Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Fantasy Football 2009/2010 (MOD NOTE - POST #2151)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Okay, think I'm pretty happy with my starting line up.

I'm still going for a strong back 5 to start the campaign. Doing this for a few reasons.
    Firstly, there is good value to be had there with Foster and Evans.
    Secondly, because the start of the season is always hard to know the in form players from a scoring/assist point of view, but it's pretty easy to see the clean sheet teams.
    Thirdly, gameweek 2 is a killer and prevents me purchasing most the midfield I actually want.

I may well use my wildcard for gameweek 3... although I feel the team is actually good enough to do well with only minor modifications too.

FFTeam.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I know Gerrard dropped out of the friendly because he couldn't be arsed playing but there were rumours he was carrying a slight strain. Chelsea have an easy first run of games and a far easier first fixture.

Is anyone changing Gerrard for Lampard? I'm thinking of it.

I have Torres anyway and him or Gerrard are at the centre of everything 'Pool do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭pablodunlop

Tried to set up a team of Ex-Leeds players...sigh....but only one former keeper is still in the Prem so lobbed in Steve Simonsen who almost signed iirc :p

leeds.jpg

Woeful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Tried to set up a team of Ex-Leeds players...sigh....but only one former keeper is still in the Prem so lobbed in Steve Simonsen who almost signed iirc :p

leeds.jpg

Woeful :D

How much money have you over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭pablodunlop

JPA wrote: »
    How much money have you over?

19.5...will actually switch Bowyer for Danny Pugh (4.5 also) while he's injured , only other change I can hope for is Viduka signing for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Right here's mine

teamx.jpg

Fed up of tinkering with it. I always find myself about 2-3m short of a team I'd be really happy with it, so fair play to whoever prices the players, they've got it spot on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

PH4T wrote: »
    Umm Warnock and Hangeland both miss GW2...

cheers, I thought it was just Arsenal, Everton, WH, Bolton, Man City & Villa not playing in GW2
    I don't see where the points will come from in that team.

Why 3 defensive style midfield players? They will get you no points whatsoever.

well alongside major point getters Gerrard & Lampard those 3 would be expected to play almost every game for their sides and would get a good amount of assists imo while perhaps also getting points for clean sheets (at Man Utd & Chelsea) aswell as bonus points but you may have a point.

id say ill drop atleast one of them now as i do another re-jig after realising Blackburn and Fulham miss GW2 also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Right here's mine

teamx.jpg

Fed up of tinkering with it. I always find myself about 2-3m short of a team I'd be really happy with it, so fair play to whoever prices the players, they've got it spot on.
    Get rid of Mascherano and Essien, they won;t get you any points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Get rid of Mascherano and Essien, they won;t get you any points

I'd be more worried about Palacios than Essien to be honest. I wouldn't usually have 5 midfielders starting but I reckon Wigan will ship a few this weekend so I've dropped Bramble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Essien is a monster for those bonus points. He's a pretty good pick as a 3rd / 4th choice midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Haven't played this in 3 years, forgot I actually had an account set-up :eek:.

OK, after about 10 minutes of humming and hawing, here's mine:

1: Given 2: Distin 3: Hangeland 4: Rafael 5: O'Brien J 6: Ireland 7: Milner 8: Dempsey
    9: Gerrard (C) 10: Torres 11: Defoe 12: Foster 13: Faye Ab 14: Mendy 15: Doyle

Any comments or recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

I'd be more worried about Palacios than Essien to be honest. I wouldn't usually have 5 midfielders starting but I reckon Wigan will ship a few this weekend so I've dropped Bramble.

As a Villa fan I hope you're right :D

Is there any certainty that Foster is going to start every game till Van Der Sar is back, or will Sir Alex rotate the two reserves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Is Evans out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Yeah, my whole bench is made of Wigan players because they have the easiest possible game in gameweek 2 but a toughy in gameweek one.

I wouldn't worry about Essien anyway, he's playing in a more advanced position then last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Haven't joined one of these in a few years and I've done this in 5 minutes so opinions very welcome:

league0910.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Villain wrote: »
    Haven't joined one of these in a few years and I've done this in 5 minutes so opinions very welcome:

league0910.jpg

I'd say Brown and Ivanovic are questionable starters, while Ferdinand is fairly dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Ivanovic and Brown in defense is very risky.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Does anybody know if Off the Ball on Newstalk has given out the code for thier league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Any comments on this? First time playing so comments welcome. Still have 1M in the bank, so hopefully can change things around in GW2 if needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

I think Essien has been hugely under-rated in FF terms. I'm expecting (hoping) that he has a monster season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Final one ( I think )

Foster
    Carvalho
    Evra
    Cole
    Ferdinand

Modric
    A Young
    Lampard

Crouch
    Ebanks Blake
    Bent

subs - Hart, Cattermole, Bramble, Muamba

Quite pleased actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,779 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Team Name: Super Jinking Run

Jaaskelainen (BOL) ---

O'Shea (MU) --- Evans (MU)
    Hangeland (FUL) --- A Cole (CHL)

Murphy (FUL) --- Gerrard (LIV) --- Lampard (CHL) --- Anderson (MU)

Torres (LIV) ---- Doyle (WW) ---

Subs: GK - Hart (BIR), DEF - Warnock (BR), MID - Mascherano (LIV), ATT - Rodriguez (BUR)

Happy enough with it.

Not sure whether I should have Doyle or Ebanks-Blake up front...

Thoughts?

Anthony vanden Borre FTW!

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭mr.noobie

jozy altidore or s hunt at 5.0 anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

mr.noobie wrote: »

Hunt should be an ever present in the lineup and always likely to get a few crosses in at least. Gotta confess to never having heard of Altidore before the summer.

I have my team finalised and waiting. I actually made my 5.0 midfielder my captain for week one....I might be out of the running or way ahead straight off!

mr.noobie wrote: »

Are they available now?

Altidore, yes.

to bring in either id have to swap out torres for rooney so emm.....im not too sure about that.i want altidore but he would be on the bench most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Hunt was an amazing super-sub two seasons ago. Got 131 points in a relegated team, so I think he'll still be worth points despite Hull being shite.

i think ill leave off putting hunt or altidore in my team for a couple of weeks, they would only be subs and hull have chelsea 1st all that will happen there is hunt gettin a red card when he finishes what he started with cech and takes his head off this time ha ha:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

keane2097 wrote: »
    Happy enough with it.

Not sure whether I should have Doyle or Ebanks-Blake up front...

Thoughts?

Doyle got injured last night playing for Ireland......might be worth considering! (Havent heard if hes definitely out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hunt is in the game now too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Seven players are missing in gameweek 2.

Thanks again for that Eire-Dearg:)

Spent ages again and have changed to this......

Reina

Terry
    Bramble
    Evra
    Carragher

Lampard
    geovanni
    Malbranque
    Modric

Anelka
    Doyle

Subs
    Sorensen
    Corluka
    N'Zogbia
    Jerome

Would appreciate any thoughts on the above....Head is melted:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Zhirkov injured for the first game?

I think so, yes.

gucci wrote: »
    Doyle got injured last night playing for Ireland......might be worth considering! (Havent heard if hes definitely out)

Might plump for Ebanks-Blake for the first week so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

opinions please

after much more tinkering (i have included hunt, not sure if wise move) i have 0.5 million left over, is it worth while having anything left over for any transfers for later in the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Team Name: Macheda's Stallions

Given

--Carvalho --- Evra
    Carragher --- Hangeland

Lucas --- Gerrard --- Modric --- Jiminez----Arshavin

Bent

Subs: GK - Hart, DEF - Zayatte, ATT - Doyle, Beattie

Any comments on the above??

Very very good - bench is ****e but starting XI is brilliant.

Note that Jiminez, Hangeland, Arshavin and Given are all missing in Gameweek 2.

Carvalho is 7.5 right? Get yourself A. Cole and say 0.5 quid.

Meanwhile for me, I can't settle on a team.

Keep Torres, and weaken other areas - or get a cheaper striker (Berbatov at the minute) and divide cash into other positions...

At the moment every benched player is good enough to start without worry - and only two of my team will be missing in GW2 who can all be easily subbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭McGrath5

What do people think of this team? Put it together fairly fast so all thoughts appreciated.

Schwarzer

Johnson
    O' Shea
    Hangeland
    Faye Ab

Lampard (c)
    Modric
    Arshavin

Torres
    Fuller
    Doyle

Bench:
    Sorensen
    Foley
    Anderson
    Muamba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Howard
    Lescott---Gallas---Richards
    Hangeland
    Lampard---Milner----Ars shaving :p ---Cohen
    ----Owen
    Tevez----

Subs; Sorenson, Kilbane, Barmby, Cresswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

Carvalho is 7.5 right? Get yourself A. Cole and say 0.5 quid.

Carvalho is 7 mil

My team atm..

Foster

Carvalho
    O Shea
    Shawcross

Lampard (c)
    Gerrard
    Valencia
    Modric

Bent
    Beattie
    Cole

Subs
    Jiminez
    Nosworthy
    Espinoza

So 2 West Hame players missing GW2. But all round not too bad methinks, welcome any thoughts tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I think this is the best team I have ever picked. Time will tell of course.

1: Cech

2: Cole A
    3: Evans
    4: Ferdinand
    5: Evra
    6: Johnson

7: Dempsey
    8: Lucas
    9: Pienaar

10: Torres(C)
    11: Anelka
    =================
    12: Hart
    13: Malbranque
    14: Ebanks-Blake
    15: Mendy

You must've picked some baaad teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

My team is:

Foster

Konchesky
    Evra
    Insua

--- Arshavin --- A Young --- T Cahill----D Murphy

Bent
    Torres
    Ebanks Blake

Subs: Sorenson, P Neville, S Warnock, da Silva

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

evil_seed wrote: »
    I think this is the best team I have ever picked. Time will tell of course.

1: Cech

2: Cole A
    3: Evans
    4: Ferdinand
    5: Evra
    6: Johnson

7: Dempsey
    8: Lucas
    9: Pienaar

10: Torres(C)
    11: Anelka
    =================
    12: Hart
    13: Malbranque
    14: Ebanks-Blake
    15: Mendy

Midfield is where the points are at and there arnt many points coming out of that midfield:)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

tok9 wrote: »

Foster

----Figueroa
    Bassong
    Da Silva
    Zhirkov---

-Noble
    Gerrard
    Lucas
    Arshavin
    Lennon--

Torres

12: Sorensen
    13: McFadden
    14: Piquionne
    15: Shawcross

Right I'm after changing the team again! Since Zhirkov is a doubt i had to and now i can bring in Lampard the next week too

Foster

Shawcross
    Da Silva
    A.Cole---

-N'Zogbia
    Gerrard
    Lucas
    Arshavin
    Lennon--

Torres
    Beattie

12: Sorensen
    13: Bassong
    14: Figueroa
    15: McFadden

Well is it an improvement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Ok guys this is my third year doing it and i feel confident:

ff_team.jpg

If you get injured Van Persie, I swear to God.....

Edit: I'm aware the positioning is all over the gaff

Insua on the bench, while Shawcross starts is a bit odd. As is including Alex - Carvalho and Terry should start in the centre for Chelsea. Midfield is good, but RVP is a bit of a crock up front.