Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Voodoo Card Club Opens this weekend, 10th - 12th July...

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Germag

I am still awaiting a reply to my question. ( Who are the backers, and where is Luke now)

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Germag wrote: »
    I am still awaiting a reply to my question. ( Who are the backers, and where is Luke now)

Luke I believe is in the poker club in the plaza hotel in Tallaght - nothing to do with Voodoo.

Voodoo's founders are mentioned on their website last time I looked...

voodoocardclub.com or something

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭bigslick

any chance of having a satellite before the hundred game? That'll be a good way of getting the likes of me through the door. :-)

Cheers

+1 Satellites are my forte :D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

AdMMM wrote: »
    DeV openly admitting to multi-accounting? :p
    heheh, I knew someone was going to bring that up! Damned if I do etc...

It wont always be me posting under VoodooCC. That account is a "rep" account which will speak on behalf of the club, in an official capacity. Its the way I would like the entire forum to go in fact, official reps who can be taken to task for what they say and what they can be held as being officially from that organisation. But thats a much wider Boards thing tbh.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭VoodooCC

Sorry Germag I missed your question before.

The backers list is long and considerable, the primary founders are listed in the OP by the way.

Luke Ivory has his own club in Tallaght and is not involved with this club.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Friday night game looks good, hope I can make it along soon.

In the surprising absence of a comment from RoundTower I'll step in and ask the question; why isn't this thread in the Live tournaments and events section?
    :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

You can check out here on their website
    http://voodoocardclub.com/aboutus.php

Luke doesn't have anything to do with this, why would you assume that....

:mad::):mad::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭VoodooCC

Friday night game looks good, hope I can make it along soon.

In the surprising absence of a comment from RoundTower I'll step in and ask the question; why isn't this thread in the Live tournaments and events section?
    :p
    We approached the moderators before creating this thread to ask if it was acceptible on the basis that other "launch" threads were posted here too.
    They concured and we posted this thread.

This thread ideally should be for questions and answers about the club itself, which to be fair is a reasonably large development in Dublin poker and justifies a thread here.

We'll try to keep the tournie specific things to the tournie forum but its not unreasonable to answer general questions in the general forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Germag

smurph wrote: »
    You can check out here on their website
    http://voodoocardclub.com/aboutus.php

Luke doesn't have anything to do with this, why would you assume that....

:mad::):mad::)
    Thanks Col, I know Luke has nothing to do with this, I was just asking as someone in a previous post mentions his name, O.K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nick V

any chance of having a satellite before the hundred game? That'll be a good way of getting the likes of me through the door. :-)

Cheers
    Single table 9-handed SNG satellites will be available from 6pm tomorrow. Either a €13 single seat or €25 buy-in awarding two seats depending on demand. Hopefully with enough demand we can get a few people into the evening event.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Kimba

PM sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭goldclubcasino

DeVore wrote: »
    Speaking on my own behalf here, I know for a fact we will be promoting the tournaments strongly. I am sitting down with the founders this week to consult on that and I completely agree with DITPoker, build-it-and-they-will-come simply isnt an option these days. We have to offer things that others dont, but we also have to offer the basics too!

As for the tournie structure, I'm actually confused when you say its designed to get people into cash games, because then you continued on to say its too long...

I played 4 tournies this weekend and I liked the structure, I knew I was going deep each time by the middle of the tournie but I didnt feel it was ever crapshooty. Even the freeroll last night I had 40 BB's when we made the tickets.

We are all well aware that we've had a very successful launch but the real question is building a loyal and happy player-base. That takes time and it takes promotion. Its up to us to demonstrate that we deserve the business.

To give you an idea of the commitment to that idea, my whole role in the club (apart from winning tournaments :p) is to liase with the players and represent them to the founders. And vice versa. I will be doing that under the VoodooCC account when speaking officially to avoid misunderstandings etc. The fact that the founders are thinking in those terms, I hope indicates their commitment to genuinely conversing with the people who make the club go.

DeV.

I wasn't allowed to do this when i wasnted to continue my old account(setting up this account only to post anything official from the Gold Club). It got banned for multi accounting :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

This just in: the world's not fair. More at 11!

You also probably don't get bitched at a thousand times a day about Boards. You win some, you lose some.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Is Derek Kelly formerly of Cool Hand Lukes one of the founders/backers of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

Is Derek Kelly formerly of Cool Hand Lukes one of the founders/backers of this?
    Yes.

eoghan104 wrote: »
    Yes.

I reckon people should have a read of the blog in Bohsmans sig so.

Whatever happened in the past is fair enough people will make their own judgements on it. This thread however is not the place to discuss it or to point towards a blog discussing it.

You should delete your post IMO.

Whatever happened in the past is fair enough people will make their own judgements on it. This thread however is not the place to discuss it or to point towards a blog discussing it.

You should delete your post IMO.

Im not discussing it. But I disagree it shouldn't be pointed towards. People should know who they are dealing with.

No intention of deleting it. Report it if you want, if the mods decide to delete it then fair enough but I don't see anything wrong with it at all.

Im not discussing it. But I disagree it shouldn't be pointed towards. People should know who they are dealing with.

No intention of deleting it. Report it if you want, if the mods decide to delete it then fair enough but I don't see anything wrong with it at all.
    Now dont get me wrong, I have my own judgements of what happened, but to say "people should know what they are dealing with" by pointing to a random blog entry is hardly fair. Whats to say that random blog entry is fact?

That is why I think its unfair to link the blog in this thread. If there was a link to arguments from both sides fair enough but there is not.

Now dont get me wrong, I have my own judgements of what happened, but to say "people should know what they are dealing with" by pointing to a random blog entry is hardly fair. Whats to say that random blog entry is fact?

That is why I think its unfair to link the blog in this thread. If there was a link to arguments from both sides fair enough but there is not.

I am not aware of any counter argument and if I was Id happily point towards it.

Nothing is to say it is fact but that doesn't mean people shouldnt be made aware of it, let them decide whether they want to believe it.

I think that if people intend on frequenting this club then they should have a read of the blog.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Fair play for attracting lots of attention to said blog yous two.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Derek Kelly is one of the team. A team I'm very happy to work with to be honest.

Also in the group is Eamonn and Willow, Daisy, me, Per Hildebrand and others, if you have an issue with Derek thats fine but there are many more people involved here. My personal experience of him is that he works like a trojan and if you do right by him he will do right by you. Others mileage may vary. This is all off topic.

I'm sure you could find as many people (many of them the same) who would happily dance on my grave.

But this thread is about a new collective club and its future. Thanks.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Thinking of trying out the Tournament in the Vodoo tonight?
    anyone up for a last longest boardsie bet?

I'm in... I've run so good lately I'm bound to crash out first hand :):)

I'm hoping to drag Connie in too if I can, not sure what his plans are in the "big schmoke loike, boi!"

DeV.
    ps: I'm going to ask them to run a Boards night like we used to do in the fitz too at some stage, along the lines of the old Suitedaces meet ups.

Speaking of which, I was only talking to a few of the lads who did the Fistful of Shamrocks ... anyone remember them.... Ionapaul, where are you? :p

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭hotspur

DeVore wrote: »
    Speaking of which, I was only talking to a few of the lads who did the Fistful of Shamrocks ... anyone remember them.... Ionapaul, where are you? :p

DeV.

Take Thatesque reunion needed for a gimmick bounty tourney imo. €10k for anyone who manages to knock Oscar out of it :)

I was in here last night for the first time and I have to say I'm very impressed with the setup. Its a great, warm, friendly place for cards and I wish the club every success.

The pool table is a brilliant idea and although I didnt sample the food I was impressed with the simple and good value menu.

I have to leave one criticism though........... Its absolutley criminal having the gaming tables tucked away upstairs where degens like me might miss them. Even one blackjack table and a roullette wheel downstairs would suffice but you have the give the punters a good chance to do their dough. Obviously table games are important for a clubs survival so I think you need to do something about this.

Just my 2c and overall i was very impressed, Ill be back.

Eoghan

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

ditpoker wrote: »
    Also, be the first club to have 50c/1 as their main game, and 1/2 as their big game. be the recession busting card club.

Fitzpatricks in Tallaght already do this and have separate cash leagues for both games.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

My suggestion would be to, occasionally, have a satellite night to some of the bigger events.

Have the satellite properly structured and not some €10 multi rebuy & multi topup crapshoot. Take a look at the way Larry used to structure & run satellites in the Westbury IMO

Best of luck with the club. Will pop in some night for a game