Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Business Launch www.zumpty.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

For a guy whose background is in technology, there are some aspects of the website that are shocking. Seriously.

First off, the logo. I mean come on.... it's a bit too plain and not striking at all.

Second that voiceover. Mmmm

Third, your opening page is a bit cluttered, and to be honest it looks like the website was designed in wordpress. I would replace the map with a "Try Me" button and link it to this page - http://www.zumpty.ie/step2.php?region=3 except with a step 1 / map

However, with a team of eager sales people you might succeed. But I would be offering longer than 3 months free. I would offer 6 at least. At least during this period it allows you to build up a decent set of leads to follow through with. As well it gives the advertisers a decent amount of time to see what sort of leads are being generated from your site. It's very hard to decide after 3 months.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

You press release says you are offering 3 months free membership but on your site there is no mention of it, there are 3 price plans. Also on boards you have mentioned partial discounts, its a bit confusing - is there 3 months free or not??

Also looking at your site again I find the banner to be pretty plain and boring, I dont like the character moving back and forth but in terms of a logo all you have is the word zumpty in a standard font. It doesnt really catch your eye and in terms of marketing material cant look great on its own on headed paper etc.

Still hate the audio voiceover - just thought id mention it again :D

Just my 2cents..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Is this a joke?

Please don't come out with the "top programmers" line, it's embarrassing.

That website looks (and sounds) absolutely awful, and has a horrid user experience and is obviously rushed and unfinished. It fails even basic design standards.

I'd find it very hard to believe that there was even basic user testing, or that the SEO will 'kick in'.

You might think I'm being overly harsh, but when you come out with a lot of guff, and launch with that website - who are you fooling?

This sums up my thoughts on the 'marketing' too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Something that has sprung to mind regarding the online quote system.

There are so many businesses that will need to "see the job" before they can give a quote.

So how will it be possible for them to reply quickly with an online quote?

Also.....

Let's take for example builders, they* are notorious for quoting one price then the finished job costing a lot more ("Was a bigger job than we thought", "Over ran on time" etc etc :rolleyes:))

I can see a couple of problems with this....

1) A lot of businesses might quote high to ensure they are covered for any "extras" they can't take into account without viewing the job.

If this is the case then Zumpty might quickly become known (to Joe Public) as the website that gives outrageously high quotes and it will deter people from using the site.

2) Companies might quote low(ish) to get the business but then have to increase the price once they have visited the customer & seen the job.

If this happens too often it could do a lot of damage to Zumpy's integrity in the eyes of Joe Public and it won't take long for your site to become known for "Get quoted one price but pay another".

As for the look of the site, I'm afraid I have to agree with some of the other posts. The yellow is just far too harsh on the eyes to spend any length of time on there.

Best of luck with it anyway.

*some builders anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

Sorry to say that that is an absolutely terrible looking and sounding website,I closed the window at "hello my name is zumpty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

zAbbo wrote: »
    Is this a joke?

That website looks (and sounds) absolutely awful, and has a horrid user experience and is obviously rushed and unfinished. It fails even basic design standards.

I'd find it very hard to believe that there was even basic user testing, or that the SEO will 'kick in'.

You might think I'm being overly harsh, but when you come out with a lot of guff, and launch with that website - who are you fooling?

Lots of "useful" advice there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

atleast your trying to make something for yourself buddy
    pay no heed to negitivity
    fairplay to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

madmik wrote: »
    your mascot looks like a guy that used to be on crisp packets years ago

cant remeber his name though ,possiby english company ?

Golden Wonder I believe.

Can't find a pic of a crisp packet with the character on it, but it was based on this I believe.

goldenwonder1.jpg

I think El Rifle can learn a lot from what Zabbo has said, I mean I'd want to know the truth about it too - and then change it and make it better. Zabbo is certainly qualified enough to make such a statement. It's feedback he can use and make it better.

Axwell wrote: »
    You press release says you are offering 3 months free membership but on your site there is no mention of it, there are 3 price plans. Also on boards you have mentioned partial discounts, its a bit confusing - is there 3 months free or not??

Also looking at your site again I find the banner to be pretty plain and boring, I dont like the character moving back and forth but in terms of a logo all you have is the word zumpty in a standard font. It doesnt really catch your eye and in terms of marketing material cant look great on its own on headed paper etc.

Still hate the audio voiceover - just thought id mention it again :D

Just my 2cents..

The offer we are doing to the public is if you sign up for a year your first 3 months are free while we are building up users and suppliers

Yep a decision has been made on the audio, we are going to change it up, one too many negative responses on it!

zAbbo wrote: »
    Is this a joke?

Thanks for the charming comments zabbo! Ive sent it over to my programmers, Im sure it will psych them up to prove you wrong over the next few months!!

keefg wrote: »
    Something that has sprung to mind regarding the online quote system.

There are so many businesses that will need to "see the job" before they can give a quote.

So how will it be possible for them to reply quickly with an online quote?

Also.....

Let's take for example builders, they* are notorious for quoting one price then the finished job costing a lot more ("Was a bigger job than we thought", "Over ran on time" etc etc :rolleyes:))

I can see a couple of problems with this....

1) A lot of businesses might quote high to ensure they are covered for any "extras" they can't take into account without viewing the job.

If this is the case then Zumpty might quickly become known (to Joe Public) as the website that gives outrageously high quotes and it will deter people from using the site.

2) Companies might quote low(ish) to get the business but then have to increase the price once they have visited the customer & seen the job.

If this happens too often it could do a lot of damage to Zumpy's integrity in the eyes of Joe Public and it won't take long for your site to become known for "Get quoted one price but pay another".

As for the look of the site, I'm afraid I have to agree with some of the other posts. The yellow is just far too harsh on the eyes to spend any length of time on there.

Best of luck with it anyway.
    *some builders anyway.

Hi Keef

Yes your points were thought about a lot in the build up. This is essentially where the ratings and references system comes in. If these kinds of things happen on the job, the supplier would be shooting himself in the foot for future business because customer is not going to be happy about it and will leave negative feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

A directory business – on I know very well indeed.. so let me just share:

Many of the issues have been addresses in previous posts (esp regarding the SEO – which should be given a priority).

The service categories need to be addressed. They seem to be antiquated. I don’t think that they are structured well and should be more profession based, and tiered down from there. I am not sure that the category of ‘butler’ really has any relevance in this day and age and it (and others) gives the site a ‘strange’ feel in that respect.

In terms of allowing to ‘rate’ suppliers or comment on their work, I would tread very carefully.

Other directory services are providing this service and some of the comments left are actually libellous which the sites will have to deal with. If you are prepared to review and vet each comment then fine, if not – be careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Well firstly fair play to setting up the business. Not the easiest thing to do these days.

On the website:

Not even basic basic SEO has been done
    The colour is too bright and I find it very distracting
    The flash animation is poor
    The audio is terrible

On the business model:

Why would people sign up to this? I think this will be your biggest downfall. People have very short attention spans, especially on the net.

Maybe if you had something to intice users to sign up. A competition or something like that.

Secondly how many businesses have signed up? Ive looked for various services in different locations and I couldnt find anything!

Why did you launch this site without having at least some suppliers set up allready?

I mean look at it this way. I go to your site now and search for a taxi cab driver in Leinster and I can't find any!
    Am I going to go back to your site again?

No!

I wish you the best with the site but unless you make a lot of changes this is not going to work.

Marketing and PR wise I want to use as many new, quirky and outside the box methods of getting our brand out there as possible to the public. I have good contacts in the media so I think we can do some interesting stuff

El Rifle, you said the above recently in one of your other posts. Was the Rosanna Davison thing meant to be new and quirky? Or is there more to come?

Also, how am I going to find a model or an actor or actress on your site? I think most people would prefer to go straight to the agency which even if they didn't know where to find it, if they just type "models dublin" into google, they will find Assets and the other agencies they need. Wouldn't going through your site slow this process down as opposed to just using Google ???

El Rifle, you said the above recently in one of your other posts. Was the Rosanna Davison thing meant to be new and quirky? Or is there more to come?

Also, how am I going to find a model or an actor or actress on your site? I think most people would prefer to go straight to the agency which even if they didn't know where to find it, if they just type "models dublin" into google, they will find Assets and the other agencies they need. Wouldn't going through your site slow this process down as opposed to just using Google ???

Quite the opposite actually. You do a simple 1-2-3 process to get offers in from all the different agencies, then you can make an informed decision instead of having to phone them all up and go through prices, which models they have etc. This is goal of the site, I hope the consumers will be patient enough until we get all those companies on there, it will take a bit of time which will bring some negative responses but once we have critical mass the general public will be able to see the real benefits of the site

To tackle a point that has been brought up a few times -

The SEO, just bare with us. A good SEO system takes a long time to kick in - 6 months I would say on a .com , and 3 months on a .ie. This is the feedback ive got from companies who do that kind of work. All I can say is that is will be an excellent SEO. Theres not really much I can say if some of the posters simply dont want to believe me, all I can do is ask you to come back in a few months and take a look at the SEO again if its not as good as Im claiming we will deserve the criticism!

Overall we appreciate all the great feedback from boards positive and negative, this is the reason I posted it here to get some initial opinions and make a few changes based on that (Audio!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭FusionNet

I may be mistaken, and I did look up and down that very long list a few times and I couldnt find my professions? I mean one of the things I do is one of the biggest industries in the world, but its not there!! Maybe you have addressed the list in previous posts Im not sure but I think a "google" search for a prfession would be way better. So I type in CCTV and your drop down comes up with nearest matches. Im a security, well CCTV installer amongst other things like network engineers, telecoms engineer but Im not seeing those catagories??

Some of the remarks in previous posts might be a bit harsh but I would have asked people here to review a beta site before going live cause now making changes will be tough..

Anyways best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Pixelcraft

The SEO, just bare with us. A good SEO system takes a long time to kick in - 6 months I would say on a .com , and 3 months on a .ie. This is the feedback ive got from companies who do that kind of work.

Yes, but your site is coded very poorly and will suffer because of it. Maybe start a separate thread if you want feedback on the site itself, you seem to be getting a lot of it here, not sure that's what you wanted.

CCTV will be on the list shortly! along with the engineers you mentioned

The offer we are doing to the public is if you sign up for a year your first 3 months are free while we are building up users and suppliers

Yep a decision has been made on the audio, we are going to change it up, one too many negative responses on it!

Sorry but this is not the way to go about launching a site/business..you are asking people to pay for the year still and giving them the first 3 months of that year free? Its a new site, its only starting out and based on the responses here people arent going to be flocking to it yet based on its design. IMO you should be offering a 3 month (if not longer) trial period where people can use it for free, offering them 3 months free but only after they have signed up is a bit cheeky. People are not going to sign up to it and pay you for the year in the fear that it will be a waste of their money and in the current climate every cent matters especially when its a new site just out there being launched.

Again just my 2 cents..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭TheWaterboy

Pixelcraft wrote: »
    Yes, but your site is coded very poorly and will suffer because of it. Maybe start a separate thread if you want feedback on the site itself, you seem to be getting a lot of it here, not sure that's what you wanted.

I think El Rifle you may been slightly misinformed about the SEO - The site currently lacks even basic SEO. It isnt designed or even coded well for SEO (tables, bad layout, loads of images etc etc etc)

When you do finally get the SEO implemented, it will usually take Google a week or two to pick up the changes and crawl the site. If the site is popular it could be crawled within a day or two. However it can take a very long time (6 months to 1 year) for it to rank for any decent keywords like "Photographer in Dublin" or something meaningful that people will actually search for. Because of the nature of your site, been found for these keywords is a must.

Im not putting down your site, but personally i think that SEO is one of the most important things to have sorted before it was released. You have also been getting some good coverage of the site from Boards, SiliconRepublic etc. and these all help to get the site listed.

You also will need incoming links to help with SEO along with working on your layout, content, keywords and Meta Tags. Perhaps offer a reciprocal link programme and have a links page where you will list sites that you have swapped links with or a member of zumpty icon that businesses listed with you can place on their site as a link back to yours.

I think I'll stick with Google tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

i only glossed over the site and noticed straight away no favicon and no SEO.
    SEO is non-existant and you dont need a team of lads to implement it either, even basic page titles! come on man, you can add that in thirty seconds!

Also shocking to see that there isnt any analytics either which is invaluable especially if your doin a high profile site launch, again easily rectified in less then five minutes.

Should have been css lead design, tables are outdated

If your serious you should listen to zabby, i agree with what hes saying, you should at least rectify the seo and analytics today

skelliser wrote: »
    i only glossed over the site and noticed straight away no favicon and no SEO.
    SEO is non-existant and you dont need a team of lads to implement it either, even basic page titles! come on man, you can add that in thirty seconds!

Also shocking to see that there isnt any analytics either which is invaluable especially if your doin a high profile site launch, again easily rectified in less then five minutes.

Should have been ccs lead design, tables are outdated

If your serious you should listen to zabby, i agree with what hes saying, you should at least rectify the seo and analytics today

We are on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

No signage/vehicle graphics category either El Rifle.

As someone who recently set up a business (2 years ago) ....it's critical that you hit the ground running. If you don't get a fast start, your money will get chewed up very quickly.

Take a step back and look at the website .... it absolutely has to be populated with a critical mass of suppliers otherwise all your marketing budget is being wasted.... as are those salary costs.
    Lets say your marketing is successful.... driving people to an empty website is just crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭patftrears

Culchie wrote: »
    Take a step back and look at the website .... it absolutely has to be populated with a critical mass of suppliers otherwise all your marketing budget is being wasted.... as are those salary costs.
    Lets say your marketing is successful.... driving people to an empty website is just crazy.

You are launching this site as a fully functioning product, if that is the case it is a massive failure. All talk so substance.
    There is no suppliers on the site as far as I can see.

It looks to me like you are getting people to post requests on the site.
    Then you are googling companies who offer what they want and calling them, to tell them about the request and get them to sign up to the site.

Suppliers need to know they will get a regulary influx of leads before they will sign up. Even then it might not fit in with their sales strategy to compete in this way.

Users need to know they will get several differnet offers to choose from to continue using the site otherwise it's a waste of time.

So you are trying to sell to both groups, but can't meet either of their requirements.

This should have been launched as a alpha, and suppliers should have been given a year free.

Don't claim to be something your not, it fools nobody and is very dammaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Lorelei

I'm not certain but as I understand it, the idea behind the site is that someone logs in sends what they are looking for eg camel hoof cutter then the details are sent to various suppliers who can contact the potential client.
    Anyone who accepts a quote over the phone deserves what they get. I personally say to all callers that I need to do a survey before giving a quote. OK if they insist and can give me an approximate size then I will give an estimate but still say that it is not a guaranteed price or quote.
    Should it be obvious that the area is below minimmum charge then that is the price quoted once more subject to measuring.
    Its not a gumtree type site.
    Reference comments on the site I don't believe Zumpty are looking for a prize as to the best site. They are just trying to get a message across, and as it appears to be a franchise probably don't have much choice about the content.
    I have had quite a few web designers and other experts tell me that my site should be improved well its been up a year and brings 3 - 5 jobs a week in. I'm happy with that. Try and remember guys the purpose of the web site.
    Also the site hasn't been up a week yet give them a chance - do you know the expression teething problems.
    I'm going to give them a chance.

Culchie wrote: »
    No signage/vehicle graphics category either El Rifle.

As someone who recently set up a business (2 years ago) ....it's critical that you hit the ground running. If you don't get a fast start, your money will get chewed up very quickly.

Lets say your marke
    ting is successful.... driving people to an empty website is just crazy.

I hear you Culchie, its not as easy as you might think though - we've been signing people up all morning but that is less then 50 businesses in the Leinster region. Unless I was to hire 100 sales guys its going to take a few weeks to get the mass on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Pixelcraft

I wish you the best of luck, but I think your focus is wrong at the moment, trust me I have experience with this, and have seen the problems you're going to face unless you radically change.

Just wondering also about the quick search option..if i search and get a list of results I dont have access to their website to see more about them just an address and phone number, surely a url is a standard item these days on a directory of suppliers and services? I have no way of comparing them or finding out anything about them to help me make a choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dado112233

hi,

with exactly the same idea i came to Enterprise Ireland more than a year ago.
    i had prepared a short business plan, had an interview with mr. Maguire Paul and basically he gave me a PFO.
    His response was that it is a bad idea and he cant see how will that make money or how do i think to scale that up for multiple countries...in general a very negative response
    And now a year later there it is...exactly the same thing...only different name.

wish you all the best with the service...i think it is a good idea.

I thought also to enable 'service for service' or 'product for service' between companies, even between companies and customers (service requester)

regards,
    dado

dado112233 wrote: »
    hi,

name.

wish you all the best with the service...i think it is a good idea.

I thought also to enable 'service for service' or 'product for service' between companies, even between companies and customers (service requester)

regards,
    dado

Yeah I've been discussing that one with my partner I think its a great idea. Im thinking using my connections in China to try and set up a special "source it in China with zumpty" section. From my experience quality control is the most difficult thing for Irish business if they are sourcing from china, I think we can help to eliminate that or at least reduce it to a manageable level.

Axewell we are almost penpals now :D your points have all been very good thank you. We want to stay away from the directory style offering, and move people towards using the 1-2-3. The plan is to get that system as the norm for people. Its new but I think it will catch on over time, Rome wasnt built in a day!. Once I feel the system has caught on the directory service will be improved and developed more. That is the thinking behind it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Uncle Chenzo

First of all, fair play on the new venture. I have read all 6 pages of this thread.

Some very valid criticisms. Here's my two cents:

Firstly, never launch a site that is not ready, sure - you're going to have initial teething problems - but launching a directory type site with very, very few suppliers makes your service/business look like a joke. I just have searched for a Carpenter in Leinster, Ulster, Connaught and Munster now i know and you know, that this little country of ours is tripping over tradesmen, do you know how many you have - "0", thats none. I would have no confidence in using this site presently.

You must allow suppliers the first year free - If you are that confident that the site will work, prove it to your suppliers. They will only be gagging to pay you next year ( or in 6 months time ), as its such a winner. That would be the first thing i would say to anyone who calls me up to be included.

Your animation - at the top of the page. If you really want/need him, have him walk over and back once. Then make him stop, as this is taking attention away from your prospective client, user or supplier. You want a client to focus. This is after all a new site to anyone who is finding you, make it easy for them, don't distract them. I don't know any successful site that has constant animation, repeating itself.

I don't know how many different types, and styles, of fonts you are using, you should only use one. Its a mess.

The Zumpty logo, top left, is not even designed, fix it. It's not even linked to the home page. Suicide. Make the users job easier than easy. They will reward you for it.

Every day you are in business, advertising, marketing and spending money - you may as well be flushing it down the jacks, you need to sort out your suppliers pronto.

Best of luck with it, as Samuel Beckett said "no matter, try again, fail again, fail better".

P.S. With regards to sourcing items in china check out www.alibaba.com - the master website in sourcing products from around the world. Anyone worth their salt knows this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The dancing potatoe on the front page could probably be done without, I hate any type of animated gifs, or walking characters. But I think this is a great business idea. Well done!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭D.W

Firstly good luck with the venture. IMO thats what it will be a venture...Sorry

The concept a few years ago would have been deadly but now everyone knows someone that is an unemployed tiler, plasterer, plumber etc.. Personally hated the site colours, bad fonts, texts variations on the homepage.

I hate knocking any idea becauses I appreciate the time , energy, effort and dedication that goes into each idea (and I have had many knocked back :)) but trying to be honest. Hope you prove any doubters wrong.

D.W wrote: »

The concept a few years ago would have been deadly but now everyone knows someone that is an unemployed tiler, plasterer, plumber etc..

Actually I would be of the opposite opinion, I dont think it would have worked a few years ago, because Ireland was a sellers market for almost everything and businesses didn't need the help. Now its a different story with the big R.

The other thing is that we are covering every type of service, not just tradesmen. To give you an example of the types of jobs that are being requested on the site just yesterday - Writer, architect, physiotherapist, gardener, panel beaters, kennels, kitchen fixtures and fittings so there is a big mix and the concept is catching on.

Right now things are looking very good, people are using the site and we are getting a lot of press in the last two weeks. Without sounding overconfident its not really about proving the doubters wrong with this business I know it will work!
    Tune in to Radio 1 for an interview with Derek Mooney on Monday!!

You did say yourself in the past that a lot of media exposure is down to your contacts in the field so it may not be down to the brilliance of the business that you are getting media recognition.

Having said all that, I do admire your attitude and wish you luck with it, I don't want to see people fail and I hope you do well.

You did say yourself in the past that a lot of media exposure is down to your contacts in the field so it may not be down to the brilliance of the business that you are getting media recognition.

You'll find when you launch your business in the future, that journalists wont write about something if its not newsworthy. If its not newsworthy the editors will turn it down because their bottom line is to sell papers not do advertorials.

Actually Ive never met any of the journalists that have covered zumpty!!

You just need some time to get used to the zumpty concept Entrepreneur :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Hi, I just saw this now, best of luck with it :)

Just wondering, if I sign up, how do I get the 50% discount, can I be listed in different categories and could you create a new category of "man with a van" for example?

Also, if such a category was created, is there any screening process for service providers? To operate legally, I've to have an array of different insurance policies amongst other things. The likes of gumtree is full of "man with a van" operations who don't hold the valid insurance etc, would there be anything to differentiate between a fully insured and non insured provider? Have you any idea how many hits or request I'd be likely to receive as of yet? Will I get a profile page on the site of just have quotes emailed to me and wont be able to see what others offer? Is there a pay monthly option or is it a lump sum payment?

cormie wrote: »
    Hi, I just saw this now, best of luck with it :)

Just wondering, if I sign up, how do I get the 50% discount, can I be listed in different categories and could you create a new category of "man with a van" for example?

Also, if such a category was created, is there any screening process for service providers? To operate legally, I've to have an array of different insurance policies amongst other things. The likes of gumtree is full of "man with a van" operations who don't hold the valid insurance etc, would there be anything to differentiate between a fully insured and non insured provider? Have you any idea how many hits or request I'd be likely to receive as of yet? Will I get a profile page on the site of just have quotes emailed to me and wont be able to see what others offer? Is there a pay monthly option or is it a lump sum payment?

Hi Cormie

You can drop ciara an email ciara@zumpty.ie and mention you are a boards.ie member with more then 100 posts and you will then get the 50% discount

I'm not sure if we could do "Man with a Van"!, but we have a category there for Van Rental would that suit?
    If we haven't your category covered as long as its professional we can add it.

Right now we are dealing with large associations and getting our suppliers that way in order to made sure that the businesses listed as suppliers are accredited in someway to a higher body, insuring hopefully a better standard of service for the consumer

Its hard to predict how many people would need a man with a van, all I can say is that over the next few months we will do our best to make sure that when someone needs a van rental etc, they will look for it through zumpty!

Yes we can give you a profile page, ciara will send you over the templates and you can choose which one you want

Once you login to your account, if for example another man with a van has made a quote on a job, you can see what he has quoted if he has done so by email, so that will help you determine your price if you want to be competitive

It will be a lump sum payment Im afraid!

:(I was going to take up the years subscription for € 50.00 and then got offered the month free, thank god I didn't take up the year.
    I posted a very enthustiac post earlier unfortunately me experiece has pretty well drowned that.
    I have not received a single requets (with the exception of one I sent in myself to check how things worked). In the same period I have received 7 tenders from tenderme, which isnt perfect either, it needs a bit doing. Of the 7 I have bid on 4 and got jobs from 3. So going at this rate € 12.00 with a return in excess of € 600.00 I'm happy with tenderme.
    If this sort of return carries one that will mean € 144.00 pa for a return of € 7,200.00.
    As opposed to what looks like € 50.00 pa for nothing.
    I wonder if the probles that you had at ther start have caused people to stop using the site.
    Certainly at the moment I wont be paying towards zumpty, I would be happy to if there was some proof that business was going to come in or if the free offer was extended while you try to re-awaken interest in the site.
    Possible a complete re-launch?
    I still like the idean but it doesn't seem to be working.:o

How did you get offered it for free??

Lorelei wrote: »
    :(I was going to take up the years subscription for € 50.00 and then got offered the month free, thank god I didn't take up the year.
    I posted a very enthustiac post earlier unfortunately me experiece has pretty well drowned that.
    I have not received a single requets (with the exception of one I sent in myself to check how things worked). In the same period I have received 7 tenders from tenderme, which isnt perfect either, it needs a bit doing. Of the 7 I have bid on 4 and got jobs from 3. So going at this rate € 12.00 with a return in excess of € 600.00 I'm happy with tenderme.
    If this sort of return carries one that will mean € 144.00 pa for a return of € 7,200.00.
    As opposed to what looks like € 50.00 pa for nothing.
    I wonder if the probles that you had at ther start have caused people to stop using the site.
    Certainly at the moment I wont be paying towards zumpty, I would be happy to if there was some proof that business was going to come in or if the free offer was extended while you try to re-awaken interest in the site.
    Possible a complete re-launch?
    I still like the idean but it doesn't seem to be working.:o

Hi Stephen

Theres 5 open bids for cleaning services currently on the site in the Leinster area. Have you selected your occupations from the list in My Settings? You need to tick Cleaners and Carpet cleaners to be able to view those requests and then you can bid away and hopefully get the jobs.

I've just tried logging in click on settings and nothing it appears from your answer that I'm supposed to log onto the site each day and then check the bids.
    I only found 2 bids for carpet cleaning pretty old.
    Surely if I'm registered on the site then I should be sent jobs or have I misunderstood things?

i was offered it in an email understand offer was only for a couple of days.

Lorelei wrote: »
    I've just tried logging in click on settings and nothing it appears from your answer that I'm supposed to log onto the site each day and then check the bids.
    I only found 2 bids for carpet cleaning pretty old.
    Surely if I'm registered on the site then I should be sent jobs or have I misunderstood things?

Hi Mate

I think the problem was when those jobs came in your weren't ticked off for the respective services so you didn't get the notification. As long as you are ticked off now (just double check - click "Settings" then "My Occupations" any new ones that come in you'll get an email telling you to login and make a quotation. We had about 100 jobs posted in the last 3 days, nothing new for cleaners though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I've just read all the posts, and its great reading. I'm launching a site myself in October/November and have a small budget for marketing. What have you found best for your own site? (Mine is in a completly different area). Also, did you use your contacts to get Rosanna Davidson or just hire her? And how did you go about getting the picture in the paper? Do you have a PR company? If so would you recommend getting one?

I hope the site is a great success, both here and worldwide.

I've just read all the posts, and its great reading. I'm launching a site myself in October/November and have a small budget for marketing. What have you found best for your own site? (Mine is in a completly different area). Also, did you use your contacts to get Rosanna Davidson or just hire her? And how did you go about getting the picture in the paper? Do you have a PR company? If so would you recommend getting one?

I hope the site is a great success, both here and worldwide.

Thanks max. All depends on your budget whether to use a PR company or not, but it will certainly help if you can afford it. Ive been using hill and knowlton who Im happy with so far. Drop me a pm if you need any help in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Bombe

Hi EL Rifle,

I was looking through the recent posts and came across your thread about the launch of your new website Zumpty...(congrats by the way).....I am a month or two away from launching my new website....and I hope you don't mind but I have a quick question....

In the article on your website (the one with the picture of Rosanne on it) it mentioned that you had only launched and yet 140 businesses signed up already....

My question is...I always see this as a chicken and egg type problem...how do you get people to sign up to a website before you have any traffic? surely a potential customer will say " how do I know if any one will even look at your site so you are not getting my money".....as I said chicken and egg....your wisdom on this point would be greatly appreciated:confused: