Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pixies - Olympia Theatre -- All discussion, no ticket sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Catmologen

No luck, was refreshing the page from 8.55. Raging :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭theniall

Sorry for everyone who didn't get tickets.

They gotta add another date, don't worry.

Again, GOT MINE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 bundaegi

Damn it, fingers crossed for another date....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

bollox:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭wheatln2

I had the same experience, didn't know about pre-sales or anything, so was just stuck trying on the website. Weren't onsale at 8:59 and by the time the stupid captcha had gone through it was 9:00 and they were all gone for both days. Kinda pointless even putting them up on the site really! Anyway, needless to say would be ridiculously happy to get 1 or 2 for either night if anyone feels they have any extras going........

And yeah, cue the MCD bashing now! Anyone got any inside info as to how many actually went on sale at the pre-advertised time of 9am Friday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭thebossanova

1 standing for Friday! Damn recession! Eh... whats the story with SLR's at a gig does anyone know? Wouldn't mind some decent pics of Charles and his backing band...:D Have never tried to bring one so just interested... good idea/bad idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I wouldn't count on another date. Their Saturday is off but I'm sure they'd like to keep it that way.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

those capatcha things are the most frustrating things ever! by the time i'd typed it in the tickets were gone. fffffffuuuuuuu :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

I had five people in work trying to get tickets for me and we have a very fast internet connection in work.Four of us kept trying for the Friday and couldn't get one. Another lad in work was trying to get tickets for himself but went for the Thursday instead and got two.Big mistake going for the Friday.:(

One of the capchas I got was 'Joel Duffy'. Sly dig by MCD at Joe Duffy after his recent show about Slane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

"Sorry, no exact matches were found, but other tickets may still be available."

If its sold out why dont they say that in plain english?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭koheim

Just missed out as well, would love to see them in Olympia.

Just checked ebay - ONE ticket for sale for 170 !!!! I have no words

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Me thinks they should just have played the Point (O2)!!

I wasn't in till 9.10 and they were all gone by then!!

koheim wrote: »
    Just missed out as well, would love to see them in Olympia.

I've got a couple: feckin' scummy touting bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Tomohawk wrote: »
    "Sorry, no exact matches were found, but other tickets may still be available."

If its sold out why dont they say that in plain english?

Because the ticket isn't "sold" until the transaction is completed. There's a time lag in between the time a person selects the ticket and the time they pay. During this time, the ticket is marked as "reserved". If the person decides to not go through with the purchase, the ticket is returned to the for sale pool and the ticket was never sold in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I've got a couple: feckin' scummy touting bastards.
    Ah if people are stupid enough to pay that more fool them!

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ah if people are stupid enough to pay that more fool them!

Very true. But unfortunately that still doesn't get me my tickets and meanwhile people with no intention of going have piles of tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Very true. But unfortunately that still doesn't get me my tickets and meanwhile people with no intention of going have piles of tickets.
    I hear ya. I've missed out on countless gigs down through the years but that's the luck of the draw I suppose.

Plus, I wouldn't say it's piles of people as it's getting more difficult to get tickets nowadays. And if people didn't buy from touts there'd be no touts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 melodical

I despare I really feckin do. there has to be a better way of making sure that real fans get the tickets. sickened.. That ****e sellin on ebay should be tracked down ans castrated!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

One angry queue at Stevens green this morning and I among them. ****ing stupid system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Slept-in for the first time in like five years, late for work and no pixies tickets :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

Got one! Thank God!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

I'm actually surprised it was sold out as quick as that, does make ya wonder how many are 'presold' or maybe there was just a mad demand! Got one for meself, but none of my mates got any, ah well.
    I swear people who buy just to sell immediately for 3 times the price are such a**holes, I hope karma catches up with them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

What are the chances it will move to the Point, er that gaff down the docks? or the National Stadium for ole times sake? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭kc66

I fúcked up. Got 4 for Friday no problem. But before I purchased I figured I only need 2 so went back and couldn't get them again. What a fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

dearg lady wrote: »
    I'm actually surprised it was sold out as quick as that, does make ya wonder how many are 'presold' or maybe there was just a mad demand!
    2400 capacity between the two gigs, if none were pre sold and people were taking the max (which is normally the case to aid touting ;)) your looking at 600 transactions. Not really a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Tomohawk wrote: »
    What are the chances it will move to the Point, er that gaff down the docks? or the National Stadium for ole times sake? :D

I hope not! I'd love to see them in the Olympia, not some vast shed.

Wow, yeah, when ya put it like that, it's a bit mad! wasn't sure of capacity, I thought more tbh. Well I hope they mostly went to people who really wanna go, not damn touts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭koheim

ah, saved by a friend in London, he got 4 tickets for one of the Brixton Academy gigs :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Catmologen

kc66 wrote: »
    I fúcked up. Got 4 for Friday no problem. But before I purchased I figured I only need 2 so went back and couldn't get them again. What a fool!

Nightmare, i did something similar for ACDC in the point.....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

I got mine!!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Aridstarling, did anyone in stephens green get tickets? Man that's annoying, after goin all that way. I queued there once, around 5 years ago for a stones gig, went out the night before and got quite tipsy, so the queueing didn't seem so bad :)
    I hate the exorbitant credit card fees for buying online, least in person can pay cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

This is bullsh!t :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

Does anyone know where else in Europe are they playing.
    Maybe worth geting a cheap ryanair ticket to someplace and see them.
    Cant see there site from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

floydmoon1 wrote: »

buy tickets for Glasgow and fly over, works out to around 60 euro which is not bad, and Glasgow tickets are not sold out yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,398 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Couldn't get tickets either. Raging.:mad:

OCT 4 secc - hall 4
    glasgow, scotland

OCT 6 brixton academy
    london, england

OCT 7 brixton academy
    london, england

OCT 8 brixton academy
    london, england

OCT 9 brixton academy
    london, england

OCT 11 jahrhunderhalle
    frankfurt, germany

OCT 13 heineken music hall
    amsterdam, holland
    OCT 14 forest national
    brussels, belgium

OCT 15 zenith
    paris, france

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

dearg lady wrote: »
    Aridstarling, did anyone in stephens green get tickets? Man that's annoying, after goin all that way. I queued there once, around 5 years ago for a stones gig, went out the night before and got quite tipsy, so the queueing didn't seem so bad :)
    I hate the exorbitant credit card fees for buying online, least in person can pay cash.

Yep, maybe 25 people or so. I was about 7 or 8 people from the front of the queue when the word got out, still waited anyway, and then I tried Sound Cellar after that, same deal. Didn't even get in the door before they told me they had no tickets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

i hope they add an extra date on the their 'night off':pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Glasgow, the Sunday after the Irish gigs. Flights last night were something like €15. Maybe look into flying home from Edinburgh on the Monday morning.

Friday 2 nd october

Depart:
    Shannon 16:50

Arrive:
    Glasgow (Prestwick) 17:55

1 x Adult 2.99 EUR

Fare: 2.99 EUR
    Online Check-In: 5.00 EUR
    Taxes / Fees: 14.79 EUR
    Total Price: 22.78 EUR
    Regular Fare Adult
    2.99 EUR
    Fri, 2 Oct 09
    FlightFR 733 16:50 Depart
    17:55 Arrive

Monday 5th October.

Depart:
    Glasgow (Prestwick) 18:20

Arrive:
    Shannon 19:25

1 x Adult 9.99 EUR

Fare: 9.99 EUR
    Online Check-In: 5.00 EUR
    Taxes / Fees: 30.93 EUR
    Total Price: 45.92 EUR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yeah but they're playing the SECC in Glasgow, isn't that a 10,000 capacity venue or something?

Won't be as good I wouldn't say. Although at least you'll get to see them.

Better than not seeing them I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Tickets to the London gig are €35, flights with Ryanair are a total of €10. That is still €10 cheaper than going in Dublin. Hmph.

Tom65 wrote: »
    Tickets to the London gig are €35, flights with Ryanair are a total of €10. That is still €10 cheaper than going in Dublin. Hmph.

€10??? altogether?? that's damn cheap, do take into account train/bus to central london also, last time I flew to stansted, cost me £28 return for train, would've got the bus but it was late and there was a loooong wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭GSpoon

was refreshing the page since 8.55 .. tried to get tickets for the second night thinking i would have a better chance... 9.00 it told me none available!! .. gutted... out of desperation tried Glasgow and got 2.. not sure if that was a good idea in hindsight.. especially if they add another date:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Johnny Volume

kc66 wrote: »

Ouch, that's gotta hurt! I feel your pain :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭michellemuncher

The pixies are probably my favourite band and I was so excited when I heard they were playing in the Olympia. I was sure I'd get a ticket if I went down early to St.Stephens green. I arrived before eight this morning but as it turned out, too late. Only the first 6 people in the queue got tickets! I was heartbroken as were the many people behind me. What is the point of having a shop outlet if it has no advantage over the internet? Why did they reserve tickets for people in the U2 queue and not for the Pixies or other bands? Why don't Ticketmaster allocate a certain number of tickets for each shop? Touts all over the world can grab up the tickets and sell them on at exorbitant prices, all without leaving their couch. Fans lose out, the cowboys win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Looking at their itinerary, it's quite possible that they could add a third date on the following Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Johnny Volume

koheim wrote: »

I'd pay the €170 just to punch that c**t in the face