Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Seeding in Australia (Picture heavy)

• 08-07-2009 8:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭

Just made a video there of what i have been up to since April,
    The quality is really sh!tty on youtube for some reason, it looks grand on the laptop, I threw up some pictures as well...enjoy.

2674D6F23ED04CD2853700CC444C5664-500.jpg

70A35B0ED33D4C4CB9BE575158716A00-500.jpg

2F6A0728DB254C10A371110E8ED9C3CE-500.jpg

14ADC09E86474F95A9B5A6C55A36A81A-500.jpg

6B67344D1ACE4BACB7815062D3DA5C2A-500.jpg

38E33418D1A74F57ABC729C325967415-500.jpg

8DD88A942A4646C39CDE5BA5DF0463A3-500.jpg

E7985449AA354592ABB6BFBDB91AC7AB-500.jpg

2ABFEE58651344E8B9F9D1F29C35F103-500.jpg

31994D1B25E5452E86BAE79690347ACF-500.jpg

D6AD5704A64644B58F45D3EE60CE9B4D-500.jpg

F3363CDB588F4BE3BC957FD37B6862A6-500.jpg

1DDF08683DCA4DDC88906B0FB6162A03-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

were ye useing gps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

bk1991 wrote: »
    were ye useing gps ?

yeah, mostly with sub inch accuracy. I was thinkin of bringing a couple of second hand units back with me. Do many lads use them here, do you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

Excellent photos sir.

A boy from home was doing that sort of work out in OZ a year ago as well. Did you find it boring? While size of machinery! Jesus I would love to do it.

what sort of gps systems are they are ther self steering ?.. most of the gps used here is lightbar systems u use the leds to keep her straight .. what do u think of the work ..id love do iit what sort of gps units can u get second hand ?

bk1991

Yeah, they are all self steer. I have used Beeline, Hemisphere Outback, and Topcon.

Who sell gps in Ireland? You wouldnt have a number or a website would you?

The work is grand like, im a bit of a machinery nut, love driving like, so I enjoyed it. Long hours alright, averaging 90 to 100 hours a week like but you dont feel it. There isnt much else to do out there like.

As for the GPS units, they are old beeline units, it kind of 'friend of a friend' has them like.

farmworks.ie sell that sort of stuff in ireland
    was it only sowing u did over there .
    how long u spen over there ?
    is it seven days a week job
    which tractor u driven
    id love do something like that or mabey combine crew in americia
    what sort of set up ist the gps ?

for self steer over here the price for new works out like 2 or 3 grand i think might be wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭mooverlive

super show mate

Thanks for the link.
    I have been here since September, came over for the harvest. I did that until January, Worked with a spray contractor then for a while, an went back harvesting then for a week (seed lucerne) before starting the seeding. i will throw up a few pictures there...Usually you work seven days a week alright, we used only stop for rain or a breakdown.
    I was thinking for heading to America myself for the maize/silage harvest in California, but the Irish have been removed from the list of countries allowed to apply for the H2A visa.

The auto steer seems to be a fairly simple set up as far as i can tell, you take a feed of oil out of the main pump outflow pipe and divert in to a separate valve chest with a return going back into the main return. This valve chest is then connected to the pipes in and out of the steering rams in a Y formation so the rams will move and steer the tractor from either the steering wheel or the autosteer valve chest. The valves are then connected to actuators wired up to the computer along with a steering angle position sensor.

I thing for a new hemisphere system here (sub inch accuracy), it costs 17,000 dollars, but that is using its own base station on site.

More pictures and videos here...this is a vidoe of us on the harvest

13A929B1E7C643AE88CD40CC595D7B62-800.jpg

042E0C64507249C8B7536D9228CA457E-800.jpg

934063D394C545C2B471D958C3787405-800.jpg

C11859A092CC417DB4AA0B3F5B4E6EBF-800.jpg

C08C38601095420C9545B6984BF4E14D-800.jpg

B7D6600D13014AA7A131634666879E59-800.jpg

41BE19F4473648CFA15E01CD94D7003B-800.jpg

067A073CFF784BF0984A17F01CABA12F-800.jpg

242A7A5B2A1D41DF9A7CDCC5062666F4-800.jpg

F878451BF89A45F29E4165E08D6C790A-800.jpg

DB3F9B2C623B4E5DA60AAAC9CFF66E60-800.jpg

121C5591EAE34123AFB4EC15144AD341-800.jpg

79AE0C42FDC142F29323D37827A1B50C-800.jpg

82C5C7683A5846249FAB4DFD73BEC0B3-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

Great photos!! I like the one in the fuel station

You should send photos into classic tractor magazines power on the land photo competition, you might win something

nice machinery there the scale of the farming out must be big change to here
    how did u find the work ?
    many irish out there ? from all the work you did which did you find more interesting ? did you have experience before going over or were you trained ?different set up of sprayers over there booms in front!

the gps sounds like a different set up than here i think

There is a much more technical guide on installation here (PDF)
    http://www.ravenprecision.com/Manuals/pdf/016-9001/021A.pdf

The scale here is totally different, like out here a paddock less than 100ha is relatively small.When we were seeding, we would be doing over 20ha per hour per tractor, spraying with the john deere, maybe 40 ha per hour and the miller would knock out 70ha per hour easily.

There are a good few Irish lads out the country alright, most working for their 2 year visa. (need to do 3 months work in a rural area).

The only experience I had was working for a contractor every summer. In fairness, if you have a bit of common sense and a cop-on, they will let you drive anything.

The harvesting was good craic because there was a good group of lads there, there was 5 Irish, 2 french, dutch, German and 3 English working there. I wouldn't do the harvest for that company again though. You can make more money with other contractors...

Yeah Miller do the front mounted boom alright, very easy to watch for blocked nozzles, and obsticales. I was up on a John Deere 4930 and Rogator aswell, but i would prefer the front mounted boom myself.

where did you find the work before going out there ?
    how did the driver liciences work out did u have to sit a cdl or somthing do ye transport the combines sprayers on the road or use trucks i watched the custom cutters dvd that followed the custom cutters i n the us throughout thes season would be a great experience to do it is part of the ag mechanisation in palaskenry college so hopefully when i get that far i might do it ... whats the liveing arrangements over there like ?.