Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Fantasy Football 2009/2010 (MOD NOTE - POST #2151)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

A bit of news...

Noticed a lot of people have Kightly in their teams. Just been confirmed he'll miss the first couple of games

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭eoin99

Morzadec wrote: »
    Jaysus a lot of big hitters in that team! Impressive team I must say I wouldn't worry too much about a weak bench at this stage. I've gone for the old Sorensen/Hart rotation as well

Cheers! ya i've gone for a few big names alrite...but i've had to add in a good few chumps to make up the numbers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Given

----Alex----Vidic----Ferdinand ----Terry----

--Muamba---Petrov---Ireland---Neville--

Torres (c)
    Rooney----

+ subs

Sorensen
    Gardner
    Mikel
    Cresswell

I hope this is final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Your defense is ridiculously expensive

Meanwhile your midfield is 4.5...6.0...9.0...5.0

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭eoin99

BVB wrote: »

Given

----Alex----Vidic----Ferdinand ----Terry----

--Muamba---Petrov---Ireland---Neville--

Torres (c)
    Rooney----

+ subs

Sorensen
    Gardner
    Mikel
    Cresswell

I hope this is final

Stilyan or Martin? Ireland seems to be the only big point scorer in midfield, and it's not certain that Alex will always start. I would replace him with a cheaper certain 1st choice defender and upgrade Petrov or Neville in midfield.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Given

Hangelaand - O Shea --Evra---Paintsil---Warnock

Arshavin--Lampard--Gerrard---Anderson

Cole

Subs: Hart, Ebanks Blake, Watson, Jerome

SEB > Paintsil or Warnock

Other than that, it ain't bad.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,177 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Jaaskelainen
    Vidic Bosingwa Carragher
    Gerrard Petrov Mikel Anderson
    Rooney Torres Zamora

Hart
    Boyce
    Stoor
    McCarthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

Given

Vidic Samba Lescott Ricketts

Dempsy Arshavin Mascherano WHelan

Owen(c) Torres

Subs:
    Howard
    Anderson
    Doyle
    Skrtel

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Given

Eckersley Alex Terry Clichy

Arshavin Anderson Essien Nani

Berbatov Bendtner

Subs:

Sorensen
    Kilbane
    Eagles
    Santa Cruz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

My team:
    Tim Howard

Brede Hangeland
    Vedran Corluka
    Rio Ferdinand

Andy Reid
    Stiliyan Petrov
    Steven Gerrard(c)
    Luka Modric

Kevin Doyle
    Michael Owen
    Wayne Rooney

Subs:
    Paul Robinson
    Aaron Hughes
    Richard Dunne
    Phil Neville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Not sure if it's been mentioned but I just noticed that there's an 'emergency captain' option, based on either value or form. Great addition, there was no frustration like having your captain being rotated before CL games etc or getting crocked in the warm-up. Also, the latest changes:

Given

Evra--Carragher--Hangeland--Corluka--Cole

Valencia----Lampard---Arshavin

Cole----Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Hart, Larsson, De Jong, Creswell.

I'm thinking of bringing in Darren Bent for C.Cole if he moves to Sunderland. He finished high enough despite his rotation at Spurs last season, and he was a points machine when he was at Charlton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

any opinions are welcome.

.......................Schwarzer.........Sorensen

O'Shea.........Cole A.......Hughes......Terry......Figueroa

Carrick.......Kuyt.......Murphy......Arshavin (C).....Taylor

.............Crouch...........Beattie.........Doyle

I would have a few everton players in there but notice that they are not playing in gameweek 2 along with 5 other teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

Haven't really tried Fantasy Football much, but I'll give it a go this season. Any tips would be welcome. My biggest risk imo is putting both Lampard and Gerard in a team, as it certainly caused me to cut down a lot in defense and for the keeper, but they seem to be two players that will guarantee a few hundred points between them.

Sorenson

---O'Shea----Vidic----Hangeland----Cahill

Gerard (C)---Lampard---Neville

---Agbonlahor----Berbatov---Zamora

Subs: Hart, Mikel, Muamba, Bramble

I wouldn't have Cahille, Neville or Sorenson if I had my way, but they seem to be doing OK. I'll probably switch Neville for Anderson if Anderson starts getting a few goals or assists, but Neville does seem to be a decent source of points. Only problem is the price might go up in the meantime. I'd like another top-four defender in there too, just don't have the money for it (I can't image Mikel getting me much). I'm not sure about O'Shea either, as he won't get as much gametime this season with Brown back and Rafael developing. Gary Neville should be practically out of the picture at this stage though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

Can the organisers pm me the code for this league? I have a team already but would like to join this one too. Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

Given

Eckersley Alex Terry Clichy

Arshavin Anderson Essien Nani

Berbatov Bendtner

Subs:

Sorensen
    Kilbane
    Eagles
    Santa Cruz

Sorry to say but this is one of the worst fantasy football teams i have seen, the only person in that team to win you good points is Arshavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

bantee wrote: »
    Can the organisers pm me the code for this league? I have a team already but would like to join this one too. Thanks in advance.
    I dunno if this might work (it's a long shot!!!) but maybe, possibly, perhaps (again this is a longshot!!!) the code might possibly be in the first post of the thread.

Let me know how you get on cos as I've said, it's a long shot!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I dunno if this might work (it's a long shot!!!) but maybe, possibly, perhaps (again this is a longshot!!!) the code might possibly be in the first post of the thread.

Let me know how you get on cos as I've said, it's a long shot!

You're right, it was a long shot but I took a gamble and it worked :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Changed again

Given now in goal

Back 4 the same

Tim Cahill > Murphy > Barry > Lamps

Rooney Heskey

Bench
    Upson
    Murphy
    Rodwell

What ye think

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Your defense is ridiculously expensive

Meanwhile your midfield is 4.5...6.0...9.0...5.0

Thats were the big points are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

put a team in for the laugh. I take it there are no prizes??

Liverpool midfielder Xabi Alonso has edged closer to Real Madrid after handing in a transfer request at Anfield, according to reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Liverpool midfielder Xabi Alonso has edged closer to Real Madrid after handing in a transfer request at Anfield, according to reports.

where did you read that?

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5461272,00.html

The Spain international has been at the centre of a long-running transfer saga as La Liga giants Madrid have made no secret of their desire to secure a deal.
    Liverpool have refused to budge from an asking price for Alonsospacer.gif in the region of £30million, which has stalled any potential move to the Bernabeu.
    But the Reds may now be prepared to allow the former Real Sociedad star to leave following accounts he has submitted a written transfer request to the club's hierarchy.
    Speculation suggests a deal will be struck with Madrid within the next couple of days for a fee reported to be in the region of £25m.
    Liverpool boss Rafa Benitezspacer.gif has maintained he does not want to sell Alonso, but the midfielder is said to have been angered by his manager's apparent desire to sell in order to finance an unsuccessful pursuit of Gareth Barryspacer.gif last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Hey guys,

First year doin FF, never got around to it last year so would appreciate any feedback you can give me but go easy ;)

Given

---Carragher---Evra---Hangeland---Distin----

--Gerrard(c)---Arshavin---Kuyt----Barry--

Cole
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs:
    Sorensen
    Zayatte
    Mendy
    Jerome

Any thoughts??

Mid field and Defence are were the big points are scored so not bad

Not great either lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Who is going to take United's penos with Ronnie gone? Would it be Rooney?

Berba wasn't great at takling them at Spurs from what I remember.

Would you get many points for 5-4-1 formation

Lemlin wrote: »

Berba wasn't great at takling them at Spurs from what I remember.

Hes class
    This still lives long in my memory

Wembley 09

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDf8-KZR8B4&feature=related

Just Brill :)

Sorensen

Terry---Carragher ---Vidic---Ferdinand----Toure

Ireland----Young A
    Anderson
    Arteta

Torres (c)

Hart
    Muamba
    Keogh
    Rodriguez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Lemlin wrote: »

Good question. Probably Anderson, Scholes or Rooney I'd imagine. Wayne isnt the best either though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

any opinions are welcome.

.......................Schwarzer.........Sorensen

O'Shea.........Cole A.......Hughes......Terry......Figueroa

Carrick.......Kuyt.......Murphy......Arshavin (C).....Taylor

.............Crouch...........Beattie.........Doyle

I would have a few everton players in there but notice that they are not playing in gameweek 2 along with 5 other teams.

Thats when your subs are used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Given

Lescott
    Evra
    Boswinga
    Hangeland
    Johnson

Valencia
    Arteta
    Nzogbia
    Arshavin

Cole

Subs
    Hart
    E-Blake
    Larrson
    Folan

Thoughts? I ended up using my wildcard after week1 last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,150 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Quick question, I'm new to FF so bare with me :o

I have Alonso on my team and as we know he's more than likely fecking off to Madrid. What happens to me now?

creggy wrote: »

I have Alonso on my team and as we know he's more than likely fecking off to Madrid. What happens to me now?
    Either the owner of the site will turn up at your house with a bunch of his cronies armed with baseball bats to teach you a lesson, or Alonso will be marked with an red injured sign, and will stay that way until you replace him. One or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

creggy wrote: »

Just transfer him out if he leaves - you can modify your team as many times as you wish before the first gameweek starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Ok so reading the advice that points are picked up at the back and in the mid I made a few changes. Any advice appreciated.

Sorensen

-Carragher--Evra--A.Cole--Johnson--Hangeland-

----Gerrard(c)----Arshavin----Ireland

Cole
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs:
    Hart
    Mendy
    Muamba
    Jerome

I went with a decent backline, I could have made it stronger but I just love that 3 in the mid. The front isen't the strongest but I hope the back and mid will make up for this. Thoughts??

Big Knox wrote: »
    Any advice appreciated
    Your team seems fine.

I always find that setting up your team each season is a bit of pot luck. It always takes a couple of weeks to really see who's worth getting in or getting rid of.

All you can really do is try and strike a balance with your initial line up. You've seemed to have done that, just don't be afraid to make changes in the first couple of weeks and bring in form players. That's the biggest tip anyone can give in this game. BRING IN THE FORM PLAYERS. If a player has scored a goal in his last 2 games he'll more than likely score in his next game.

Sorensen

Terry---Carragher ---Vidic---Ferdinand----Toure

Ireland----Young A
    Anderson
    Arteta

Torres (c)

Hart
    Muamba
    Keogh
    Rodriguez

Do you think I could get away with 1 striker

It all depends on how the season pans out.
    If there's a forward that's banging in the goals week in week out and only costs 5.5m but one of your defenders is leaking goals and costs 7.5m do you need to be a quantum physicist to work out what to do? ;)

It's the same for Torres, if he's having a cráp season you need to get rid of hid and adjust your team.

Although looking at your team, I'd personally get rid of Anderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Whattaya reckon...

Schwarzer
    --Lescott----Vidic---Carragher--
    Murphy--Modric--Gerrard--Neville
    Crouch--Jo--Owen

Subs: Sorenson, Ricketts, Anderson, Zayatte

Schwarzer
    Carragher-Vidic-Haangeland-Lescott
    --Barry--Modric--Gerrard--Neville---
    Crouch---Owen

Subs: Sorenson, Zayate, Anderson, Cresswell

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭PH4T

Opinions much appreciated:

Schwarzer

----Evra----Hangeland----Figeroa----Hughes----Cole A----

Gerrard
    Lampard(c)
    Young A
    Modric

Ebanks-Blake

Bench
    Sorensen
    Doyle
    Keogh
    Mullins

I am going to bring in Arshavin after GW2. I'm tracking the progress of Zhirkov as well. If he is played on the left wing, then I'll replace Asley Cole with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭seandugg

Any suggestions on forwards for 4.5m who are likely to get a game most weeks?

My up-and-coming website will have an epic two part Fantasy League "Who To Pick" guide. Some of you's might find it helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭demakinz

any way to get involved without paying? cant really afford it but would love to be involved....................i woulnt have a hope of winning anyway!! came 3rd out of a league of 3 last year.:D

if not thats cool.

It's free dude...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Whattaya reckon...

Schwarzer
    --Lescott----Vidic---Carragher--
    Murphy--Modric--Gerrard--Neville
    Crouch--Jo--Owen

Subs: Sorenson, Ricketts, Anderson, Zayatte

Schwarzer
    Carragher-Vidic-Haangeland-Lescott
    --Barry--Modric--Gerrard--Neville---
    Crouch---Owen

Subs: Sorenson, Zayate, Anderson, Cresswell

I think it's pretty good but I wouldn't recommend a Schwarzer/Sorensen combo considering Fulham's second match with Blackburn will be scrapped assuming they progress in the Europa League (which they will barring a total collapse). That would mean you'd have to use Sorensen in goal away to Liverpool in Week 2.

Also I'd ditch Neville and Anderson as I'm not sure they'll gain many points.
    PH4T wrote:
    Opinions much appreciated:

Schwarzer

----Evra----Hangeland----Figeroa----Hughes----Cole A----

Gerrard
    Lampard(c)
    Young A
    Modric

Ebanks-Blake

Bench
    Sorensen
    Doyle
    Keogh
    Mullins

I am going to bring in Arshavin after GW2. I'm tracking the progress of Zhirkov as well. If he is played on the left wing, then I'll replace Asley Cole with him.

Looks very good but for the reasons mentioned above I'd ditch Sorensen due to the fact Liverpool will almost certainly drub Stoke in week 2 which would leave you screwed.
    seandugg wrote:
    Any suggestions on forwards for 4.5m who are likely to get a game most weeks?

None of them look particularly appealing to me but I reckon Cameron Jerome has a chance of featuring in the first few games since Benitez is injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭seandugg

You think Folan will play more this season?

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    It's free dude...

sorry must of been another tread where they were collecting 20squids off people.
    sweet where can i get the league code?

demakinz wrote: »
    sorry must of been another tread where they were collecting 20squids off people.
    sweet where can i get the league code?

right read the first post duh!!!!!!!!!!!! vodkas a curse!!