Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

are mods payed????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

I feel a sense of jealousy in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Most of us do the job because we believe in boards.ie and want to make a difference and hopefully improve the experience for everyone.

I wouldn't say everyone. The customer ISN'T always right etc. etc.

Some will never be pleased.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

zuroph wrote: »
    I started a helpdesk thread and it was locked and deleted too. Admins obviously thought I'd scare more people off buying into their scam.

I can't even get into Help Desk.
    WTF!?

PM sent.:pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

We're paid with tar (bitumen), which is applied with very big brushes. It's lovely, kinda tickly. Stickytickly.

Tar won't be happy you let that one slip.

Surprisingly slippery editing considering all the tar (bitumen).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Don't worry, when I apply myself you get very 'stickytickly' too.

Well you must be getting paid if you're on call like that!!
    Did they give you a pager that beeps whenever 'Tar' is tapped down the pipes?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I've noticed! :(

I swear, my dog never humped my hip as much! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Yes but not with something so trivial as currency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

They're a shower of bastards tbh.

Don't even get me started on that DeV fella...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

How many times must the same joke be made?

What joke?

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ITT

too many mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

There is no scam.

Move along

>_>

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Mods are great :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Brilliant intellect by the OP here:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Im paid. Are you guys not? Sucks to be you then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

stupid eejits and their stupid bold names and secret forums and stuff..

Oh Christ there's a lot of mods in here, I'm out!

I wish I was a mod

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭wicklowgal

I wanna be a mod too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

phasers wrote: »

I wish I was a mod
    If you were we could see a bold phasers without paying for those other sites

I wish I was a mod
    You want to have to be polite to people like you? :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A mod in the hand is worth two in the bush, or so I'm told.

Oh, I don't know ... I always thought two in the bush was worth more than one in the hand ... >_>

You want to have to be polite to people like you? :p:D
    :( But I'm lovely

*Amber dempsey eyelash flutter*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Who wants to be a Mod, more of a Rocker here.:cool:

:( But I'm lovely

*Amber dempsey eyelash flutter*
    *melts*

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Wasn't there a feedback thread many moons ago, complaining that the mods of a forum (possibly poker) got free tickets to an event (possibly a poker tournament)?

Oh, I don't know ... I always thought two in the bush was worth more than one in the hand ... >_>
    <_<

So shouldn't you be randylonghorns?

/rockers ftw Tom...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Some of those bushes are so old, they've got things living in them, best not to risk it.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭AMixedBag

How do you become a mod? mods are legends :D..

AMixedBag wrote: »
    How do you become a mod? mods are legends :D..
    Put on a Parka and ride a moped

chew some gum too

So shouldn't you be randylonghorn's?
    Shouldn't you?! ;)

Be randylonghorn's, what?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Wasn't there a feedback thread many moons ago, complaining that the mods of a forum (possibly poker) got free tickets to an event (possibly a poker tournament)?

Sure was. Around April Fool's day if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Cool that this thread has stayed open, it's still pointless and stupid though.

Mods: Would you ever mention to a potential employer that you are a forum moderator on boards.ie as a value demonstration of some sort?

Random question but I always wondered about it.

Be randylonghorn's, what?:pac:
    That's up to you to decide ... I know better than to try to define any woman's role in life ...

HAY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Valmont wrote: »
    Mods: Would you ever mention to a potential employer that you are a forum moderator on boards.ie as a value demonstration of some sort?

Random question but I always wondered about it.

LOL. Would you? :pac:

HAY!!
    As in "roll in the ..." ?

/shrugs

Grand, suits me!! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Valmont wrote: »
    Cool that this thread has stayed open, it's still pointless and stupid though.

So, so true:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Belfast

if so they should be all sacked, useless the lot of them:mad:

Paid not as far as I know.

Useless ?
    That is harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

TomCo wrote: »
    I think mods should be spayed, they're breeding like rabbits.

I wish. :(

From the Biki
    Moderators of all levels are paid three bags of sixpence and a shaft of rye every quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Belfast

Sarky wrote: »
    I wish. :(

Just goes to show "No good deeds go unpunished"

From the Biki

Gimmie The ECW Belt and I'll be happy.

You'll have to take it from my cold, dead hands.

:(

From the Biki
    Moderators of all levels are paid three bags of sixpence and a shaft of rye every quarter.
    Well, I got a big shaft, but no sixpences or whisky ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

So that rumour about coke and hookers is just that ....a rumor ...hmmmm

From the Biki

Poccington wrote: »
    You'll have to take it from my cold, dead hands.

:(

Don't be silly, you don't have it.:cool:

I do, it's mounted up on my wall beside my bears head. :cool: