Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Q & A

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

Here's something that got me thinking, I think it was discussed before but couldn't find anything. I've spend 3 million ish on players this season. Having a player of his calibre, do you think its better value to buy one beast ala Rick Allen, or 2/3/4 players 150k csr(ish)?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    Here's something that got me thinking, I think it was discussed before but couldn't find anything. I've spend 3 million ish on players this season. Having a player of his calibre, do you think its better value to buy one beast ala Rick Allen, or 2/3/4 players 150k csr(ish)?

Not to go too far off topic, but I'd definitely say a spread is much better for your team. If your beast is injured, suddenly you've a major step down, plus no matter how amazing your beast is, he can only do so much. A forward is going to get tied up in rucks, while a back will be of no help to you when it comes to winning set-pieces. Plus it's a lot easier to gear your game towards taking one beast out of action than it is to close down a whole team. When faced with monsters in the past, I'd just put an absolute brick wall of a player marking them and then play a game to keep the ball away from them.

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Not to go too far off topic, but I'd definitely say a spread is much better for your team. If your beast is injured, suddenly you've a major step down, plus no matter how amazing your beast is, he can only do so much. A forward is going to get tied up in rucks, while a back will be of no help to you when it comes to winning set-pieces. Plus it's a lot easier to gear your game towards taking one beast out of action than it is to close down a whole team. When faced with monsters in the past, I'd just put an absolute brick wall of a player marking them and then play a game to keep the ball away from them.

Yea, I'd only realized after i'd posted it'd be better suited to Q&A. But yea, that was my thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭crisco10

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    Yea, I'd only realized after i'd posted it'd be better suited to Q&A. But yea, that was my thinking.

Alos having 3 players hedges against form and energy better. what if your 1 star has satisfactory form coming up to the playoffs. Or you have 2 biggish games in a row?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

Is it possible to change tactics during a match no?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

Is it possible to change tactics during a match no?

no.

It is rumoured that ME2 will bring in that you can preset changes to tactics, ie start tight and open up etc. But ME2 has been rumoured to be coming for many a season, personally I don't bank on it arriving anytime soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

I think the one huge player/3 big player debate depends where your team is at.

Like take Apoel who are top of my division. They have 18 players over 120k csr, nearly their entire first team above 150k csr and 4 above 200k.

For them the one monster player makes sense I think. The 3 players will add more depth but not a lot of quality in that case.

The multi-player option is better though imo if you don't already have all/most your starting line-up at 100k csr+

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

The ME is all about the sum of the parts, it doesn't look at one player but however number are involved. As Mar-z said huge beast are great if you already have a collection of good players on the field, however if you have 1, 2 or even 3 beasts surrounded by 30-50k CSR players their ability quickly becomes diluted by the crap around them. Take the Jacks are prime example, he was a competitive Div 2 team but sold up and now has 3 Irish beasts in training, 1 325K CSR, 1 290K CSR and the other almost 200k CSR! he couldn't stay up in Div 3 because the rest of the players diluted his 3 stars to a shadow of their ability (also the lack of energy due to training must be taken into account)

eoferrall wrote: »
    no.

It is rumoured that ME2 will bring in that you can preset changes to tactics, ie start tight and open up etc. But ME2 has been rumoured to be coming for many a season, personally I don't bank on it arriving anytime soon.

They'll do it this afternoooooon :rolleyes:

ME2.......... I'll be in my grave by the time that comes in.

Just decided to build level 3 YA. Is there more levels to this and how do I start producing really good players? Is there coaches I have to hire?

Yea; Manager, scout and coach lvl1-3.

Careful now... you really want to make sure you have the finances to support all of this.

No point having a level 3 YA without a level 3 coach, and you need a scout to get the best players in. Manager I could take or leave tbh.

Well, you'll have to wait at least one season for the player to age from 16 to 17. A few seasons back you'd rip the best players out of the academy the minute they turn 17, but people are finding that the Level 3 YA has improved so much that it's actually worth leaving them in til they're 19. All depends on your existing squad. Bad news is you're talking a minimum of a season before you make a pull that has benefited from your Level 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Am I right in saying that the youth manager has no impact on academy development and only serves to reveal attributes?

Also, I'm wondering about stadium optomization, say you have 1,000 standing 2,000 uncovered and 3,000 covered (for example) and standing and uncovered sell out but only 2,000 go for covered, if you got rid of standing, would seating elsewhere fill up, like 5,000 people will come to the game regardless, so they'll take whatever spaces are available, OR if you get rid of standing are you just excluding those 1,000 fans and the other areas will remain the same attendance.

Basically, I'm wondering if you'd be better off getting rid of standing spaces and building up other areas to get them paying more, or should you expand everywhere to fit in the maximum amount of fans?

Yea, Manager is to the best of my knowledge not important. I have lvl 3 coach and scout and lvl 2 Manager and I can still churn out 40k players with 10 stars at 17yo 1 wk.

There's essential a 'potential' amount of fans for each ticket category based on contentment. Removing 1k of X and replacing with 1k of Y won't automatically result in increased numbers, and it can actually decrease attendence.

Are you selling out currently? i.e getting 100% consistantly?

It can fluctuate rapidly throughout the season too. I personally find that having removed the standign seats, and added seating elsewhere my profits and numbers went up. But that is because my contentment is usually Euphoric.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

Lads how do I officially set up an affiliate team ? Do I start a whole new user account or add it to my current account ?

I'm not 100% here so open to correction but I think you set a new club up as normal, use the manager name TheJims2 and then send a mail to support telling them this is your affiliate.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭seanand

or you could wait a month or 2 and hopefully you can set one up easily

seanand wrote: »
    or you could wait a month or 2 and hopefully you can set one up easily

could easily run into 6 months thou.. feeling a need to peak the interest in the game at the mo!

Generally speaking, how high roughly can you train players with a level 3 specialist coach and level 3 facility and likewise with a level 4 specialist coach and level 4 facility?

How high do people build their training facilities also? Would having all level 4 coaches and level 4 facility (and level 3 head coach) be considered very strong training set up, or would most good sides (top DIV III sides / DivII sides an up) have all level 5's across the board?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Generally speaking, how high roughly can you train players with a level 3 specialist coach and level 3 facility and likewise with a level 4 specialist coach and level 4 facility?

How high do people build their training facilities also? Would having all level 4 coaches and level 4 facility (and level 3 head coach) be considered very strong training set up, or would most good sides (top DIV III sides / DivII sides an up) have all level 5's across the board?

There are caps on how high a skill can be gotten which each level, I went looking for the info just there but no look. It is something like at level 3 you can get a skill to a max of manumental (18), level 4 up to majestic (19), and level 5 all the way. But that might be a bit off. There is also a difference in the speed of training.

I would say that most sides top of div III and up would have at least level 4 facilities and trainers

Up until recently lvl 5 facilities were rarer as they were hugely expensive. The price was reduced so more probably have them now (over half of these teams anyway at a complete guess)

In terms of worth, I would say that lvl 5's are only essential if training an international/U20, otherwise lvl 4 trainers are plenty good enough to get your team up to standard (and at a fraction of the cost). Even then my first (and only so far) U20 player was trained at level 4 for the first season and a half or so.

I would advise you to get your facilities and trainers up to lvl 4 as quickly as you can manage and then think about lvl 5's whenever they become more financially viable for you. I only upgraded mine to lvl 5 in S13 (started in S6) and only did that because I was getting interested in training for the U20 team.

Long answer short, I would say lvl 4 is a necessity as you move up in the game while lvl 5's are a nice to have

I'm only on level 4s. The cost of level 5s isn't really worth it unless, as Mar-z says, you're training to an elite level. We're talking national teams. Recently able to afford either a fancy YA or a lvl 5 setup, and went with the YA.

i got rid of the ya for my main team to afford lvl5s happy with them so far but won know really till the s20 wc as my main team has a 28k csr kicker and 20k lock on lvl5s gaining currently 900 from training and my affiliate on lvl4s and full ya have a 40khooker gaining 1300 and 36k flanker gaining 1100 it be interesting if the lvl5s can catch in csr gains or csr at least

Nice experiment seanand! Be interesting to see how it finishes

seanand wrote: »
    i got rid of the ya for my main team to afford lvl5s happy with them so far but won know really till the s20 wc as my main team has a 28k csr kicker and 20k lock on lvl5s gaining currently 900 from training and my affiliate on lvl4s and full ya have a 40khooker gaining 1300 and 36k flanker gaining 1100 it be interesting if the lvl5s can catch in csr gains or csr at least

I'd be amazed if they didn't, otherwise, what's the point? I'd say in a season and a bit it will have caught up. Guessing, but it would make me rethink going for lvl 5's if it didn't.

Out of interest, are you going to dedicate all your training spots to your development players between now and then and just ignore the rest of your squad in terms of specialist training?

My problem is that I have various players in areas that I would love to concentrate on training up and in the medium to long run would be well worth the investment, just given the age of my club, it makes it difficult to focus on just one area as so many areas are sub par :( Trying to get my tight 5 in order first and foremost as the set-piece is so important. Hoping to be a development club a lot more than a wheeler and dealer on the transfer market.

after reading the above and talk elsewhere regarding level 5s, i dont know if its worth it unless your in the game 10 seasons and/or training NT players!

I know when i started off first, i spent my first 2 seasons buying in guys under 22 with a minimum of 30k csr for cheap, and stuck with the core group of players, who are now averaging 60-70 csr, then trained my own youth pulls who are now 63k, 90k and 108k.

For the first few seasons i only 10 sessioned a week 1 guy and then used 5 sessions each on 4 my youngest players who had the most potential, now their all around 70-85k and very stong skillwise for their positions.

Im not recommending you to follow my pattern coz lord knows iv F-ed up quite a bit along the way, but im quite happy with how my team has progressed in 5 and a half seasons

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I'd be amazed if they didn't, otherwise, what's the point? I'd say in a season and a bit it will have caught up. Guessing, but it would make me rethink going for lvl 5's if it didn't.

Out of interest, are you going to dedicate all your training spots to your development players between now and then and just ignore the rest of your squad in terms of specialist training?

My problem is that I have various players in areas that I would love to concentrate on training up and in the medium to long run would be well worth the investment, just given the age of my club, it makes it difficult to focus on just one area as so many areas are sub par :( Trying to get my tight 5 in order first and foremost as the set-piece is so important. Hoping to be a development club a lot more than a wheeler and dealer on the transfer market.

i actually think theyll be just about lvl come s20 hopefully but then i know the guys skills and the guys on lvl5s are lacking in areas while the flanker on lvl4s are only lacking one skill while my hooker is almost perfect. ill keep ye posted here if theres any great updates.

for my first team i bought young and spread training around apart from one promising young guy, but iv now have replaced that team already as there progress wasnt good enough for my team, iv just passed 2 years on the game. so now i feel its better to train to 20 on 10 nets and than spread training and have a load of 60k guys because you can buy them anyway cheap enough now

If you are training U20's or Senior NT then you have to have level 5 IMO. I think the rough estimate was that level 5 trains 10% more than 4, over a season not a major differences but over a number of seaosns you are looking at very different players.

One quick example, Pat Mustard spent most of his life getting level 4 sessions! he was 25 before he broke the 300k CSR mark, Peadar who got lvl 5 since birth is 22 years of age and is almost at the 250k CSR, by 25 he will be pushing for the 400K CSR mark.

ya i agree with phoney wex that lvl5s should really only be got if training u20s and nats tbh

How do you make an affiliate and what is the point of having one?