Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Strongman Conditioning stuff.
    Basically 4 rounds of the following with the indicated loads.

FArmers Walk

35s, 40s, 45s, 50s

Super Yoke

**** knows, I think the last round was 60kg

Log Clean and press

30x8, 40x8, 50x6x2

Keg Loading

No idea what the load is.
    Did all the platforms each time.

Mallet

8 each side each time.

Circus dumbell

Or one arm DB clean and press...

10x8x2, 20x8x2

Riotous fun altogether.
    Must get the proper loads from Barry for my logbook.

Prowler

Can't remember the loads.
    Horrible evil fúcking death machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Ooh your new sessions are interesting! :)

What are mallet slams?? Actually, I'll just google...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

G86 wrote: »
    Ooh your new sessions are interesting! :)

What are mallet slams?? Actually, I'll just google...

im assume sledgehammer and a tyre and go nuts...

Barry Calls them Donkey Kongs.

Big rubber slabbers mallet and beat the beejaysus out of a big mat on the floor.
    The Tyre is apparently on its way, I suspect they will become sledgehammer swings then, as there is an ominous 12lb sledge currently being used as a door stop.

I remember taking apart a concrete shed with one of them once.
    Good times.

I have trap DOMS like a mother ****er.
    YOKE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Circus dumbell.

I hate you

Circus dumbell.

I hate you

I wasn't using the actual circus dumbell.
    But I suspect this is a shoulder function envy thing....right?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I wasn't using the actual circus dumbell.
    But I suspect this is a shoulder function envy thing....right?

What the jaysus is a circus dumbell?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

An enormous dumbell.

They use them for the circus dumbell event in Strongman.

An enormous dumbell.

I will one day marry a circus dumbell.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭DM-BM

252952644.jpg

DM-BM wrote: »

How's that squat of yours these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,159 ✭✭✭COH

You can't be a mod if you dont know the answer to this!

COH wrote: »
    You can't be a mod if you dont know the answer to this!

Au contraire, it's encouraged.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

An enormous dumbell.

Blindingly obvious really I suppose. Instead of realising that and keeping stum I had to ask and open myself up to ridicule didn't I.

WhAt does one of them bucks weigh?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Blindingly obvious really I suppose. Instead of realising that and keeping stum I had to ask and open myself up to ridicule didn't I.

WhAt does one of them bucks weigh?

No idea, like I said I was doing DB clean and press.
    I probably couldn't handle it.

I saw a vid of Poundstone doing 200lb for 15 reps.

(high) Box Squat

20x2x5, 60x6, 80x5, 90x3, 100x3, 110x3, 120x2, 122.5x3x1.

Wide Grip Pullup Negatives.

4x4
    with focus on cramming the upper back together.

Wide Stance GM's

40x8, 50x6, 60x2x6

Strict DB Rows

20x4x whatever.
    My left rhomboid just doesn't work.

Some bar snatches.

Not especially marvellous or anything.

Bench

20x2x10, 40x6, 60x6, 70x4, 80x2,f
    65x3, 70x3, 75x3, 80x2f

Lost strength, since last week?

Lever pressy thing.

35x2x8
    45x8

Incline DB Bench

20x2x6, 25x2x6

Curls

30x3x8

Pendlay Rows

60x2x8

Pinch Grips

2x5kg x 1:00, 0:45

Cos fúck all yall bitches.

Strongman Circuit Term used with acknowledgement of the Irony contained therein

50m Farmers Walk: (30s) 40s, 50sx3.
    Super Yoke: (+20) +60, 80x3
    Log Clean and Press from the knee: (30x8) 50x8, 60x3x6
    Mallet Slams/ Donkey kongs, whatever: 4x8 Each arm
    DB Clean and press: 10x2x8, 20x3x8
    Keg Loading: Xkg. (1 pass), 3x2 passes.

Arm over arm, rope tied to prowler then low handles back: 25m each way.
    (0kg), 50kgx4

Stuff in brackets was a warm up round.
    I opted to bitch out of post strongman prowling.
    Bit of a crowd today. Also one of the members is doing a kickass Hulk Mural behind the platforms.
    Any Questions?

will you adopt me?

You'd have to move Dublin.
    Unless its one of those charity adoption thingys.

"For just 2 pounds a month you can give Paidi..... actually **** it, 2 pounds of anything bar gold wouldnt keep him in milk."

Box Squat

20x2x8, 60x7, 70x6, 90x4, 100x3, 110x3, 115x2, 125x1

Wide Grip Pull up Negatives

4x4

Good Mornings

60x5, 70x3x5

Strict DB Rows

20x4x5

Weight: 98.1kg

Box Squats are a bit slow off the box but solid enough.
    Pullups negatives are getting better in that I can hold shape. (According to Dave)
    Rows still suck but will get better.
    Should probably put something else in this session.....

Bench

20x8, 40x8, 60x5, 70x5, 75x4, 80x5, 85x2, 90x1

Green Band Tricep pushdown

4x8 each side.

Appletini Press

25x8, 35x3x8 each side.

Mallet slams

3x8 each arm

Incline DB Bench

20x8,10,
    25x5,3

Yeah, got mixed up and thought that top bench was close to bodyweight.
    But thats cool. It was handy enough. Might have a stab at 95-98 next week, if another rapper dies.

Strongman

Way better than a social life.
    Or getting paid in time for the weekend.

4 rounds:
    Farmers Walks (50m): 35s, 2x50s, 60s
    Super Yoke: +40, +80x2, +90
    Log: 35x8, 45x8, 55x6x2
    Sledge hammer 10lb 4x8
    Box (tyre) Jumps 4x8
    DB clean and press, 15kgx3x8 each arm, 20kgx8 each arm.
    Keg loading (1.2m to 1.7m I think) 30kg
    Arm over arm 25m then low handle prowler push 25m:
    Prowler +20, +40, eh.... +60x2 maybe?

Very tired today, Barry wanted to make me do a prowler workout after and seeing as last week I wouldn't after the 5 rounds so he dropped a round.

Prowler

Just the sled x100m
    +20x100m
    +40x100m
    +60x100m
    +80x100m

Horrible ****ing contraption.
    Don't know how you people do that.

Bench

20x2x8, 60x8, 70x6, 80x4, 90x2 (+1 assisted by Dave, he said it was only a tap so the triple was only a little bit off.

This was a misload, I though I was doing a triple or double with 85.

Appletini Press

20x8, 30x10, 40x2x8

Green Band pushdown

4x10

Donkey kongs

3x10

Incline DB press

20x4x10

BB rows

60x4x8

Saw this for the first time tonight:

Hulk drinks powerthirst.

Box Squat

20x8, 60x8, 80x5, 90x4, 100x3, 110x3, 125x2

Good mornings.

70x5,5,3

Dave called a halt.

Wide pullup negatives

Seated DB cleans

20x4, 15x4x8

Blueband assisted Curls

No idea, how much is a wonky bar? +10 x10
    No idea, how much is a wonky bar? +15 x9,10

Unecessary extra stuff I did because the craic was good.

60kg Barbell press.
    30kg log c&jx1, Log Power snatch x1, Log split snatch x1
    60kg stone load to bottom platform.
    30kg DB press each arm.
    50kg Raw IPO style squat with 20kg of chains.

Dave called reigned me in on the box squats. I wanted to go for 130kg for a single.
    It can wait, I know I can do it anyway.
    I'm also gonna drop the GM's back to 50 and do them better on Daves advice.

Also the upperback is pissing me off, but I know it'll get there.
    Switched to the DB cleans cos the pullups weren't really getting anywhere.

spanner.jpg

WINman session

1. FArmers walk (30s) 40s 50s, 60sx2
    2. Superduper yoke: (80) 100x4
    3. Log clean and press: (30) 40x8, 50x8, 60x2x6

4. Medley:
    Keg carry 20m To sled.
    Arm over arm 20m back.
    Unload and drag sled back.
    Warm up and round 1: kegs 25, 30,40
    Rounds 2-4 Kegs 25, 30, 40, 50

Combined load of Arm over arms: 175 & 225. Over 20m.

Absolutely brutal.
    I ****ing love this ****, I really do.

Prowler

Bit less than the full 25 cos of tyres, yokes and other prowler. But I calling a trip 25m out and 25 back.

Prowler x 2 trips
    +20 x2 trips
    +40x2 trips
    +60 x2 trips
    +80 x2 trips

I have had a funny pain in my forearm the last while.
    Really sore to the touch.
    I believe it to be caused by a lack of Gun work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

f*ck this.....im coming to visit....put the kettle on..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

What's an IPO squat?

Hanley wrote: »
    What's an IPO squat?

Absurdly wide, out of a mono-lift and high.
    I might be mixing up my acronyms.

I make no apologies if I am.
    I have enough trouble finding socks in the morning, I sure as hell amn't keeping track of powerlifting feds at night.