Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway City Bouncers

• 13-07-2009 1:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

Who are the soundest/worst bouncers in Galway City?

There's one bouncer, on the door of Cuba/903 whos always a bollocks to me and most people i know, asking 100 questions even when sober!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This has been done before which I guess would be normal for a city with many clubs and pubs with bouncers.
    One
    Two

Pls don't name and shame any particular bouncer and try to articulate why they are good/bad.
    Any allegations of brutality etcetera will be frowned upon.

Galway City forum bouncer (no free speech here folks)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I've never had a problem with bouncers in Galway, not to the extent where i'd feel I had to complain/write on a forum - Maybe i'm just lucky? Maybe it's my good looks and charm :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 45,492 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Never had a major problem with them either tbh in years.

When I was younger I had a few disagreements with some, nothing major.

It was more to do with my own over indulgence as a young lad rather than the bouncers !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 steveonagle

malice_ wrote: »
    That's some good articulation there Steve...

Personally I haven't had any trouble with bouncers in years either.

why thank you malice i thought it was a quite fitting description for them obviously things havent turned out the way they planned so they decide to try and use what little power they have the only club ive been in galway where i feel like im going through customs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Ive stated before on similar threads that I think the standard of security personel working in public establishmentats around Galway has declined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Club K, GPO and Coyote's bouncers are alright for the most part. Cuba bouncers can be nobs, I've been turned away before on a night where I was in the queue telling my mates I think I'd go home as I was on a totally sober buzz. After I got turned away I went for a pint then queued again and got in... what's the story there?

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Club K, GPO and Coyote's bouncers are alright for the most part. Cuba bouncers can be nobs, I've been turned away before on a night where I was in the queue telling my mates I think I'd go home as I was on a totally sober buzz. After I got turned away I went for a pint then queued again and got in... what's the story there?

It'a test to see if you really want to get in. You passed, fair play. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭ep71

cps bouncers take things a bit too seriously as do karma lads, one mate of mine just wont get into cps even when sober, i think they only like pretty people cos ive actually seen them turning girls away who werent drunk but perhaps didnt fit well with the rest of their clientele! gpo guys are sound out unless you're mega locked and even then they're not too bad. there was one guy who worked on the door of the cellar who was really thick but now he's working on the gpo door and he's sound out, different door policies i suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I don't think they're bad on any particular spot, just depends on the bouncer and what kind of a night he's having! I've had problems with CP's but it wouldn't put me off the place. The age profile going below 14 has done that already :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Sconsey

There's really only one club in Galway I avoid because of dodgy bouncing tactics (they locked a friend of mine in a small room and beat him up fairly badly, pr1cks) so I think overall that implies Galway bouncers aren't too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 John_Dillinger

Sconsey wrote: »
    (they locked a friend of mine in a small room and beat him up fairly badly, pr1cks)

What did he do to them?

It's all well and good saying you dislike somewhere, but its another thing making allegations (unless proven) - this is what can lead to trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I love the bouncers at Cuba, they're always good for a conversation altough they are pretty bad for turning people away. Only bouncers I don't like are the ones at the Skeff really, although I'm not fond of the Skeff at all so it doesn't bother me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

The only problem i've ever had with bouncers in galway was the one's who used to do the door at the club that was in the radisson around 3 or 4 yrs ago. I know they were a hired security company, but they would get thick as hell with people for no reason at all.

I know bouncers can have a little attitude problem at times, but they are only human, everyone has their moments tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Fracture wrote: »
    The only problem i've ever had with bouncers in galway was the one's who used to do the door at the club that was in the radisson around 3 or 4 yrs ago.
    I was queueing to go in there one night and for whatever reason I had no ID on me. I didn't think anything of it until I got to the top of the queue and the bouncer asked me for ID. I told him I didn't have any and he gave me the usual line "You're not getting in without ID." I then told him politely that I was no doubt older than he was. He looked at me, agreed, and then let me in. I was delighted I got in and then realised that, as fun as it was to be able to say that to the bouncer, it was a sure sign I was getting old :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ItsYourTime

I was turned away from the door of Roisin Dubh a few weeks ago by a bouncer after very little drink. He just said "not tonight" without any glance at me, just at my ID, which was a UCC student card. When i offered him a Garda card or driver licence he just ignored me. Then I asked him was it long since he failed out of Gardai college and he threw a sulky face, almost like a spoilt 8 year old girl! Went into Massimo's then and the bouncer just waved all of us in! In a way I was glad because Roisin Dubh is a bit of a crusty bar, not my cup of tea!

TBH, any other time I've been out in Galway the bouncers have been sound as you get. One night in Cuba I was a little worse for wear and I knocked over a guys drink on him and he got a small bit agitated, the bouncer came over(my girlfriend filled me in on most of this the next day) and took us to one side, asked me to apologise to the guy who's drink I spilled and suggested I should buy him one. I bought him a drink and we shook hand and got on with enjoying our nights. Now most bouncers would have put me out on my ear but this guy handled the situation perfectly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I was turned away from the door of Roisin Dubh a few weeks ago by a bouncer after very little drink. He just said "not tonight" without any glance at me, just at my ID, which was a UCC student card. When i offered him a Garda card or driver licence he just ignored me. Then I asked him was it long since he failed out of Gardai college and he threw a sulky face, almost like a spoilt 8 year old girl! Went into Massimo's then and the bouncer just waved all of us in! In a way I was glad because Roisin Dubh is a bit of a crusty bar, not my cup of tea!

That's weird, the bouncers on the Roisin are normally sound. The same guys do the Roisin and Massimos too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

moonflower wrote: »
    That's weird, the bouncers on the Roisin are normally sound. The same guys do the Roisin and Massimos too

and the blue note. I've never had any bother with the bouncers from those places.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I think its the dress code that Karma bouncers enforce thats makes them harsher than other bouncers. I mean a clean pair of white dressy trainers will get your turned away. Its not as if you're arriving in a tattered pair of air max's or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭mdo

Me, my wife, son and daughter arrived in Galway on 15 July for my son's 21st birthday... every bouncer we met was extremely courteous... when we entered the Quays, my son was carded..... and when the bouncer saw it was Patrick's birthday, the bouncer escorted him to the bar and bought him his first shot....... Didn't get his name but I will post his pic as a thank you! If anyone knows him, please tell him that Patrick and his family would like to thank him and the Quays for the warm hospitality....

Patrickandbouncer.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Caliden wrote: »
    I think its the dress code that Karma bouncers enforce thats makes them harsher than other bouncers. I mean a clean pair of white dressy trainers will get your turned away. Its not as if you're arriving in a tattered pair of air max's or something.
    I remember going there on a Sunday night. My mate was in a Munster jersey and I was wearing runners. They said neither of us could come in. I told em I worked there (I did) and they said I was no alright to come in but my mate had to take his jersey off. He only had one of those undergarment t-shirt things on under so it was pretty damn funny but a bit of a piss take as I've seen a gd few people in there with Connacht tops on and stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭apkb

cps bouncers sometimes just have a set on people. other than that ive had no problems, gpo are really sound even when ur locked

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

moonflower wrote: »

Yup... AFAIK it's a private security firm that does the Roisin, Blue Note and Massimos. They're all very well trained, very friendly and reasonable. If someone claims that they were refused from the Roisin, or somesuch. They must have done something to deserve it.

Dominick Street Bouncers are a world apart from other bouncers I've had the 'pleasure' of experiencing.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭daniel91

After reading these replies I see some people having a bit of bother with bouncers. I'm heading to Galway in September for university, just wondering if I'm not drunk and have id, I'll be OK or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

daniel91 wrote: »
    after reading these replies i see some ppl havin a bit of bother with bouncers. i'm heading 2 galway in september for uni, jus wonderin if im not drunk and have id, ill b ok or not?

Yup, if you're sober and have valid (non-student) ID you should be grand. If all you have will be a student card, apply for your Age card now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TristanPeter

I had a problem with one of the Front Door bouncers last night when I was on my way in there with my gf to meet some friends. A short, squat guy. God, talk about highly-strung, unfriendly and unprofessional! There was a huge crowd around the Cross Street entrance and I couldn't tell if there was a queue or not because of the street bar thing they have next to the door. When I asked him was it a queue or not he proceeded to get in my face and started basically shouting at me "do you see a queue?" to which I replied "I don't know, I just got here and it's hard to tell with the bar thing there." He started shouting the same thing again. He actually seemed like he was doing it to get me to react to him.

The point is; is that how paying customers should be treated? I didn't even have a single drink taken at that stage because I parked up in NUIG. Funnily enough, the last time I wanted to get in there was yesterday last year, again to meet friends who were out for the races (when there was a huge queue). I don't go in there otherwise because I can't stand the pushing and shoving. However, I couldn't get in because it was too packed so my friend came out to the door to talk to me when the very same bouncer pipes up "are you talking to her or to her tits?" What a psycho :eek: I'd report him to the management but I can't imagine that they would do anything...or would they I wonder. They can't have staff treating customers like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I had a problem with one of the Front Door bouncers last night when I was on my way in there with my gf to meet some friends. A short, squat guy. God, talk about highly-strung, unfriendly and unprofessional! There was a huge crowd around the Cross Street entrance and I couldn't tell if there was a queue or not because of the street bar thing they have next to the door. When I asked him was it a queue or not he proceeded to get in my face and started basically shouting at me "do you see a queue?" to which I replied "I don't know, I just got here and it's hard to tell with the bar thing there." He started shouting the same thing again. He actually seemed like he was doing it to get me to react to him.

The point is; is that how paying customers should be treated? I didn't even have a single drink taken at that stage because I parked up in NUIG. Funnily enough, the last time I wanted to get in there was yesterday last year, again to meet friends who were out for the races (when there was a huge queue). I don't go in there otherwise because I can't stand the pushing and shoving. However, I couldn't get in because it was too packed so my friend came out to the door to talk to me when the very same bouncer pipes up "are you talking to her or to her tits?" What a psycho :eek: I'd report him to the management but I can't imagine that they would do anything...or would they I wonder. They can't have staff treating customers like this.

Probably some knuckle dragger they brought in especially for the races, all the pubs and clubs have probably had to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TristanPeter

Probably some knuckle dragger they brought in especially for the races, all the pubs and clubs have probably had to do this.

I think he's been there for years...and after writing the post, I decided to report him after all to the manager. I suppose if people accept this behaviour standards will never change.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭whineflu

A short, squat guy. God, talk about highly-strung, unfriendly and unprofessional!

A short bouncer . Now there's your problem see.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

A bouncer in the king's head congratulated my boyfriend once after checking my id. I'm a little younger than he is.

I was not impressed.