Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Random wrote: »
    As for tipping... I dislike the whole tipping culture in the US. You can have a tip if you do something right (make sure I never run out of food and drink, walk past every now and again so I can call you if I want help, but go away and stop bothering me unless I call you) or if you're an attractive female (what can I say .. I'm human .. ). Otherwise you get no tip.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054954977
    Lots of us agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Sorry if this has been done before but what's the story with the Restrooms in America and the big gaps in the doors? I was in a restaurant and actually caught someone looking in at me! :eek:
    Does anyone know what the point of them is? They look something like this (can't find an actual pic) http://rangarajaniyengar.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/actual-restroom.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

We had this before.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

They haven't always been like that. Back when Americans were thin the doors met the sides but now that the average weight has increased they've had to expand the stalls. True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

saves em putting a glory hole in :D

Thinks its something to do with drug use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,118 ✭✭✭DenMan

Upstairs Burger King in O'Connell St is exactly the same.

blue-army wrote: »

Like I said...sorry if it was done before. Not the easiest thing to search for. IS that really true michellenman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Jeapy wrote: »
    Like I said...sorry if it was done before. Not the easiest thing to search for. IS that really true michellenman?

Absolutely not.

Those ones which have sensors always flush when you get up from the seat too. No idea about the gaps in the doors though, noticed that myself when I was over there.

Dónal wrote: »
    Those ones which have sensors always flush when you get up from the seat too. No idea about the gaps in the doors though, noticed that myself when I was over there.

Some of them flush when you're on them too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

I seen one were fresh plastic covering on the seat revolves round it when your finished !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,412 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

didn't notice this in the US that much, toilets are a bit lower

here the thread from a month ago
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60804297

didn't notice this in the US that much, toilets are a bit lower

here the thread from a month ago
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60804297

Thanks for that! I was searching "restrooms" "america" etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

blue-army wrote: »

quite recently too

I was on holidays at the time. I'm not that addicted to boards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

DenMan wrote: »
    Upstairs Burger King in O'Connell St is exactly the same.

Ye its horrible if you have shy willy syndrome

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

what i really hate is how the water is so high in the bowl... i'm using it to take a dump... not wash me fecking mickey... :confused:

- Drav!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

pebbles21 wrote: »
    I seen one were fresh plastic covering on the seat revolves round it when your finished !

The ones in Chicago O'Hare airport have all of the above - gaps big enough to put your hands through, auto-flushing bogs with ridiculously high water level and the weird plastic covering that rotates over the seat Oo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Omnomnom

When i was in america the toilets just flushed of their own accord, usually mid pee!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I know!!!! The toilets in Sanford (Orlando) airport have massive gaps at the bottom of the walls dividing the toilets. I was squatting on one and the person next door could surely see me from the knees down:o!
    I can't remember which theme park I was in.. but one of them had a really violent flush! I'd barely wiped myself and it went off like a bomb, drowning me from head to toe!
    Next time I used one It was a scrambling panic to pull my knickers up and get out the door before it went off. How the fcuk do the toilets know when your bum has moved from the seat, especially when you don't sit down in the first place?
    Some of them you have to flush yourself, they all have different methods of flushing as well...wee handles and wee buttons, all in different places..some even spontaneously flush as soon as you lean across to press the flush button.
    Yeah, they are very low down..dunno how auld ones get off them. The water too..If you're passing any sort of a poo there are times when it hasn't left your body and it's in the water at the same time.
    On the plus side, there's never a splash...:o

They usually have an infra-red sensor on the wall behind the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Tony255 wrote: »

Got into an arguement with a waiter there too about a tip I think it is mental that you are expected to give a tip regardless of the service, this guy was the rudest guy ever so the bill came to 50.10 and i made it 50.50

A frowny face made out of 1cent coins works best imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Who goes to america and doesn't expect tipping it is part of their culture and normal, I usualy gave around 10 or 15% of the check and more if the waitress or bar girl is particularly hot.

Regarding the toilets they are either a toilet bowl filled almost full with water to avoid skidmarks or else just an empty pan and a fast sudden swoosh of water as in Vegas as scumlord pointed out. However in Vegas and SW in general they have practically no water and it hot year round. I boated on lake Meade and it absolutely frigtening to see the way the water table is dropping on the Artificial lake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I hate tipping when im in the states, i normally dont bother anymore because i had some friends there who worked in the Industry and while they get low wages they make more than a grand a week in tips, at the time i was working there i was only getting $7 per hour working in a Supermarket and nobody was giving me tips and i was expected to tip $1 per drink, dont think so.
    On a further note most Bartenders in the states would never hack it over here, ive seen many many young people from the states come over here and get a job in a Pub and within a wek there gone, they just cant handle people been rude and people taking the piss outta them, they expect it to be easy because there used to been so spoilt in Pubs where they work in the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭claireloopy

ScumLord wrote: »
    I thought the toilets where god awful too. The ones in Vegas have a shelf that all your poo sits on. I had one monstrous ****e one morning and put me hand right into the poo when wiping. Not nice at all.

ha nice. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

marbar wrote: »
    the gap in the toilets is to prevent drug use.

as for tipping, they really do get screwed over there for wages and, because tipping is customary, in alot of cases the employers pay alot less. basically not tipping is like taking money from their wages

Don't you lot realise you must pay for your meal, drinks, and the salary of the guy or girl who brings you your plate from the kitchen to your table. The good news is, you don't have to pay the wages of any of the Mexican kitchen staff that earn the least in any catering establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Ponster wrote: »
    No. That's maybe how it works in Ireland but not in the USA.

It should be called a "service charge" and not a tip IMHO.

A service charge, like the use of the cutlery, glasses, electricity, wear and tear of furniture, should be built into the price of a meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

I noticed the gaps as well at JFK. I was flying back home and was changing into my "home clothes" again (as in jeans etc) from my shorts. So there I was standing looking out at people washing their hands etc. and me taking off my shorts with mickey hanging out trying to get my boxers and jeans out of my hand luggage. Couldn't give a toss anyway. You'd take more notice if it was here at home than over there. People don't give a damn about you over there so why should you.

Didn't mind the tipping in bars and restaurants though. You got your 4th or 5th drink free anyway in the bars.

I actually hated tipping in taxis because you would be the whole time looking at the meter and trying to work out the tip in your head and checking your wallet to make sure you had change and not $50 bills or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

We have these toilets in the office, they are v fn annoying i never go into them because we have 2 wheelchair toilets. Which means i one is occupied i have to leave and go to the other one on the floor. I think the gap is required by law for safety purposes to stop sexual assualts and to stop people shooting up herion etc in the jacks. Its kinda ridiculous they have them in my office because the people i work with are the furthest away from sexual assaults and herion (i presume the majority would think herion is a type of bird not a drug).

A funny story was me and my buddie walked into a public jacks next to the beach, i went for a piss and my buddy went for a dump. As i was washing my hands, a kid came in about 5yrs old and stuck his eye right into the gap staring at my buddy taking a dump, it was fcuking hilarious. My buddy just had to sit there till the kid left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

No he didn't.

Just swivel and point the brown eye at the kid and blow out a fairly loose salvo in his direction..

Happened to me in Lake City SC. had taken on a load of beer in J'Daves and a good feed of hot dogs.Fcuking hot madras these gooks were.

Anyway in Friendly's for a bit of nosh later had a major:eek:push at the cackpipe and had to exit rapido for the shítter, fcuker was bunting hard and ready to pop big time.

Little goon was washing his hands when the Flutt burst in,into the stall and down with the strides, looked up and noticed this eye looking in, so up off the pan, zereoed the badge onto the target and applied the full pressure.

She flew out like molten mustard and clouded the door crack and surrounds with a mist of midden like wet cement.

Little cnunt was winged with ripe Shíte and the Flutt was fairly happy to think he wouldn't try that stunt again.

Y gotta fight fire with fire;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

No he didn't.

Just swivel and point the brown eye at the kid and blow out a fairly loose salvo in his direction..

Happened to me in Lake City SC. had taken on a load of beer in J'Daves and a good feed of hot dogs.Fcuking hot madras these gooks were.

Anyway in Friendly's for a bit of nosh later had a major:eek:push at the cackpipe and had to exit rapido for the shítter, fcuker was bunting hard and ready to pop big time.

Little goon was washing his hands when the Flutt burst in,into the stall and down with the strides, looked up and noticed this eye looking in, so up off the pan, zereoed the badge onto the target and applied the full pressure.

She flew out like molten mustard and clouded the door crack and surrounds with a mist of midden like wet cement.

Little cnunt was winged with ripe Shíte and the Flutt was fairly happy to think he wouldn't try that stunt again.

Y gotta fight fire with fire;)

English translation anyone? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"madras" dogs:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

kingtut wrote: »
    English translation anyone? :confused:
    I wouldn't bother if I were you :p

Quick translation: He blew a watery ****e into the face of some weirdo staring in through the gap at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

"madras" dogs:D

I you should chage your nick to "flutterinscutterin" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Xiney wrote: »
    I prefer the American style toilet stalls with the raised door off the floor. It makes it easier to mop the floor so there's a better chance it actually gets done, imo

The downside is it allowed for the creation of that annoying "what would you do if you walked in and saw this" pic :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

While I don't like or agree with the tipping business in america, that is their culture and as you are in their country I think you should respect their culture. Just a bit of respect/manners. You would expect them to respect ours so it should go both ways.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

WeeBushy wrote: »
    While I don't like or agree with the tipping business in america, that is their culture and as you are in their country I think you should respect their culture. Just a bit of respect/manners. You would expect them to respect ours so it should go both ways.

Would ya stop would ya, what about the dishwashers in the back and the cooks making the food they dont get tips but yet we are expected to tip some Bimbo waittress for bringing us the food, and the waitress are so fake its unreal i never give a tip over there anymore never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 geranimojess

Rabies wrote: »
    that is only because of your Mickey mouse

Have to hand it to you Rabies,That was a real Classic of an answer,just as well Minnie [Mini] Mouse is a Female otherwise his Mickey Mouse would have been a Mini Mouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 geranimojess

marbar wrote: »
    the gap in the toilets is to prevent drug use.

as for tipping, they really do get screwed over there for wages and, because tipping is customary, in alot of cases the employers pay alot less. basically not tipping is like taking money from their wages

It happens in Ireland to.I know of a Coach Company here who cuts their Drivers pay during the Summer Months because they reckon the Drivers get enough Tips to more than make up for the shortfall in their pay.Scrooges.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Leonid

Tipping keeps socialism at bay, as it stops Joe worker from getting uppidy.
    Tis but a mere element of the American dream. It is discussed at length in the film 'Reservoir Dogs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Would ya stop would ya, what about the dishwashers in the back and the cooks making the food they dont get tips but yet we are expected to tip some Bimbo waittress for bringing us the food, and the waitress are so fake its unreal i never give a tip over there anymore never.

Like I said, I don't agree with the tipping system there either, I agree with you. But in saying that, that's their culture so you should respect it. Same way you wouldn't go wandering around Saudi Arabia during Ramadam eating a big ol hotdog, because you respect their culture.

Though seeing your name, I'm not surprised that you hate tipping :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Xiney wrote: »
    I prefer the American style toilet stalls with the raised door off the floor. It makes it easier to mop the floor so there's a better chance it actually gets done, imo.

I suppose I prefer crazy drunk girls not being able to attempt to crawl in with me under the gap here though. I mean honestly, what is the point of 5 girls sharing a toilet stall? It's not like that's going to save any time, is it?! mental.

5 girls 1 bowl??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭gibbon75

The waiter/waitress has to split the tips with the chef,dishwasher and busser boy/girl at the end of the shift.
    They get a lower percentage as the waiter,because their hourly wage is higher.
    So at the end of the day you are tipping the whole gang,not only the waiter.