Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Fantasy Football 2009/2010 (MOD NOTE - POST #2151)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

Let me know what ye think

Given
    Schwarzer

Baines
    Hangelaand
    Cahill
    Toure
    Carragher

Ireland
    Davies
    N'zogbia
    Gerrard
    Modric

Agbonlahor----Jerome
    Doyle

Would really love some feedback

the players in bold are not playing in GW 2.... Sorry....

My team =

Sorensen

O'Shea
    Cole A
    Carragher
    Terry (C)

Mascherano
    Kuyt
    Lampard
    Carrick

Sinclair
    Beattie

Kirkland

Foley
    Jerome
    Larsson

- I think that is a decent team for the first 3 weeks and I still have £5m in the bank - Opinions Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Hull are raking in the players, one or two could be worth a flutter...especially Altidore. He's looked very good whenever I've seen him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gaillimhabu

My current team taking week 2 a bit into account
    (Arsenal, Everton, WH, Bolton, Man City, Villa) not playing

Sorensen

O'Shea Insua Warnock

Gerrard Lampard Arshavin Muamba Larsson

Torres Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Hart Eckersley Figueroa Jerome

What do ye think?
    Will O'shea play? Not so sure about Jerome as a 3rd striker but only had 4.5 left.
    Can't decide if I should replace Larsson with Jiminez or McSheffrey or someone else
    Torres could also be replaced along with Jerome and get cheaper strikers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Davies of Bolton would be a good striker IMO- Near the top on points last season.
    Midfield is very strong - Defence is weak -.
    Big points scored for midfielders and defenders - Thats were its won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

My current team taking week 2 a bit into account
    (Arsenal, Everton, WH, Bolton, Man City, Villa) not playing

Sorensen

O'Shea Insua Warnock

Gerrard Lampard Arshavin Muamba Larsson

Torres Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Hart Eckersley Figueroa Jerome

What do ye think?
    Will O'shea play? Not so sure about Jerome as a 3rd striker but only had 4.5 left.
    Can't decide if I should replace Larsson with Jiminez or McSheffrey or someone else
    Torres could also be replaced along with Jerome and get cheaper strikers.
    Have a very similar team to this at the moment but i'm thinking the defence & subs bench is too weak.

Subs bench probably is but I don't think the defence is too bad.
    Insua is the cheaper of the liverpool defence but he'll play all games with aurelio out and should get clean sheets.
    I picked Warnock as he might get played in midfield so there is a chance of a few assists.
    O'sheas will be a good buy if he plays. I might change him yet

• Registered Users Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭slingerz

The thing with game week 2 is do you leave the players out until after gameweek 2, use your wildcard and introduce the players you really want or change them all around each week?

I've gone for

Given - Hart

Espinoza - Anton Ferdinand - Rio Ferdinand - Evra - Cole

Lucas - Lampard - Malbranque - Valencia - Larsson

Rodriguez - Ebanks Blake - Torres

I think that team is pretty much game week 2 proof. Might bring in a keeper to replace Given for the first 2 weeks.

After that its wildcard time.

5.5 4
    Given - Hart
    6.5 5.5 4 4.5 6
    Evra - Davies - Espinoza - Anton Ferdinand - Skrtel
    6.5 12.5 5 7.5 11
    Dempsey - Gerrard - Larsson - Modric - Arshavin
    11.5 5.5 4.5
    Torres - Ebanks Blake - Rodriguez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

whats people's thoughts on Denilson for arsenal ?
    do you think he will be on form this season ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Currently sitting on:

Foster
    Belletti - Hagaland - Faye Ab (stoke)
    Gerrard - Lampard - Kuyt - Murphy - Neville
    Crouch - C Cole

Bench: Sorenson - Ebanks Blake - Bramble - Dawson

Any ideas or help? Im not so sure about Crouchy to be honest!

Think il sit with Lampard and Gerard til after week 2 til everything settles down, then i will switch in Torres or Arshavin for one of them to free up a bit of cash to bulk up elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Belletti is a risk, especially when you only have two other defenders. Ivanovic started for Chelsea on Sunday, Bosingwa came on in the second half. I think Crouch will do well at Spurs but for FF purposes you might be looking at rotation with Keane, Pavlychenko and Defoe there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Fanfan

Really cant make up my mind on my team....I need your help!

Mid) D. Kuyt
    Mid) D. Fletcher
    For) S. Ebanks-Blake
    For) C. Cole

OR

Mid) A. Valenica
    Mid) L. Lucas
    For) Eduardo
    For) J. Beattie

Which would score me more points!?

Fanfan wrote: »
    Really cant make up my mind on my team....I need your help!

Mid) D. Kuyt
    Mid) D. Fletcher
    For) S. Ebanks-Blake
    For) C. Cole

OR

Mid) A. Valenica
    Mid) L. Lucas
    For) Eduardo
    For) J. Beattie

Which would score me more points!?
    My money is on the first group. Cole & Kuyt are great points getters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭token56

The team I considering starting with:

Given

Evra----A Cole
    Hangeland
    Carragher----
    ----Lampard(C)----Gerrard----Larsson----Valencia

Ebanks Blake
    Cole

Subs: Sorensen, Zayette, Muamba, Cousin

Should be ok for the second game week, and may bring in Arshavin around game week 4 or so. I think its pretty hard to not have a Chelsea defender considering they have had 20+ clean sheets for the past 5 seasons and I think A Cole is the best value for money at the moment, Zhirkov could come good should he start regularly though.

I am not sure about Valencia but with Utds first few fixtures, if he does start which I think he will, he should bag a few goals. Forward line is still a bit weak, but all my subs should start which is helpful.

Any thoughts anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Belletti is a risk, especially when you only have two other defenders. Ivanovic started for Chelsea on Sunday, Bosingwa came on in the second half. I think Crouch will do well at Spurs but for FF purposes you might be looking at rotation with Keane, Pavlychenko and Defoe there as well.

Not sure i can stretch as far as Boswinga....budget is limited. I might bring in Upson and that could give me a bit more budget to use elsewhere. I'd like a chelsea defender for picking up points consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

slingerz wrote: »
    The thing with game week 2 is do you leave the players out until after gameweek 2, use your wildcard and introduce the players you really want or change them all around each week?

Note the Rule change =
    wrote:
    If you don't use your free transfer then you'll be able to make an additional free transfer the following gameweek. These saved transfers don't accumulate and can only be used the following gameweek. .

the Team I have gone for hopefully is fairly decent for GW 1 & 2 then bring in 2 new players together (probably Baines and Arshavin) and not take any point deduction.

I intend to hang on to my wildcard for as long as I can and ideally use it when a few teams are playing twice in the same GW.

My Team =

Sorensen

O'Shea - Cole A - Carragher - Terry (C)

Mascherano* - Kuyt - Lampard - Carrick

Sinclair** - Beattie

Kirkland - Foley - Jerome - Larsson***

£5m in the bank.

Opinions Please.
    *Should I go for Lucas?
    **Will Sinclair start?
    ***is my subs bench too weak?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Draft of my team, mainly based on GW 1&2 but also thinking about week 3,4 & 5....

I deliberately kept 5M in the bank that will give me good flexibility in the transfer markets from GW 2 - comments are appreciated :)

1: Foster

2: Distin
    3: Terry
    4: O'Shea
    5: Faye Ab

6: Lampard (C)
    7: Lucas
    8: Jimenez

9: Rooney
    10: Ebanks-Blake
    11: Torres

12: Sorensen
    13: Jarvis
    14: Ricketts
    15: McSheffrey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

My Team =

Sorensen

O'Shea - Cole A - Carragher - Terry (C)

Mascherano* - Kuyt - Lampard - Carrick

Sinclair** - Beattie

Kirkland - Foley - Jerome - Larsson***

£5m in the bank.

Opinions Please.
    *Should I go for Lucas?
    **Will Sinclair start?
    ***is my subs bench too weak?

*Should I go for Lucas? Definately. He's more likely to score a goal or assist than Masch and you dont get points for tackles made so you've nothing to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

They are at home and normally at home they are very good defensively but this situation is a bit different. Going into this game they have no Dawson, no King, no Woodgate and no Bale and they will also be handing Bassong an immediate debut. All of this to deal with against the team who were top scorers in the league last season!

I wouldn't go near Spurs defenders myself but each to their own.

Spurs away is one of the hardest fixtures not involving a top 4 team and Harry Spurs are a different class. Don't think it'll be impossible.

Here's my final team anyway

Hart/Sorenson (swapping based on who's at home)

Da Silva - J.T. - Distin

Modric - Kranjcar - Park - Carrick

Anelka - Drogba(c) - Berba

subs: Figueroa, Melchiot and N'Zogbia (all coming in for the Wolves tie in GW 2)

Eventually Berba, Carrick and Park will be eased out for Arshavin, Eduardo (Bent if there be no cash) and Walcott

Lee Cattermole has gone from Wigan to Sunderland. Prob no biggie as only 6.1% currently have him picked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Apparently King is going to be fit for the match this weekend - so it will be Bassong and King in the middle apparently.

Have gone with a renegade team. Really wish I could stop changing the team:

Gomes

Beye
    Bassong
    Hughes
    Arshavin
    Fletcher
    Gerrard
    Lucas
    Lampard
    Torres
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Sorenson, Carr, Zayete and Jerome.

An torn between that team and the following:

Gomes
    A. Cole
    Evra
    Insua
    Hughes
    Arshavin
    Gerrard
    Fletcher
    Lampard
    Beattie
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Sorenson, Faye, Muamba and Jerome.

Any opinions?

Was Bassong's suspension overturned? When I was looking at bringing him in he was listed as suspended.

Apparently they have gotten around it due to the fact that he got the suspension while playing for Newcastle and the fact that Newcastle have played a game already this season.

Apparently King is going to be fit for the match this weekend - so it will be Bassong and King in the middle apparently.

Have gone with a renegade team. Really wish I could stop changing the team:

Gomes

Beye
    Bassong
    Hughes
    Arshavin
    Fletcher
    Gerrard
    Lucas
    Lampard
    Torres
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Sorenson, Carr, Zayete and Jerome.

An torn between that team and the following:

Gomes
    A. Cole
    Evra
    Insua
    Hughes
    Arshavin
    Gerrard
    Fletcher
    Lampard
    Beattie
    Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Sorenson, Faye, Muamba and Jerome.

Any opinions?

Feck them, settled on this:

Gomes
    A. Cole
    Evra
    Insua
    Hughes
    Arshavin
    Gerrard
    Fletcher
    Lucas
    Lampard
    Beattie

Apparently they have gotten around it due to the fact that he got the suspension while playing for Newcastle and the fact that Newcastle have played a game already this season.

Sneaky.

I'm settled on my first XI, but it's my bench that I'm tinkering with the most right now. There are actually a pretty good range of players at 5.0. At the moment I've got Lucas and Larsson, but I've been looking Jimenez and Cattermole too. Jimenez is an unknown quantity so I think I'll leave him out until we see the first couple of games, but I think Cattermole could be decent for Sunderland. Not overly creative but I reckon he'll be good for bonus points.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Really wish I could stop changing the team:

tell me about it!

after noticing the fact that Arsenal, Everton, WH, Bolton, Man City & Villa are all not playing in Wk2 and that if you havent made a sub the previous week you can make 2 changes without being penalised ive changed my line up once more to a side which includes players from none of the teams missing wk2

.............................Cech

...........Warnock...Hangeland...Evra

...........Carrick...Cattermole...Essien
    Gerrard........................................Lampard(c)
    ...............Bent..........Ebanks-Blake

Subs: Hart, Bassong, A.Ferdinand, Zamora

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Fair play to those who managed Lampard, Gerrard and Arshavin in one team.

My team is strong all round - therefore can only manage one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Does anyone know what Ben Foster's chances are of playing this weekend (after being withdrawn from English squad) ?

Just a word on those unsure of Lampard or Gerrard. I avoided Lamps because he has to fit into a completely new tactic and with two up front he won't be given as much license to shoot whereas it's same old same old for Steven

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Just a word on those unsure of Lampard or Gerrard. I avoided Lamps because he has to fit into a completely new tactic and with two up front he won't be given as much license to shoot whereas it's same old same old for Steven

Lampard is fitting in to a 442 diamond where he will have as much if not a more attacking role as he had...should work out fine for him to be honest. As for Stevie G he is going to playing up front instead of as a midfielder so if anyones playing new tactics its him..but with him down as a midfielder and likely to score plenty of goals and assists from the strikers positions..thats the reason to choose him.

As for Stevie G he is going to playing up front instead of as a midfielder so if anyones playing new tactics its him.

He's not exactly fitting into new tactics - he's been in that position for quite a while now.

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    He's not exactly fitting into new tactics - he's been in that position for quite a while now.

Not really, he was playing as an attacking midfielder most of last season sitting behind Torres, thats when they were both fit which wasnt often either. He will now be playing in a full strikers role along side Torres with Lucas taking over as the current attacking midfielder in pre season.

Either way I dont see Lampard having many problems in his role either, he will have as many attacking chances as before and still take the penalities. Id just see Gerrard scoring more goals and getting more assists off Torres.

Axwell wrote: »
    Not really, he was playing as an attacking midfielder most of last season sitting behind Torres, thats when they were both fit which wasnt often either. He will now be playing in a full strikers role along side Torres with Lucas taking over as the current attacking midfielder in pre season.

Can't see Lucas taking over the attacking midfield role as you put it - he'll play alongside Masch but just slightly above where Alonso played, around the centre circle. Expect Gerrard to more or less roam free in his position with Torres the main front man. Lucas in an attacking midfield role would put extra weight on Masch to hold the fort - especially against Spurs with players like Jenas and Modric.

Axwell wrote: »
    Lampard is fitting in to a 442 diamond where he will have as much if not a more attacking role as he had...should work out fine for him to be honest. As for Stevie G he is going to playing up front instead of as a midfielder so if anyones playing new tactics its him..but with him down as a midfielder and likely to score plenty of goals and assists from the strikers positions..thats the reason to choose him.

Did you see the match on Sunday. He was much. His job won't be shoot form anywhere once the ball bounces of Drogba, his job will be pass to Anelka. Much different and far less attacking opportunities from the number 10 position. Wait and see how he adapts. Stevie isn't playing anything radically new either:confused:

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Can't see Lucas taking over the attacking midfield role as you put it - he'll play alongside Masch but just slightly above where Alonso played, around the centre circle.

In preseason he has been playing an attacking role and scoring and Rafa has called them their best player in the pre season because of it, also they didnt buy Aquilani to have him sitting around the centre circle, once hes fit he will get the starting position from Lucas and be very much an attacking player feeding Gerrard and Torres.

Either way roll on Sat and the start of the season..its been too long without good football and fantasy football!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

Thoughts please?

Schwarzer

Evra..Hangeland..Carragher..O'Shea

Gerrard..Barry(or Cahill still undecided)..Young..Neville..Murphy

Torres

Subs:
    Sorenson (GK)
    Zayatte (D)
    Cressell (ST)
    Jerome (ST)

With the fixtures the way they are for week 2 your team will stuggle to field a full 11 for that week as it is, or definitely one that has players that will get points. Take alook at the fixtures and consider a shuffle here and there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

Thought on this please

foster

evans
    hangeland
    carregher
    davis
    bassong

lampard
    gerard
    arshavin
    larsson

cole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Surprised more people dont have Anelka in their team, Chelase have some easy games at the start and I can see him poaching a few..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

So if it was a choice between Cahill or Barry who would you choose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

Thought on this please

foster

evans
    hangeland
    carregher
    davis
    bassong

lampard
    gerard
    arshavin
    larsson

cole

Im not sure which to go for the team in the quote or the following

sorenson

lescott
    vidic
    carregher
    hangeland

ireland
    barry
    arshavin
    arteta
    modric

cole

Not considering GW 2 and the injuries currently which of these teams would be best over the whole season

Thought on this please

foster

evans
    hangeland
    carregher
    davis
    bassong

lampard
    gerard
    arshavin
    larsson

cole

Not bad but I would get rid of one of those defenders and have a stronger front 2. Alot of those players wont be playing in week 2 so you'll be in trouble.

darkskol wrote: »
    So if it was a choice between Cahill or Barry who would you choose?

If I had to pick then Cahill.

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭PH4T

tell me about it!

after noticing the fact that Arsenal, Everton, WH, Bolton, Man City & Villa are all not playing in Wk2 and that if you havent made a sub the previous week you can make 2 changes without being penalised ive changed my line up once more to a side which includes players from none of the teams missing wk2

Umm Warnock and Hangeland both miss GW2...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

tell me about it!

I don't see where the points will come from in that team.

Why 3 defensive style midfield players? They will get you no points whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭PH4T

I don't see where the points will come from in that team.

Why 3 defensive style midfield players? They will get you no points whatsoever.

Essien will get plenty of points. 144 in 06/07 and 121 in 07/08. Injured most of last season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

Thoughts on this team please?
    I reckon I'll pick up points in midfield but depends on if they all play weekly.

Given
    Sagna Lescott Evra
    Noble A Young Modric Valencia
    Rooney(c) Defoe Ebankes-Blake

Subs: Fulop Cattermole Distin Eckersly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

bantee wrote: »
    Thoughts on this team please?
    I reckon I'll pick up points in midfield but depends on if they all play weekly.

Given
    Sagna Lescott Evra
    Noble A Young Modric Valencia
    Rooney(c) Defoe Ebankes-Blake

Subs: Fulop Cattermole Distin Eckersly

Alot of players missing for GW2 - Given, Sagna, Lescott, Noble & Young.

Valencia is tempting but I think the Unt midfield will be greatly affected (Fantasy Football wise) by rotation, so Im staying away for now.

Also, Id look at bringing in Lampard or Gerrard in Midfield

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

Jugs82 wrote: »
    Alot of players missing for GW2 - Given, Sagna, Lescott, Noble & Young.

Valencia is tempting but I think the Unt midfield will be greatly affected (Fantasy Football wise) by rotation, so Im staying away for now.

Also, Id look at bringing in Lampard or Gerrard in Midfield

My thinking was that I'd take the hit in GW2 and my 4 subs should fill the gaps.
    Going by pre-season I can see Valencia getting a lot more 1st team football but only time will tell.
    I won't include Gerrard or any Liverpool players out of principal, may be a stupid move but I think Rooney and Defoe might make up for these lost points?

team_wed.png

Will probably tinker with it again before Saturday.

Good team.