Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thank god the rally's over !

• 21-06-2009 11:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭

Now let me begin by saying I have no problem with the rally here or anywhere else. Personally, I love cars, and admire nice cars when I see 'em.

BUT !!!

I am sick of listening to the to55ers in Twin Cam Corollas driving like knuckle-dragging cave-dwellers.
    I am sick of them sitting stationary while bouncing the engine off the rev-limiter before driving away only to return again a few minutes later to the cheers of the onlooking friends (with similarly rouge-coloured necks). This evening at Tescos roundabout around 6pm was a perfect example of this, if anyone was there...
    This behaviour is not restricted to those owning the above-names cars, but they are in the majority...WHY ? Do they feel the need to advertise their lack of IQ?
    Scooby/Evo/MkII Escort/Manta/etc drivers are far less likely to be at this kind of childishness, even considering their vast superiority in numbers.

Let's ban Twin-Cam Corollas next year (or just get the Gardai to take the keys from anyone behaving like nobs until they pay a €200 fine)

Anyone with me ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Crotchety

I get ya.

Anyway who won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Aye, totally agree!

We were parked outside Pats Pizza on the main street yesterday & the amount of rednecks around the street was just sickening (all with the same haircut I've also noticed)..every time one of the above mentioned cars passed, they'd rev up the engine and everyone on the street would start cheering.

Thankfully I managed to steer clear of the town centre other than that all weekend but I suppose we can put up with it for one weekend a year considering all the money it brings into the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭weiss

while it's good for business, quite alot of locals have expressed the same opinion about the "petrol heads".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

"rednecks" - don't insult the rednecks.
    Most of these arse wholes are from inner cities and don't even need a car to start with!

Some thing has to be done, like higher insurance on "boy racer" cars. Its also ridiculous the amount of sham wives driving civics around too...

Not only does it piss off the locals, BUT the real rally drivers hate the scum too.

My fathers a rally drive, he amply put it before "boys race, men rally"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭donegalman1

The Rally did untold good for the town, an extremely good weekend for the local economy and a weekend that will not be repeated til its repeat next year.

The Gardai had plenty of resources about, a few times I have heard they we're giving the benefit of the doubt and maybe so, but I don't think many of you realise how dependant Letterkenny is on these events and more so now.

The people of Slane give out about the concerts but have benefits not near like letterkenny has from the rally, but the rally was of huge importance to Letterkenny, this year more than most. You'd need a good factory a year to generate the revenue and good publicity.

Many of Letterkenny's infrastructures, paid for by rates from local businesses were built on the likes of the rally, which makes up for quiet times, we are damn lucky to have it, infact two a year would be helpful.

I have lived all my life in town, actually in town, in Letterkenny, and see the benefits, they don't benefit me personally, but I can see the benefit for others.

Ireland seems to have the Green party/PDs Scenario going on too much...if people seem to be having good fun get rid of it, forget about the knock on effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 nmg-lky

Pique, did you take down any of the reg no's and send them to the gardai? Thats the only way this will stop if everyone reports it! Even minor incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Many of Letterkenny's infrastructures, paid for by rates from local businesses were built on the likes of the rally, which makes up for quiet times, we are damn lucky to have it, infact two a year would be helpful.
    I dont think anyone would disagree with that at all as (was shown in another thread) the majority of people had no objection to the rally. However the comment above isnt really related to the topic here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Was it my imagination or was the rally a lot quieter this year? There wasn't hoards of cars (people) around town and most of the pubs were quite enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭PattheMetaller

I thought it was definately quieter. Ramelton B&B's were empty whereas they are usually booked out. Plus the through traffic on Saturday was nowhere near what it was like other years.

No tents pitched at Ballyraine either!

Heard the garda stopped anyone from putting up tents there.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭GoldenGreen

Senna wrote: »
    Heard the garda stopped anyone from putting up tents there.

Yea that is true enough, though I did see some tents over by UNIFI.

AS much as I love the rally, it is good to have quite streets again. I live on the main street, and them back-boxes and the revving is just out of hand.The thing is them back-boxes are illegal so can never understand why there is not a clamp down on them.

Heard too there was a massive diffing comp on over by Glenveigh on Friday night(illegal of course), you want to see the roads now at every junction, full of tyre marks from donuts and fish tailing.

Oh and I was out every day following the rally, I love the sport, but these rednecks really knock it down, an if you noticed most of these ones are not out following the rally at all as during the day when its on they can still be seen parked up around the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭ferret man

listen everyman to their own young lads should be allowed to blow off a little steam everynow and again let them this is harmless and causes damage to no one and at least they out money intthe economy buying petrol etc instead of wating it on drugs etc so i think yu all are looking fr somthing to complain about. you should sanction off a large carpark ie lidle and let them in safe enviroment supervisd by garda and a great way to make money as well if you charged to get in thats a win win situtation

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

ferret man wrote: »
    listen everyman to their own young lads should be allowed to blow off a little steam everynow and again let them this is harmless and causes damage to no one and at least they out money intthe economy buying petrol etc instead of wating it on drugs etc so i think yu all are looking fr somthing to complain about. you should sanction off a large carpark ie lidle and let them in safe enviroment supervisd by garda and a great way to make money as well if you charged to get in thats a win win situtation
    You're entitled to your opinion but I object strongly to the sheer stupidity and arrogance of the majority of 'boy racers' and their total disregard for the law. When I came around a corner one night outside Lifford and some little skanger was doing donuts in the middle of the road what was I supposed to do? Stop my car and admire his skills and applaud him? He's lucky I didn't knock his bloody block off. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭GoldenGreen

They do that already, they have a place out in Newtown. There was a big meet on Saturday night, but still the illegal stuff carries on too !!!!!

i mean this should be open at night around town as it would provide it in the town and at night

So when you grow up, will you be happy to listen to screeching tyres and ****ty bean tin exhausts at all hours of the night and morning outside you house? Keeping your kids awake? I doubt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭CR 7

Davaeo09 wrote: »
    Some thing has to be done, like higher insurance on "boy racer" cars.

And how do you propose this is done? Extra loadings on every car anyone you deem a "boy racer" has ever driven? Higher premiums on younger male drivers?

And yet you question the intelligence of these people. :D

And how do you propose this is done? Extra loadings on every car anyone you deem a "boy racer" has ever driven? Higher premiums on younger male drivers?

And yet you question the intelligence of these people. :D

I wouldn't agree with insurance loading etc, i think it discriminates against a good driver also. I think a zero tolerance should be set using plenty points. For example; in your first year of driving, if you get 2 or more points your banned for a year, second year it 4 or more points and your banned etc.

It might sound harsh, but if your newly qualified you still have a lot to learn and with a constant threat of a ban, new drivers will be more careful. Something like this would cut out a lot of the messing early on, and might produce a better standard of driver.

I hear them every night but as I say if your tired you'll sleep. Let them kill themselves if they want. No skin of my nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭weiss

There are speed ramps nearly all over letterkenny because of these guys...

Maybe a race track would be the best solution? could make a lot of money if it were run properly ;)

There are ramps at Solomans. Ramps on the Main Street now. None on Pearse Road or convent Road though. Can't imagine anyone racing down the Convent Road. They'd end up in the Tin Tai!

weiss wrote: »
    Maybe a race track would be the best solution? could make a lot of money if it were run properly ;)

Its been looked into before, the insurance cost reads like a telephone number:(

A race track at the Big Isle.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

wrote: »
    A race track at the Big Isle.
    Donegal needs a lot of things that are far more important than a race track for young eejits. A cancer care facility, hospital beds, teachers etc etc.

They were thinking of putting a race track down at the big isle but I think it has blown over. Remember first it was supposed to be an airport!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Swear I saw a sign for a race meeting down there in Glencar earlier..

As for the car thing, I would totally object to anything along the lines of setting up somewhere for these people to do that sort of stuff. As people have said theres plenty of things needed in the county and it would be madness to actually encourage that sort of behaviour in any case.

The problem over the weekend is that one in about every 5 cars is violating the road laws so the guards simply cant go after everyone. It does annoy me to see them turn a blind eye to things like repeatedly revving up the engine along a public street which I witnessed on Saturday evening on the main street

let them be one weekend a yea and yo all bitch about it lik and in lidel carpark there is no houses direclty close to be affected and if tere was one weekend in a year wouldnt kill them and as for the kids the would love it

Say what now? :confused:

my idea would be good and i am going to the council with ths idea nxt year u lot need to tak a break from bitchin

I'd say there would be some houses near "lidel". I take it you mean Lidl. Better spell it right or the Council won't have a clue what your chatting about.

What about the houses located a short stretch across the river. A little old place called Oldtown/Leck? The ones in Oldtown have a rough reputation. I wouldn't want to rise them.