Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Its not so much the Lifts is the problem.
    Its more the progression.

I mean as for lifts its just:
    Squat, Deadlift, Press, bench, chins from where I see it.

The chins are essential cos I am **** at them.
    I'm kind of worried that I won't last long if I go back to the linear progression on a deficit.

Edit: How the hell did that lightbulb thing get there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I wouldn't worry much about a linear progression if its just twice a week and the lifts on each day are different. 2.5kg jump on the big lifts 1kg on the smaller lifts once a week doesn't sound overly agressive to me. Take a deload if you need to there is no shame :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I apologise in advance and mean no offence.

Or maybe a little. But not enough to get banned or for you to take it personally.

Stop thinking about your fucking training and just lift stuff up, put it down. Then do the same next week but try for more reps or more sets.

Paralysis of Analysis i believe it's called.

Like, using your upper lat not recruiting properly as an excuse for failing to get target reps on a row is just ridiculous, i've wanted to say that for about 3months.

Seriously like, you should be pretty damn strong by now if you stopped thinking about being strong and just lifted some shit.

I

Like, using your upper lat not recruiting properly as an excuse for failing to get target reps on a row is just ridiculous, i've wanted to say that for about 3months.

I have never disclosed my upper lat issues to anybody.

Conditioning.

Rowing

10 Intervals
    30 on/30 off.

I briefly lost the will to survive in the last interval.
    Pulled it back together and I reckon was back to close to a meagre 360watts in the last few strokes.

This was followed by a crossfit mainsite style roll around on the floor which
    worried the hot Hungarian instructor lady enough to tell me that "too hard is not good". My fiance just laughed at me.

Death March

12.5kg Bells
    25m x2,2

Basically one length, rest a bit, return.
    Big rest.
    repeat.

These things are killer. Its like a walking one legged deadlift.

Farmers Walk

2x25kg Plates.

1:00 on/1:00 off
    5 intervals.

Farmers walks and death marches, lets see how the deadlifting goes on Thursday.

Also fúck all you guys thankin' L's post.:D

Sumo Deadlift

Some warm up powercleans:
    50, 60, 70, 80x2

DL: 100x5x1, 110x3, 130x2, 140x1, 150x3,2,1
    140x3.

That last single nearly made me fall over. Bar got out ahead.
    Will either try for 3 triples at this weight or back off and go for 5+.
    I dunno. Whatever.

Bench
    20x2x5, 50x5, 60x5, 70x5, 80x3x5

Bit shakey but grand.
    Babysteps up from here.

Narrow Grip Lat pulldown

The stack x 5,5,7

Some chins distributed through the session.

BB Curl

32.5x2x8

Done.

At some point soon I'm gonna write a massive emo post on the year gone and the year ahead. Cos its my log.

Incidentally, I am 104.5 and a fat **** of some 25 - 27%.

This isn't science, its maths.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 100x3, 110x2
    130x3x5

Felt hard enough.
    But not reary. Got a compliment on my squat form from that dude from last week who knows Hanley.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5 *felt hard?*
    40x3, 50x2
    60x5,4,3+Push Pressx2

Bluey purple lights in my eyes.
    Sort of couldn't see properly.
    Bit of a headache. Crazy stuff.

Pendlay rows

70x5,7,7,7,7

Head Cleared up, spotted and called press for the stallion who is going to enter the single lifts.

Dips

3x5

I did dips.:)

Strange stuff that.
    Bit of a headache now, probably a lack of food thing.
    Also my press has the gay. Might drop it for a while, either incline or just bench twice a week.

Power Cleans

50x5, 60x3, 70x1, 80x1

Done by way of warming up for deads, but also cos they develop explosive hip extension, are really functional, are useful for getting bars up to your shoulders and make you more awesome.

Sumo Deadlift

100x5, 120x3, 142.5x4x3 142.5x2

Only did 2 on the last set, felt like I was done.

Bench Press

20x5, 50x5, 60x3, 70x2,
    82.5x7x3

Last rep was a near death experience. I was loose, line went awry off my chest, moved a bit due to the slippery bench, then had a 5 second battle due to the fact that I didn't bother with a spotter. Got there in the end. Funnily enough these got easier as the sets went on. Wanted to do 10 triples but was running out of time.

Curls

32.5x10,8

Band Ab Pulldown

Green and blue bands x10,10,14

Shít exercise.
    But fúcking benchman was using the lat pulldown machine and the other cable is of course broken.

C2 Erg

1000m : 3:31.8
    500m : 1:40.3

Let myself down on the 500m. Basically let my self slowdown around 200 for a few strokes. Reckon I probably screwed myself out of a PR. But who cares, its cardio.

Farmers Walk

2x25kg plates 1:00/1:00 rest.

Better than last time. Gripnificent.

Gheyness

17.5kg DB
    Clean and Press x5 each side
    Gobelet x5

11 Rounds in 15min.
    Thats probably a keeper.
    Just the right kind of Gay for me.

There were a couple of Ab pulldowns in there too.

Push Press

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x3, 70x2, 75x1, 77.5x1, 80x1 Pr
    All reps cleaned from the floor.

(Power clean and Jerk, 80x1, 82.5x2x1)

66x4x3, 2+1
    From the rack.

Did C&J just for the craic. Jerks were easy as.
    80kg Pushpress was a total all out max effort....Took about 5 seconds to get from above my head to extension.
    5th set I lost a pushpress out the front, just sloppy due to fatigue.

Chins

2,2,2,2,2,2,2 = 14

Distributed across the session.
    Up two on the last day

Pulldown Abs

Plate 8 x3x12

Tougher than I expected.

Pinch Grips

2x5kg plates
    30sec x5 each arm.

Dips
    BWx2x5

Should have done another set but I failed a chin and just left.
    Impromptu session because I was bored at home.
    Good though.

Also, WHO GIVE A **** IF OR IF NOT YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF THE PARTY?
    WE WANT YOU OUT OF THE OTHER DAMN JOB. Obese goon.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 100x3, 110x2
    132.5x4,3,3,3,3

Had intended on doing 3x5.
    This absolutely destroyed me. The 4th rep was such a grinder that I switched to singles.
    Just had nothing, felt heavier than the 140x5 I did a couple of weeks ago.
    Horrible.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x4, 70x3,
    82.5x3, 85x3,3,2, 80x3

Wanted 82.5x3x5, that wasn't happening either
    So went for triples.

I can think of excuses but whats the point.

Pendlay Rows

72.5x5x6

Curls

35x8,8,5

**** session. **** happens.
    Might wait till thursday to lift again.

Rebuild.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x3,
    50x2x5 50x10

Narrow Grip Lat Pulldown

The stack x 6,7

Power Clean

40x5, 50x3, 60x2, 70x1, 80x1

Sumo Deadlift

100x1,1,1
    110x3
    130x10

Last 2 reps were nothing to be proud of.

Bad Conventional Deadlift

100x5

Seems I still can't set my back.

Chins

10x2

Pinch Grips

2x5kg
    3x40sec

Distributed through the session.

102.2kg at last weigh in.

Impromptu bench test.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x3, 70x1, 80x1, 90x1 (easy)
    95x1 PR
    100xF

Spotter touched around what I expect may be a weak point.
    Didn't try again.
    No hassle. Its as good as in the bag.

70x5,5,13

Curl

30x10,9

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 80x3, 100x2
    115x5,5,10

All over the place.
    I am so ****ing slow out of the hole too.
    Got into it for the last set though.

Pull down Abs

plate 9 x 8,8,9

DB Clean and Push press

32.5kg each arm
    35kg each arm.

But thats hardly training.

Chins

9x2

Throughout the session.

100.8 kg.
    Thanks to the "fúck you and your stupid complicated ****" diet

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 90x3
    95x5, 107.5x5, 122.5x8

RDL

100x3x8

Front Squat

60x7

Chins

8x2, 1x4 = 20 reps.

Squats felt better.
    RDL's didn't really feel like they were doing much for my hamstrings.
    Chins were great.
    Did a set of 4 to finish things off in a hurry so I could get home for the savage eye.

Bench

20x2x5, 50x5, 60x5, 7x5, 80x9

Pendlay Rows

72.5x3x8

Dips

BWx5,6,5

Chins
    5x2

Curls

Some.

Bench was a little unstable.
    Back was loose for most of the 80 set.
    Rows were tough.
    Elbow is a little sore now.

Sumo Deadlift

60x2x5, 80x5, 95x5, 110x5, 125x10 or 11.

RDL

105x3x8

Pull Down Abs

Plate 9x3x12

Deadlift was ok sort of lost count and bitched out of a rep.
    RDL was solid.
    Pulldown abs were hard, but I'll probably go up.
    Didn't feel like/have time for chins or grip work, So I will hit them hard next .

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 42.5x5, 48x5, 55x8
    40x8

Chins

9x2, 1x3, 1x4

Dips

BWx5,5,5,4

Overhead Cable extensions

p7x2x12
    p8x8

OCE is a **** exercise.
    Probably switch to Skull crushers or something.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 98x3, 112.5x3, 125x5

Good Mornings

70x3x8

Cable curls

p5x8, p7x3x12

Wasn't really pushing anything tonight cos my hips feel all stiff despite.
    GM's were arch back and **** cos my lower back is ****. Hence the doing of them.
    Curls were pumpilicious.

Bench

20x2x5, 60x5, 67.5x3, 72.5x3, 77.5x7

Pendlay rows

72.5x3x8

Dips

Chins

All grand.
    Rows up weight next week.

Hang Cleans

Bar x many.

Full Clean

50x2, 60x1, 70x1, 80x2x1

Sumo Deadlift

80x3, 90x2, 100x3, 115x3, 130x8

RDL

110x3x8

Pulldown abs

Plate 9 x 3x12

Medium Grip Pullups

10x2

Barbell Complex

Row, 2x Full clean (or power & front squat) 2 x Power jerk
    50kg x 10

Bar snatches from the high hang 3x10

That was all backtacular.
    Hip movement is better.

This place has actually become an irredeemably shít bitch fest.
    Hostile, passive-agressive crap everytime I read it.
    I actually can't believe how much effort people will put into bitching about crossfit.
    Be happy for anybody doing anything you miserable gits.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 48x3, 52.5x3, 58x5

Dips

6,5,5,3,2 = 21

Chins

5x3, 10x2, 2,1,2 = 30

Kaz Press

40kg x2 x12

That was horrible, thanks to an appalling hangover.
    Kaz press is better than the Overhead cable extensions.

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 100x2
    105x5, 120x3, 132.5x2

Good Morning

70x3x8

Sick all last week also I had an awful stressful week in work.
    Still not the May West. So this whole session was horrible. Wasn't sure about it till I was walking out the door but I needed to train.
    The 132.5 set was ok. The second rep was uglier than Sarah Jessica Parker.

But I'm sick and down to 98.2kg so its sort of to be expected.

Chins & Dips

Loads.

I probably shouldn't be reading training and lifting blogs.
    Not being able to train is making me mental.

All better, had my stag and back training.
    In a new Gym.

Some prowler pushes and lunges to warm up

Box Squat

20x2x5, 60x8, 70x6, 80x4, 90x3, 100x3, 110x2, 120x1

Assisted Wide Grip Pullups

4x4

Wide Stance Good mornings

Triples at a few weights. Didn't write it down.

Strict DB Rows

25x2x4

Performed at Ironside Strongman.
    All the assistance stuff was based around stuff Imbalances that Dave figured out.
    Apparently my rhomboids just suck ass which is the why of the pullups and Strict rows.
    GMs are cos GM's. I have swiftly forgotten what weight I did but I have some mobility issues causing the hips to curl under.

That Gym is awesome btw.
    Its all ominous black strongman stuff and racks.
    With two prowlers and tonnes of other stuff.

Exciting end to an exciting 7 days what with the Cricket, election and my stag....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Heading out to Ironside this weekend myself. Any piece of equipment you'd recommend I try out?

Sangre wrote: »
    Heading out to Ironside this weekend myself. Any piece of equipment you'd recommend I try out?

The racks? :D

I haven't really tried anything but the prowler and that was just to warm up a bit. I think its best to let Dave fix me a bit before I start messin' around.

That said......I can't wait to try proper farmers walks.

Too busy chattin with Barry to write anything down, so this is from Memory.

Bench

20x2x8, 40x8. 60x8, 70x6, 80x6

Blue band tricep pushdowns

4x8 each side.

SOmething involving pushing one side of a bar with the other end in the corner of the wall, like the lads in my old gym for the t-bar rows.

X x 2x8, X+5kg x 2x8 each side.

Supersetted with

Mallet slams

4x8 each side.

DB Incline

20x2x8, 15x2x8

ss

Tricep Kick backs

10x4x8

Bench with chains

40+20kg of chains x 6,5,5,5.

Couple of prowler runs.

Interesting.
    We will have to talk about kick backs if they pop up in the programme, someone might see. I should get an actual programme next week. Will most likely do conditioning on Monday.

Benching with chains is mental.
    And I'm not sure why do it, but I'm pretty much happy to hand myself over to the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Benching with chains is mental.
    And I'm not sure why do it, but I'm pretty much happy to hand myself over to the lads.

To improve your lockout no?

As you lift the bar up more of the chain comes off the ground and is therefore heavier. Weight gets heavier the closer you are to lockout.

Sangre wrote: »
    To improve your lockout no?

As you lift the bar up more of the chain comes off the ground and is therefore heavier. Weight gets heavier the closer you are to lockout.

That would seem to be it, but I think he might have been looking to see where I failed.