Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Anglers Rest - A plaice :-) for fishy tales - it was HOW big !!

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

Big fresh fish being reported from the river maine in kerry... 12 pound bar of sliver....

Undulates and stingers all being caught in tralee bay at the moment... 40 pound stinger caught by local angler while fishing with sea angler magazines journalists... It should be in next months mag...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

lol... how you do that... !!!

danbrosnan wrote: »
    lol... how you do that... !!!

Right click on the image you want and click copy image URL, when you go to post here then click the box that says inserts image and paste the URL in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

So, myself an a friend were in Dun Laoighre trying for some mackerel. I st up one rod on a cigar float and the other on feathers, just incase there was a shoal, I set the depth knot to high an when I was reelin in my first cast on the float it got caught on rocks! Tried for bout 10 mins to free it up with no joy so the line snapped above the float, we could see it just under the surface, after bout 5 mins of watchin it, it disappeared!! Another 15 mins pass an the float reappears!! Grabbed the rod with the feathers on it to try get my tackle back, worked out well as I got the float an stuff back but there was a nice 2.5-3lb wrasse on the end of the line!!!! Couldn belive my luck, and neither could the other anglers on the pier!!!
    I have pics but can't seem to put them up!!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=666229760058834&l=14b20d9f44

We had an all nighter at in derrymore island on wednesday night, 16 undulate ray, 3 throwback, 3 bass, doggys and flounders...

danbrosnan wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=666229760058834&l=14b20d9f44

We had an all nighter at in derrymore island on wednesday night, 16 undulate ray, 3 throwback, 3 bass, doggys and flounders...

Still cant insert the image it wont read when i insert the copyed link...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

gumbo1 wrote: »
    So, myself an a friend were in Dun Laoighre trying for some mackerel. I st up one rod on a cigar float and the other on feathers, just incase there was a shoal, I set the depth knot to high an when I was reelin in my first cast on the float it got caught on rocks! Tried for bout 10 mins to free it up with no joy so the line snapped above the float, we could see it just under the surface, after bout 5 mins of watchin it, it disappeared!! Another 15 mins pass an the float reappears!! Grabbed the rod with the feathers on it to try get my tackle back, worked out well as I got the float an stuff back but there was a nice 2.5-3lb wrasse on the end of the line!!!! Couldn belive my luck, and neither could the other anglers on the pier!!!
    I have pics but can't seem to put them up!!

That's some wrasse for the East Coast

Loads of macks in black head co clare yesterday evening at high tide.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

About 5.5 feet long and 35lb in weight.

Swimming around nibbling at my bait and then fighting with another conger eel in a mere 4 feet of water.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 jwkbyrne

it can really only accomadate a small number of rods. In recent years it's been discovered by eastern europeans who seem to fish it whatever the weather at substantial risk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5f7E95Vmbs
    jaysus, they're off they're heads, that's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Stressica

saw a few large fish jumping in water last night when there was a large shoal of polllock and a few mackerel in... could they have been salmon?

Also, there is a large gullet where I fish and was bringing up feathers and next thing boom, something's tugging away on line and the rods bending over, and hides back under a rock, and had no choice but to break line (it broke itself once a few times too) and then when we try again, same thing happens although sometimes it lets go, either a monster of a Pollock or crabs (brought one up last year attached to the weight lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

Stressica wrote: »
    saw a few large fish jumping in water last night when there was a large shoal of polllock and a few mackerel in... could they have been salmon?

Also, there is a large gullet where I fish and was bringing up feathers and next thing boom, something's tugging away on line and the rods bending over, and hides back under a rock, and had no choice but to break line (it broke itself once a few times too) and then when we try again, same thing happens although sometimes it lets go, either a monster of a Pollock or crabs (brought one up last year attached to the weight lol)

Large fish were Bass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Stressica

that's what I thought, they've never been caught where I am (although to tell you truth never tried), People catch a lot on the beach though. yesterday they were far out enough though, near a rocky outcrop

so far what I have caught where we are is mackerel/pollock/wrasse and I've heard people caught a few lings.

crab be a good bait for them? as wrasse feed on the bottom where do bass feed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

Bass can show up anywhere. If they are bashing the Macks and Pollock then use something to imitate a Mack or a Pollock, or stick a live one on under a float. Crab will work for Bass, freeline a peeler 2-3 breakers out always works but if they are tuned in on fish then its best to imitate what they are feeding on. Bass feed top and bottom, my favourite method is surface lures as the takes are explosive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Wont start a new thread for this....its more of pub question :pac:

Does anyone know what a conor (connor?) fish is? I have seen them mentioned in a local history book i am just finished reading. Paraphrasing but the book said during the famine locals sustained their diet with "mackerel, pollock and conor fish". Also the wifes friend told me she went out with her uncle during the summer and caught a conor fish as described by her uncle ( an elderly man) and he kept it and cleaned it for the pan.

I dont have an iota :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Connor is a cork name for a ballan wrasse. At least I only every heard it in west cork.

Thanks Srameen. I had a feeling it was but the wife's friend said it wasn't one (after I showed her a picture on my phone of one I had caught) although the coloration would be different as I caught mine off a beach.

This would be in south Kerry. I must tell them. Nice to see local names like that still in use too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

SeaFields wrote: »
    Thanks Srameen. I had a feeling it was but the wife's friend said it wasn't one (after I showed her a picture on my phone of one I had caught) although the coloration would be different as I caught mine off a beach.

This would be in south Kerry. I must tell them. Nice to see local names like that still in use too.

Interesting. In my Home place its known as a gunner. which is quite close. never had a clue of its origin though, had thought it might be a corruption of Gurnard (albeit not the same species)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 rubyfynn

Caught 7 trout on the wry river on a size 3 meep in the flood in the very fast water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 rubyfynn

Last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Size 3??
    That's big spiner for trout. Why size were they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Had a day on the blackwater for Salmon yesterday.

Zilch.

Water was quite low in places. Spent at least 9 hours on the river and got about 20 tiny brownies 2 salmon parr and 2 dace of all things! No salmon though.

Pesky illusive salmon!

thehamo wrote: »

Zilch.

Water was quite low in places. Spent at least 9 hours on the river and got about 20 tiny brownies 2 salmon parr and 2 dace of all things! No salmon though.

Pesky illusive salmon!

There were a lot of fish being taken from the blackwater before the stretch of dry weather. You were unlucky if you had that day booked for awhile. I did a day in Sept a few years back on the blackwater, more of a lesson for me, as im not too proficient at salmon fishing. Got one myself and everyone else on the beat got at least one fish. Never saw so many salmon !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭popsy09

Zilch.

Pesky illusive salmon!

what part of the river where you on ? i had 8 fish in a week then slowed up since last thursday all up very high on the river ,banteer & millstreet direction , i presume you were around fermoy if ya were getting dace and you were using worm ? i wont use the worm on low water i never got one on it

i lost a nice fish about 14lb ish but he was coloured gave a great fight just got off while landing him , most of the fish are starting to colour up now and this bright sunshine isnt going to help matters

im off to killavullen in the morning now and might go to ballyduff in the afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

I was down lismore direction. Fortwillliam. By all accounts no one on any of the beats had any fish. I only saw one fish jump the time I was there.

I caught the dace on a cascade fly none the less not a worm in sight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭popsy09

I was down lismore direction. Fortwillliam. By all accounts no one on any of the beats had any fish. I only saw one fish jump the time I was there.

I caught the dace on a cascade fly none the less not a worm in sight!

Interesting , I was taking to Paul about joining up this year but for the price i don't think it's worth it and it only fishes real well later in year

I'm off to ballyduff now tmw had a blank today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Pike angler

Were on the boyne is good for salmon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Were on the boyne is good for salmon

In the water

We really are stone mad sometimes. Anglers that is. I went for a swim this morning at 8am. There was a guy set up on the pier who looked like he had been there awhile. I'm just home myself after some spinning for bass. The guy is still there and doesnt look to be packing up any time soon. That's how it should be done. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

We really are stone mad sometimes. Anglers that is. I went for a swim this morning at 8am. There was a guy set up on the pier who looked like he had been there awhile. I'm just home myself after some spinning for bass. The guy is still there and doesnt look to be packing up any time soon. That's how it should be done. :cool:

You sure he hasn't expired from exposure and is in fact in full rigor in his fishing chair?!!

A friend of mine has decided to retire from fishing and contacted me the other day and presented my young lad with these to get him started! Suffice to say I don't think we'll run out of lures or spinners any time soon! What a haul!
    20140909_114332_zpse6da21c4.jpg

Need some advice please, lads Had my keepnet landing mat and net stolen from my patio last night. Only had it kept outside as I live in an apt and the smell off them was to bad to keep them inside. I know you can buy stink bags for nets etc but do they actually work and do they completely stop the smell from the nets stinking the place out? Will have to keep them inside now but can't if I can't sort the smell issue and don't know what to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Scrappy600 wrote: »
    Need some advice please, lads Had my keepnet landing mat and net stolen from my patio last night. Only had it kept outside as I live in an apt and the smell off them was to bad to keep them inside. I know you can buy stink bags for nets etc but do they actually work and do they completely stop the smell from the nets stinking the place out? Will have to keep them inside now but can't if I can't sort the smell issue and don't know what to do

I just wash everything with cold water when finished with them and have never had a problem with smells. Maybe twice a year I give them a thorough washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭pnpweirdo

Smelly net, always a good sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭.red.

pnpweirdo wrote: »
    Smelly net, always a good sign.
    Unless its a different type of fishnet but thats for another forum lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ArmitageShanks

I see Ballyhass lakes have expanded their tackle shop and are having a big sale on the 14th & 15th of Feb if anyone is interested the details are up on their facebook page and website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭MWforumfisher

Really think this thread should be brought back. Looks like great craic.

Went fishing on dun laoghaire pier today, traditional feathers, nothing showed up. Scenery was amazing. Sure Fishing is just a great excuse to be outside :)

I hit a west cork rock mark last week. Havent caught a wrasse this early before but i wanted to give it a go anyway.
    Ended up with 6/7 fish, mostly small but 2 decent fish, biggest was about 3.5lb, think he was 44/45 cms. Had 2 fish that smoked me and i couldnt stop. Delighted to hear the drag sing again. Happy out till i did my back in climbing up the hill on the way back to the car. Ended up on tablets for the week and im only just about back to normal.
    Good days fishing tho, lol
    The option for pics seems to be gone.

.red. wrote: »
    I hit a west cork rock mark last week. Havent caught a wrasse this early before but i wanted to give it a go anyway.
    Ended up with 6/7 fish, mostly small but 2 decent fish, biggest was about 3.5lb, think he was 44/45 cms. Had 2 fish that smoked me and i couldnt stop. Delighted to hear the drag sing again. Happy out till i did my back in climbing up the hill on the way back to the car. Ended up on tablets for the week and im only just about back to normal.
    Good days fishing tho, lol

Ya, I can't post pictures either. Just hanging on now with a bit of half hearted sea fishing until I get my first fly rod.
    Never have any good success in the sea, the rivers and lakes are the life for me.
    Glad to hear others are having a bit more luck than me, that sounds like a lovely wrasse :)

Mine is fine Red? You should be able to alright.
    Ya, I can't post pictures either.

You'll need 50 posts to post pics MW. It's a security feature on boards

Mine is fine Red? You should be able to alright.

Its only a wrasse anyway, nothing huge or exotic!
    It wasnt there on the touch site so i switched over to the main site and i still couldnt?

Its only a wrasse anyway, nothing huge or exotic!
    It wasnt there on the touch site so i switched over to the main site and i still couldnt?

I dunno so! I can see it here. Helpdesk maybe? With your photos not working it will be the one time you catch a big 'un and won't be able to post it! :pac:

Went shore fishing today (luckily I live beside the sea and a stream) but had no luck on lures AND bait. After an hour no joy. Decided to try the stream as I was out of hope, even though I knew it was probably empty. Fifth cast of a lure and caught a small flounder in the stream! The surprise made up for the whole day!