Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

HONDA TYPE R INSURANCE

• 30-06-2009 1:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

HI, i'm 19 male wit full licence for almost a year now, i have 1 year NC
    at the moment im wit quinn driving 98 1.0 corsa im paying 1600 which i think its 2much for 1ltr car. . . . .nyz im thinking to get EK9 civic type r or levin i dnt want be wit quinn no more bcuz they pain in the ars
    which compy would say is the best for young drivers wit performance cars,

Thank you,

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

In English would be great, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

Try Britton or Xcess Direct for a quote... Be warned though it wont be low with your criteria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 R34-GTR

lassykk wrote: »

thnx mate

no bthr gld i cud hlp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

They'd be sketchy enough aboutinsuring you a type R straight from a 1 litre - it's a big step up in performance. You might be better off having a look at an original irish Vti civic, they're easier to insure.

Flyer1 wrote: »
    They'd be sketchy enough aboutinsuring you a type R straight from a 1 litre - it's a big step up in performance. You might be better off having a look at an original irish Vti civic, they're easier to insure.

yea i know i jus spoke wit quinn on the phone they say they dont insure ek9 for anybody, i dnt beleiv them tho

no luck with Britton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

You will get easyer insure integra type-r , then civic...

And 19th plus 1 ncb... you wount get anything cheaper then 3-4k. To be honest iwould be surprised if you even get qoute m8.

I am strugling to get any decent qoute for performance car with 23y and 2ncb...

You will get easyer insure integra type-r , then civic...

And 19th plus 1 ncb... you wount get anything cheaper then 3-4k. To be honest iwould be surprised if you even get qoute m8.

I am strugling to get any decent qoute for performance car with 23y and 2ncb...

yea its hard u right,. . . im jus told that type r civic is sticklylist for all insurance compaines bcuz of the accident its involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

No text speak please, it's against the charter.

eoin wrote: »
    No text speak please, it's against the charter.

alright, im sorry mate, will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Lads please hold back the insults re: txt spk, I'm sure we all did it at some point.

R34-GTR text speak is against the charter, so please try and refrain from using it.

As for insuring a Type R, I would say you'll find it very hard to get a quote. Even with Quinn generally being the cheapest for young drivers, I'm sure you'll find you won't get a cheaper quote.

If you don't get a quote, trade insurance (with a massive premium) is probably your only option after that.

Lads please hold back the insults re: txt spk, I'm sure we all did it at some point.

R34-GTR text speak is against the charter, so please try and refrain from using it.

As for insuring a Type R, I would say you'll find it very hard to get a quote. Even with Quinn generally being the cheapest for young drivers, I'm sure you'll find you won't get a cheaper quote.

If you don't get a quote, trade insurance (with a massive premium) is probably your only option after that.

ok, thank u mate, i didnt know about the text speak, i've jus register this thing so my bad,
    i'm in love with EK9 mate i was saving for longtime now to get one,,
    but the the biggest problem so far is to get insurance on it,

im sure there is someone went through this,
    please help if u r one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Presume you tried the route going down as a named driver under a parent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Ok, I'm going to be blunt here.... you're 19 and inexperienced - you don't need a Type R. And if you do get one you'll get screwed by insurance and pulled over constantly because it's a boy racer car. Get a few years experience before you jump into something like that. And sure in a few years you'll probably wonder why you ever wanted one when you realise the image associated with them!

If you want something fun and small try a 106GTI or something, but stay away from riced up Civic's and Glanzas.

steve06 wrote: »
    Ok, I'm going to be blunt here.... you're 19 and inexperienced - you don't need a Type R. And if you do get one you'll get screwed by insurance and pulled over constantly because it's a boy racer car. Get a few years experience before you jump into something like that. And sure in a few years you'll probably wonder why you ever wanted one when you realise the image associated with them!

If you want something fun and small try a 106GTI or something, but stay away from riced up Civic's and Glanzas.

thank you for your advice mate i know its boy racer car, but at 19 i'm sure i have enough driving experience to drive EK9, the problem is not can i drive it, is can i get insurence on it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

R34-GTR wrote: »
    thank you for your advice mate i know its boy racer car, but at 19 i'm sure i have enough driving experience to drive EK9, the problem is not can i drive it, is can i get insurence on it,

Here lies the problem from the insures point of view

R34-GTR wrote: »

2 years is not a lot of experience... A lot of insurance companies will not insure under 25's - of those who do, they probably wont take you on and if they do, they'll rape you.

the thing is steve i was thinking to get 1 after i get 3years NCB but i see alot young lads driving them around in my area most under 25, so i thought there be might way

there is a way, but it's not worth it. you'll be paying more than what the car is worth and you'll have a massive excess on the policy.

yea, thanks mate, i'll have look around and if its worth,
    what about levin? do ya think is easier or the same?

Most older Jap imports will be the same because of the reputation they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

Levin doesnt have as bad of an image to the insurance companies as the Type R hence being easier to insure.

martydunf wrote: »
    Levin doesnt have as bad of an image to the insurance companies as the Type R hence being easier to insure.

yea, i heard levin is one of the easier jap performance car to get insurence on it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You could try and get insurance on a Accord Type R, might be less of a loading on them.

Either way, i'd just build up experience and NCB's on smaller calls until about 25yr old, thats what i did.

What about a gen5 Celica? probably easier to insure again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭D Audio Tripper

Your in for a torrid time from the Guards if you do get a typeR, you'll get away with nothing being 19 and in a car like that, won't be able to drive it at all which is probably why you want one in the first place!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,707 ✭✭✭whippet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The 1.4 versions with the type r stickers are the ones boy racers have.

Most real Type R owners are a lot older than 19 and dont race the arse out of them on public roads, well none I know do anyway.

I drive an Integra Type R and I have never got any hassle from the Gardai.

As for insurance, they are black marked because there imports, the get stolen, they get crashed.

My uk Teg was over half the price on insurance than for a jap Teg

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭jennytightlips

sorry to sound like a bitch but you are used to driving a 1l corsa for less than 2 years...you wouldnt be able to handle an integra/civic type r!!!

dont bother trying to get a quote on that type of car until you are at least 25 because insurance companys will laugh at you!!!

sorry i think its very unfair to say that this chap won't be able to handle a type R or hasn't got the experience.

None of us know him personally and don't know how good or bad a driver he is.

I jumped from a 1.2 Clio to a 2.0 Coupe (albeit only 140bhp) when I was 20. I never had any incidents in it (thankfully) apart from my neighbour smashing into me (which she took full responsibility for).

sorry that Britton didn't work out for you. They were good in the past but its a couple of years since I worried about different insurance companies. I assume xcess direct quoted you something ridiculous.

I started a thread about a year ago now about getting insurance on a DC5 Integra and no one would give me a reasonable quote (at 22 with 4 years NCB) so you may find it very difficult unless your willing to pay a huge premium.

A Hyundai Coupe isn't a performance car really. And because you're female it's a lot easier for you go get insured.
    XSdirect wont quote at that age - well not online anyway.

A Hyundai Coupe isn't a performance car really. And because you're female it's a lot easier for you go get insured.

XSdirect wont quote at that age - well not online anyway.

It wasn't a Hyundai Coupe just for the record but a nice sexist sweeping statement seen as you assumed I was female that I could only be driving a Hyundai Coupe.

I got quotes at the time of a number of 2.0l and a 2.2 which were affordable and as I stated the bhp of the car I had I implied I knew it wasn't a performance car. But then again seen as you assumed I was female you probably assumed also that I didn't understand such things.

I'm male by the way if you hadn't guessed by now (my nickname is lassy and I'm from KK)

My apologies that XS direct didn't quote. I thought they quoted everyone but just with ridiculous premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

As I said lad, an irish Vti will be easier to insure and not a million miles behind an ek9.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Apparently nobody will quote you on an ITR until your 30 now.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Apparently nobody will quote you on an ITR until your 30 now.

123.ie will insure non jap ones!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I have a 2002 Ep3 Civic Type R. I'm nearly 29, 3 years NCB, and even at that it's very difficult to get insurance. I'm with XS Direct for 1k but have a 4k Excess, and their policy is crap in terms of features anyway. I wish I had a different car - I can get cheaper insurance on M3's and Porches, insurance companies really hate my car.

Do your research and try to find something else quick that won't cripple you on insurance.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

draffodx wrote: »

Aren't they all Jap. cars? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

Aren't they all Jap. cars? :confused:

i think draffodx means cars that are not imported ex-Japan, ie originally Irish market cars , (possibly also UK market but not 100% on the latter)

@ OP - i think you get the jist of whats been said here numerous times - a car like the one you're after, at 19, isn't going to be a reality.
    I know its a bummer, i would loved to have been able to drive /insure an Escort Cossie, Golf GTi or 205GTi (well they were the ones when i was roughly that age..) but unless your 6 numbers come up, do as others have said and done here - look for an alternative, but cheaper to insure car.

I assumed you were female because of your username, not your car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Mate is 24 and insured by 123.ie on a JDM ITR.

Theres alot to be said for going down the named driver route and then getting a beater in your own name to rack up NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Hey Mate

Type R civic's are regarded as L.B.R car unfortunately.

At 19 you will not be quoted on one.
    You said a lot of lads around are driving them, there is only 2 possible reasons for this:

1: it is a Type-R insured as a bog standard 1.4 Civic
    2: it is a 1.4 Civic with Type-R Stickers, Type-R external trim and Type-R internal trim.

I would say #1 is VERY common.

The car has a bad rep mate, and Insurance companies HATE cars with a bad rep

and Type-R's and Glanza's are at the top of the list.

Insurance is a killer in this country. I'm 26 this year and paying almost 1,600 on an 11 year old Evo.
    It's crazy really!

I assumed you were female because of your username, not your car!

You assumed I had a Hyundai Coupe without me specifying that I did... You also assumed I was female

you said you bought a Coupe, I assumed Fiat or Hyundai and just went with Hyundai... I assumed you were female because your user name is lassy - anyway, who gives a sh!t, you're a bloke and you cleared that up already!

you know what they say about fighting on the internet... what's the point in continuing with this nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Lets leave it at that lassykk, no more please.

Mate is 24 and insured by 123.ie on a JDM ITR.

Theres alot to be said for going down the named driver route and then getting a beater in your own name to rack up NCB.

123 only took on jap imports at the start though, they will only insure irish or uk tegs now

ah god I was only winding him up!!! :rolleyes:

I couldn't care less... Everyone on forums thinks I'm female which is my own fault for the user name

As for the car I just thought it was funny you assumed a Hyundai when you thought I was female... Its actually a 406 coupe so you were wrong on both counts :D

123 only took on jap imports at the start though, they will only insure irish or uk tegs now

Well, i made i qoute on mx5 on internet, and it was 1.1k eu, then i just called to 123.ie to say its an Jap import.

So:

I said i made a qoute on website, but i whant to make sure its okay, and say that that car is a jap import. His answer was: As long as its correct model, engine size and irish registration it is okay, we dont mind it being jap import. I reasked: are yo sure is it okay as its a Jap import?! So he answered same thing again.

So i dont know what to make out of it, i did that phone call yesterday by the way...

Well, i made i qoute on mx5 on internet, and it was 1.1k eu, then i just called to 123.ie to say its an Jap import.

So:

I said i made a qoute on website, but i whant to make sure its okay, and say that that car is a jap import. His answer was: As long as its correct model, engine size and irish registration it is okay, we dont mind it being jap import. I reasked: are yo sure is it okay as its a Jap import?! So he answered same thing again.

So i dont know what to make out of it, i did that phone call yesterday by the way...

An Mx5 wouldn't be black marked like a Teg would be though

well i agree 100% on TEg m8. I would be surprised if anyone could get decent qoute on it...

But it seems that 123.ie does work with imports, which is prety good news!