Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Jackson Death discussion thread - CHAT, NOT JOKES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

phasers wrote: »
    "I asked Michael Jackson under hypnosis if he touched a child"

Jesus Christ Uri Geller is a wanker

I cringed watching that. Seriously, he should have just told her he had no comment and cut her off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Que Uri Gellar milking this for all its worth, bloody leech - him and Joe Jackson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 IrishToffees

cornbb wrote: »
    Its your OPINION but it was proven in court that it is in fact not the case... it might be my OPINION that the moon is square but... you see where I'm going with this

In his SECOND child molestation case he settled for an EIGHT figure sum. Why would an innocent man do this????

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

cornbb wrote: »
    Madonna is the most successful leech in the history of pop, consistently changing her style to take advantage of who/what happens to be popular at the time, to mask her own lack of talent. She has never been a leader, always a follower.

Michael Jackson on the other hand blazed a trail of pop, funk rock and soul, he could sing, he could dance, and he could write tunes too. The fact that he's released nothing in years is a result of his personal circumstances, not a lack of legend-ness.

Man if its that easy to stay successful for 25 years why didn't Belinda Carlisle, Janet Jackson, Whitney Houston, Cyndi Lauper, Tina Turner, Annie Lennox, Pat Benatar, Kate Bush, Deborah Harry and Michael Jackson.

Has there ever been a pop star as consistently successful?

Even today she was named top-earning act of the year.
    http://www.rollingstone.com/rockdaily/index.php/2009/06/23/madonna-tops-bruce-acdc-as-forbes-top-earning-act/

I respect her for been able to release a successful album every few years after everyone else has fallen away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭strassenwolf

Blay wrote: »
    That joke is so old, it's been posted on the thread about 10 times. /yawn.

apologies. I read the first 9-10 pages, then skipped to the end.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

mcowhey wrote: »
    hmmm ok interesting, **** yourself, i believe that covered it
    Go ban yourself!
    Oh wait.
    The other one.
    Banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Abigayle wrote: »
    I cringed watching that. Seriously, he should have just told her he had no comment and cut her off.

It was another 5 seconds fame for Uri... no doubt we'll see other 'friends' coming out of the woodwork tomorrow. Wondering what Brian Cowen or Gordon Brown's comments will be tomorrow... nice distraction for them

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Absolutely can't believe Michael Jackson is dead..in absolute shock. He really did dedicate his life to music, and started at such an early age. Being in the public eye from the age of 11 has to have an effect on a person, putting pressure on a person as to what they should be, the media changed him considerably, I believe, what he should look like, and he was still a legend through it all. Absolutely can't believe it.... and he did do alot of work for human rights etc.
    In my opinion, he created absolutely incrediable music, and stunned the world, and we should all remember him for his music, and his dancing.
    No one to this day can compare in anyway to Michael Jackson, may he rest in peace.....I really feel like crying....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭wildsaffy

In his SECOND child molestation case he settled for an EIGHT figure sum. Why would an innocent man do this????

To make the nastiness go away?

Imagine if that was you - day in, day out - being hounded by the press, by parents looking to milk you for all you were worth ...

Imagine you were depressed with the whole thing and wanted to bring an end to it.

What would you do, oh Irish Toffees? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

phasers wrote: »
    "I asked Michael Jackson under hypnosis if he touched a child"

Jesus Christ Uri Geller is a wanker

+ 1 to that

What an attention seeker!

If he was so grief stricken, why is he doing interviews now, when he should be crying in his bed.

Words fail...........

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

RIP:(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

To stop a court case damaging his career maybe? Any assertion you can make about the situation has no bearing anyway, he was proved innocent in a court of law, you can't argue that.

Reported :(

---->Kitchen---->knife drawer--->knife--> Swallow

Goodnight all, RIP MJ.

GL Dr.bollocko with this mess including me :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

Man if its that easy to stay successful for 25 years why didn't Belinda Carlisle, Janet Jackson, Whitney Houston, Cyndi Lauper, Tina Turner, Annie Lennox, Pat Benatar, Kate Bush, Deborah Harry and Michael Jackson.

Has there ever been a pop star as consistently successful?

Even today she was named top-earning act of the year.
    http://www.rollingstone.com/rockdaily/index.php/2009/06/23/madonna-tops-bruce-acdc-as-forbes-top-earning-act/

I respect her for been able to release a successful album every few years after everyone else has fallen away.

The reason she's remained successful is because she plagiarized other artists' music and sound. If this is what is considered a musical success, then let's say it's a sad day for artists who not only write their own music, but don't feel the need to be a follower in order to stay relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

<Ollie> wrote: »
    Moderators would usually be very quick to move a MJ thread to the music forum. (eg. Oasis thread last Sunday)

If MJ was singing something, then it would belong in the Music forum.

He's not (unless you count a swan song), so I don't see why AH isn't a perfectly fine place.
    I think with cardiac arrest the heart stops beating and needs immediate medical attention to be restarted where as a heart attack the heart continues to beat albeit not rhythmically.

You're right on cardiac arrest, but the most common meaning of 'heart attack' is a myocardial infarction, where an artery supplying the muscles of the heart becomes occluded, causing muscle death. This can then lead to cardiac arrest or arrhythmia (thank you, years of General Hospital, Casualty, ER, Scrubs and House!).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,573 ✭✭✭patmac

apologies. I read the first 9-10 pages, then skipped to the end.
    Ah don't worry about it blame it on the boogie.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

About as much of a wankstain as you, by the looks of things.

No personal abuse. Please keep it civil. We all know the rules.
    Banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The world is going mental, the world is gonna go f*cking crazy for the next few weeks, he won't be forgotten and never in the history of time has a celebrity's death had such an effect on people.

Never again will there be a King of Pop. Musical Genius.

Rest in Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭sparky360

The jury believed he was innocent, I'm gonna take their word over anyone's here tbh.

The last thing i wanted to try to do was change others opinion but I hope that even the most blinkered of MJ fans can see why people like myself and many others might have our doubts and respect our right to voice our opinions

• Registered Users Posts: 10,517 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

To stop a court case damaging his career maybe? Any assertion you can make about the situation has no bearing anyway, he was proved innocent in a court of law, you can't argue that.

Glad to see people can pay their way out of court cases and then claim sure it was to avoid further trouble and then have it wiped from the slate. Not saying this about MJ in particular but for people in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

For a man of his wealth (at the time) it was probably easier and cheaper, in the grand scheme of things, to pay them off rather than go through the trial of proving his innocence. Which he later did in other trials anyway.

I agree that he left himself open to these allegations by stupidly having kids over to stay but it was comprehensively proven that he did nothing worse than that, and its unfair to suggest that he did otherwise when he was put through a trial and proved otherwise.

Its amazing that people will just want to BELIEVE that he was a paedophile in the face of hard evidence that he was not.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ronoc wrote: »
    And nothing you have seen or heard since makes you think that was wrong?

He had a kids fair complete with big wheel in his garden for christsakes.

I hate this being used as "evidence".

So much for Yury's friendship.

He's dead an hour or 2 and he is disclosing what he said under hypnosis.

Jaysus, No wonder he can bend spoons.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Sites are going down on the internet and its 1am, wait until tomorrow and see just how big an effect the King of Pop had on the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

The world is going mental, the world is gonna go f*cking crazy for the next few weeks, he won't be forgotten and never in the history of time has a celebrity's death had such an effect on people.

Never again will there be a King of Pop. Musical Genius.

Rest in Peace.

I reckon we'll survive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

2fm are playing his music non-stop. The next few days are going to be crazy.

Apparently he has music prepared over his life which he planned to release when he died, how would he know it would be so soon....

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 BingBlangBlaow

---->Kitchen---->knife drawer--->knife--> Swallow

Gun---->load
    >.point at head---->pull trigger.

I don't think charades really works over the net :(

He could afford excellent lawyers too.

When they don't work he could always throw money at the problem.

From the criminal justice system that brought us the OJ Simpson case.

Edit: Its important to separate the man from him music, which I'm not disputing was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Oh ffs now when I head out this weekend all the djs will be playing ****e MJ pop music. (Dont like pop, no disrespect to MJ)

Gun---->load
    >.point at head---->pull trigger.

I don't think charades really works over the net :(

You need to smile more pal.

youporn tbh. Loads of stuff to smile about, I'd say you like the small type like, midgets?