Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I love Oz but we do xxxxx better.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

Any of the dairy produced in Oz is extremely poor quality.
    Having lived there and having a Aussie Fiancé my biggest gripe is the crap milk that they have. I enjoy a pint of milk sometimes (hungover) and can't stand the creamy crap they've got.

I dont mass produce pork products period. I trapsed aroudn Melbourne for a day looking for pork sausages and no joy. I could find, chicken, beef, goat and lamb sausages but no Pork "WTF".

Also the bacon in Oz is worse than what you'd get in Mc Donalds in Eire.

Their beer is of low grade quality with the exception of Crownies. They are obsessed with weak beers and full strength is only 4.5%.

Drinking water in Oz is piss poor too nearly everyhting needs to be bottled.

Lets not go down the route of all the things that can kill you in Oz too.

on the flip side, i love Australia... its an amazing place and well i'll be moving there soon but not to the East Coast i will be off WA Perth. Perth is much like home, great craic, great people and they have a really good attitude towards comunity. Its a diverse culture but still holds true to the old addage of being a "True Blue".

Crisps are crap over their too!

I can get over all of the above bar the milk thing. It just isn't the same at all, kinda like putting dairy cream onto a bowl of cereal. I k now they ahv eother milk thats not too bad but its no Premier Dairies.

Stuff thats better:
    Wine
    Fish
    Beef
    Weather
    Beaches
    Cars
    Roads
    Fruit
    Vegetables
    Ethnic diversity in terms of food/resteraunts
    Women
    Gambling
    Casinos
    Natural wonders Ularu 12 Appositles barrier reef etc
    Wild life
    Out door activities
    Education
    Health
    Tax
    Hunting

I agree its mostly food issues :) Oh and the fact that most Aussie blokes are pig headed male shovinist pigs.

Bad:

Music
    Night clubs, slow sets ffs
    Pubs
    It gets dark every night at 7pm no matter what time of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭devereaux17

guess australia is better in every single way than ireland because most what people are saying they miss about ireland really isn't irish as such. i'd never move to australia tho ;) cant wait to move to lyon :)

altho having said that ireland and australia is not really a fair comparison, i mean i read here that ireland is closer to moscow than sydney is to perth. so thats like the very far west of europe to like as east as it gets.

oh ye its the same when i was in the usa, dark after 7, i love ireland during summer cause you can be out and about at like 10.00 pm and its still bright

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Stuff thats better:

Cars

WHAT!!!!???? where? how? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Damo you cant be serious ireland only ever produced the Shamrock and the DeLorian in Belfast.

Give me a Holden 307 R8 Commodore any day of the week...

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

Their beer is of low grade quality with the exception of Crownies. They are obsessed with weak beers and full strength is only 4.5%.
    :eek: Crown lager is the biggest pile of piss alongside Tooheys New!

Coopers Pale Ale and Tooheys Extra dry, if we had these 2 beers in Ireland we'd all be alcoholics;)

Nearly sure most beers out here are 4.9 or 5%...

In Ireland I loved a big creamy pint of Black

In Belfast I loved a cold bottle of Heineken from my fridge as everything from a pub in Belfast tasted like pee.

In Oz i tend to stack the fridge with whatever takes my fancy in the Bootle shop
    not to mention the fact slabs are for nothing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Damo you cant be serious ireland only ever produced the Shamrock and the DeLorian in Belfast.
    you know I was beginnin to like you til this
    Give me a Holden 307 R8 Commodore any day of the week...
    FORD Maaaate, Ford.

if you are gonna but an Aussie Car get a Falcon

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

the gravy over here is ****e also........ if they used bisto instead of gravox , they would have a sunday dinner everyday !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Night clubs, slow sets ffs

Please tell me where you are so I can avoid it! The quality tunes in pretty much any Sydney nightclub are half the reason Im here, the nightlife is unbelieveable, completely devoid of the cheese you get back in Dublin (you know, the old Dublin clearing out music that consists of songs from the Grease soundtrack, FFS like). Boomerangs, Barcode, Redz, you simply dont seem to get clubs in Sydney as sh1t as those places.

Amazing as well that we do be kicking ourselves if we blow near on 200 in a quality spot like Home or Chinese Laundry despite back home routinely blowing 220 dollars equiv in some dive nightclub for a sh1te night of tunes.

2 dollar ATM charges for using ones not connected to your bank also makes them suck arse. Particularly for me, Im with ANZ, I think they have about 9 cash machines in the whole of Australia.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

waraf wrote: »
    Stupid bloody little glasses of beer - midis, pots and all that sh!te. Just give me a fcuking pint and keep your little girly glasses thanks.

Bundy and coke. I don't care if it's on draught, premixed in a can, in a pitcher or just served normally. It's just ghey.

Mullets, sleevless shirts and working shorts that are 4 sizes too small. Fashion sense is not common in Oz.

Modesty. A word that doesn't appear in any Australian's vocabulary.

Oh sorry, isn't this the Ranting and Raving forum :o

Believe me i came back from Oz not too long ago and there are far more mullets here, and the dress sense is f*cking appauling. At least people don't wear tracksuits and pyjamas in Oz.
    And they are far more organised. Better roads, better traffic management, better public transport, better policing, better everything really.
    If crisps are the only thing you can nit pick at you really need to think again!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Education
    I agree its mostly food issues :) Oh and the fact that most Aussie blokes are pig headed male shovinist pigs.

*chuckle*

Way to prove a point.

you know I was beginnin to like you til this

FORD Maaaate, Ford.

if you are gonna but an Aussie Car get a Falcon

This might help I already own a Falcon ...

daftdave wrote: »
    the gravy over here is ****e also........ if they used bisto instead of gravox , they would have a sunday dinner everyday !
    True:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭L_gaucho

Dubrub wrote: »

TV - Australian TV really is crap!

Its been almost 10 yrs since there, but from what I remember there were better things to do than watch television..;) .... memories of Simpsons all day Sundays on fox....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭The BOFH

Driving: Australians, especially West Australians, are crap drivers. Not unskilled, just rude & aggressive. They have no idea how to merge, either you get some dimwit trying to merge at 50kmph or a hoon in a V8 trying to ram you off the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭BattyInNZ

I'm in NZ but the things people miss seem to be pretty similar - and the things they complain about too :D I've got a bit of practice in this sort of warfare - with me in-laws :rolleyes:

The food and drink argument is a matter of taste and what you've grown up with and you'll never win on that one. Go for things like...

Halloween originated in Ireland - that always impresses them! ??????
    Aussie Rules - where did that come from I wonder??
    The cheapest house in Ireland is at least Euro200 - that's out in the sticks and sure that's about $500,00 and you'd buy a house in a city in Oz for that! - that works really well :D

D'you know, there used to be loads a couple of years ago - education and health and all sorts of stuff that was better but the recession and Cowan have put paid to a lot of it and I've got to be careful now about what I say because it may not be true anymore!

Anyway, you just have to play on her weaknesses :D You know though as soon as she gets there and realises that the pigs and the chickens are not in the kitchen you won't have to say much at all. Recession or not, Ireland is a very modern country now and only a complete thicko (em?? :p) will not realise it.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭myhorse

bad - for 14 years now(from when I first came here) M.A.S.H. has been on constant repeat :(
    it snowed yesterday where I am. need to get back down to the city
    newspapers are pure muck
    alot of the friggin buses are now running prepaid only which is a pain
    property prices are still defying gravity in sidknee

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The BOFH wrote: »
    Driving: Australians, especially West Australians, are crap drivers. Not unskilled, just rude & aggressive. They have no idea how to merge, either you get some dimwit trying to merge at 50kmph or a hoon in a V8 trying to ram you off the road.

Irish drivers are faaaaaar worse.

I learnt how to drive over here and when I went back home earlier this year I couldn't believe how incompetent the Irish road users are.

Having said that, there are a lot of young idiots over here who are on automatic licenses from the age of 17 and haven't a clue what they're at. Everyone should be made learn manual first imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Missing Buckfast and high grade consumables......sigh

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Irish drivers are faaaaaar worse.

I learnt how to drive over here and when I went back home earlier this year I couldn't believe how incompetent the Irish road users are.

Having said that, there are a lot of young idiots over here who are on automatic licenses from the age of 17 and haven't a clue what they're at. Everyone should be made learn manual first imo.

They aren't incompetent, just not very nice. When I first got here the number of times I got lost because I got in the wrong lane & no one will let you out unless you barge your way out. I would sit there indicating expecting someone would let me out like they do back home but no way; they have the "This is my road & no one is getting in front of me" attitude. I've driven all over Europe & the Aussies have the worst road attitude I've come across.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Soft drink cans are way too big here (375ml I think) I liked being able to buy our size can (something like 300ml) or if I wanted more buy the small bottle but there both about the same size here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

The BOFH wrote: »
    They aren't incompetent, just not very nice. When I first got here the number of times I got lost because I got in the wrong lane & no one will let you out unless you barge your way out. I would sit there indicating expecting someone would let me out like they do back home but no way; they have the "This is my road & no one is getting in front of me" attitude. I've driven all over Europe & the Aussies have the worst road attitude I've come across.

Gotta agree with this, Aussies are very selfish road users

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Gotta agree with this, Aussies are very selfish road users

Correction - Irish have no idea how to drive.
    You indicate in time and we let you in. You indicate and try to force in like you do in Ireland and you can go jump.
    I love driving in Australia. Its far less stressful.

The driving argument is b*llocks, a bad driver is a bad driver regardless of race creed or nationality.

However at least the aussies have the licence process down pat. My employer was visibly shocked when he saw our paper print out we still use. never mind the whole drive for years with no test thing we had going for years...:o

I could not think of another western nation where you could drive yourself to your test fail horribly , and drive yourself home.

DamoDLK wrote: »
    WHAT!!!!???? where? how? lol

well you can drive big ass v8's 10's for feck all, nuff said.

shane86 wrote: »
    Please tell me where you are so I can avoid it! The quality tunes in pretty much any Sydney nightclub are half the reason Im here, the nightlife is unbelieveable, completely devoid of the cheese you get back in Dublin (you know, the old Dublin clearing out music that consists of songs from the Grease soundtrack, FFS like). Boomerangs, Barcode, Redz, you simply dont seem to get clubs in Sydney as sh1t as those places.

Amazing as well that we do be kicking ourselves if we blow near on 200 in a quality spot like Home or Chinese Laundry despite back home routinely blowing 220 dollars equiv in some dive nightclub for a sh1te night of tunes.

2 dollar ATM charges for using ones not connected to your bank also makes them suck arse. Particularly for me, Im with ANZ, I think they have about 9 cash machines in the whole of Australia.:mad:

the clubs i refer to were in WA... i've experienced the clubs in Sydney and Melbourne all top clubs and no no slow sets, sorry i sholud've been more clear. WA Perth to be exact.

We have better duvets. I actually got my parents to send me a duvet because I couldn't get a decent one here. At least a decent one that wasn't $100's, I think it cost my Dad less to buy one at home & send it out than it would to buy one that wasn't as good here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

TV: the aussies are crap at making tv shows. the only exception is probably "Talking 'bout my Generation". And the adds, oh my god the adds, way way too many and they're all sensationalist crap,
    e.g. "You wont believe what happens in this weeks So you think you can Dance, this shocker will leave you stunned!!!!" and on the show, yer one falls down during the dance.....wow:rolleyes:

+1 on the sausage rolls and the chips, i really miss the breakfast roll cure for the hangover :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Music
    Comedy
    Theatre
    Fly free dining