Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

PlayTV Discussion (reasonable discussion ONLY!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

On the plus side, I'll definitely be watching the final show, I mean at least we know it's going now and it won't just be pulled unexpectedly. I think for the last night's show, this is the only circumsatnce where I think they should do the most ridiculous, unfair puzzles ever!

"What is White?"
    "Berlin":confused:
    "What's the biggest number possible by moving two matches?"
    "Pearl Harbour":confused:

• Subscribers Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭.BrianJM

jhegarty wrote: »
    Where do you see this ?
    looks like it's from www.tv3.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Auld-Yin wrote: »
    looks like it's from www.tv3.ie

Yeah, looks like it ends next week. No big press release or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Ronan Keating

Will all three presenters present the final show. A big lesbian fest with Aoife and the other two. JG might come back in for a bit too. One will have to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Don't you just love Oireactas privilage
    Although I still harbour some concerns, I have no doubt that greater safeguards for the public good will be put in place and that national broadcasters will not carry services such as Play TV, which is essentially a scam and which takes advantage of people. There has been a great deal of publicity in respect of the latter as a result of comments made by the Minister and Deputy Coveney. This, more than anything, illustrated the kind of rip off that can occur when the proper oversight and scrutiny are not in place. I welcome the Bill.
    --Liz McManus TD

http://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2010-03-03.735.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I am surprised that Ballymount has not moved to close that page.

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭highnc

13th March 2010
    Is this it?!? Doesn't look like it's on the other following dates either :(

looks like the BAI will have more spare time now to deal with other issues!!

they should bring JG back for the last show (BMollie will be happy!), I'll definitely be tuning in for the last show.

i'm not surprised it's ending given all the negative press (due to the good work done by Bond, Auld-Yin etc...), low entries and prize money.

good riddance i say!!

Is this true?

no comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

hopefully the papers will give recognition to this thread when they write their article(s) about it's demise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 aurnia

Lurker on thread for about 3 mths when I discoverd both this thread and playtv almost simulationusly and following ye with some interest! :eek::o:D

Will be able to go to sleep at a reasonable time now! Thank god!:o

Not on facebook but would like as others like me I'm sure to see that page if someone can post a capture!

hopefully the papers will give recognition to this thread when they write their article(s) about it's demise
    They will. ;) Don't you worry about that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭matty_fryatt

thanks be to god it is ending.but i will have nothing to laugh at then :( with people ringing in

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭35x

So the end is nigh!...many thanks to all the 'boarders' for incisive /witty/informative boards.....exposing what is one of the most moronic and questionable programmes ever for what it is - a sham. Most amazingly, so many people were fooled to ring in (and to stay up half the night to look at it -mea culpa too! ) But we will miss the banality, the expection of impending disaster each night, the incredible Q's eg the 'safari camel' !!!!!!, the wardrobe dept. and the guessing as to where the Presenters will go from here with P 45's.
    When will the next dodgy programme surface?..be ready lads!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Wow.

I'm shocked and not surprised at the same time.

Shocked at how sudden it is going but not surpised that is going considering how much bad publicity it has been getting, which is damaging for TV3 and also how few people have been calling the show.

According to my Sky TV Guide, tomorrow is the last show, there is no Play TV on after that so I don't know where people are getting March 13 from.

Also, what was on the facebook page, that link just brings me to my home page?

Is this a victory for us here on Boards...I wonder how much of an influence we had?

Would love to hear the spokesperson on TV3 explain the decision to axe it.

it says march 13 on tv3.ie, what programmes does it have instead of play tv 2moro on the sky guide?

the facebook page was nuked earlier this evening.

and can't repeat what it said until someone mentions it in the dail.

it says march 13 on tv3.ie, what programmes does it have instead of play tv 2moro on the sky guide?

On Saturday night/Sunday morning it's alien v Predator at 12.20.

I'm sure that's a film unless that is a cryptic Play TV Spot The Difference epic?

• Subscribers Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭.BrianJM

My GP and cardiologist will be happy - very happy.
    I can get regular early(ish) nights now.

Alien vs Predator is on Saturday night!

murpho999 wrote: »
    On Saturday night/Sunday morning it's alien v Predator at 12.20.

I'm sure that's a film unless that is a cryptic Play TV Spot The Difference epic?

Ned Kelly is on the night before. My EPG only goes as far as Midnight on the 11/12 and it has play TV on all week.

i cannot believe this is the last ep hopfully it will be good :)

so is tonight the last one?

Continuity announcer brings Friday's programmes to a close.

Lady Macbeth with STD. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭dangerpowers

Its scary make-up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

This is most certainly a victory for everyone who has posted in this thread. :D

What's the difference between the play TV presenters, and me?

I have a job. :)

Aoife Baker is a member of the ""****load" is a Standardized Unit of Measurement" group on facebook. Perhaps JG is a member of "Moment is a standard unit of time" group.

so is tonight the last one?

No, according to Sky box it's on tomorrow night.

Saturday is 'Alien v Predator'. Movie
    Sunday is 'Alfie', movie.
    Monday is 'Kidnapped Abroad', a documentary about abductions in Chechya
    Tuesday is 'Cannibal Killer', another documentary.
    Wednesday is 'Holloway' documentary about the prison of same name.
    Thursday is 'Law and Order:UK'

That's as far as it goes. Never seen the Sky Guide being wrong!

Indeed. I just checked my sky box.

It must have been pulled at very short notice.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Indeed. I just checked my sky box.

It must have been pulled at very short notice.

Yes, even quicker than 'Eldorado'

So watch out in the future for Fiona, Aoife & Derval, coming soon to a McDonalds near you!:D

Tomorrow nights envelopes will have P45s in them instead of solutions.

Will check UPC guide tomorrow, but for now it goes right up to Midnight on Thursday.

It will update at 1am with the first hour of friday, but I suspect it will say Play TV as well.

snake monkey lion tiger.

and we will be asked to guess their PPS numbers.

oh yeah i thought it meant this episode was the last on because u said friday,its tomorrows

Goose, Gorilla, Bat, Elephant, Kangaroo.

Yes, they should have Bill Cullen put through as the last caller saying 'You're Fired'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Anyone have a link to the TV3 article saying it's cancelled?
    :) Cheers

Anyone have a link to the TV3 article saying it's cancelled?
    :) Cheers

AFAIK there is no article....yet! We're all just working off missing Play TV on our digiguides!

Horse, Shark, Aligator, Salmon, Puma, Giraffe, Antilope

RTE's printed guide has PlayTV it right up Fri 12th.

Missed the start - was there mention of finishing as in what's the deal with a challenge with herself and Fiona and asking people to ring in marriage proposals?

Oh yeah well done ye all for getting rid of this show. :cool:
    Love puzzles but not on their terms so get a kick of ye solving them esp the triangles and match sticks. Lads ye thought us a great skill there. Kudos

A quote from another boards.ie member on a different thread about the end of PlayTV

"I'll miss the redhead with the great hips. :( "

*snigger*

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭alanatoday

Horse, Shark, Aligator, Salmon, Puma, Giraffe, Antilope
    Pumi!!

aurnia wrote: »
    RTE's printed guide has PlayTV it right up Fri 12th.

RTE Guide listings are not very reliable, printed at least a week in advance.

A quote from another boards.ie member on a different thread about the end of PlayTV

"I'll miss the redhead with the great hips. :( "

*snigger*

link?

I wonder if the hasty departure is anything to do with a certain piece of legislation becoming law next week?

link?

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64755242&postcount=9

Location is Cork, could be Eileen Nolan! ;)

from the kildarestreet link i posted earlier there seems to have been a grace period while ComReg get their asses in gear.

murpho999 wrote: »
    RTE Guide listings are not very reliable, printed at least a week in advance.

I know so if it's pulled it's been done fairly quickly.

Oh and someone mentioned the presenters not getting much grub over in Budapest. Had noticed or thought that all 3 current girls lost a bit of weight recently if you compare to their pics on playtv website esp Fiona and even Aoife.