Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpaid time

Options
  • 26-06-2009 6:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi ,i work in retail and regularly have to work 10 to 20 mins after official paid time is finished . This time is not paid but it is expected to be done .
    Yes i am glad to have a job and dont mind doing a bit extra for the common good ,but this has become a habit now .
    Is everyone in the same boat now ?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I think so.....employers will use current economic conditions to get the extra mile out of employees:
    I work in call centre, we have to come in 10 mins earlier, to log on to all systems we use, and if stuck on call or with a customer account often have to stay a couple of mins after your finish time. We dont get paid for this, yet it is expected every day that you are working: it adds up to nearly an extra hour a week, when all is counted, yet if ask to leave for 10mins to make call or try and leave early one evening, flat no the is answer! you wounldnt mind doing the extra bit of work, if it reflected in your employers attitude towards flexibility, but that is rare!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

Always had the 10-15 mins prob, but last night was there for 2 hours after closing cleaning and tidying!! Beyond a joke :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Hi ,i work in retail and regularly have to work 10 to 20 mins after official paid time is finished . This time is not paid but it is expected to be done .