Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012, do u beleive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Firstly, it's a load of bollox.

Secondly, it's a losd of bollox.

Do you really believe that the mayans perdicted the end of the world? They just realised that it was pointless to make a calender soooo long, why would they care, they wouldn't be around.

For the idiots that believe earthquakes, volcanoes, tsunamis will all happen on the same day, to such an effect that it will destroy the world, stop breathing, please... We do not need your genes poluting our species. Thank you.

There will always be some sort of doomsday crap just around the corner, 10 or 15 years away. People will make money off it, and they will laugh at you :).

If the world is going to end on that day, it will have nothing to do with any crazy perdictions. Mankind does not have foresight, you watch too much lord of the rings to be honest. We do not, nor will we ever have the capabilities to perdict the future. If the world ends on december 21st 2012, it will be some nutty dictator who has a load of nukes... say north korea, that will do it.

There are too many gulible people in this world. We could really do without them... ;)

Calm down man, it's not the end of the world :pac: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Anyone know what kinda odds bookies are offering on The End of the World in 2012.
    Could be a nice little wager tbh. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

We didnt listen!

People never learn, after all that has happened over the decades how can we ignore the weight of evidence?

After all those red-top specials with 'mystical' typesetting that came out in 1999, after Y2K, after new years eve 1999, a few days after new years eve 1999.....ok, after June 6th 2000...and then new years eve 2001??

We didnt listen!!!

May 5th, 2000 was predicted as a day where the planetary alignment of all the planets in the solar system would cause the earth's poles to shift. Nothing happened.

There was also something about June 6th, 2006. Not only did nothing happen but it was a great day for me. :)

So no, I don't believe this. No calendar can be made go on forever, it had to stop somewhere.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

efla wrote: »
    We didnt listen!

People never learn, after all that has happened over the decades how can we ignore the weight of evidence?

After all those red-top specials with 'mystical' typesetting that came out in 1999, after Y2K, after new years eve 1999, a few days after new years eve 1999.....ok, after June 6th 2000...and then new years eve 2001??

We didnt listen!!!

and amazingly were still here........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Karsini wrote: »

There was also something about June 6th, 2006. Not only did nothing happen but it was a great day for me. :)

You went on a mad D-day celebration????

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    You went on a mad D-day celebration????

Not exactly but I was on a night out with a boardsie and it was good fun.

Karsini wrote: »
    May 5th, 2000 was predicted as a day where the planetary alignment of all the planets in the solar system would cause the earth's poles to shift. Nothing happened.

So no, I don't believe this. No calendar can be made go on forever, it had to stop somewhere.

The sad thing is, I can remember being young and stupid enough to believe some of it (I turned 17 in 1999...)

A third level education later, I'm still amazed at the sheer scale of these things. The CT guys have many other happenings to throw your way in case you dont buy the Mayan calendar thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

i I was reading on rense.com yesterday that there is to be a solar flare which hits earth on july the 7th 2009 , thats today:eek:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

espinolman wrote: »
    i I was reading on rense.com yesterday that there is to be a solar flare which hits earth on july the 7th 2009 , thats today:eek:

brace for impact. put your head between your knees and..u know the rest

Most of their supporting 'evidence' seems to be common events with no contextual understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Didn't think you could accurately predict those, wait a minute are we talking about a scientific prediction or some ****e that popped into somebody's head.

Either way they're harmless, may increase the chances of seeing an aurora though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Didn't think you could accurately predict those, wait a minute are we talking about a scientific prediction or some ****e that popped into somebody's head.

An arch-angel someone or other told this fellow about it , so it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Perhaps it's the lateness and my inability to sleep but I decided to make myself think along the lines of it's going to happen. My first reaction was **** but then I thought, it would be really interesting. Imagine what the governments would try to do to get the place going again, for some reason that's just making me laugh. I'm getting a little excited over this, if something does happen (which I don't think it will) I can't wait. I don't know why but I just get giddy (and probably insane) at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

sells wrote: »
    the new world order or a black hole.

WHAT!!! Is the White House putting webcams in the jacks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

A sample of failed apocalyptic predictions (courtesy of http://www.abhota.info/end6.htm):

ca. 2800 BC
    According to Isaac Asimov's Book of Facts (1979), an Assyrian clay tablet dating to approximately 2800 BC was unearthed bearing the words "Our earth is degenerate in these latter days. There are signs that the world is speedily coming to an end. Bribery and corruption are common." This is one of the earliest examples of the perception of moral decay in society being interpreted as a sign of the imminent end.

634 BC Apocalyptic thinking gripped many ancient cultures, including the Romans. Early in Rome's history, many Romans feared that the city would be destroyed in the 120th year of its founding. There was a myth that 12 eagles had revealed to Romulus a mystical number representing the lifetime of Rome, and some early Romans hypothesized that each eagle represented 10 years. The Roman calendar was counted from the founding of Rome, 1 AUC (ab urbe condita) being 753 BC. Thus 120 AUC is 634 BC. (Thompson p.19)

389 BC Some Romans figured that the mystical number revealed to Romulus represented the number of days in a year (the Great Year concept), so they expected Rome to be destroyed around 365 AUC (389 BC). (Thompson p.19)

1st Century Jesus said, "Verily I say unto you, there be some standing here, which shall not taste of death, till they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom." (Matthew 16:28) This implies that the Second Coming would return within the lifetime of his contemporaries, and indeed the Apostles expected Jesus to return before the passing of their generation.

ca. 70 The Essenes, a sect of Jewish ascetics with apocalyptic beliefs, may have seen the Jewish revolt against the Romans in 66-70 as the final end-time battle. (Source: PBS Frontline special Apocalypse!)

2nd Century The Montanists believed that Christ would come again within their lifetimes and establish a new Jerusalem at Pepuza, in the land of Phrygia. Montanism was perhaps the first bona fide Christian doomsday cult. It was founded ca. 156 AD by the tongues-speaking prophet Montanus and two followers, Priscilla and Maximilla. Despite the failure of Jesus to return, the cult lasted for several centuries. Tertullian, who once said "I believe it just because it is unbelievable" (a true skeptic if ever there was one!), was perhaps the most renowned Montanist. (Gould p.43-44)

247 Rome celebrated its thousandth anniversary this year. At the same time, the Roman government dramatically increased its persecution of Christians, so much so that many Christians believed that the End had arrived. (Source: PBS Frontline special Apocalypse!)

365 Hilary of Poitiers predicted the world would end in 365. (Source: Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance)

380 The Donatists, a North African Christian sect headed by Tyconius, looked forward to the world ending in 380. (Source: American Atheists)

.......and so on, in the thousands, up to and beyond 20-bloody-12.

Any venture capitalists out there want to finance my online Tinfoil Helmet supply company? Stupidity is apparently recession-proof. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

sells wrote: »
    There is a mayan calender, the most advanced calender known to man, that can predict where and when the stars will be throughout the ages. The calender ends in 2012, which the mayans think that this means a new era in human evolution, an "awakening" of some kind. It is said that in 2012, massive disasters will happen throughout the world, like earhquakes and floods. This happens every 3500 years or so, some think, by a mysterious massive planet like object travelling through our solar system, others beleive in aliens, the new world order or a black hole. Nasa predicted that the north and south poles will shift in 2012, and that the earth will pass through the gravitational line of a black hole in our galaxy in 2012. you can find more info about 2012 on youtube or the internet.
    But my question is, do you beleive this or anything will happen? The evidence seems to be pointing towards something will happen!

The magnetic North and South Poles move a bit all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

There was indeed, it knocked out a grand total of one satellite and about 40 New Yorkers couldn't work their phones for a few hours....catastrophic
    Only for all the rich arseholes who can't live without their phones and sure who cares if they die anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Strange that FF went to Europe with a plan that saved Ireland from being fcuked out of the Euro and the eu treaties Ireland signed.
    strangely the plan runs until 2013!:eek:

"Ah sure jazus guys according to the Calender We wont be around by then" sez Biffo to the cabinet",so lets just live for today like We always did!:D"

The only scientific thing which is going to occur in 2012 is...

the end of a Solar Cycle which occurs every 11 years. So there will be a few solar flares could knock out electrics phones etc for a few weeks and your gf's are likely to be a bit hormonal.

Oh and of course all the mass suicides by cults who believe the world will end which means all in all less idiots in the world

ynotdu wrote: »
    Strange that FF went to Europe with a plan that saved Ireland from being fcuked out of the Euro and the eu treaties Ireland signed.
    strangely the plan runs until 2013!:eek:

"Ah sure jazus guys according to the Calender We wont be around by then" sez Biffo to the cabinet",so lets just live for today like We always did!:D"
    no no I know.....FF are going to co-ordinate the end of the world so they won't have to get up off their fat arses and fix the economy

HouseHippo wrote: »
    There was indeed, it knocked out a grand total of one satellite and about 40 New Yorkers couldn't work their phones for a few hours....catastrophic
    Only for all the rich arseholes who can't live without their phones and sure who cares if they die anyway

Hope its the Satelite marked for carrying premier league soccer via ESPN between US and Europe(since sky,epl.&espn shafted Setanta:p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭sub-x

no no I know.....FF are going to co-ordinate the end of the world so they won't have to get up off their fat arses and fix the economy

More likely there will be an end of the world tax.

sub-x wrote: »
    More likely there will be an end of the world tax.
    Then Mary Harney eats us all

Christ almighty,kill me now :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

The sun has been hitting rapid outbursts of energy recorded in the last few years. This has not been seen before. It is predicted that it will next peak in 2012. I think that solar radiation is a danger and the earths magnetic field(our defense against solar radiation) is getting weaker all the time.

I cant see it exactly in 2012 but sometime in the future there is a danger if the sun is reacting with heavy bursts of energy thrown towards earth. It will happen eventually and we will be zapped with radiation very quickly.

Christ almighty,kill me now :eek:
    Well this whole country is being slowly digested by her and the rest of FF so it'll be nothing new

tech2 wrote: »
    The sun has been hitting rapid outbursts of energy recorded in the last few years. This has not been seen before. It is predicted that it will next peak in 2012. I think that solar radiation is a danger and the earths magnetic field(our defense against solar radiation) is getting weaker all the time.

I cant see it exactly in 2012 but sometime in the future there is a danger if the sun is reacting with heavy bursts of energy thrown towards earth. It will happen eventually and we will be zapped with radiation very quickly.
    Sure its prob equivelent to the amount of radiation we get zapped with every time we answer our mobiles

given the end of the world tax and Mary Harney eating us I hope the calender is correct(She snacked on the book of Kells one day ya know.whats in TCD is a fake)

razor at my wrists thinking of using it:(

Govt,s and Scientists opposite end of the spectrum,neither like *inconveniant truths*

given the end of the world tax and Mary Harney eating us I hope the calender is correct(She snacked on the book of Kells one day ya know.whats in TCD is a fake)

razor at my wrists thinking of using it:(
    don't forget end of world VAT the end of world tribunals and all the end of world loans ff will be giving the banks

lol FF thought THEIR world would never end:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Hope its the Satelite marked for carrying premier league soccer via ESPN between US and Europe(since sky,epl.&espn shafted Setanta:p)

may god help you if it's carrying the spice channel.....

Well this whole country is being slowly digested by her and the rest of FF so it'll be nothing new

I would equate it more to somebody having a hefty dump on us but you can't have one without the other ;):D

I am amazed there are 9 pages on this thread and not once has Planet X been mentioned,apart from just there when I did it :D

I would equate it more to somebody having a hefty dump on us but you can't have one without the other ;):D

I am amazed there are 9 pages on this thread and not once has Planet X been mentioned,apart from just there when I did it :D
    Ah good aul Nibiru
    I'm trying not to mention and or think about 2012 as tbh its been keeping me awake for awhile.....its everywhere

I didnt say it was going to happen in 2012 but it will happen.

Other reasons for world meltdown:

1. The yellowstone volcano: which erupts every 600,000-700,000 years is overdue a eruption. Thats not all...... its a super volcano which can wipe out around 90% of the population.

2. It is believed that the suns destablization is caused by an energy cloud. It is expected by russian geophysicists that it will collide with earth between 2010 to 2020 with devastating consequences

3. We are well overdue a megacatastrophe such as a meteorite hitting the earths surface. In turn the Earth will try to freeze and consequently an ice age will begin wiping out all human life.

4. Mayan calender. A calender so accurate by Mayans based on astronomical observations cannot be ignored. The date of 21/12/2012 is the end of the calender signalling the end of life and the beginning of a new one.

5. The sun is reacting heavily by bursting out huge radiation recored in the last few years. It has been observed that this has not happened before in our life time with record readings of solar activity. The earths magnetic field is weaking all the time and solar radiation will eventually wipe out the worlds population in the future. It not IF but WHEN.

Or a rewrite to coincide with 2012 "Every bodies Fcuked"

I didnt say it was going to happen in 2012 but it will happen.

Other reasons for world meltdown:

1. The yellowstone volcano: which erupts every 600,000-700,000 years is overdue a eruption. Thats not all...... its a super volcano which can wipe out around 90% of the population.

2. It is believed that the suns destablization is caused by an energy cloud. It is expected by russian geophysicists that it will collide with earth between 2010 to 2020 with devastating consequences

3. We are well overdue a megacatastrophe such as a meteorite hitting the earths surface. In turn the Earth will try to freeze and consequently an ice age will begin wiping out all human life.

4. Mayan calender. A calender so accurate by Mayans based on astronomical observations cannot be ignored. The date of 21/12/2012 is the end of the calender signalling the end of life and the beginning of a new one.

5. The sun is reacting heavily by bursting out huge radiation recored in the last few years. It has been observed that this has not happened before in our life time with record readings of solar activity. The earths magnetic field is weaking all the time and solar radiation will eventually wipe out the worlds population in the future. It not IF but WHEN.
    Out of curiosity what is it you find enjoyable about cataloging the ways in which yourself and your loved ones are all going to die in the most horrible ways possible.....

Tech 2,You know so much about Science(or projected science)

Ya should know You are pissing against the wind by now Lol
    (really no harm meant,but jeez ANYTHING in the calender between now and 2012 thats good?:))

Out of curiosity what is it you find enjoyable about cataloging the ways in which yourself and your loved ones are all going to die in the most horrible ways possible.....

These are moderate but yet very acurate findings.

I dont find it enjoyable I'm just pointing out what is facing us eventually in the future. Thats not to say there will be a world pandemic in the future worse than the swine flu that is currently still spreading.

A breakout of a nuclear war is another harsh reality that could happen I'm afraid before any natural disasters occur.

Tech 2,You know so much about Science(or projected science)

Ya should know You are pissing against the wind by now Lol
    (really no harm meant,but jeez ANYTHING in the calender between now and 2012 thats good?:))
    Actually i could point out alot of scientific misconceptions in his post but ts 3;20 in the morning and i'm going to die in 3 years so im not arsed

These are moderate but yet very acurate findings.

I dont find it enjoyable I'm just pointing out what is facing us eventually in the future. Thats not to say there will be a world pandemic in the future worse than the swine flu that is currently still spreading.

A breakout of a nuclear war is another harsh reality that could happen I'm afraid before any natural disasters occur.
    Jaysus giz your address I'll post you a few prozacs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

A pole shift will occur, without a doubt. Bees are disappearing, their navigational instincts are affected by the impending change in magnetic poles.

considering we have survived a pole shift before not too bad
    Plus I always thought humans were responsible for the bees fecking off.where are they all going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Skip forward to 2:50 to see Terrence McKenna, remarkably intelligent and insightful man. He wrote a book about this too.

really no harm meant,but jeez ANYTHING in the calender between now and 2012 thats good?:))

I respect the calender with its acuarate readings but the end of earth on a certain date is not one which I agree with. There are scientifically moderate reasons for concern however.

a fcukin meteor has just killed my hampster........................ the plot thickens:eek:

you killed your hamster and are framing 2012 aren't you.....

CCCP^ wrote: »

Skip forward to 2:50 to see Terrence McKenna, remarkably intelligent and insightful man. He wrote a book about this too.

CCCP so THATS what the Soviet Unions Childrens TV was like?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

We're fcuked. We're too arrogant to realise that while we are the most intelligent life form that is no reason to believe that we are the most resilient. Life will survive long after we're gone and personally I think it's already too late. Nature gave us every chance to regulate our own population and we didsn't listen. We're a cancer and nature will heal itself as it has always done. Where there is no life there is no God.