Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Plane in near-miss with lawnmower........Only in Ireland.

• 30-06-2009 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Last week a Crocodile "caused" a helicopter crash in Darwin, a ride on lawnmore almost caused a plane crash at Dublin Airport. :eek:

An aircraft with more than 200 people on board was involved in a serious incident at Dublin Airport when its wing passed over a tractor lawnmower moving along the runway, with the driver oblivious to the landing jet.

The crew of the Canadian-registered Boeing 757-200, a Thomson Airways flight from the Sharm-el-Sheikh resort in Egypt spotted the lawnmower as the plane landed on May 29th last.

Someone in the DAA will get their ass kicked.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0630/breaking61.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If it happened 25 years ago, it would have been a near miss with an ass cart, we have come a long way.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He was cutting it fine

hohohohehehaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

What's the accident that's mentioned about 15 times in the article? Did yer man get sucked into the engine or wha? If not, what's the fecking fuss being caused about?!

Also, LOL@the driver was oblivious to aircraft landing on the runway.

Where the fcuk else was it going to land at an airport? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

That must have been some pair of earmuffs he had on.

or maybe he was listening to his ipod...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Also, LOL@the driver was oblivious to aircraft landing on the runway.

Where the fcuk else was it going to land at an airport? :rolleyes:

He must have been plane blind! :eek:

PS. Probably more plane crazy though!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Edit: I fail at puns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

He was cutting it fine

hohohohehehaha
    Vain wrote: »
    That lawnmower was cutting it fine been on the run way.

Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I wonder what tractored the crew's attention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Pun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

It is probable that the starboard wing of the Boeing 757 passed over the ride-on mower during the landing roll

By my reading of that, the plane had not touched down when it passed over the lawnmower.
    Could have been dangerous, but it wasn't.

I was driving the car yesterday, if that kid (in his garden) had of been standing 20 feet to the left i could have knocked him down, my story is just as news worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Pun!

You're just not trying are you?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 nk12

omg i work for them and didn't hear that!

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭hollywoodhoppy

jaysus, that plane was nearly mowed out of it

(sorry couldnt resist)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Now that's what I call a sticky situation.

(Irrelevant Pun)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

http://www.airlinepilotforums.com/hangar-talk/636-air-france-jet-hits-cow-runway.html

"only in nigeria! :mad:"

WHat makes you think that it is an exclusively Irish thing op???

Anyway more importantly, what was the lawnmower doing on the runway? ;)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

tell me moar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I thought they only permitted the use of Flymo'sat Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,397 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

K-9 wrote: »

to get to the other side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

K-9 wrote: »

Trying to hitch a ride out of this recession fecked country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Who cuts the grass after 1am?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 michaelflynn61

Senna wrote: »
    By my reading of that, the plane had not touched down when it passed over the lawnmower.
    Could have been dangerous, but it wasn't.

I was driving the car yesterday, if that kid (in his garden) had of been standing 20 feet to the left i could have knocked him down, my story is just as news worthy.

The point is that there are strict rules and regulations regarding activity in the perimeter of the runway so as to minimise the risk of accidents happening. In this case no accident happened, maybe the next time we might not be so lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Who cuts the grass after 1am?
    Surely that would wake up the neighbours at that unmerciful hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 nk12

The point is that there are strict rules and regulations regarding activity in the perimeter of the runway so as to minimise the risk of accidents happening. In this case no accident happened, maybe the next time we might not be so lucky.

exactly 'we' might not be so lucky next time! there have been enough incidents and loss of lives recently!! 'we' would prefer a clear perimeter and runway ... so we get to go home!

people dont see the how easily these things can happen until its too late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Steo46

Lawn order is mower important than lives at Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 michaelflynn61

nk12 wrote: »
    exactly 'we' might not be so lucky next time! there have been enough incidents and loss of lives recently!! 'we' would prefer a clear perimeter and runway ... so we get to go home!

people dont see the how easily these things can happen until its too late!

Indeed, and I was on this flight and all.

That was a close shave.

would be a very Irish way to leave this world

My plane flew into a tractor :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

The pilot must have weed himself a little.

Weed? Grass? Anyone? Bueller?

Bah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Runway or another, it was a close one.

pilot must have been a cut above the rest,
    this kind of thing is a grass roots problem

Obviously to be able to wing it like that, GT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

my point being its hardly news worthy, comic relief maybe.
    These near miss type accidents happen regularly through out the world, this made the news because it was a lawnmower.

We must lawnmower from this type of thing Senna.
    This thread ain't cutting it for you.

my point being its hardly news worthy, comic relief maybe.

Don't blame it on the lawn mowers!

Think it was the eejit who didn't see the plane.

They should be spraying whiskey on the lawns, so the grass grows half-cut! :pac:

Relevant wrote: »
    http://www.airlinepilotforums.com/hangar-talk/636-air-france-jet-hits-cow-runway.html

"only in nigeria! :mad:"

WHat makes you think that it is an exclusively Irish thing op???

From the same page.....
    Last month police in Lagos arrested a cow after it attacked and killed a bus driver who stopped to urinate by the side of the road.

Moooving along, that's why we don't use cows as lawnmowers.

I wonder how quickly a Rolls-Royce engine could convert a cow into cooked burgers.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

We must lawnmower from this type of thing Senna.
    This thread ain't cutting it for you.

Straighten up and fly right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭PaulByrne'sBald

He was cutting it fine

hohohohehehaha

Its that time of night where this made me laugh out loud...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Will the Airport Garden ever learn to keep their eyes open while they're on duty?

Tá a "lawn" obair a dhéanamh acu if they want to avoid another accident like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Good thing the fabled aeroplane toilets were out of bounds for landing, otherwise he may have encountered some residual fertiliser...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Looks like the plane cut in on the mowers turf. Nah...

Looks like the plane was a cut above the mower. Nein!

Ah feck it.