Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Fantasy Football 2009/2010 (MOD NOTE - POST #2151)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Average-Ro wrote: »
    What do people think of Rosicky? Worth a go?

Considering Nasri will be out for up to 3 months he might get a decent run in the team

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Opinions on this team please

Cech

Vidic --Hangeland - Lescott --Bramble

Lampard
    Modric
    Murphy

A.Johnson
    Torres(C) ---Ebanks Blake

Subs: Sorensen, Ashbee, Faye A, Malbranque

Carra out for Lescott
    Doyle out for Blake
    and Alonso out for Modric

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

jimbling wrote: »
    Right, trying to get my team together.

Currently:

Cech

Zhirkov
    Vidic
    Johnson
    Larsson---Lampard(c)---Arteta---Young---N'Zogbia
    Cole
    Ebanks-Bblake
    Subs: Myhill, A Ferdinand, Zayatte, Zamora

I'm chopping and changing constantly.... and have a few questions.

Firstly, what do ye think? :pac:

I have decided to take the risk on Zhirkov for now. If it looks like he's not going to start I'll switch him out.

Vidic vs Ferdinand. Is he worth the extra 1m? He obviously had a great season last year, and Ferdinand had a poor one. But the 2 years before that were the opposite. Can Ferdinand pull it back?

I think Johnson will do very well so am definitely keeping him in the team. And lamps is def my captain, at least for the first 4/6 weeks.

Other than that I'm open for options.

What are the "best buys" for this year? What are the "bargain buys" for this year?
    What have I missed? I'd like to have Anelka up front, but can't find the 3.5m without getting subs that will be pure useless.

Looks solid enough man.

That only that I'm seeing is that there is no main striker (Torres, Anelka Rooney etc.), but in saying that, Cole may just be the Stephan Ireland of this season, as he bagged quite a few last year despite being injured quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Gear9992 wrote: »
    I'm thinking of buying Gareth Barry for 8 mill,
    will he get a leading role this season or will he be rotated with somebody else?

Also, Doyle or Blakes who do you lot think will do better?

Doyle will more than likely be missing until October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Have chopped and changed a lot but finally getting a team together. Only starting Faye for week 1 (vs burnley), then will bench him for Distin

Cech
    ---Carragher----Hangeland---Faye Ab--Evra---
    ---Arshavin---Gerrard(C)---Essien---Murphy----
    Cole
    Beattie

Subs: Hart, Distin, Larsson, Ebanks-Blake

Thoughts? Going with a lack of City, Villa, Everton etc because of GW2

EDIT - Changed defence, told ya I chop too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

There are some good choices mentioned already...I'm already contemplating making a few changes..

Cech

Hangeland - Corluka - Upson - Givet

Arshavin - Gerrard - Fellaini - Mascherano

Van Persie - Keane

Subs:Hart, Beattie, Mokoena, Sh1ttu

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭mr.noobie

my 1st time trying what does anyone think of this team??

Given

Carragher - Sagna - O'Shea - Cole A

Pienaar - Gerrard - Danny Murphy - Delap

Owen - Keane

Subs:Jensen, Hangeland, A Reid, K Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭token56

There are some good choices mentioned already...I'm already contemplating making a few changes..

Cech

Hangeland - Corluka - Upson - Givet

Arshavin - Gerrard - Fellaini - Mascherano

Van Persie - Keane

Subs:Hart, Beattie, Mokoena, Sh1ttu

Not sure I really like this team to be honest, your defense seems quite weak and to be competitive you really need at least 2 defenders from the top 4.

Arshavin and Gerrard are good players to have, but Fellaini gets too many yellow cards and as a result loses alot of points and can miss some games, Mascherano while being a decent player is not a high scorer in FF. He may seem attractive for his price but he just doesn't get the points. I would be getting ride of both tbh.

Your forward line up is pretty decent, but are they going to get you alot of points, well I think if you are looking to have a strong forward line there are forwards with much better potential. For example for the same price of of having RVP and Keane, you could Torres and Cole, who I think will do much better and get alot more points, although i could be wrong with this.

Your subs are also pretty poor, beattie is ok he will start most games and get the odd goals, but you need subs who will start every game so their value could go up. Its very unlikely for Mokena or sh1ttu to start every game, and for the same price you could find players who will be starting every game.

Just my thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I'm in,Oldand Un-Athletic.

Theres gonna be alot of similar teams here so im not gonna post mine yet,Ill wait til a few more transfers are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭franman

I've changed this team a few times already

Gomes

Zhirkov
    O'Shea
    Pantstil
    Arshavin---Lampard(c)---Gerrard---Kightly---Jimenez
    Cole
    Campbell

Subs: Hart, A Ferdinand, Espinoza, Murphy

Still have doubts over Jimenez and Kightly but other than that I am pretty happy

mr.noobie wrote: »
    my 1st time trying what does anyone think of this team??

Given

Carragher - Sagna - O'Shea - Cole A

Pienaar - Gerrard - Danny Murphy - Delap

Owen - Keane

Subs:Jensen, Hangeland, A Reid, K Doyle

Defense looks solid enough, although I would be getting ride of Sagna and putting Evra, maybe changin O'Shea to someone else as he is unlikely to start every game. Also if you are buying Hangeland he is wasted on the bench, put him in your team and have the likes of Delap of the bench.

Midfield is decent but not really spectacular, Reid on the bench is probably a waste of 5.5 mil when you could have someone like N'Zogbia who has much more potential this season and would probably be ok in a first team. You could also safe some money in defence and maybe strenghten one or two positions here, or invest the money back in the defense.

Forwards, not much complaints here should Owen start enough games he will probably get a good few goals, but there is always the risk of him not starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭mr.noobie

token56 wrote: »
    Defense looks solid enough, although I would be getting ride of Sagna and putting Evra, maybe changin O'Shea to someone else as he is unlikely to start every game. Also if you are buying Hangeland he is wasted on the bench, put him in your team and have the likes of Delap of the bench.

Midfield is decent but not really spectacular, Reid on the bench is probably a waste of 5.5 mil when you could have someone like N'Zogbia who has much more potential this season and would probably be ok in a first team. You could also safe some money in defence and maybe strenghten one or two positions here, or invest the money back in the defense.

Forwards, not much complaints here should Owen start enough games he will probably get a good few goals, but there is always the risk of him not starting.
    What you of fitting zirkov in the defence some place?

i was also thinking of making my forwards a bit stronger by replacing reid keane and doyle with mendy anelka and cameron jerome, i think doyle is out for awhile anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Any idea why you can't select Claudio Pizarro of Chelsea?? Or James McCarthy of Wigan? I presume both will be added before the season start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Werder Bremen want to sign Pizarro but he seems happy to fight for a place.

Presume McCarthy will get added later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

franman wrote: »
    I've changed this team a few times already

Gomes

Zhirkov
    O'Shea
    Pantstil
    Arshavin---Lampard(c)---Gerrard---Kightly---Jimenez
    Cole
    Campbell

Subs: Hart, A Ferdinand, Espinoza, Murphy

Still have doubts over Jimenez and Kightly but other than that I am pretty happy

I like your team a lot. It's the type of team I would have gone for if I had some balls and wasn't so conservative (i'm playing 5 top 4 defenders.)

Some of your players could be hit and miss but they are cheap options anyway and any team with what I would term at this stage as 'the big 3' can't be criticised too harshly. And also Carlton Cole (IMO by the far the best value for money striker in the game) is a choice I like. Also I like your choice of Campbell, I had him in for a while but decided to go for perhaps a more 'reliable' option in James Beattie who did very well for me last year.

But Campbell's a good young player and with Sunderland's opening fixtures especially, could prove a shrewd purchase. I think he should start also unless Bruse buys more in this position.

Good squad depth as well, although to be honest, if it were me I would scale down on the subs like Murphy for example (if its Danny Murphy?) and upgrade Paintsil to Evra or something along those lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Does anyone know of a website that has details on clean sheets racked up by goalkeepers and defenders for last season? I can't find out information on it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Does anyone know of a website that has details on clean sheets racked up by goalkeepers and defenders for last season? I can't find out information on it anywhere.
    http://www.premierleague.com/page/Statistics/0,,12306,00.html

Team P Clean Sheets
    1 Man Utd 38 24
    2 Chelsea 38 22
    3 Liverpool 38 20
    4 Everton 38 17
    5 Arsenal 38 16
    6 Fulham 38 15
    7 Aston Villa 38 13
    8 Wigan Ath 38 13
    9 Tottenham 38 13
    10 Stoke City 38 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭franman

Morzadec wrote: »
    Good squad depth as well, although to be honest, if it were me I would scale down on the subs like Murphy for example (if its Danny Murphy?) and upgrade Paintsil to Evra or something along those lines.

Thanks Morzadec. No its Daryl Murphy and at 4.5m I couldn't find a cheaper striker :D. I still have 0.5m in the bank to play with so Im sure the team will change again before the season starts.

My team was this:

Given
    Warnock
    Anton Ferdinand
    Woodgate
    Arshavin
    Lampard
    Gerrard
    Malbranque----Larsson
    Rooney
    Ebanks Blake

Hart, Zayatte, Kilbane and Daryl Murphy.

I'm thinking of changing to:

Given
    Woodgate/Steinsson (if Woody isn't back)
    Givet
    A. Ferdinand
    Gerrard
    Arshavin
    Larsson
    Malbranque
    Torres
    Rooney (C)
    Carlton Cole

Hart, Zayate, Kilbane, Muamba.

I'm losing Lampard but gaining Torres. Also losing Warnock but replacing him with Givet who is a steady defender that played well for Blackburn towards the end of last season. Formation has changed from 3-5-2 to 3-4-3. Which team do people think is best?

Lemlin wrote: »
    Given
    Woodgate
    Givet
    A. Ferdinand
    Gerrard
    Arshavin
    Larsson
    Malbranque
    Torres
    Rooney (C)
    Carlton Cole
    July 24, 2009
    Woodgate injured again
    LONDON - TOTTENHAM manager Harry Redknapp revealed on Thursday that England defender Jonathan Woodgate will miss the start of the season after flying to America for treatment on a groin injury.

Might wanna look at replacing Woody.

8-10 wrote: »
    Might wanna look at replacing Woody.

Might change him for Steinsson off Bolton. Waiting to see nearer the season if he definitely won't be back.

What do people think of the team other than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Given

Terry
    Dunne
    Hangeland
    Distin

Muamba
    Barry
    Fletcher
    Arshavin

Torres
    Rooney

subs
    Sorensen SC
    O'Shea MU
    Neville EV
    Doyle WOL

Mezcita wrote: »
    Werder Bremen want to sign Pizarro but he seems happy to fight for a place.

Presume McCarthy will get added later.

McCarthy added today, 4.5m....still no sign of Pizarro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

It's very hard this year I think, this is my latest - what d'ya reckon?

Reina
    O'Shea / Luke Young / Hangeland
    Ireland / Arshavin / Milner / Petrov
    Ebanks Blake / Rooney / Torres

Subs - Hart, Zayatte, A Faye, P Neville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I like it - a lot.

Don't know about O' Shea, whether or not he'll play, Luke Young is injured at the moment but a consistent player nonetheless. Hangeland is a must, for his price, and if he's goes to Arsenal he'll be a big points scorer.

Midfield is great, Arshavin and Ireland should rack up the points as should Milner, and Petrov will be consistent enough. Maybe stretch for Pienaar, or Dempsey (both 6.5) as they'll score more goals.

Can't complain with the front line - though I'd nearly favour Owen, Anelka, Bent even Van Persie over Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It's very hard this year I think, this is my latest - what d'ya reckon?
    I think it's brilliant this year. There's actually some skill involved instead of the usual Ronaldo (C) and 10 other players.

I really like the new changes too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

8-10 wrote: »
    Still no sign of Pizarro.

A lot of talk from Stamford Bridge is that he is surplus to requirements and on the way out. Would be well down the pecking order even if he did stay I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

A lot of talk from Stamford Bridge is that he is surplus to requirements and on the way out. Would be well down the pecking order even if he did stay I'd imagine.
    Exactly. Can't see why it's worthy waiting for a player who won't play often, and won't get you points. And he'll probably be around 7.0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Does anyone have a link to the FF site that we're using??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

http://fantasy.premierleague.com

just throw that in your browser.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Twas hard choosing but have settled on:

Schwarzer
    O'Shea
    Woodgate
    Jaglielka
    Hughes
    Lennon
    Gerard
    Arshavin
    Dempsey
    Doyle
    Torres

Gomes
    Zayette
    Muamba
    Sidibe
    Out until NOvember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Right guys,

Opinions on this team. I went big on the defenders as they scored a lot of points last year and I'm convinced Berba will have another big points scoring season. I'm not fully sure if A Cole will be my Chelsea defender but its looking that way. I still have 1m in the bank aswell.

Given

Evra A Cole Carragher Hangeland
    Arshavin Barry Modric Andrews
    Berbatov Crouch

Hart
    Dunne
    Stephen Reid/Mascherano (not sure here!)
    Doyle

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Right guys,

Opinions on this team. I went big on the defenders as they scored a lot of points last year and I'm convinced Berba will have another big points scoring season. I'm not fully sure if A Cole will be my Chelsea defender but its looking that way. I still have 1m in the bank aswell.

Given

Evra A Cole Carragher Hangeland
    Arshavin Barry Modric Andrews
    Berbatov Crouch

Hart
    Dunne
    Stephen Reid/Mascherano (not sure here!)
    Doyle

great squad, in reality.
    Get slaughtered in fantasy football I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cullenswood

mayordenis wrote: »
    great squad, in reality.
    Get slaughtered in fantasy football I reckon.

Why do you think that?

Will Eduardo start the season lads

Team so far

Green
    Warnock Evra Baines Upson
    Tim Cahill--Taylor--Murphy--Lamps
    Mc Fadden Ankela

Have money left for a better striker
    Any ideas 8mill approx

Given

Zayatte
    Kilbane
    Ridgewell

Gerrard
    Barry
    Lampard
    P Neville

Torres----Rooney
    Doyle

subs
    Sorensen SC
    Carr Bir
    Espinoza Bir
    Muamba Bol

what do you think as I dont want to change anymore unless I really have too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭pablodunlop

Green

Upson
    Lescott
    Hangeland

A Young
    Barry
    Essien
    Arteta

Torres
    Robinho
    Zamora

Subs
    Sorenson
    Stearman
    Behrami
    A Dawson

Not of sure Zamora though, might go with Doyle or Ebanks-Blake.Thoughts? In a league at work with cash up for grabs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

BVB wrote: »

Given

Zayatte
    Kilbane
    Ridgewell

Gerrard
    Barry
    Lampard
    P Neville

Torres----Rooney
    Doyle

subs
    Sorensen SC
    Carr Bir
    Espinoza Bir
    Muamba Bol

poor point scoring defence if I'm honest and its there that the big points are scored.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

BVB wrote: »

P Neville wont score as many points this year, he was down as a defender last season playing in the midfield so got clean sheet bonuses and the odd assist and goal as a defender, hes not down as a mid.

Doyle is set to miss the start of the season with injury..

aaronh007 wrote: »
    poor point scoring defence if I'm honest and its there that the big points are scored.

Given

Zayatte
    Dunne
    Hughes

Gerrard
    Petrov--- Muamba --Lampard
    P Neville

Torres
    Rooney

subs
    Sorensen SC
    Ridgewell Bir
    Espinoza Bir
    Doyle Wol

do you thing this defence will be strong enough

Warnock
    Green

Evra

Konchesky

Baines

[URL="javascript:drop(6);"][/URL] [URL="javascript:draw_element_view(168)"][/URL]
    Tim Cahill

[URL="javascript:drop(7);"][/URL] [URL="javascript:draw_element_view(233)"][/URL]
    Gerrard

[URL="javascript:drop(8);"][/URL] [URL="javascript:draw_element_view(62)"][/URL]
    Fahey

[URL="javascript:drop(9);"][/URL] [URL="javascript:draw_element_view(165)"][/URL] Neville

[URL="javascript:draw_element_view(150)"][/URL]
    Lampard
    (C)

[URL="javascript:drop(11);"][/URL] [URL="javascript:draw_element_view(293)"][/URL]
    Rooney

I've changed:

Given
    Woodgate/Steinsson (if Woody isn't back)
    Givet
    A. Ferdinand
    Gerrard
    Arshavin
    Larsson
    Malbranque
    Torres
    Rooney (C)
    Carlton Cole

Hart, Zayate, Kilbane, Muamba

to:

Gomes
    O'Shea
    Givet
    A. Ferdinand
    Gerrard
    Arshavin
    Larsson
    Malbranque
    Torres
    Rooney (C)
    Carlton Cole

Hart, Zayate, Kilbane, Muamba

Not as good a 'keeper but have managed to get a top four defender in. O'Shea plays alot of games for United and is a snip at 5.5 million. If he doesn't start the first few games regularly, I'll ship him out for Micah Richards off City.

Green

Upson
    Lescott
    Hangeland

A Young
    Barry
    Essien
    Arteta

Torres
    Robinho
    Zamora

Subs
    Sorenson
    Stearman
    Behrami
    A Dawson

Not of sure Zamora though, might go with Doyle or Ebanks-Blake.Thoughts? In a league at work with cash up for grabs :D

Defence is rather weak to be honest, really any defence without at least 2 from the top 4 wont do that well imo, and the statistics show defenders give best value for points scored.

Midfield looks ok but I just dont like any midfield that doesn't have either Lamps or Gerrard. Also its hard to know how many games Essien will get consider the rotation policy within chelsea. Also I believe Arteta may not be back for the first few games, so just keep an eye on this.

Forwards are strong, I think Torres is going to do well this season, possible the top scorer. I would be wary of having any Man City forward at the moment until more becomes clear about what their likely line up will be and positions etc, although Robinho could have a good season, its just hard to know at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,469 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

My team at the moment:

Riena

Vidic
    Lescott
    Carr

Mikel
    Gerrard
    Modric
    Pienarr

Torres
    Eduardo
    Campbel

Eckersley
    Kompany
    Ridgewell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

New team, any thoughts/observations would be appreciated

Cech
    Evra
    Hangeland
    Lescott
    Carragher
    Faye Ab
    Gerrard (C)
    Arshavin
    Murphy
    Crouch
    Beattie

Subs: Hart, Doyle, Jimenez, Muamba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

My team for now:

Gomes

Evra
    Agger
    Hughes

Mikel
    Nani
    Gerrard (c)
    Lampard

Beattie
    Torres
    Ebanks Blake

Subs: Sorenson, Faye, Muamba, Zayatte

I know that Nani is a gamble before anyone says it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Hmmm the only two Pool players I have in my team are Arebola and Alonso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭mcw92

My Team

Gk: Schwarzer
    out.gif info.gifdreamteam.gif

DF:Vidic
    DF:Bosingwa
    DF:O'Shea
    DF: Hangeland

MC:Lampard
    MC:Gerrard
    Mc:Neville
    MC:Anderson

ST:Torres
    ST:Murphy

SUB:Sorensen
    SUB:Zayatte
    SUB:Muamba
    SUB:Folan

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭eoin99

The 3rd version of my team:

Hart/Sorensen

----Evra----Hangeland----Figeroa----Berra----

--Gerrard---Lampard(c)---Arshavin---Muamba--

Cole
    Rooney

McCarthy
    Keogh
    Dawson

Any opinions?? My bench is looking pretty weak....

I'm thinking of Torres instead of Rooney (would have to find 0.5m from somewhere) but Utd's first three games are against Birmingham, Burnley and Wigan so Roo could pick up some decent points there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

eoin99 wrote: »
    The 3rd version of my team:

Hart/Sorensen

----Evra----Hangeland----Figeroa----Berra----

--Gerrard---Lampard(c)---Arshavin---Muamba--

Cole
    Rooney

McCarthy
    Keogh
    Dawson

Any opinions?? My bench is looking pretty weak....

I'm thinking of Torres instead of Rooney (would have to find 0.5m from somewhere) but Utd's first three games are against Birmingham, Burnley and Wigan so Roo could pick up some decent points there.

Jaysus a lot of big hitters in that team! Impressive team I must say I wouldn't worry too much about a weak bench at this stage. I've gone for the old Sorensen/Hart rotation as well