Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever Decreasing Circles:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

So, it's not Limerick. Is it Kildare or Cork? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

menoscemo wrote: »
    So, it's not Limerick. Is it Kildare or Cork? :D
    Prace ur bets, prace ur bets ;)

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Prace ur bets, prace ur bets ;)

Hmmm if it's Kildare then that's only a two week taper, but that's closer to home and you have a free entry ;).

That's the one I'm going with anyway. Can we get Brianderunner to do up some odds?

I best not influence the betting so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

My money is on cork.

Nice 90 minute recovery spin with the 2:36 man. Out the back roads to Delgany into a stiff breeze and the back the N11 through Ashford. Stopped off at Mount Usher for a brew, but we were 15 mins before opening time [FAIL - Avoca not us]. So headed on home for homemade waffles and a nice coffee.
    Body was generally ok after yesterday, went to bed in the Skins and only the calves were giving out a little.
    41k in 90mins

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

You'd probably be pretty awesome at a duathlon. Have you ever done one?

Dory Dory wrote: »
    You'd probably be pretty awesome at a duathlon. Have you ever done one?

It's the evil multi-sport genie - stay away - stay away :p
    Seriously, I may do one for the craic in Sept as there's one on my doorstep, but if I started to get competitive my family would never see me. So happy to be a runner who likes to cycle from time to time.

Wicklow Sailfest 5 mileish - 3rd

This was on my doorstep so supporting the fundraising effort and a good tempo workout wouldn't do any harm. I think I have a touch of Plantar Fasciitis so you tubed some taping techniques last night and felt reasonably ok this morning.
    So stuck my gear in backpack and jogged the long way to the start (2 miles) as a bit of a warm up. The wind when I stepped outside the front door was blowing a gale, and this was not a fast course anyway, so fun and games lay in wait. I ran the 1st 2 miles of the course in reverse and along the top road I was getting blown down the road at a rate of knots. Got down to registration and met a few familiar faces from the local club, had a chat with Abhainn who was watching/babysitting and went for a few strides before the off.
    A smallish field gathered for this one which starts off running up the Marlton Rd cliff face, but thankfully with a tailwind. The race took shape pretty quickly with Fin shooting to the front followed by another runner I didn't recognize. I stayed in a pack 5 just making sure I stepped out to the side to take any advantage the tailwind had to offer - a slow 6:35 for mile one. Then we turned into the gale force wind. I have to say I was glad I was not running full out as this was not pretty and I sat behind 2 runners taking what shelter there was on offer, which was very little. At about 1.6 miles we crested the hill and as I knew the kids would be at the bottom of the road, I put in a little spurt a cruised down the hill to make sure they could maximize their photo opportunities. After the waves and cheers I realized that even downhill it was a futile exercise trying to beat the wind so I eased off and stepped in behind one of the runners who was keen to lead out - Mile 2 6:44 :eek:. Mile 3 we are still running into a severe headwind and I'm happy just to sit in as we start passing the walkers - Mile 3 a little better at 6:14. At this stage in the race and in the conditions I can feel the 20 miler in the legs and as time wasn't a consideration anymore this became a race, me sitting behind 3rd working out when to make my move. In the 4th mile I started trying a few accelerations which were great and showed I had another gear and after another climb against the wind we clicked 6:23. Shortly after the start of the 5th mile you are back on the flat and for the 1st time in the race have the wind in your favor, that was the invitation that I needed and I dropped the pedal, opened the stride and pushed the hips forward quickly putting distance between myself and 3rd. Ran the last (short) mile at 5:28 pace with Garmin showing sections at sub 4:20 pace to finish in 30:44 watch time for 4.88 Garmin miles, 3rd overall, 2nd Master.
    Good workout, went on a mile warm down, had a feed, collected my prize and then warmed down on the 1st 2 miles of the course again - wind, wind, go away.
    Solid but diverse week, 2 races, 2 med bike rides, 1 x 20 mile run.

WTD: 42.1M (67.7k)
    MTD: 180.4M (290.2k)
    YTD: 656.6M (1056.5k)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Well done Dom, some fine strategic running in tough winds today. Look after the Plantar Fasciitis. Don't want it playing havoc with your summer running plans.

Just a nice recovery run this evening.
    Hit the nice soft and lush parkland of Shanganagh which was even softer and lusher after the recent rain. This was one of those prescribed runs, Doctor's orders, take one of these and you'll feel better type of runs. Great to see the park starting to get busier as April winds down.
    Me, I ran at a perceived easy pace, started off with some calf tightness, finished wanting to do more, but stuck with the plan.
    7.5 miles @ 7:48 pace.

Gosh, I feel better after reading your post. Sounds lovely. :)

Alarm Time: 03:45 :eek:
    Dublin Weather: 4 degrees, strong northerly wind and rain.

Run Time: 18:30
    Local Weather: 31 degrees, gentle breeze, clear skies :D

Had planned today as a rest day, but took the opportunity to get something short in before heading out for dinner. Left the hotel heading through the city center, passing several signs showing temperatures ranging from 31 degrees to 38, I'll take the lower number. Navigating about 1k of cobble lock before crossing the Danube at 1.5 miles. From there a nice section on cycle paths, running between the aqua-duct and the Danube facing the sun - ah bliss. Before turning and heading back, starting to heat up now I can only empathize with our Boston runners who ran 20 miles more in this heat. Back through the city running the .22 miles past the hotel to bring up 10k and also so I can walk back to cool down.

Ahoj Ahoj Bratislava! - 6.22 miles @ 7:36 pace - nicely cooked :cool:

Nice early morning run across the city, temperatures were a pleasant 19 degrees at 6am local. 4 easy miles followed by a 7 min mile just to stay loose.
    Stopped half way to have a stretch looking out across the Danube to the chorus of a couple of ducks - quack quack from beep beep.

Weather Update: Heavy Rain, 15 degrees.

A wet and soggy run this morning as I joined a colleague for a recovery run pretty much repeating Tuesday evening's route. This was a case of umbrella dodging as commuters rain for cover and attempted several blind side moves from buses. Made for an interesting run until we made it across the river.

The squids were heading to the skate park in Arklow so I decided to run down there to meet them. A nice breezy undulating trot along the coast, kept it in the 7:20 range until halfway, then thew in 3 miles at MP and then went back to easy pace again. Finished up bang at the entrance to the Arklow Bay hotel, so strolled through there and over to the skate park.
    12 @ 7:10 pace

Took my DIY strapping off my foot last night to give it a break and it was tender for the 1st few steps this morning, decided to leave it free, stuck on the 230's and planned some of nature's reflexology.
    So headed up to Devil's Glen this morning to meet the Slí Cualann crew.
    Beautiful run up to Tiglin where the trails are in great shape, although a bit of work to be done to remove some winter debris. Ran back down to the car park for a quick drink and then ran the river loop. This was more of a sloppy affair and the power shower had to earn it's corn when I got back home.
    7.16 easy miles @ 8min pace

An ok week, good to keep the discipline while travelling, although the diet was a bit of a train wreck. My penance is being dragged to see Jedward :o

WTD: 43.8M (70.5k)
    MTD: 36.3M (58.5k)
    YTD: 700.5M (1127.5k)

I had to google "Jedward". :eek: Wow, that's some penance. While you're there, can you ask John if he feels it's fair that the band contains the entire name of his brother, Edward, while he only gets a "J"? Have fun! :D

They've been called a lot of things in their time but that's a first :D

For any fans out there :D
    In all fairness.......they were [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL]
    459416_3615505800616_1662987617_2766398_1807262569_o.jpg

Monday - rest day, if fannying about Ikea and then assembling a load of sh1t I didn't want counts as rest!
    Tuesday - easy run plus 4 x 600mts leg looseners - loverly weather what?

So....the word "fanny" is frowned upon in these parts...but its variation "fannying" is ok? Trying to get up to snuff pre-visit. ;)

fannying
    To mess about, to waste time on needless activities, largely resulting in a commendable achievment of **** all. Often causing lateness. Also called "fannying about" by the more conservative of you. Females specialise in fannying, hence the term "fanny". However there are famous males such as George Bush who bear the hallmarks of fannying. The Iraq war being one of George Bush's most famous incidents of fannying about.

It's not frowned upon. It's just if a female friend told me she had been bike riding and "had a pain in her bum" I wouldn't blink and eye, but if she had "a pain in her fanny" I'd suggest looking at the angle of her saddle ;)

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    fannying
    To mess about, to waste time on needless activities, largely resulting in a commendable achievment of **** all. Often causing lateness. Also called "fannying about" by the more conservative of you. Females specialise in fannying, hence the term "fanny". However there are famous males such as George Bush who bear the hallmarks of fannying. The Iraq war being one of George Bush's most famous incidents of fannying about.

And that's a polite way of putting it!

Well after Rotterdam I decided pretty quickly that I wanted to put the training to some use and although the 7/7 plan wasn't ideal (7 weeks training, 7 tapering) I said I'd give it a lash anyway. Joe and Mick were pacing so I'd be in safe hands.
    So it was road-trip time with 3 legends (Abhainn, Krusty and TFBubendorfer). Conditions were good, about 10 degrees, sunny and apart from a stiff breeze as good as you could hope for. I was treated to the 'Elite/Pacer' enclosure which meant a nice relaxed pre start with the lads, thanks Anto and team.
    Start went well and I sat in behind the lads dodging the pacing balloons that were creating some drag factor for the boys, these were duly set free after about a mile. Me I felt pretty relaxed up to halfway which we went through in 1:29:30 ish, taking gels at 6 and 12. A few climbs after halfway meant a bit of work, but I was still clipping along. But at 15 I was loosing touch a little with the 3hr train, but worked back up to the group easily enough and stayed there for 2 miles but a combination of a tight groin and a non so great training run in meant that sub 3 was slipping away so I made a decision to ease off and use the rest as a training run and focus on completing my 1st marathon without walking. I ran the rest of the race at about 7:45 pace with some slower miles towards the end as I emptied after deciding not to take any gels in the 2 half.
    So that's it 3:09:00 (waiting for the official result) average HR 156 (too low).
    Body has recovered pretty well with the help of some re-hydrating craft beers
    Marathons and I may not be just finished yet :rolleyes:

Well done, you got the London GFA time anyway (sub 3:10). Now all you need is someone with a UK address ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Congrats BeepBeep. Great time for the first marathon, and even if it wasn't your goal time it's still a PB! :D
    Enjoy the beers.

Definitley congratulations are in order....and a big WOO HOO too!! And I can't believe I am actually saying this to someone as I have never had the honor of doing so before...but....welcome to the marathon club!!!!!!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

well done, now you can do some propper races for the summer :).