Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking News: The Virgin Mary appears on a tree in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

lourdes has become an important location money-spinner for the RC Church
    Fixed it for you.

I intend to spend at least 20 minutes tomorrow morning stirring my bowl of Corn Flakes until the face of Richard Dawkins appears in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

fryup wrote: »
    you know, looking at it closely it sort of reminds me of this...

Wasn't Edvard Munch's the Scream stolen in 2006? Rathkeale??? hmmm sounds dodgy I bet a couple of the lads hid it in a crack in the tree trunk and it mutated into the "apparition". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

I would also like to say that mary isnt a virgin, seriously angels didn't come down and plant god magic seed Joseph gave her one in front of the donkey!!!

and the wise men where probably pissed....

lol, she could well have been a virgin, say if she gave him a hj, some of it was on his fingers and he put them where god didnt intend!
    and hey presto, a virgin mother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Barking mad.

Just build a road thru it, that'll put a stop to this new worshipping trees thing.

Is this a Green Party's propaganda thing to save the trees? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Fracture wrote: »
    lol, she could well have been a virgin, say if she gave him and hj, some of it was on his fingers and he put them where god didnt intend!
    and hey presto, a virgin mother!

Thanks for that. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭achtungbarry

Atheists find rival miracle tree stump.

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a238/achtungbarry/dawkinstree.jpg?t=1247176156

Ours is much better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Went up to see the 'miracle' again tonight. About 150 people up there about half an hour ago, all round the stump saying the rosary. Is like a circus,theres dogs,kids roaming around.

Some knacker asked me if I was from da media,wanted to do an interview with me. Minibuses been going through Rathkeale all day apparently.
    There's no sign of this madness ending soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭shindig-jp

The other side of the holy stump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

Had to laugh at what the TV3 news reader said. After they were talking about the stump they were talking about Padraig Harrington and he said that harrington should get a miracle from the stump.

Gotta love newsreaders not being biased or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

A local radio station down the wesht are on the case, mild hilarity ensues:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭colly_browy

TV3 report featuring some surreal interviews:
    http://www.tv3.ie/news.php?video=11131&locID=1.2.141

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

TV3 report featuring some surreal interviews:
    http://www.tv3.ie/news.php?video=11131&locID=1.2.141

Hmm... could they not find one person in the whole town who was even a tad skeptical? Its unfair to be presenting it like the whole of Co Limerick are convinced about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

It's nice that people believe in miracles, and i believe in miracles, but this is just a tree stump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Gear9992

They make a big deal out of this, but when the image of Jesus comes out my backside, nobody cares :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

How does it compare with the Holy stone of Clonrickert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Well it looks like the apparation is making a name for itself alright. It is on the front page of Yahoo now!

And our two most famous priests even came to take a look at it today :D:D

loltastic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Well it looks like the apparation is making a name for itself alright. It is on the front page of Yahoo now!

And our two most famous priests even came to take a look at it today :D:D

loltastic :pac:
    jaysus thatll be good for irelands international image: really steering away from the mucksavages motif arent we.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

were on UK news now

they talked (laughed) about it on GMTV

god we're embarrising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Stump

Stump

You can see what you want to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

She's once, twice, tree times a lady...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

mukki wrote: »
    were on UK news now

god we're embarrising

oh no......all we need now is Fr Neil Horan to turn up and do a dance...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MyhTRoEP7Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

How the hell is that the virgin Mary?
    Now when she appeared in this painting you can tell its her. That is spooky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The report on TV3 news....oh deary me. These people are all mentally ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

The report on TV3 news....oh deary me. These people are all mentally ill.

well they do say that the Irish are ..half mad

maybe this proves it:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

We just need to get a group together and just go and tear the bloody thing down.. there will be books, films, documentaries made about it if we don't get in there quick enough which will just prolong our nations embarrassement.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

its a church set up ,you will all be running back to mass this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

I am the Virgin Mary. There are many people who have lost their faith and are disillusioned with the Catholic Church at present. I will reveal myself to the good people of this land and restore their faith........BY APPEARING AS A SPLODGE ON A F*CKING TREE........IN LIMERICK!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

mukki wrote: »
    were on UK news now

god we're embarrising

was on the five live breakfast news bulletin also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Limerick's almost up there with Louth now, in terms of national embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

is this surprising? there are statues all over the place asserting that a lady who lived 2000 years ago in and around nazereth has appeared to youngsters in lourdes and fatima...and discussed the choices made in russia after the overthrow of the cruel tsars of russia...??

what is the difference between lourdes fatima and the tree at rathkeale?

Rathkeale isn't a good tourist destination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

SAPS!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Limerick's almost up there with Louth now, in terms of national embarrassment.

Thanks for that :P

It is a bit of a joke now. Next thing someone will she her in a cloud formation or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Here's that TV3 report again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

ì'm stumped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Here's that TV3 report again

If you skip to 1:42 she appears in a block of stone too and a lot clearer but there all to busy looking at the tree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

mary just appeared in my garden and said tell dem eejits in limerick that I wouldn't appear in Limerick even if you paid me, even if godless russia was converted to irish roman catholicism....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

****ing genius bubble speech in that video! :D:D:D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I once saw a vision of mary. She was getting a piggy back off of a clown.
    Vergin' on the ridiculous that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ShooterSF wrote: »
    If you skip to 1:42 she appears in a block of stone too and a lot clearer but there all to busy looking at the tree!

Ach it was just a chip of the ould block.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭1huge1

mary just appeared in my garden and said tell dem eejits in limerick that I wouldn't appear in Limerick even if you paid me, even if godless russia was converted to irish roman catholicism....:cool:
    Is that the best attempt at being funny because I seriously belive you need to get back to the drawing board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 queequeg

If you squint at it sideways it looks like Osama bin Laden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I'd love to go around cutting trees in the shape of this all around the country. The tv coverage would be great craic to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

By way of combining two of the week's stories...
    " frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 igotone

Cynics! The lord works in mysterious ways.

Its very easy to make quick judgements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭masonman

igotone wrote: »
    Cynics! The lord works in mysterious ways.

Its very easy to make quick judgements

And its fun too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭sqlpod

They've spiked the Holywater in church again.
    Just wait untill the munchie's start, they will eat the fcuking thing by morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I'm not reading this entire thread so apologies if this has been said too many times:

1. This is retarded. Seriously. And I rarely use that word to describe anything.
    2. A friend of mine has a friend who put up a tonne of photos of this particular tree stump on facebook. That's not really retarded. However, in all of the photos people are touching the tree stump with that reverence you expect from people the first time they have sexual congress with another person. That's retarded.
    3. Also, it barely has a shape that would remind you of the shape of the lego people in the 70s before the lego people got arms. Does it look like the virgin Mary? Heavens no. Short word, begins with 'R', guess which one it is.

Some of these people don't realise that it's 2009 and that fairies aren't on the menu these days. Even the staunch Catholics (erm, especially the staunch Catholics when i think about it) would see this as little more than imagination idolatry but I'm sure someone's outside selling ice-cream cones anyway. I can only hope that all the locals are giggling into their sleeves in the hope that people will come from around the country to see this and buy a few oranges in the corner shop. because if they're not giggling up their sleeves I'm a little worried, though it won't keep me awake at night (I'm too busy giggling at them).

You know that hundreds of people have turned up to see this thing? Anyone up for burning some toast into the shape of Jesus or Michael Jackson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

sceptre wrote: »
    .....Anyone up for burning some toast into the shape of Jesus or Michael Jackson?

Wash your mouth out.....it's the image of their mother we're talking about...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Sportacus

Its no Holy stone of Clonrichert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

It's on the front of the Sky News website....Cringe.......