Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most hated phrase??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

"Oh me nerves"
    "loike,roish or anything to that effect
    "Ah hate that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

"Savage as cabbage".. what's so good about cabbage?

Cabbage is good for you!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 DeeplyPraying

Im just johin you. Hmm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

The two knacker phraes, sum crack, and wat a nite. They do my head in.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

"Thanking you" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 emigrant36

"Good girl"

I'm hardly a fecking girl anymore!

Guesstimate is also one I abhor! What the hell, you are guessing, stop trying to make yourself look semi-professional.
    Ahem, obviously one person I used to work with used that phrase constantly. An expert in her particular field now I believe.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Most likely been said already but "Expect the unexpected" it makes no sense, how can you expect something that's unexpected? If its expected then it can't be unexpected can it. Wrecks my head.

or maybe the quote is just for intelligent people.

It makes a lot of sense. It doesnt say, expect this exact, precise detailed unexpected thing. It's saying expect the general concept. So don't set your sights on everything going smoothly....expect something you never would have gussed could happen till its staring you in the face to happen.
    Basically....expect the worst. You don't have to be thinkig of the exact situation.

It makes a lot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭masonman

"t'was Great Craic"

It has just lost it's quaint charm.

I hate hearing boring people taking about boring things saying "t'was great craic" - It makes my head cave in.

Apart from that its ok :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

atariman wrote: »
    God almighty I can't stand when someone drops "much of a muchness" into a sentence. Just say they're very alike you freaks!!

Any others...?:pac:

"You know"
    arghhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Easily the most braindead, vacuous and pointless phrase used in interviews and conversations across the land ; if I knew, why would I be listening to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

'the sauce' to describe alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

sinn féin/I.r.a

jim, get up with the time ffs! that was years ago

emigrant36 wrote: »
    "Good girl"

I'm hardly a fecking girl anymore!

Guesstimate is also one I abhor! What the hell, you are guessing, stop trying to make yourself look semi-professional.
    Ahem, obviously one person I used to work with used that phrase constantly. An expert in her particular field now I believe.....

My mother loved Cork people because they called her "girl" even as a 38-year-old with almost a hurling team of children to her name. She still laughs about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

As it were.

Grammatically incorrect, pointless pretentious statement. Gives me the murderous rage.

"High Street" - has anybody else noticed that creeping into English in Ireland? A guy called Emmet Oliver was on Newstalk this evening and he used the term twice. They might as well say "downtown" as where the US leads, Britain follows eventually.

Meanwhile, what ever happened to the concept of "retail sales", which was doing fine here until British chainstores arrived en masse into Ireland in the past 8 or 9 years and started issuing press releases using the phrase "High Street" to malleable journalists like Oliver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭This_Years_Love

"I'll give you a tinkle later" (ie: I'll phone you later)

A lot of people 50+ used it (my mother included). I hate it. I think it sounds dirty. Tinkle is an american slang term for piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

"Awwwh, ye look masssssssive, luv!".

MASSIVE MEANS CONSISTING OF A LARGE MASS, AS IN BIG! IT DOES NOT MEAN NICE! AAAAARGH! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,615 ✭✭✭worded

dylano_k wrote: »
    I really really hate when people say "meh" its the stupidest most laziest word ever...and usually non responsive in conversations !!!

WTF does "meh" mean boss?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

'the sauce' to describe alcohol.

Same. All I can think of is brown sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 SalmoTheLeaper

"Roadmap" does my head in!!

George Bush and his bloody roadmap for peace in the Middle East- What fcukin road map? Show me the map with the roads on it! :mad:
    So what, the Israelies and Palestinians are going to up sticks and go on a magical road trip, resolving their differences along the way (with hilarious consequences) I can see the movie now.

"Green paper" does this actually mean anything? The government always seems to be bringing out a "green paper" on some controversy or other. Whats that about?

Damn post, got me all riled up now!

This thread should be moved to the ranting and raving forum!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

"D'ye know what I mean?"

Adding "like" to the end of a sentence

"At the end of the day" - May as well start saying "At the start of the night"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

"green shoots"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Not really phrases but when people talk about "pre-booking" or "pre-planning". You'd do well to book or plan something afterwards y'stupid cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vixenbees

Not really phrases but when people talk about "pre-booking" or "pre-planning". You'd do well to book or plan something afterwards y'stupid cnut.

I met an american couple who were in their early 20's and they told me they were "pre-engaged"... i thought it was hilarious! what does that even mean.... they're reeeeeeeeally serious but not serious enough to get engaged yet? so classic and american i loved it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

why do people start off saying something with 'yeah no' or 'no yeah'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

"rock down" as in "after I finished work I rocked down to the pub for a pint". I guess it translates literally as 'walked' or 'travelled'?

I find that it's usually only obnoxious people (esp. D4 wannabees and the artistic set) who use this phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

RobFowl wrote: »
    "Thanking you" :mad:

This one.

When someone says it, i feel like punching them in the nose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Again, in a work / meeting environment

"it's not rocket science", obviously, or none of us would be doing it, especially you you cliche ridden little prick

• Registered Users Posts: 25 DiamondC

"..happy days.." "..a file has been sent to the DPP.." - an RTE stalwart..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

After making a point to a woman about something and the smart response.. ''whatever'' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

DiamondC wrote: »
    "..a file has been sent to the DPP.." - an RTE stalwart..

With you on that one.

How is it never "The vicious assailant was summarily and righteously executed by Gardai and the bill for the operation has been forwarded to his family."

F**kin RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

kavanagh_h wrote: »
    I hate the people use the old cliché "the vast majority" when majority will suffice.:mad:

I always use that to emphasise the majority. Like, 51 percent is a majority, but a vast majority would be 75 plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

'Throw the baby out with the bathwater.'

What a f**king ridiculous analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

"Going forward" ... used more and more by politicians now.

See this, this is my fist going forward into your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭jasonbourme.cs

brummytom wrote: »
    "Epic fail"

What's the point of it?!

And the one and only "No offence but...

i HATE when people say that , if your going to be offensive be offensive but expect a backlash dont try and protect yourself by saying

" but i said no offence durrr " :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

"happy days"

can't stand this stupid phrase

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    "Going forward..."

yes, this nugget of bull5hit's been cropping up in work lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

"We are pregnant"

No mister, you have a cock, you can not be pregnant. Your wife is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

"marajuana is harmless"

fvck off back to your room stoner and stop talking sheeeeit

roll on the reply "drug are bad" not even a clever reply

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Gear9992

" in the current climate"

can't go 5 minutes without hearing this on the radio :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭tennessee time

fail to prepare, prepare to fail .......................... if i didnt prepare for whatever in the first place then im hardly gonna be arsed preparing to fail am i ..... eh keano ... i mean if i was energetic enough to prepare to fail then id probably prepare for the first thing ya complete tool.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Bruce Forsyth: Nice to see you, to see you!

Idiot Crowd: NICE!!

May the stump of Rathkeale have mercy on our souls!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

"New irish". just fukkoff, would ya. They're not New Irish they're old polish/filipino/nigerian or wherever

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

Saying something really stupid or a an insult followed by...

ONLY JOKING!

Hoho. Very very. You are quite the prankster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

work ones I can't stand usually coming from my manager:

We're reviewing the situation
    That's the best we can do for now
    I appreciate what you're saying but
    I know you're under pressure but
    I seen it all before (irate client)
    at the end of the day
    with all due respect
    I'm not trying to get at you but
    It's not rocket science(yet you can't do it!).

Oh I could go on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

idiots who say 'knack' (short for knacker) or 'same difference':mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 33 claddy

The use of the word "Random" as in

"I scored a randomer last night"

"I had a random conversation with some random guy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    'Simple as.'

I thought I was the only one who hated this phrase, it's great to see I'm not.

"*-brigade". This one really pisses me off. Usually it's some smug (or indignant) shit mewling about the "PC brigade". I've recently seen it being used for practically anything the speaker doesn't like.

"Buzz/buzzing (atmosphere)". Fuck right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Phrases tend not to annoy me, but these words do!

Why do people think it's ok to use Saved by the Bell language all of a sudden..

DUDE
    Awesome
    Sucks
    Jerk
    Dork
    Mall - heard some little shít say it on the Dart the other day

People that call you 'mate'.. Alright mate, cheers mate. :rolleyes:

People that say d'ya know what I mean after every sentence. Yes I do know what you mean, you half head!

Some internet ones..

Owned
    Pwned
    Noob
    Troll (only came across this one recently :P )

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

when people use the word much followed by a question mark to merely point out the validity of the used word..for example on a facebook photo of somebody posing the comment

'pose much?'

or 'drunk much?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

"take that you bastard..." always makes me weary