Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CORK V GALWAY

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

mink_man wrote: »
    galway, wooo,
    did joe canning play cos i heard he broke his foot!

Joe played and scored every free for them!! And got a sideline.
    10 points he got i think they were all from placed balls but im not 100%
    It's going to be some game next week but to be fully honest I just dont want a Tipp, Kilkenny final, anything else and im happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

mink_man wrote: »
    waterford?? lol

tipp and dublin are ahead of them, possibly even limerick!

yes but only galway or waterford can play them in the semi . i was talking about it from a semi-final perspective . i don't want to even talk about galway or waterford not beating kilkenny . on the other hand of course tipp are more likely to beat them in the final than waterford would be in the semi .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Go on the Portumna boys, 0-3 each for Andy and Damien and of course Joe chipping in with his usual 0-11. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Considering Cork were a shadow of themselves there was nothing to carried away about tonight. I would have been a huge critic of stuff that went on in Cork but it was sad to see some great men chasing shadows. On another point I dont like the way managers get so close to opposition players when they take frees like John McIntyre did tonight. This seems to happen more in Semple Stadium than other grounds.

Galway will be delighted to have won in Semple, their forwards were much better and the have real options on the sideline. They took a lot of presssure of Joe Canning and stood up to the plate. They are well capabale of beating Kilkenny with this panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

A few points:

About the match, we were basically destroyed in midfield and the center-forward line. Timmy McCarthy, Pa Cronin and Jerry O'Connor all should have been taken off within five minutes of the start of the second half, Jerry making the very ordinary Ger Farragher look like the greatest hurler ever. Instead, we took off our two best forwards on the day in Fraggie and Horgan, who along with a nervous lazy Aisake, got **** all decent ball. I generally thought our defence was ok, but as a team it was a gutless perfromance. Galway had all the heart, and a lot more hurling.

More generally, the result and perfomance is a result of a far greater malaise in Cork GAA that has left our hurlers right in a middle of a barren period that may take years to get out of. Very simply, we haven't produced a truly great underage team since the 2001 All-Ireland Minor winners. Since that team, we have produced three geniunely excellent young players - Eoin Cadogan (maybe not at full-back however), Shane O'Neill and Pa Horgan - that's it. 3 great prospects in 8 years. Moreover, our minors this year were destroyed by a Tipp team that was destroyed by Waterford. Conor O'Sullivan, Tadgh Og Murphy etc may come good in time but the general point is that in terms of youth development, structure and investment we are a decade behind the likes of Tipperary, Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin and, if this years results are anything to go by, even the likes of Clare and Waterford. What we must produce to get anywhere near another All-Ireland is a few underage All-Ireland's in a row, something we have barely even looked like achieving this year.

Thirdly, a lot of players need to ask themselves if they really have the hunger for this anymore. Going over the last few year's performances, and what was a limp heartless performane today, certain players need to think about retirement or a break. John Gardiner is neither an inter-county player at wing back or midfield; Ronan Curran is half the player he was five years ago; Jerry O'Connor was bad against Offaly and shocking today' Niall McCarthy hasn't got the hurling for this level; Timmy McCarthy similarly should think about leaving the scene considering his age and mediocre displays; Donal Og just generally seems to piss people off inside and outside the county, and his puck-outs have been dodgy throughout the year; Pa Cronin should not be left anywhere near this panel upon any circumstances, lazy, terrible attitude and too little hurling. Ben O'Connor and Sean Og are the only two veterans playing up to their own high standard. Tom Kenny as well to a lesser extent. Very simply, about half of the lads that started today need to ask themselves if they really have the hunger and legs to do this, and if the answer is no, they should retire, or in Curran or Gardiner's case, step aside for a year or two to sort their heads out.

For the future, we need a complete overhaul or our underage system - lads with any potential need to be taken away from 12 years up for a dozen or so training sessions per year with full time coaches, taught about nutrition, health etc and have the basics of hurling burned into their skulls. We need development squads at every age group Under-12 to senior level. We need far more training seminars in every club in the county, the general standard of coaching is very often pathetic. This is only, I might add, what they do in Dublin GAA - we need to do this, at the minimum, to begin to catch up. Regarding burnout, I'm inclined to think their should be no competitive competitions before Under-14 level - only blitzes which have eight or ten a side games to ensure greater participation, while Minors should not be allowed play senior with their club, a ban that could even be extended to Under-21's playing senior, mnors playing under 21 etc.

Thats the building blockes that should have been put in place a decade ago, but better late then never. Next year, we need to some re-jigging - Shane O'Neill needs to be moved to wing back at the very least, Eoin Cadogan also somwhere in the center back line with the likes of Darragh Rodgers, Chris Murphy given a crack at three, Conor Sul and Brian Murphy in the two corners, while Shane Murphy, Jon O'Callaghan, Eoin Keane, Aidan Walsh (hopefully) and, imo, Paudi O'Sullivan should be further back up to the back 6.

Midfield is now a huge problem area - Tom Kenny needs a partner, possibly Shane O'Neill or a youngster like William Egan, David Drake (in a couple of years) or Leigh Desmond - either way a new dynamic and impetus is need in midfield. Kieran 'Fraggie' Murphy is a good option here as well, he has excellent instincts, skill and intelligence and isn't a natural corner forward. Maybe Callinan, but he isn't young and I wouldn't be convinced of his level of skill. Still, at least he works and has heart.

Up forward, a think we need fresh thinking at center forward - Pa Horgan should be put in here. Like Fraggie he isn't a natural corner forward but he similarly has all the skill and intelligence that suggests he is a player who needs more responsibility. The wings are a huge problem - Lorcan McLoughlin is practically the only young option not on the panel for one of these positions. Ben can slot in on one wing or one of the corners, while Luke O'Farrell needs be given a big run in the league next year at corner forward. Other options are Tadgh Og, Naughton, and maybe the likes of Colm O'Neill if we can persuade him away from the footballers, or allow him play both codes. Aisake needs to be persevered with at full forward - yes he was cynical and lacked confidence tonight - but has plenty of raw potential. Generally, our defence and midfield sectors have options, but we badly need to start producing a big number of decent forwards underage over the next few years (and hope they don't feck off to Australia).

Thats about it really, a disapointing day but our ineptitude on the pitch, on the sideline and throughout Cork GAA means we fully deserve our hammering. Here is hoping Tipp or Galway beat Kilkenny, might at least make the cold winter a little more bearable. ;)

Thats a fair post. Some excellent points made.

One thing that strikes me is you mention Development squads. They are fine but before you get anywhere near that the very basic club structure must be solid as a rock and while I am not a big fan of what goes on in Dublin the basic juvenile structure is a lot better than say 10 - 15 years ago. There are a few driven people who put in huge time at developing juvenile games and it appears to be turning up good squads most years. But I have heard it said on numerous times these squads produce robots, lads who play to a plan and only that plan.

I help with our academy and I only coach football because if you want to coach Hurling you need to have been a player but the basics behind both codes are the same. I get our kids to kick with both feet no matter how long it takes and our hurling man gets them striking on both sides from day 1. The reason I mention this is tonight we had 2 lads on Dublin minor team and they both spend time on their doing basic drills I done with them 10 years ago. One made his debut tonight and the other has scored in all Dublin games bar 1. They were in our first club academy
    Development squads were and are hard to get on to in Dublin. This can cause a problem as lads develop at different stages and I have seen some development squads where managers would not take in players as they had their squads and wouldnt drop lads. If you do get development squads you must have open door policy. Tonight Dublin beat Kildare in Leinster minor final replay and a lad who came on for extra time and turned the game only came into the panel 6 weeks ago. He plays Senior football but could not make squad but someone saw him playing in Senior championship and taking a Dublin senior to the cleaners and finally he was brought in.

Regional squads in a place as big as Cork would appear to be the way to go. This seems to be the way it worked best in Dublin.
    One good idea I saw was players were paired at random to stop players from different clubs dominating sessions.
    Now who is going to rock the boat in Cork to make changes? The clubs if they want it badly enough.

As for the Cork panel. Could not understand why they didnt keep sending ball into Murphy when they did get it and Callinan should have been brought in earlier. You mention he has heart which was something I felt a few lads lacked tonight and he could have given them a lift. Also Naughton should have been brought on a bit earlier.

While ye maybe disappointed tonight you are not 10 years behind. You have one great thing and thats tradition which is invaluable. You have 3 or 4 lads who will be vital in the years ahead, Murphy, O'Neill, Callinan and Cadogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Good spread of scores in the Galway team tonight, they did not rely entirely on Canning. Joe Gantley got a good goal. I am surprised he did not start, he set up the second goal and scored a point against Clare, surely he will start the quarter, he is a fine hurler.

Yeah thought Gantley would be on but McIntyre is doing a bit of a Gilroy with his players and the whole panel is reaping the rewards. There is so much attention paid to Canning other players have had to stand up and be seen.

Galway in a great position to challenge Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

anyone else think galway can go the whole way? ive a good feeling that they have a mental edge over kk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TheWifeBeater

Ger farragher had a great second half today. Fair play to him cause he has to put up with a lot of stick from the galway fans who have a grudge against his club cashel. BTW Niall Healy was ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

deise_girl wrote: »
    Joe played and scored every free for them!! And got a sideline.
    10 points he got i think they were all from placed balls but im not 100%
    It's going to be some game next week but to be fully honest I just dont want a Tipp, Kilkenny final, anything else and im happy :D

This bugs me, i'm from tipp and seriously have we won that many all irelands in them last 20 odd years that you would begrudge us. I say this as a tipp girl who has waterford parents and goes to quite a few waterford matches. I think all 31 counties should shout for anyone but kilkenny.

sparkydee wrote: »
    This bugs me, i'm from tipp and seriously have we won that many all irelands that you would begrudge. I say this as a tipp girl who has waterford parents and goes to quite a few waterford matches. I think all 31 counties should shout for anyone but kilkenny.

i'm a die hard galway fan, i wouldn't have a problem cheering on the premier if they were to face kilkenny in the final. any team but kilkenny. i admire the likes of lar corbett and eoin kelly . btw nothing against the cats, it's just they have won it so much times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

davestar wrote: »
    i'm a die hard galway fan, i wouldn't have a problem cheering on the premier if they were to face kilkenny in the final. any team but kilkenny. i admire the likes of lar corbett and eoin kelly . btw nothing against the cats, it's just they have won it so much times :(

if it helps, I was screaming for galway today :P
    Prefer tipp over Kk anyday. Although, id would love to see the likes of galway or limerick (im abit biased) win an AI since its been so long.

if it helps, I was screaming for galway today :P
    Prefer tipp over Kk anyday. Although, id would love to see the likes of galway or limerick (im abit biased) win an AI since its been so long.

OF COURSE IT HELPS ;)

DEFO!!optimistic, but i would love to see a galway-limerick final. two underdogs battling it out while kilkenny watch at home . nothing against tip or kk once again, ye know what i mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

hay made and cork bet happy days saw most of the first match to and must say laoise were very unlucky they have a few nice hurlers but limrick are shockin the best player they had was foley and he gets a bus pass and the pension next year lol at the man that thinks lim v wat final

galway are growing into a serious outfit and i cant see waterford beating us i admire waterford and think they deserved an all-ireland over the last few years but realistically currently they are far to reliant a john millan and next weekend he will have probably the best man marker inthe game over the last 15 years for company Ollie Canning

hopefully it could be a long summer and cork hurlers going on strike until the start of the league

UP THE TRIBES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

sparkydee wrote: »
    This bugs me, i'm from tipp and seriously have we won that many all irelands in them last 20 odd years that you would begrudge us. I say this as a tipp girl who has waterford parents and goes to quite a few waterford matches. I think all 31 counties should shout for anyone but kilkenny.

I agree with the bit I put in bold. I was reading the county budgets a few years ago. Kilkenny are the only county to not field a proper football team. As a result 100% of the counties funds go into hurling. Counties such as Waterford and Tipp divide theirs 50-50 even though the football teams they have are not very good (although both have improved in recent years, Tipp particularly recently). This gives them an unfair advantage. Anyone but Kilkenny until they field a proper football team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

I didn't see the match, but how will Galway fare against Waterford? Waterford's forwards seem to be firing on all cylinders and if Ken McGrath is fit, it's hard to see Galway being the better team end to end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

I was delighted with the Galway performance today, the hurled well for the full 70minutes which is something they used to have problems with. Used the bench well too, Niall Healy had a bad game but Gantley and Hayes really livened it up when they came on. Ger Farragher had a good game too I thought. Definitely looked like they enjoyed themselves anyway, the panel on the sideline were going mad when the full time whistle blew! I was in Croke Park in 2005 and that was a disappointing day so it was a big game for them today and a big name to beat.

I was nervous enough about Cork but I honestly didn't feel they were really under pressure at any stage in the match. Another big game next weekend, I'm getting tired with all my Saturday's booked up, don't know how the players are going to feel!!

I'd fancy Galway for the All Ireland now, they have a long way to go for sure, but it's not unfeasible at all. Last time they won was the year I was born and they've been knocking on the door for the past few years... GAILLIMH ABU :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

RHunce wrote: »
    anyone else think galway can go the whole way? ive a good feeling that they have a mental edge over kk

How can you back that up? The KK lads haven't lost a Championship match in an age now. Theres never been a more mentally strong team.

JHMEG wrote: »
    I didn't see the match, but how will Galway fare against Waterford? Waterford's forwards seem to be firing on all cylinders and if Ken McGrath is fit, it's hard to see Galway being the better team end to end.

and vice verca, galway's half forward line have been immense this year. 3 players who work like dogs for the full 70 miniutes. waterfords full back line is their main weakness, and we all know what the Galway full forwards can do when the hit form. as for Waterford's forwards firing on all cylinders galways backs have been superb this year. not even conceading a goal v cork, keeping clare to one, and kilkenny to 2. but theres a pattern, theyre conceading one less goal every match. while waterford have brilliant forwards the likes of ollie canning, shane kavanagh and john lee are more than a match for them.

GAILLIMH ABU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Cork hurling is down for a long time. With no proper underage structures in place the last decade and the minors and under 21's having done anything of little note i think it'll be at least 5-10 years before Cork will win an All Ireland senior hurling title again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I agree with the bit I put in bold. I was reading the county budgets a few years ago. Kilkenny are the only county to not field a proper football team. As a result 100% of the counties funds go into hurling. Counties such as Waterford and Tipp divide theirs 50-50 even though the football teams they have are not very good (although both have improved in recent years, Tipp particularly recently). This gives them an unfair advantage. Anyone but Kilkenny until they field a proper football team.

what a daft basis for going against a hurling team!
    What do you mean when you say "not field a proper football team"?? Do you have official figures to back up what you say about 100% of the funds going to Hurling in Kilkenny??

galway will railroad waterford. Yes, I may seem over-the-top but looking at yesterdays performance without their full forward line up to scratch, they still sailed away with it towards the end. This galway team are serious contenders and if their full forward line could just wake up abit, they could definetly put it up to kilkenny and win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Very little said so far about Callanans performance in the half-forwards. Between himself and Smith they ruled the show and along with Cannings incredibly reliable free-taking they kept Galway in charge.

Cannings free-taking was incredible, not just the fact that he scored every one of them, but he was right over the black-spot every time, from angles and from distance. Waterford better take note and not concede stupid fouls inside their own half.

Roll on next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Very little said so far about Callanans performance in the half-forwards. Between himself and Smith they ruled the show and along with Cannings incredibly reliable free-taking they kept Galway in charge.

Cannings free-taking was incredible, not just the fact that he scored every one of them, but he was right over the black-spot every time, from angles and from distance. Waterford better take note and not concede stupid fouls inside their own half.

Roll on next weekend.

Ben o connors free taking was very impressive too i thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Well done to Galway. They didn't really get going until the 2nd half but when they did they were unstoppable. Callinan, Smith, Farragher, Canning all had good games and the subs Gantley and Chunky Hayes both made an impact when they came on. Galway have bundles of talented players up front and its good to see them realising their potential this year.

The big games are coming thick and fast for Galway with another tough one next week against Waterford. I'd fancy Galway in this form to win that one. I really would love to see Galway have another tilt at Kilkenny in this years C'ship. If they can bring this sort of momentum with them, and everyone gets stuck in for 70 mins they will cause serious problems for Kilkenny.

dotsflan wrote: »
    Ben o connors free taking was very impressive too i thought.
    Certainly was. He's been exceptional for a few years now, and I think yesterday was a battle of the two best free takers in the game at the moment (mentions for Eoin Kelly from Tipp and Sheff as well).

This galway team are serious contenders and if their full forward line could just wake up abit, they could definetly put it up to kilkenny and win.
    Galway seem to be capable of flashes of greatness, which is what attracted Ger Loughnane to them. However unlike Cork or Kilkenny they don't seem to be able to maintain consistency.

I may be wrong, but going on history they could be very flat in their next match.

Ultimately time will prove me right or wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

There is a lot of people getting carried away with galway lets not forget this was one of the worst cork teams for along time and it took galway 63mins to put them away.If cork had any forwards they would have beaten galway out the gate.Joe canning good hurler but listening to too much of his own publicity and will cost galway if he does'nt involve his team mates should have passed to Joe Gantley who was free on the edge of the square but went for goal himself with the angle completely against him

istabraq wrote: »
    There is a lot of people getting carried away with galway lets not forget this was one of the worst cork teams for along time and it took galway 63mins to put them away.If cork had any forwards they would have beaten galway out the gate.Joe canning good hurler but listening to too much of his own publicity and will cost galway if he does'nt involve his team mates should have passed to Joe Gantley who was free on the edge of the square but went for goal himself with the angle completely against him

I hate this kind of reaction. I agree he should have passed but come on, it hardly means he's getting full of himself or anything of the sort. He's only scored once from play in the past two games and isn't his usual brilliant self other than from dead balls.

But to say that he isn't involving his team mates is the ultimate bs. He's more of a creative player than anyone else on the team, especially with Portumna but certainly also with Galway. His handpasses, short passes and vision are incredible and he frequently creates as many as he scores. Not yesterday but against Clare certainly.

Would you criticise Donnellan for his goal against Clare because the angle was against him too?

istabraq wrote: »

People are getting carried away with Tipp too if thats the case, and they only beat Cork by a goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

How could you criticise Donnellan for going for goal he didn't have a team mate standing on his own ready to tap into an open goal just hungry on joes behalf.Agree people are getting carried away with tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

Everyone is just hoping that their own county does well. No one is getting carried away. Tipp have won munster two years in a row. They deserve to be considered challengers. If galway beat waterford i'd could see them doing well against kilkenny.

i think having watched joe for a while in club county and college games he is one of the most unselfish forwards in the game i think kk are ahead at the moment then very close behind are galway and tipp the other thing about these three is that they all have subs that can come on and make a difference waterford limrick and dublin not to the same extent good to see dublin coming though and they have good guys comeing behind and of course one mellick-eyrecort hurler trown in interestingly galway have never won an AI without a M/E man on the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Anyone who hopes for a team other than KK to win the AI this year should be down on their knees praying for a Galway victory against Waterford because if it's Waterford then KK will make mincemeat of them (again).
    Their full back line is hopeless and they only have one forward (Mullane).
    KK would definitely rather face Waterford than Galway.

There's such a gulf between KK and everyone else that who they face in the final is largely irrelevant to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

lukin wrote: »
    KK would definitely rather face Waterford than Galway.

how would you think that??? Sure they already beat Galway and with Cha & Co. hopefully back to full fitness I doubt Kilkenny would care who they face.

galway bet them in two semi finals in the last few years, waterford have never bet them. that's why .

Who really cares who kilkenny is afraid of. The fact is that waterford dont have the potential to beat kilkenny while I think (and many others would too) that galway do have a chance. Simple as.

kavanagh has a broken bone in his hand he will be a big loss for the next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,963 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Cork's forwards were useless against Galway.
    Bunching ,couldnt pick the ball up,slow,akward and no ground hurling skills at all.
    You cant win a match with no forwards .
    I feel sorry for the backs having an attack like that in front of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

soundsham wrote: »
    the next of the o'hailpins to outshine canning today!!
    aisake to rule!!
    Aisake wouldn't look out of place on the Limerick team, big, awkward, but not in a good way. I've seen elephants with smaller feet. He's a poor mans Setanta. Throughly deserved win for Galway, that said, had Niall McCarthy taken his goal chance it could well be Cork who are facing Waterford now. I thought Andy Smith was outstanding, as was Farragher and Hynes in midfield. Joe Gantley was an excellent impact sub, won some amount of ball when he was introduced. I didn't think John Lee was at his best for Galway though, but Ronan Curran had his best game for Cork for some time, he did a really good job on Cyril Donnellan. Pat Horgan did his best for Cork, he was certainly their hardest working forward on the nite, and chipped in with a few nice scores. A special mention for Shane Kavanagh at full back, if i am correct he is a natural half back, but he is doing very well at full. Didn't give Aisake a sniff, although the fact that the Na Piarsaigh man kept falling over himself did help his cause :D

Galway should take Waterford, but as with any game, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

You've only seen him play once Grenache. :rolleyes:

Orizio wrote: »

once to many im afraid maybe he would be a good rugby player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Orizio wrote: »
    True, but he got a good supply of ball into him last night, but i can't remember him catching even one. I wasn't impressed with him, he's not what you would call a typical Cork hurler, he's cumbersome, too tall for his own good (if its possible) and just not very threatening. Maybe he'll improve within a couple of years but at the moment he's a poor choice at full forward. It would be to Cork's benefit if they stuck Kieran Murphy (Sars) in there instead, a much better hurler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Great performance from the boys in Maroon. Really showed hunger and passion especially in those last 10 minutes when you had a feeling Cork were coming back into it. I thought that after all the stick Ger Farrahgher has been getting he showed his begrudgers he can hurl superbly. Really fancy our chances if we get a second crack at the Cats. Of course we will not be looking past a Waterford side though who I have great respect for.

On a side note watched the game in a pub in Westport. It was full of Galway hurling supporters, think it was Killimor or Loughrea they were from. Fantastic atmoshpere, the few locals didn't have a clue what was happening. :D

anybody know where we(galway) will be playing waterford?double header with dublin and limerick maybe?thurles?

2.00 dublin v limerick

4.00 galway v waterford

that would be my guess .

The fact is that waterford dont have the potential to beat kilkenny.
    2007 league final. (If KK weren't arsed about the league what were they doing in the final)

I agree chances are slim for this year's final, but no worse than for anyone else.

2007 league final. (If KK weren't arsed about the league what were they doing in the final)

I agree chances are slim for this year's final, but no worse than for anyone else.

the difference in 2007 to now is that waterford were favourites to win the AI and kilkenny werent really recognised as one of the greatest teams in the gaa until they won the 3 in a row.
    No disrespect to waterford but galway nevermind KK would destroy their backline. Unless brick walsh can be all over the place at once?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Dont forget, they remain the only team to beat them this year!! That was some league match, I've seen well worse championship ones.

But yeah Soccy I kinda agree with you. Brick had a smasher of a game but we wont win anything with one or two backs. Although I think Eoin Murphy is underestimated alot, I always feel he has a solid game. He has to mark two players at times, when Deccie mucks up.
    I have faith in a few years connors will come through strongly, and maybe having under 21s, intermediates, de la salle and minors in the munster final (:D:D) we can come up with something in the forseeable future

Im still going to hope 3 weeks in a row will catch up on Galway but the question remains.. Who will mark Canning?
    I think ringo will but is he able?