Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas for J2EE project

Options
  • 15-07-2009 1:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭

Ok, not looking for help with getting a final year project started or anything. I've over 10 years industry experience mainly in java but the last 4 years I've worked with two large multinationals on very large products so went down the product knowledge route.

Anywho got laid off on Friday, so I've decided rather than look straight away for something similiar to brush up and learn new areas I'd be interested in.

Just looking for any general ideas for a project to do at home. Find I pick up on new tech much quicker when I'm working on a product idea rather than tutorials. Final aim I suppose would be to showcase what I've done in interviews.

Lot of experience designing etc and FDLC. Skill areas I need to brush up on would be EJB3 which I haven't used before, last time I did work in EJB it was at EJB2.0.

So looking to come up with some type of web based system, browser interface and deployed on an enterprise server. Thinking I'll deploy to each of JBoss, Weblogic & Websphere eventually to brush up on my knowledge there as haven't used any of them in the last 4/5 years.

front end tech I'd like to learn would be JSF plus struts, I know JSF is meant to be the next evolutionary step up from struts but would like to try both for comparisions. Usual additional stuff like CSS etc for presentation. Any additional stuff to recommend for frontend appreciated.