Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your most hated phrase??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I hate the phrase "live and learn" :mad::mad:

My housemate says it every f**cking day.

Surely you would have learnt that milk goes off if you leave it outta the fridge by now!

For crying out loud you're 23 years old!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

"There'll be hell to pay"

What does that even mean, It makes no sense to me whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

"Celtic cubs" usually makes me vomit.

Also, "just another statistic" used by people who i can't help suspecting have never opened a maths textbook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Again, in a work / meeting environment

"it's not rocket science", obviously, or none of us would be doing it, especially you you cliche ridden little prick

:D ^

Would you be offended by the "it's not rocket surgery" variant.
    Arguably less egregious for the attempt at wit i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

"Thank God"

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

it really annoys me when i'm watching football and some idiot says "it would be a bad time to concede a goal". is there ever a good time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

Kiera wrote: »
    Its more a word than a phrase. I cant stand the word Chillax. Who ever started that should be shot!

Woah,chillax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

"I paid good money..."

Not "bad" money no?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I don't know if anyone posted this yet or not but: "Made of win"

I will sit on the next person who says it :mad::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭JackM_79

People who say 'Yada yada yada' at the end of a sentance.

WTF is that about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

JackM_79 wrote: »
    People who say 'Yada yada yada' at the end of a sentance.

WTF is that about??

It's for talking about sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

We Irish love to complain don't we. and this thread proves it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭masonman

We Irish love to complain don't we. and this thread proves it! :)

http://freshfunnypictures.com/funny-pictures/1843/captain-obvious.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭rockchik

I hate when people add "and stuff" to the end of sentences....eg what are you doing tonight? Oh we are going to the cinema and stuff......WHAT IS STUFF!!!!

And when people say LOL!!Its bad enough in a txt but when people use it in conversation!!!:mad:

Ah thats better!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭WillieCocker

As a Dub.........

"Well Lad"
    "Divvin a bit"
    "What Ya Call It" (usually inbetween words:mad:)
    "How are you getting on"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

When retail staff/waitresses call me "Love"...I fcuking hate it..:mad:

I was in a pub called Clancys in Cork recently having a carvery lunch around 1.00. Now the one serving behind the counter was about 25/26 and she was kept calling everyone "Love" at the end of her sentences.

I very seriously considered saying to her:-

"I am sorry, but please stop calling me Love..you are not 50. Thank you."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BillyGoatGruff

"We need to draw a line under that and move on"

Or

"Mate"

"How's it going mate"

"No problem mate"

MATE???????? I have never met you before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

When any newspaper uncovers a scandal and immediately puts -gate at the end of it.

so feckin lazy

how about "gobshíte journalism-gate?" as your next massive scandal, you uneducated moron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭CallMeMiss

"WHOOP WHOOP"

Annoys the hell out of me.

Also "banter" or even worse when people shorten it to "bant".
    "lol we really had the bant last night" - Shut the hell up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BillyGoatGruff

CallMeMiss wrote: »
    "WHOOP WHOOP"

Annoys the hell out of me.

Unless it's Homer. He is so legendarily awesome and stuff, Like. Know what I mean love?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

"Suits you sir" with an english accent(even though they are Irish),and I looked "in every Nook and Cranny", hate both sayings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

"amount of " + anything in the plural.

It really sounds horrible.

holly1 wrote: »
    "Suits you sir" with an english accent(even though they are Irish),.

Well that's a Harry Enfield thing, not a "proud Brit" thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭maloney333

What's the story BOSS!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

Yep, and it's suit you sir not suits

anyway a phrase that totally annoys me and is becoming more regular:

"Count yourself lucky you have a job"

So sick of hearing it, was on 3 day week for about 2 months ( back 5 days now) and It's all I heard for the full 2 months.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

"At the end of the day"

People say it way too much and just sound like idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

LOL................ there is no need to state that you are laughing out loud when in fact your not, your just saying you are! Just laugh instead like normal people and for the love of God stop saying LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad: Please :P

LMFAO

OMG FFS so annoying ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

LMFAO

OMGWTFBBQROFLCOPTERLULZLOLFACEPALMGENTLEMENMENTLEGENLOLZ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

giggsy664 wrote: »
    OMGWTFBBQROFLCOPTERLULZLOLFACEPALMGENTLEMENMENTLEGENLOLZ

GTFO

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Just thought of another one:

People who say they got something "off" someone. IT'S FROM! You got that cd from Mary you eejit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭mikeystipey

wicklowgal wrote: »
    I hate HaTe HATE the phrase to 'shift' someone when referring to kissing someone...it's just disgusting. It sounds wrong, as if you're doing something much more physical than just kissing them!!

true, "wearin' the face off" is much nicer :D

Ya or ''i mauled the face off her'' is even more charming ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

having your day in court / ill have my day in court

drives me fooking bonkers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

The Fast Show.

The phrase that annoys me most is

"life is short"

Emmm,no,its not.

Name one thing that will take you longer than your life,you retards.
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"I done it yesterday"

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

nedtheshed wrote: »
    The Fast Show.

The phrase that annoys me most is

"life is short"

Emmm,no,its not.

Name one thing that will take you longer than your life,you retards.
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

If you were especially fat it could take you a good while after you kick the bucket to lose it.

Or if you were impotent your whole life you wouldn't get hard until rigor mortis sets in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

"rock down" as in "after I finished work I rocked down to the pub for a pint".

I know someone who always "rocks up" to the pub, trying to decide if one is more annoying than the other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

havent read back on the thread so if my contribution is a second timer ...sorry.
    Anyway my all time most hated phrase is from a while back ....
    ya de ya , boiled me freekin blood i can tell yiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭venividivici

i hate when people finish there sentences with 'like'...
    do ya know what i mean like, ya know that kinda way like..

no i don't bloody know like, so why don't ye tell me like..

i'm sure i do it myself but i try and avoid it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

i hate when people finish there sentences with 'like'...
    do ya know what i mean like, ya know that kinda way like..

no i don't bloody know like, so why don't ye tell me like..

i'm sure i do it myself but i try and avoid it!!
    I know what you mean, like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

"Do you know what i mean"

"Do you know like"

"Your barred for life" is another phrase i cant stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

"you've ruined your life."

well **** you too. And you would know this exactly, HOW?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

People who instead of saying

"Should I xxxxxx or xxxx".

Instead go all shakespearean and say

"To xxxxx or not to xxxxx"

That and I also hate when someone says "Sir, you're making a scene"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

MarkR wrote: »
    That and I also hate when someone says "Sir, you're making a scene"

hear it a little too often, do ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 The Prophecy

"******/black wasters!

I feel the red face when country people say that.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Neverwhere wrote: »
    hear it a little too often, do ya?
    A day isn't complete without a restraining order... :)

MarkR wrote: »
    A day isn't complete without a restraining order... :)

Sir, your making a scene