriff street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

phasers wrote: »
    I got my dad a ped-egg

I got one for the GF and she says it's great. The romance might be over but that doesn't mean you can't have smooth feet.

Father's day...hmmm....I don't know....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

one of them 20 euro scratch cards.....

hes not really interested in anything ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

people seem to be going mad over the ped egg lately,theres a bloke selling them on henry street any time im there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Oops, I forgot!

Will have to head into town in the morning while he's off golfing to get him something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Sometimes I wish I could buy my oulfella whiskey on such occassions. When I ask him what he wants its always some sort of marital aid he asks me to sniff after he uses it....I REALLY need to get a place of my own! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

I got my dad a ped-egg

Thanks, you just made me feel alot better about myself.

Whatever I get my father in the petrol station in the morning will have to be better than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

wtf is a ped egg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Oh ****....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Sandpaper for your feet I think!

That €20 lotto ticket thingy is a great idea, thanks!

Jimbo wrote: »

Thanks, you just made me feel alot better about myself.

Whatever I get my father in the petrol station in the morning will have to be better than that.

Not really, I bought it after considering what my dad would like and his endless hints about it. He's working tomorrow so I gave it to him now, he's thrilled.

So basically I love my dad and you don't love yours so gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A couple of packs of smokes. What better to way to say, Dad you're a top man now take these, they will take a few more years off your life. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

its nice to see that it wasnt just me that forgot!dont worry people just run to a 24 hour tesco and youl be grand!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Mousey- wrote: »
    one of them 20 euro scratch cards.....

hes not really interested in anything ....

Same here. Only remembered this afternoon it was fathers day tomorrow.

Those €20 scratch cards - are they actual scratch cards or are they those lotto tickets that they sell a couple of times per year (they only sell something like 300,000 tickets so you have a much better chance of winning, hence the higher cost of the lotto ticket)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

KevR wrote: »

Those €20 scratch cards - are they actual scratch cards or are they those lotto tickets that they sell a couple of times per year (they only sell something like 300,000 tickets so you have a much better chance of winning, hence the higher cost of the lotto ticket)?

Yes sorry I thought they meant the millionaire lotto thing, that's what I'll get him :) Draw is Aug 26th. Not sure if there's such thing as an actual €20 scratchcard!

The one I got was the millionaire ticket - think the draw is in August.

Cathooo wrote: »
    Yes sorry I thought they meant the millionaire lotto thing, that's what I'll get him :) Draw is Aug 26th. Not sure if there's such thing as an actual €20 scratchcard!
    Saibh wrote: »
    The one I got was the millionaire ticket - think the draw is in August.

Cheers! Think I'll go for one of them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Cheers! Think I'll go for one of them too.

Me too, this was easier than I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The sentiment expressed on this thread is why I went out and bought myself an iPhone last week.

Dads aren't interested in anything...
    Dads are very hard to buy for...
    Blah blah blah...

Me bollix, yis are just too lazy to put any thought into it. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Hagar wrote: »

Way to make a chap feel guilty for not wanting to enter a sex shop for his dad's gift!

I guess I'll be hitting Ann Summers in the morning incognito

Can't deny that! Also, I only have a budget of roughly €20.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

you're all victims of consumerism and advertising, I never get the ol boy anything on fathers day, its all a bunch of baloney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

what is everyone getting theirs?i only remembered it was fathers day earlier,reliable old whiskey has come to the rescue once again

Looking for tips are we?

mine got scratchcards cos his bdays next week so it will do him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

you're all victims of consumerism and advertising, I never get the ol boy anything on fathers day, its all a bunch of baloney

phew, thought I was the only one not getting him anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I got a rock,painted it then wrote daddy on it in permanent marker for him tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 melissa4gar

The sentiment expressed on this thread is why I went out and bought myself an iPhone last week.

Dads aren't interested in anything...
    Dads are very hard to buy for...
    Blah blah blah...

exactly a lot of thought should be put into it. like hes your da. i will be visiting my da in a bloody grave yard tomorow hes six months dead and he was my best friend some people dont know how lucky they are to be able to buy crappy worthless gifts

Well you're a victim of the Americanisation of the entire western world Mr. Baloney.
    (or else you're American....)

Also going to give him money.

He plays golf, know nothing about golf, so I let him decide what he want to buy.

yeah thats what i meant......

only 300,000 sold so 300,000 x 20 = 6 million and the max prize is how much?????

cheap *cough cough*

it might be balooney the specific day but its nice every once and a while i supose....

imagine how much money hes given you over the years..... a fiver here 2 euro there when you were a kid. and paying for everything you owned up till 10 - 15 depending how lazy you were.

im still young so..... might as well ...he could be dead in the morning....and more than likley he had given me the money a few months previous :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

Mousey- wrote: »
    cheap *cough cough*

it might be balooney the specific day but its nice every once and a while i supose....

imagine how much money hes given you over the years..... a fiver here 2 euro there when you were a kid. and paying for everything you owned up till 10 - 15 depending how lazy you were.

im still young so..... might as well ...he could be dead in the morning....and more than likley he had given me the money a few months previous :)

I'm not usually cheap, I throw him a couple o'hundred euros every few months, but can't at the min, funds are low and might be losing my jerwb next month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Got him a few fancy beers this evening (One of the bottles cost €6!), and going fishing with him tomorrow. Might buy us a takeaway on the way home as mums for Dublin tomorrow, and we likely wont be bothered cooking after boating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Got my Simpson slippers and cool pyjama set with "Warning: Dad at work" with danger sign on the T Shirt. Well chuffed!

Card and the usual shirt for my Da I'm afraid.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Is it not FAthers Day everyday of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

My Dad is total legend. The guy rocks my world. I never have to call any DIY types in, and he fixes my car if it gives me any crap. Hes been sketching out little designs for a gazebo type thing for my back garden. Daddies and their daughters eh? :pac:

I've gotten him a card, and I'm heading off to his place in the morning. Gonna make him some breakfast and give him the day off tomorrow :p A man of few words, but the best Dads usually are.. I don't believe in rushing off to the nearest shop to buy some pre-produced shyte marketed for the day. The personal touch is best, and more appreciated in my experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Tefral

Was buying a Munster season ticket for myself and one of the lads reminded me of fathers day, So i bought him a season ticket too...

Abigayle wrote: »
    I don't believe in rushing off to the nearest shop to buy some pre-produced shyte marketed for the day. The personal touch is best, and more appreciated in my experience :)

Your Da sounds cool. Agree on the man of few words thing. Mines always had the "if you've nothing good to say, don't say it" philosophy too. Unfortunately he's a man of few words for a different reason now!

I suppose my own gift is commercialised but it describes me very well too! When it comes to DIY stuff I'm a hazard!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,182 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

He made me promise not to spend any money on him so I have to pirate him some Hi Res movies. Its actually proving quite difficult because most of these dont subtitle the non-english dialog in either film. bah.

Dad,

Here. I promised not to spend any money so I didn't.

Stolen with love,

Overheal

K-9 wrote: »
    Your Da sounds cool. Agree on the man of few words thing. Mines always had the "if you've nothing good to say, don't say it" philosophy too. Unfortunately he's a man of few words for a different reason now!
    I think I understand what you mean there..
    I suppose my own gift is commercialised but it describes me very well too! When it comes to DIY stuff I'm a hazard!

I didn't mean for it to sound like that tbh.. I just hate how companies make money from us all in this way. But sometimes, they can touch a point thats relevant to your relationship with your Dad / Mother / Aunt etc.

If truth be told, Mum complains a little about him. She thinks he gets 'mad ideas' all of a sudden with what to do in the house or garden. I can never agree with her, and in a respectful way (of course) tell her to stfu. Actually no, thats not true, I do tell her to stfu.. :p .. Hes a creative guy, and a legend to have drinks with (Mums a bit of a non drinker sort)... my Fathers daughter alright :pac:

Daddies rock!

/Flag

Abigayle wrote: »
    I think I understand what you mean there..

I didn't mean for it to sound like that tbh.. I just hate how companies make money from us all in this way. But sometimes, they can touch a point thats relevant to your relationship with your Dad / Mother / Aunt etc.

If truth be told, Mum complains a little about him. She thinks he gets 'mad ideas' all of a sudden with what to do in the house or garden. I can never agree with her, and in a respectful way (of course) tell her to stfu. Actually no, thats not true, I do tell her to stfu.. :p .. Hes a creative guy, and a legend to have drinks with (Mums a bit of a non drinker sort)... my Fathers daughter alright :pac:

Daddies rock!

/Flag

Ach I, know what you mean.

Pity the poor b*stard who you introduce to him though, "Dad, this is my bf"!

K-9 wrote: »
    Ach I, know what you mean.

Pity the poor b*stard who you introduce to him though, "Dad, this is my bf"!

As a 29 yr old, I havent given him too much heart ache ;) The key point there is to keep them apart as long as possible, until both sides have a good idea what makes the other tick. Two intidmidated men is not an easy thing for wimminz to put right :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Valentines day...Love day(;))..Fathers day... yet another Hallmark Holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

what am i getting dad, a wreath. he died years ago.

if you dont get your dad anything then at least call round,say hi.

show him you thought of him,hes worth it. and one day it will be too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

wudangclan wrote: »
    and it comes exactly three months after mothers day or ,ironically,nine months before mothers day next year.
    So, if i give wife a present today, she gets a special delivery in 9 months time.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Why can't be the same date all over the world. I nearly missed this one (again)

I've bought my dad new clothes, sent him on holidays, bought him Simpsons DVD box sets, coffee machines, all sorts of stuff... and his favourite gift from me is the ped egg.

He's so weird...

I've bought my dad new clothes, sent him on holidays, bought him Simpsons DVD box sets, coffee machines, all sorts of stuff... and his favourite gift from me is the ped egg.

He's so weird...

Your Dad watches the Simpsons? He sounds cool.

I'm getting my Dad some Goldfish.