Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know your neighbours?

• 07-07-2009 10:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭

SOURCE: www.galwaynews.ie
    There's a complete breakdown in neighbour relations across Galway city and County, according to a survey carried out by homeless support agenct COPE Galway.

The survey found that 70 per cent of those interviewed have never or have rarely been in their neighbour's house.

The online questionnaire tested 160 people and found that 45 percent have never socialised with their neighbours and 91 percent have rarely or never shared a lift with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Depends where you live, if you grew up in an estate with the same families beside you for years then you will know them, but nowadays so many people rent in estates and come and go. Plus people are working 8-6 and come home and possibly don't really care!

I know my neighbours from my home house, I reckon out of the 24 houses in the estate we'd know 22, the rest are rented and the residents are rarely there. Lived in rented accommodation in town, and I didn't know my neighbours and tbh it didn't bother me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I don't know any of them tbh, I'd nod hello to them but that's about it. Unusual mix in my area, about half young people renting and the other half pensioners who've been here all their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I do but I live out near the country and have had the same neighbours for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I live in the country about 10 miles out from Galway only a little over 40 houses on my cul de sac road, know feck all of my neighbours, some of the ones i know, wish i didn't, pretentious twats.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've only one neighbor where I live now and I've known them for years. Most the people in the home estate have been there for years and I know them too. Allot of new people did move into two new estates and they don't mix with the rest of the town though. The town probably doubled in size and it's gone awful quiet, I don't know if that's down to the price of drink going up so much keeping people at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Never been in to them but I talk to them outside sometimes.

Obviously the ones that are outside more often I talk to more often.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I ate them <burp>

'cptr

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I know the people on either side of me and two doors down to have a chat with, the house next door is rented and has a high turnover but I'd still have a chat with the Polish guy living there the last few months. His wife seems a right b*tch though!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Bonzodog

I've been here in Doughiska about 5 years, I know my neighbours either side, and say hi to them when I see them. I know a few other people around the estate, mainly due to my daughter playing with their kids, so I got to meet them that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Yep - live in a development with 7 houses and know people in 4 of them to chat with

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Only here six months, talk to the neighbours on one side of me, hardly ever seen the other one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I live in a detached house. My neighbour owns all of the land beside the race course, and my other neighbour is my landlady's sister. I have been in both houses several times. They're really nice people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Just moved house 3 weeks ago and Live in the middle of town so Don't know my enighbours and doubt I ever will.

Back in Athlone I knew my neighbours at my mums house, my dads house, my grand parents house and my own house fairly well and have been in all of their places for verious things.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Just moved house 3 weeks ago and Live in the middle of town so Don't know my enighbours and doubt I ever will.
    Surprise them with breakfast some morning. You'll have to break into their house but I'm sure they'll be so delighted with the lovely breakfast they'll overlook it.
    Bonzodog wrote: »
    I've been here in Doughiska about 5 years, I know my neighbours either side, and say hi to them when I see them. I know a few other people around the estate, mainly due to my daughter playing with their kids, so I got to meet them that way.
    I think that's really the only way most people end up being friendly neighbors. You need some one to offload them on. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

No foreigners on my street :pac: Just old people who've been here for yearsssss so yeah know them all (even the newer ones, who made an effort by calling round to each house when they moved in)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭masonman

The day of knowing your Neighbours is dead - thank feck

Good Riddence I say, it was just an excuse to nosy into peoples lives, talk about inane things and annoy people.

Boards has filled that gap for me :pac:

I work with the guy next door. The otherside's door was open when I came in this evening. Thought it was empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Gadfly

masonman wrote: »
    The day of knowing your Neighbours is dead - thank feck

Good Riddence I say, it was just an excuse to nosy into peoples lives, talk about inane things and annoy people.

Absolutely! I talk to one neighbour where I live. And even then it's just a quick hello. A lot of people moved out of my estate due to anti-social behaviour anyway. I'm in the process of going myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,960 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Is "neighbours" just the people on either side? Or everyone in the street? Or the estate? What about in an apartment block, does it mean people on the same floor, or above and below too? How do you answer if you know some of the people but not others? Does sharing a bus-service with someone count as sharing a ride with 'em?

Did the dodgy survey that started this thread define what it meant by "neighbours"? (Pretty sure it didn't: I filled it out for the craic, and was pretty sure that the results would be meaningless).

Rant over.

I live in an apartment above commercial premises. I've met the current tenants in the other flat on my floor, but not the two other sets of tenants who've been through since I moved in. I know their first names, and I know his surname 'cos I've seen it on his mail. I've met the folks in the business directly below, 'cos I trotted down and introduced myself the day I moved in (to head off any noise complaints before they started). I recognise one guy from the multi-flat building across the road, and one guy from the old-people's housing down the road. I certainly wouldn't go up to either of 'em and do the "neighbourly" thing that, that would look like I was being a horrible busy-body or worse.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

We moved in to a nice estate last October and got a warning from our landlord about the girl in the house next to us that she was narky and a nosebag. So basically we kept the head down going in and out. She cornered us one day telling us it was polite when moving into a new place to introduce yourselves to the neighbours. I just told her that we're private people and gave her my name and asked hers. She is narky! She's younger than me!

I sometimes talk to the neighbour on the other side or the couple a few doors up who are always out and about with their little dog, don't know their names.

I dunno, it used to bug me growing up all the nosy neighbours coming over to our house to check us out and bring back the gossip. Definitely don't want that in my adult life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭axiom32

jus found out its alice, 24yrs shed been livin there an i never knew:D

axiom32 wrote: »
    jus found out its alice, 24yrs shed been livin there an i never knew:D

Hook, line.....Anyone gonna bite??? :pac:

I'm humming it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

I know my neighbours, always in here for drinks and bbq. Love knowing them, handy out!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

nope. lived in my current house for over a year.
    only interaction with my neighbour was when i helped change a tire and the other neighbours mail got delivered to my house.

thankfully i dont know them. they would probably feel more comfortable with telling me to shutup in my house.
    Honestly i dont know how they have never complained to me about noise.

Everybody needs good neighbors, with a little understanding you can find the perfect blend. Neighbors should be there for one another because that's when good neighbours become good friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Not exactly related to Galway, but I met my neighbours for the first time last weekend after living there for 7 months... Ended up going out on the lash with them, having a great laugh and finally crawling home to bed at 2pm the next day...
    From now on I'll be making more of an effort to meet new neighbours!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Currently living at home and yeah we know our neighbours well, including regular exchange of favors and over the wall banter.

However, if I moved into a new house I don't think id have the personal need to get to know my neighbours, just exchange greetings when I see them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭ukgalwaymcguire

good morning/afternoon/evening occasionally.
    but no more, i do not want to know my neighbours, people who just happen to live next or near too you is not a basis for friends.
    i love my privacy, and do not want/ need anyone checking out my house
    my furniture, what new purchases i may or may not have recently.
    village attitudes and nosey curtain twitchers no thank you.
    polite aloofness is as far as i go.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

good morning/afternoon/evening occasionally.
    but no more, i do not want to know my neighbours, people who just happen to live next or near too you is not a basis for friends.
    i love my privacy, and do not want/ need anyone checking out my house
    my furniture, what new purchases i may or may not have recently.
    village attitudes and nosey curtain twitchers no thank you.
    polite aloofness is as far as i go.

I don't think most people are like that these days, realistically. Being friendly with your neighbours can be handy. They'll keep half an eye on the place for you while you're away, borrowed cups of sugar etc.

cornbb wrote: »
    I don't think most people are like that these days, realistically. Being friendly with your neighbours can be handy. They'll keep half an eye on the place for you while you're away, borrowed cups of sugar etc.

Perhaps, but its the sh!tty neighbours that spoil it for the rest. Those who are constant Busy bodies. I'd prefer to tar everyone with the same brush and assume they could be a potential "Michael Paine" (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaQhXsmsT48)

Just makes things easier and keeps my privacy and sanity intact.

The Nice neighbours won't lose out much anyway - If I was my neighbor-I'd be perfectly happy with a "Hello-only" relationship :pac: