Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qualifers Rd 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Kerry should win on saturday but longford will be there or there abouts going into the final 10 minutes.

Can't see it. I think Kerry will win this one comfortably.

Dools2007 wrote: »
    Anyone know what time the venues / times are being confirmed?

Cheers.

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/211-01.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

Can't see anything on TV3's website confirming they're televising the game... link anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭knightmare

FROM GAA.ie

11.07.2009 (Sat)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship
    Qualifier Round 2
    Newry 7.30pm An Dún v Laois
    Referee: TBC
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Clones 3.00pm Muineachán v Doire RTE2
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Longfort 5.00pm Longfort v Ciarraí TV3
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Wexford PK 3.00pm Loch Garman v Ros Comáin
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Thurles 3.00pm Tiobraid Árann v Sligeach
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Ballybofey 7.00pm Dún na nGall v An Clár
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Cusack PK 7.00pm An Iarmhi v An Mhí
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Aughrim 7.00pm Cill Mhantáin v An Cabhán
    (E.T. if Necessary)

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship
    Qualifier Phase 2
    Wexford PK 5.00pm Loch Garman v Luimneach
    Referee: Michael Wadding (Port Láirge)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Ennis 7.00pm An Clár v Gaillimh RTE2
    Referee: Cathal McAllister (Corcaigh)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Christy Ring Cup
    Final
    Páirc an Chrócaigh 4.00pm An Dún v Ceatharlach
    Referee: Tommy Ryan (Tiobraid Árann)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Nicky Rackard Cup
    Final
    Páirc an Chrócaigh 2.00pm An Mhí v Londain
    Referee: Owen Elliott (Aontroim)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Lory Meagher Cup
    Final
    Páirc an Chrócaigh 12.00pm Tír Eoghain v Dún na nGall
    Referee: Tony Carroll (Uíbh Fhailí)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

12.07.2009 (Sun)

Leinster GAA Football Senior Championship
    Final
    Páirc an 2.00pm Áth Cliath v Cill Dara TV3
    Chrócaigh Referee: TBC

Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship
    Final
    Thurles 4.00pm Tiobraid Árann v Port Láirge RTE2
    Referee: John Sexton (Corcaigh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

As a Happy Wicklowman, I have to say the very late throw in's are making it very hard on travelling supporters, we were all feeling for the Fermanagh boys who had a long road ahead of them. There was hardly anyone in Lawlesses by the time the Wicklow team got down for grub after the match.

It'll be the same story this weekend (hopefully with Cavan supporters making a loosing trip home)

Same with Laois from Newry, Clare from Ballybofey.

Even for the players, they wouldn't be home till all hours, compared to a 5 o'clock throw in.

Cavan are a decent challenge, to see if we can play as good as last Saturday, hopefully with a few more men this time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

from a finance point of view, makes sense having these games in home/away set up as opposed to neutral.

from a logistics point of view, they should note the attendances in the first 3 rounds and see what the impact would be of having them at neutral venues.

cant see more than 300 travelling from most counties unless they are close i.e. less than one hour.

im tempted to head for longford on sat myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

Another rough draw for monaghan but hopefully we'll sneak through.

I honestly think that after the farce that was the last game and the massive media scrutiny that the teams will be expecting that the two teams will be on their best behaviour and we should (hopefully) get a decent game of it.

As Blackbelt said earlier i would've liked to have seen Kerry get a stiffer test than what they have gotten but i'm not too bothered because i'm mad at longford for costing me money by winning in the last round.

I'll go for wins for:

Down
    Monaghan
    Kerry
    Wexford
    Sligo
    Donegal
    Meath
    Cavan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Lemlin wrote: »
    That said, the GAA never want the good Ulster teams dominating the championship so Ulster teams are always drawn against each other early in the qualifers.

I have to agree with careca on this one; there's no conspiracy here. Below shows the Ulster clashes in the first two rounds of the qualifiers from 2003-2008. There have been 7 Ulster clashes in 78 games, which intuitively looks about statistically right in 12 rounds of football, and Ulster teams making up about a quarter of the teams each time (even though it is only a small sample size).

Year/Round|No. of Teams|Games|Ulster Teams|Ulster Clashes
    2003 Rd.1|16|8|4|0
    2003 Rd.2|16|8|5|0
    2004 Rd.1|16|8|5|0
    2004 Rd.2|14|7|4|1
    2005 Rd.1|14|7|4|1
    2005 Rd.2|14|7|4|2
    2006 Rd.1|14|7|4|0
    2006 Rd.2|08|4|1|0
    2007 Rd.1|12|6|4|1
    2007 Rd.2|08|4|3|0
    2008 Rd.1|16|8|6|1
    2008 Rd.2|08|4|4|1

Edit: On another look through those figures, there have probably been less Ulster clashes than there should have been, but I'm fooked if I'm going to try and work it out properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

As a Happy Wicklowman, I have to say the very late throw in's are making it very hard on travelling supporters, we were all feeling for the Fermanagh boys who had a long road ahead of them. There was hardly anyone in Lawlesses by the time the Wicklow team got down for grub after the match.

It'll be the same story this weekend (hopefully with Cavan supporters making a loosing trip home)

Same with Laois from Newry, Clare from Ballybofey.

Even for the players, they wouldn't be home till all hours, compared to a 5 o'clock throw in.

Cavan are a decent challenge, to see if we can play as good as last Saturday, hopefully with a few more men this time...

Was in Aughrim last weekend and will be there this Saturday as well.

Stafford could play on any team in Ireland. I expect a Wicklow win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,605 ✭✭✭patmac

Westmeath v Meath. 20 times we have met and still no win in the championship although the recent league win was a first I fear this game is one year too late, still it would be a great way to salvage what has been a very bad season. Meath are beataable and Dublin who missed very little against us had 17 wides against the Royals so were not that far behind them, who knows miracles might happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

patmac wrote: »
    Westmeath v Meath. 20 times we have met and still no win in the championship although the recent league win was a first I fear this game is one year too late, still it would be a great way to salvage what has been a very bad season. Meath are beataable and Dublin who missed very little against us had 17 wides against the Royals so were not that far behind them, who knows miracles might happen.

Home advantage is a major plus for Westmeath in this game.I don't think Meath are a settled team.O Brien is still experimenting late in the day and the win against Waterford will only paint over the cracks in the foundations.

I'm just hoping that Westmeath haven't become too predictable.Glennon needs to get his act together.Maybe he should be dropped in favour of another younger player.

Midfield needs an overhaul.Duffy has the height and the ability to set up some scores and get a point or two but I don't think he is mobile enough.Flanagan is on his very last legs.O Donoghue and O Shaughnessy aren't up to the mark and Dessie Dolan isn't fit enough after coming back.That leaves a huge responsibility on the back of Michael Ennis,Keane and Connaughton.The latter was left stranded by his full back line against Dublin.

Meath to win but only by 7 or 8 points.I think Westmeath will pick themselves up and give it a go this time.A smaller pitch will suit them and they should try and overcrowd midfield.Cian Ward will be an important player from placed kicks as well as Bray from play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

blackbelt wrote: »
    Meath to win but only by 7 or 8 points.I think Westmeath will pick themselves up and give it a go this time.A smaller pitch will suit them and they should try and overcrowd midfield.Cian Ward will be an important player from placed kicks as well as Bray from play.

Only 7 or 8 points? That sounds like a fairly comfortable win to me!

In a way this is the perfect draw for Westmeath, because if they were ever going to pick themselves back up after the Dublin game then surely a home game against Meath is the time to do it. Still, their form has been so poor all year that it's very hard to see them winning, even if Meath aren't world-beaters themselves. I'd go for Meath by about 3 points, I'm assuming it will be reasonably close due to Westmeath (presumably) being fired up to finally put one over on their neighbours, and knowing that a long-overdue win over Meath would salvage something from what has been a terrible season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Wexford team for Saturday has been named

Wexford SF v Roscommon - 1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Brian Malone, 3. Graeme Molloy, 4. Niall Murphy, 5. Kieran Kennedy, 6. David Murphy, 7. Colm Morris (Capt.), 8. David Fogarty, 9. Brendan Doyle, 10. Shane Roche, 11. Redmond Barry, 12. Adrian Flynn, 13. Ciarán Lyng, 14. Shane Cullen, 15. PJ Banville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Lemlin wrote: »
    Cavan's championship ends here. No matter how I look at it I can't see Cavan getting a result against a well-drilled Wicklow team. Fair play to Wicklow though, Micko is working wonders and this could lead to a good run for them. How much I'd love it if he arrived in cavan but I think even he realises there's nothing there to work with.

I'd say all of about ten Cavan people will travel down to Aughrim.

I will taking the 135 miles downs to see cavan play, team not yet named as John McCutcheon, Ciaran Galligan and David Givney picked up knocks at training.

Can see it being very close, Cavan by 2 or 3 pionts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

blackbelt wrote: »

Meath to win but only by 7 or 8 points.

I'd be pretty happy with that but I dont see Meath getting it that easy, Westmeath will want to show there not as bad as they played against dublin, they have home advantage and dolan starts too.

Feel a bit edgy about it, I think Meath should win but not comfortably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Results so far:

Derry 3-16 Monaghan 0-20 Derry win by 5 points

Wexford 1-08 Roscommon 0-11 AET Wexford win by one point

Tipperary 1-12 Sligo 1-13 Sligo win by one point

Kerry 1-10 Longford 0-04 (currently Half-time)

Further updates are available on Aertel Pg. 211

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Kerry 1-10 Longford 0-04 (currently Half-time)

yeah we are seriously not going to learn anything from this match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

kerry4sam wrote: »

why was it chosen to be shown on tv? stupid decision

kerry4sam wrote: »

I disagree, Kieran Donaghy is back and around 90% of ball is being fed directly in ontop of him and recently and last year this option did not work out and he was beaten sick so it gives him an opportunity to hone his skills at least. Expect the substitutions to be made early in 2nd half now and watch Kerry coast to victory by a 5 to 7 point margin. An excellent double save by Diarmuid Murphy also. Looking at the Met radar it might dry off before the end of the match up there allowing for better conditions, It has stopped raining here now in SE Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Wexford 1-08 Roscommon 0-11 AET Wexford win by one point

AET it was a draw, replay next week in Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

meath score the first point 15 mins in in the , meath have had a lot of wides so far including frees from in front of goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,381 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

fine game between derry and monaghan and longford will be kicking themselves for not getting something from the kerry game, kerry were truly awful in that second half and had it not been for longfords terrible shooting the biggest championship shock since clare winning the munster final in 1992 was on

as for my own team roscommon, a fine performance by the lads who worked their socks off after the mayo debacle especially given they were a goal down after 20 seconds (thought it was going to be deja-vu), the likes of keenan, kilbride and cathal cregg were hugely missed in castlebar and today all three put in wonderful performances, hard to believe cregg (who must have won MOTM) hasn't played for months, anyway back to the hyde next week and lets hope for better weather

well done to sligo too btw

rossie1977 wrote: »
    kerry were truly awful in that second half and had it not been for longfords terrible shooting the biggest championship shock since clare winning the munster final in 2009 was on

longford could be still playing and they wouldnt have beaten kerry. this game was never in doubt and thats that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,381 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

longford could be still playing and they wouldnt have beaten kerry. this game was never in doubt and thats that.

c'mon some credit, longford were all over kerry in the last 25 minutes, it was like a siege at one stage towards the end, had tommy walsh been playing for longford and not kerry we might have seen a different result

i never said longford didnt play well, they did, but a little bit of reality wouldnt go astray. the game was over after 25 mins. the last 25 only served to give us injuries.

as regards the tommy walsh comment, hes from kerry and that is that. if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

i never said longford didnt play well, they did, but a little bit of reality wouldnt go astray. the game was over after 25 mins. the last 25 only served to give us injuries.

as regards the tommy walsh comment, hes from kerry and that is that. if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle :cool:

While I dnt disagree in terms of the chances of Longford redressing the situation, I think the manner in which Kerry took their foot off the gas should be truly worrying. 26 Mins without scoring in the second half, against a division 4 team is of no excuse. Look at the manner in which Dublin pummled Westmeath ? Hammering small counties may not be the hallmark of a good team. However one cannot stand back and consider them shoo-ins for the All Ireland Final, or guaranteed bet to raise their game against Mayo, Galway, Cork Dublin or Tyrone sufficiently to beat them.

I feel 2009 could be Kerry's slump season (ala 2001) where they just dont have it in the tank to go the extra mile.

weeve played like this before and went on to win all irelands. 2004 and 2006 come to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

i never said longford didnt play well, they did, but a little bit of reality wouldnt go astray. the game was over after 25 mins.
    Were you watching the same game as everyone else? If Longford's finishing hadn't been so inconsistent the game would have really been in doubt. Kerry scored two points at the very start of the second half and didn't even get a wide after that. The margin of 4 points was very generous to them. Longford had at least 12 wides after that. The game was anything but over with 10 minutes to go, but unfortunately Longford squandered some great chances.

Dublin's chance of being serious contenders was widely dismissed after they stumbled to victory against Meath. You'd have to admit that this was at least an equally weak display by Kerry at Pearse Park today.

weeve played like this before and went on to win all irelands. 2004 and 2006 come to mind.

Longford are a Division 4 team. There is no point in considering that game as a test. In the latter stages, Kerry made it difficult for themselves. As I have said, it went beyond takeing their foot off the gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭ergo

Wicklow 1-12 Cavan 0-08 Result :)

the dream carries on for another week!

am stuck in Liverpool but so delighted for the lads and every long-suffering Wicklow supporter like myself

ergo wrote: »

am stuck in Liverpool but so delighted for the lads and every long-suffering Wicklow supporter like myself

Another Great success for Micko. Wicklow are not licked yet !

Poor day overall for Leinster. Westmeath's demise has been well and truly articulated. A ten point defeat to Meath highlights just how far their stock has plummetted. Supplementing what I said about Wexford last week, today's result is simply appalling. Roscommon are in disarray, yet they managed to outscore Wexford by 11 socres to nine scores. Wexford will probably take them in the replay, however, progress beyond the next round will not be anticipated. Laois contine to struggle against Down. Like Westmeath and Wexford (who both made strides this decade) it appears that this will be the end of the line, and serious rebuilding will need to be achieved (unless they take Down in the second half)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Het-Field wrote: »
    (unless they take Down in the second half)

Which they haven't, Down up by nine points heading into injury time.
    Better Laois are out than prolonging a painful summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

ergo wrote: »

Cracker of a game, well listening to the radio anyway. Padge McWalter sounded like he played great. Staff made some great catches at vital stages including picking up a lobbed ball in from a free with 3 or 4 minutes to go. Up front, Leighton and Seanie sounded like they played well. Paul Earlse and Deano were giving it everything but the ball didn't bounce for them. Dunno what to make of Tony Hannon from the radio, some great things but other poor things. Jacko was Jacko!

Fair play to Wicklow, I'm open to correction on this but they conceded only 1 point from Play that coming in the 6th minute of the match. Hyland kept Johnson quite.

I've no idea when's the last time Wicklow played 5 championship games in a season!

Only bad news is there is zero chance of getting the club championship finished in time!

Regards
    Ian

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Well done to Wicklow . I wasn't expecting such a shambles from us but it doesn't suprise me.

Looks like Tommy Carr has done damage to another once proud county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

But with respect, without Donaghy in the team, your 'Route 1' option goes out the door and you'll have to resort to Plan B. What is Plan B for Kerry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

well done to sligo too btw
    Massive win for Sligo. To beat a Tipp team on the up in Thurles was no mean achievement. A case of deja vu for Tipp, just like the Limerick game, they fell asleep in the first half and gave Sligo a six point head start. That effectively won the game for the Yeats men. I still think that Tipp are at a disadvantage in playing at Thurles, they should bring teams down to Ardfinnan, proper football country where they would be much harder to beat, and have much more success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

DB10 wrote: »
    Well done to Wicklow . I wasn't expecting such a shambles from us but it doesn't suprise me.

Looks like Tommy Carr has done damage to another once proud county.

That is the most stupid load of crap rubbish I have read in a while. Its quite simple Cavan dont have the players to cut it at the level required. The day of battering lads out over the sideline and late tackles is gone and this message needs to filter down to your club sides. The Cavan players dont even look fit. However that takes time maybe 2 years in some players cases. You cant blame Tommy Carr on that. The question Cavan need to ask themselves is, Do they have the stomach for the strict discipilinary regimne that is required? Will they make the sacrafices? The succesful teams in Gaelic football make the hard choices and have excellent structures in place for years.

I have had the pleasure (and pain) of being trained by Tommy Carr and he managed to change the mindset of players who previously had done nothing with their obvious talent. Some people dont like the way he operates but if they examined themselves a little more they might change their ways.

B.T.W Its great to see a county like Wicklow doing well and some Wickla folks will tell you the difference in the approach to a lot of things in the county since Micko arrived. His legacy will be seen for years to come as they have had people working away with some good underage teams for about 10 years now.

Leo, How can you defend Tommy Carr? Look at the state he left Dublin,Roscommon and now Cavan in.

I never said we would be winning Ulsters or anything because the players are not there. However the players are there to be beating the likes of Wicklow and Antrim lowly division 4 sides.

And we were outplayed by both not just beaten. The majority of Cavan supporters agreed tonight is our lowest point in living memory.

The man doesn't even attend club championship games for heavens sake!
    I would be suprised if he still there by next week nevermind next year.

Maybe I am defending him but look at where Roscommon were and had been. Getting the odd win in Connacht. Look at what was happening at training, or more importantly not happening at training. In another thread here a few week ago we heard of a Roscommon player more interested in nightclubs than training and this is where so many fall down. Players with huge talent but not with the drive or commitment. (I didnt have commitment when playing but had the ability which I regret now.) In fairness Antrim and Wicklow have the basic set-up right. They have a group of players who are very committed and when you have this the mentality of everyone changes especially when you are given very little chance, so to be fair to both they could on their day catch out quite a few sides.
    I would say the players are in Cavan but the players I saw playing Antrim looked so unfit it was aswell Antrim didnt have the craft to close out the game and win by 7 or 8 points.

Take away Seanie Johnson, Nichloas Walsh Fiachra and ye were in very serious trouble. Some of the defenders lacked mobility and their passing was atrocious. You cant blame Tommy Carr on that.

When Tommy Carr was with Dublin he was unlucky not to win an All-Ireland.

B.T.W. I am not slagging off Cavan. But some people are living on memories of 97 and the odd win in between.

If fitness is a problem surely Carr and his trainers should be dealing with it ?

And Nicholas Walsh is a fairly poor player. We have no quality midfielders.

By the way even if you look at the line up it is laughable: players playing out of position, terrible players keeping their place and one of the worst half forward lines in history.

Carr,his selectors and fitness trainers should all go immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Great performance again by Wicklow tonight in terrible conditions. We're into the last 16 for the first time :D

As I stated earlier to change the fitness regime could take 2 years. He has to change a mindset also.
    There are very few county teams who have lads playing in their club positions, most lads now are fairly adaptable.

Look at Dublin both corner backs who started off the c'ship play centre forward for their clubs a fair bit of the time. The full back, Denis Bastic, plays mid field. Bryan Cullan who is being called the answer to Dublins forwards plays centr back or mid-field for his club.

Against Antrim Ray Cullivan appeared for about 10minutes, where I feel lads like him should be pulling the strings. And not only him a lot of lads were very static, not showing for the ball.

I would say give Carr another year and you will see something totally different from Cavan.

grenache wrote: »
    But with respect, without Donaghy in the team, your 'Route 1' option goes out the door and you'll have to resort to Plan B. What is Plan B for Kerry?

I really wouldn't expect an answer here in a public forum as in fairness at times during the match, even the Kerry players didn't know the answer to that.

draffodx wrote: »
    why was it chosen to be shown on tv? stupid decision

I don't know being honest. If Longford had taken their chances and put the scores on the scoreboard I would say that's why it was shown - someone somewhere predicted this big upset but right now :confused:, I for one don't know why it was actually shown.
    I disagree, Kieran Donaghy is back and around 90% of ball is being fed directly in ontop of him and recently and last year this option did not work out and he was beaten sick so it gives him an opportunity to hone his skills at least. Expect the substitutions to be made early in 2nd half now and watch Kerry coast to victory by a 5 to 7 point margin. An excellent double save by Diarmuid Murphy also. Looking at the Met radar it might dry off before the end of the match up there allowing for better conditions, It has stopped raining here now in SE Kerry.

I still maintain that we learned nothing from today. If anything I thought we have gone back a step since the Munster Semi-Final. I still have faith in them, they do still have an inner fire and belief & are still in the running so I won't rule them out yet. I'm just saying that today no new lesson was learned and no new inspiring player shone through when needed for Kerry and that has to change soon.

Kerry on a hiding to nothing. They are still a good side and Longford have been doing ok in c'ship for a year or 2 now, What would worry me is some of the players just didnt look interested.

LeoB wrote: »
    Kerry on a hiding to nothing. They are still a good side and Longford have been doing ok in c'ship for a year or 2 now, What would worry me is some of the players just didnt look interested.

Kerry would seriously want to snap into gear soon. Time is pushing on and we seem to be falling further back, performance wise, from the top-tier and that's what's worrying me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Was at the Kerry game today and I can't see anyway we're going to win the AI this year and I wouldn't be surprised to see us knocked out before Croke Park. Woeful in the second half, if we were playing a decent team or even a bad one on a good day we would have been beaten.

The reluctance to kick it into the full forward line in the second half was shocking although this has a lot to do with the lads inside not showing... Dreading the draw tomorrow, if we get Derry away then that's it for another year imo:(

yerayeah wrote: »
    Was at the Kerry game today and I can't see anyway we're going to win the AI this year and I wouldn't be surprised to see us knocked out before Croke Park. Woeful in the second half, if we were playing a decent team or even a bad one on a good day we would have been beaten.

The reluctance to kick it into the full forward line in the second half was shocking although this has a lot to do with the lads inside not showing... Dreading the draw tomorrow, if we get Derry away then that's it for another year imo:(

Kerry are far from finished and I relish a Derry draw anyone remember people wondering how much Armagh would beat Kerry by in 2006 and what happened was Kerry gave Armagh a fierce hammering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

pd101 wrote: »
    Great performance again by Wicklow tonight in terrible conditions. We're into the last 16 for the first time :D

Yep great win to beat an Ulster team by 7 points in a championsihip game is a quality performance! The rain was unreal at times i have never been so wet at a match ever, couldnt see the players in the 2nd half at times as the rain was hammering down and looking from the wall end of the ground mad it tricky.

Great crowd at it as well considering the weather. Last 16 who would have believed it go on Wicklow :D

Oh Staford was man of the match some wonderful fielding but Furlong and O'Hainnaid should also get credit with Furlong causing the Cavan deffence all sorts of trouble and O'Hainnaid was a rock at full back letting nothing by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

What time is the qualifier's draw tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Yillan wrote: »
    What time is the qualifier's draw tonight?

18:40 on rte2 i think