Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The (double) rapists mother sings outside the court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

tbh wrote: »
    I don't really know how to say this without offending someone like me, but I think the mother may have underlying mental health issues.

But is that not making excuses, is it not ok to just call someone thick, dim.. whatever.. uneducated, if you want to cushion it a bit.

Is it just possible that certain people are just what they are, without being ill or some such, basically that they don't know any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Amalgam wrote: »

Is it just possible that certain people are just what they are, without being ill or some such, basically that they don't know any better.

it is, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

But is that not making excuses, is it not ok to just call someone thick, dim.. whatever.. uneducated, if you want to cushion it a bit.

they are that way, because they are allowed to get away with so much, down through the years, every kind of ****e is taken from them, allowances are made them, excuses are made for them, they get more help and handouts than law abideing people, they use the excuses to get away with more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

Cut the fkucers balls off..............and do the same to the son !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 charly45

Castrate the ****ER his mother must be so ill , who could be normal ?l having that yoke she bore wrecking her head ..... JAYSUS imagine if you were related to that dirty ****ing scum ! Castrate my motto is abuse it and loose it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

old boy wrote: »
    they are that way, because they are allowed to get away with so much, down through the years, every kind of ****e is taken from them, allowances are made them, excuses are made for them, they get more help and handouts than law abideing people, they use the excuses to get away with more.

Couldn't agree with you more Old Boy.
    For far too long excuses have been made for people like this.

On the backs of our money,they have now become the true 'Spoilt Monsters' of Irish Society.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

BornToKill wrote: »
    Between this terrible crime and the state of the economy I think the time may at last be right for an idea I have been thinking over in the back of my mind for some time now.

I]drum roll[/I....... prison outsourcing! Ta da!

But not outsourced to Group 4 or Securicor or whatever. Proper outsourcing to India or Turkey. It costs about €100,000 an inmate a year to keep someone in prison in Ireland. I'd say the Indians would happily do it for one tenth of that. One-way flight to Mumbai and send them back at the end of their sentence.

Cue serious falls in offences, enormously dropped off rates of recidivism (well would you want to go back) and a huge cut in the prison budget, as well as a drop-off in court workloads. Win, win, win and win.

You could refine it by giving less serious first-time offenders prison time in Portlaoise or Limerick or wherever but if they come back before the courts again it's Algiers this time.

Of course, no idea is entirely new. It has precedents in Devil's Island (French Guiana) or Port Arthur (Tasmania). Hell, we might even get a few new songs out of the whole thing as a by-product: 'Now the prison plane stands waiting on the tarmac'. Maybe not.
    I know plenty of people with the same views as yourself on these [EMAIL="b@st@rds ,what"]b@st@rds ,what[/EMAIL] i can understand is that how come if so many people agree on what should be done why can it be brought into action.....o i forgot we must remember the scumbags rights:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

you see its people like this that turn out to be and bring up the SCUMBAGS....basically all scumbags dont know s*hit like this woman and her rapist, thats what makes them scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I know this guy is scum and fully deserves 21 years at least.
    Yet how the fcuk are murdering scum allowed to kill and get only 7 years :mad:
    Absolutely ridiculous.

sells wrote: »
    you see its people like this that turn out to be and bring up the SCUMBAGS....basically all scumbags dont know s*hit like this woman and her rapist, thats what makes them scumbags.

Couldn't agree more.

Scum produces more Scum.

90% Breeding 10% Feeding.

You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

I could go on, but you get the general gist...:mad:

Whosbetter, yeah youre right there too, i could go on about how to get rid of all the scum too, but thats for another thread;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

CatFromHue wrote: »
    in the independent today it said that as the rapist was being led out of the court that the rapists raltives and family shouted abuse at the victims family.

my god!

it was something along the lines of ...... it wouldnt have happened if you had taken care of your mother and put her in a home.

Totally warped thinking. I wonder what the tabloids will drag up. Some must see the family as a painted target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't see any offers coming from Playboy for the bastards wife or mother to pose anytime soon.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Between this terrible crime and the state of the economy I think the time may at last be right for an idea I have been thinking over in the back of my mind for some time now.

But not outsourced to Group 4 or Securicor or whatever. Proper outsourcing to India or Turkey. It costs about €100,000 an inmate a year to keep someone in prison in Ireland. I'd say the Indians would happily do it for one tenth of that. One-way flight to Mumbai and send them back at the end of their sentence.

Cue serious falls in offences, enormously dropped off rates of recidivism (well would you want to go back) and a huge cut in the prison budget, as well as a drop-off in court workloads. Win, win, win and win.

You could refine it by giving less serious first-time offenders prison time in Portlaoise or Limerick or wherever but if they come back before the courts again it's Algiers this time.

Of course, no idea is entirely new. It has precedents in Devil's Island (French Guiana) or Port Arthur (Tasmania). Hell, we might even get a few new songs out of the whole thing as a by-product: 'Now the prison plane stands waiting on the tarmac'. Maybe not.

HOLD ON .... I'll give Michael O'Leary a buzz...... I'm sure Ryanair would love to get in on this idea :P

the only plan in your flaw is the civil rights activists .... prisoners are humans too ...blah blah blah... families will suffer if they cant visit their inmate relatives. (yes ...plan in flaw was intentional)

on another note: I agree that something must be done - and would love to ship them out of the country (maybe china - where civil rights arent important) ..... but think the more sensible option is neutering..... the less the criminal spawn the less they can pass on their knowledge of using/abusing the system ..... the less the government has to pay out (in social welfare, prison costs etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭amacca

SV wrote: »
    Would you expect any more from the likes of them?
    honestly?

Yes tbh, I was labouring under the illusion we were all human beings and shared some common ground but clearly not. Its hard to believe this man is part of our species.

Whosbetter, yeah youre right there too, i could go on about how to get rid of all the scum too, but thats for another thread;)

Yeah, I know totally.

Everybody I know wants something to be done about this.

It's time that there was some kind of demo/march done about this!

The Farmers seem to be well organised & fair play to 'em.

yeah but apparently, there are still people out there that defend scumbags...we are, and when i say we are i mean everybody else is too pliitically correct or stupid to see scumbags are scum, and deserve to be put away with like a broken old toy truck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭polyfusion

What we need is some kind of culling strategy, cut the deadweight completely.

Maybe an idea there for "Bord Snip"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The Judiciary in this country are a joke. You see stupid, stupid sentences passed down all the time.

yeah but apparently, there are still people out there that defend scumbags...we are, and when i say we are i mean everybody else is too pliitically correct or stupid to see scumbags are scum, and deserve to be put away with like a broken old toy truck.

I agree. There's too many Do-Gooders out there, but how would they like to live in a tough area.

They wouldn't last 5 minutes!

God, Lefties! I hate them more than I hate that Family.

I bet there's some idiots out there whining about the scumbag's rights being violated, and ignoring the suffering of the victims.:rolleyes:

galwayrush wrote: »
    I bet there's some idiots out there whining about the scumbag's rights being violated, and ignoring the suffering of the victims.:rolleyes:

Too true Mate.

This is the last straw where they're involved.

If somebody is willing to organise a demo on this, I will happily give my services, I.e. security etc

On a 3 day week now, so have the time to do something worthwhile.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭donkey balls

just as one scumbag is sent down they release another on early release.

He was given 10 concurrent terms of 18 years and three concurrent terms of three years. wtf whats the piont in given out these sentences if there going get out after a few years

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/serial-rapistrsquos-release-sparks-security-alert-1824984.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

He was given 10 concurrent terms of 18 years and three concurrent terms of three years. wtf whats the piont in given out these sentences if there going get out after a few years

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/serial-rapistrsquos-release-sparks-security-alert-1824984.html

Madness alright. Four rapes in six days last time he was free. Seems ridiculous to release him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Fugly

Regarding suggestions to castrate, I understand the logic. But in places where this has occured wasn't just there an increase in rape with "foreign objects" as the desire to rape is still there and the level of violence of may be increased due to frustration of the rapist?:confused: I can't find relevant source.

Personally keeping him locked up would make me feel safer not mention the victims!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I hope he gets a taste of his own medicine in prison.
    I hope ye change the minimum sentence laws for crimes like these. And then I hope he gets his own in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

Fugly wrote: »
    Regarding suggestions to castrate, I understand the logic. But in places where this has occured wasn't just there an increase in rape with "foreign objects" as the desire to rape is still there and the level of violence of may be increased due to frustration of the rapist?:confused: I can't find relevant source.

Personally keeping him locked up would make me feel safer not mention the victims!

once the testicles are gone a large amount of feminisation takes place, the last thing in their heads is violence or rape. Still lock the bastards (rapists) up for life to become prison bitches . For me , thats irony and punishment. This wont happen though cos the last thing the government care about is the rights of the victims and the prevention of rape, ie, catholic church rape club went on for decades with the FULL knowelege of the cowboys in kildare street. THATS A FACT.!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

jesus christ..how can someone like this be released.:mad:
    I'd quite happily pull a bullet in his head to stop this from happening again.

The Irish Times have an article up that frames the family a bit better.. *cough*

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0717/breaking35.htm

The woman at the centre of the “C Case” has spoken today of the ordeal of being raped at the age of 13 in 1997 and her subsequent abortion in the United Kingdom.

When the girl became pregnant after the rape and while in care she was granted court approval to travel outside the country for the abortion. Her family challenged the move and the controversial legal battle became known as the “C case”.

The woman, now 25, said during an interview on RTÉ radio this morning that she had repeatedly tried to kill herself in the years following the attack and said her father took his own life. The woman also said she was still receiving threatening calls years after the incident took place.

Her rapist, Simon McGinley, was this week sentenced for 21 years for another rape, of an 86-year-old woman, in 2008. McGinley denied raping the pensioner on June 16th and pleaded not guilty. But his DNA was found on the victim’s electric blanket and pyjamas and his fingerprints were found in her bathroom and bedroom. He was convicted in May.

Mr Justice Birmingham told the Central Criminal Court on Wednesday that McGinley’s latest rape was compounded by his victim’s age and fragility. It was an “outrageous” crime that would cause “outrage” even among McGinley’s fellow prisoners.

The 86-year-old victim, who lived alone, had been attacked for several hours in a rough manner. It had been a “life-changing experience”, meted out in her home, where she expected to be safe.

When he was convicted of the first rape the court had imposed a 12-year sentence, with four years suspended. Leniency had been shown in order to give McGinley some hope for the future, Mr Justice Birmingham said.

But McGinley had “spurned” that leniency by raping again.

Speaking this morning on the Pat Kenny show, the woman at the centre of the C Case said: “My family is suffering along with me.

“I’m doing a life sentence…and that poor old lady is doing a life sentence. We’re doing a bigger life sentence, we’re living with this all the time”, she said.

"He's just living with having raped someone, he doesn't care about that. He doesn't care about the feelings, about how we're sufferinging,"she added.

The woman, who attended McGinley's sentencing on Wednesday, said that seeing him receive a 21-year-sentence was "a relief."

"I'm still suffering to this day with nightmares...I'm on medication and am living with fear all the time and am in counselling.

She also spoke in detail about her ordeal. She had been babysitting McGinleys’ three children in their caravan on a halting site in August 1997 while he and his wife were out socialising. On their return home McGinley told his wife he would drop the girl home in his van.

McGinley drove past the girl’s home and into a council depot where he punched her in the face. He then ripped the girl’s clothes off and began to rape her in the back of the van.

He said McGinley’s wife had followed the van and knocked on the door while the rape was taking place. McGinley jumped into the driver’s seat and drove off with the girl in the back. He drove around for a while before pulling in and getting out to put on his clothes. The girl tried to make her escape but he caught her and hit her again.

McGinley drove back to the girl’s home and threw her out of the van while his wife and the girl’s mother looked on. Before he left, he put a knife to her throat and threatened to kill her if she told anyone about the attack.The girl became pregnant as a result of the rape but the pregnancy was terminated and McGinley was identified as the father, using DNA from the foetus. He was convicted of the rape and sentenced to 12 years with four years suspended.

The woman also talked about her trip to the UK to have the abortion and its impact on her life. She said that she wasn't sure what an abortion was at the time and that if she would have been, she would have carried to full term.

"I wouldn't have wanted to keep the baby but would have put if up for adoption," she said.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭BeQuiet

FANTASTIC idea ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

I agree. There's too many Do-Gooders out there, but how would they like to live in a tough area.

nearly but not quite as much ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

They've done some terrible harm alright.

jesus christ, I won't be walking anywhere alone... ever.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

ju
    He was given 10 concurrent terms of 18 years and three concurrent terms of three years.

WTF does that mean? 10 x 18 years? 180 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

WTF does that mean? 10 x 18 years? 180 years?

"Concurrent" means to serve all the sentences at the same time, so it basically means that he's getting just 1 18 year sentence for everything he's done.

It's a great way for the judge to APPEAR to be giving him a sensible sentence, while the criminal will be back on the streets commiting more crimes in a while, and is only actually serving time for one of the many crimes he's commited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Pygmalion wrote: »
    "Concurrent" means to serve all the sentences at the same time, so it basically means that he's getting just 1 18 year sentence for everything he's done.

It's a great way for the judge to APPEAR to be giving him a sensible sentence, while the criminal will be back on the streets commiting more crimes in a while, and is only actually serving time for one of the many crimes he's commited.

I think it's very devious. Ten sentences, all concurrent, (so cancelling each other out), eventually reduced to amount to just 13 years. Then Numnuts can get back on his rape merry-go-round.

Of course all the judges' precious daughters never have to worry much about cuntf*ces like Murray.

Concurrent" means to serve all the sentences at the same time, so it basically means that he's getting just 1 18 year sentence for everything he's done.

they should be consecative sentence that he will never walk the streets again. like what bernie maydalf got in the US for swindiling billions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

they should be consecative sentence that he will never walk the streets again. like what bernie maydalf got in the US for swindiling billions
    And then you get some smug philosophy students bitching about how we should be rehabilitating this guy and not punishing him, and how terrible it is that we treat rapists this way.

user_offline.gif

untill it happens to a loved one or family member could you imagine if this god forbid happed to someone high up in govt or a judge.

im surprised that none of the red top papers showed a picture of the other cnut that got out on early release this week.

i posted the link to the story a few pages back for those who did not see it his name is micheal murray who raped 4 women in six days and he was released after seving 13 years of an 18 years sentence(were is the justice for the women&family that have to live with this for the rest of there lives)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Pygmalion wrote: »

Except nobody ever argues that, but feel free to keep building those strawmen.

It's a cute hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

kevin myers under opinon archive on www.unison.ie for excellent article on this 'article'

There was one striking feature about the shocking story of Simon McGinley, who on Wednesday was convicted of raping an 85-year old woman.

It is what wasn't reported -- which is that he is a Traveller. Had he been the victim of an attack, his identity as a Traveller would have been all over the media. But he was not the victim. He was the culprit: and thus the almost overwhelming silence about his background.

But no one conversant with the wilder extremes of Traveller behaviour and who heard about what happened in court the other day would be in any doubt about Simon McGinley's origins. It is almost inconceivable that young children from any other background would have been present, as his were (including one in nappies) to hear how he had brutally raped an 85-year-old woman.

Other details confirm this sense of an entirely different moral order. After the trial, his mother abused the victim's adult children, shouting that they should have put their mother in a home. Then there were protests at the refusal of prison officers to let his children speak to him before he was led away. They even shouted: "You didn't murder anyone. You shouldn't have got 21 years."

He himself declared to the victim's offspring: "Just remember. I never done it." (His semen was found on her bed and her injured genitals.)

Later, his mother, Mary McGinley, burst into song outside the courthouse, with a rendition of 'If Tomorrow Never Comes'. Perhaps the strangest aspect to this case was the presence, as a spectator in court, of the woman who McGinley had raped 12 years ago, when she was 13. She, too, is a Traveller. She had been babysitting for the McGinleys in 1997. While driving her home, McGinley violently attacked and raped her. Discovered by his wife in the course of this rape, he drove off naked and assaulted the girl again. She was thrown naked out the van, in front of her mother and his wife. She and her family were threatened with being "cut" -- he always carried a knife -- and told not to report the rape.

She later became famous as the 'Miss C', who went to England for an abortion. And although he was only 25 at the time, the court heard at his first trial that he had a daughter nearly her age.

It is almost impossible to imagine the details of this case occurring within the non-Travelling community, from the wife finding her naked husband raping the 13-year old babysitter, to a 25-year-old man having a child of nearly 13, to his mother singing 'If Tomorrow Never Comes' outside the courtroom in which he had been imprisoned for raping a woman of 85.

Now all of us broadly know that Travellers, from their capital T, to their unreciprocated expectations from the rest of society, are different from us. This dissimilarity has been built into an entire rights industry, which many Travellers know all about, and exploit to the full. Even that risible entity, the Equality Authority, which has done more to provoke the compensation culture than any other government-funded body, has called "Enough".

Of the 37 cases taken to the authority last year, only two were upheld; and of the 35 dismissed, 25 were from Travellers. One such Traveller representative, Heather Rosen, has actually been fined €7,800 by the authority, a truly bizarre achievement, the equivalent of GOAL robbing starving Africans. Her dozens of frivolous complaints, on behalf of Travellers, have cost Clare County Council €150,000 in legal fees. She was actually subsidised to make her complaints by an organisation called Social Entrepreneurs Ireland: well, certainly no one can accuse her of lacking enterprise.

This, alas, cannot be said more generally of her community. Less than 14pc of Travellers are in mainstream employment, the Equality Authority's Niall Crowley revealed last December. Ten separate organisations came together to give employment for Travellers. They managed to get jobs for just 39 of them.

Indeed, the chronic failure to treat Travellers according to normal laws caused Fingal council not to evict some Traveller squatters from Dunsink for years; and then the council had to pay them €5.47m to move.

Moreover, were this column about the poor, baffled and unsuccessful resident of the sink estates of Dublin, Limerick and Galway, it would not cause a legal problem. But because it is about Travellers, absurd "hate" legislation could be invoked against me and this newspaper. For we have created a legal apartheid for Travellers, in which all sorts of aberrant behaviour, from chronic alcoholism, to pathological educational under-achievement and lethal faction fights, is not merely tolerated, but actually called "culture".

The poisonous rights and victimhood litigiousness has been sedulously cultivated by state agencies, not merely corrupting the relationship between the Traveller population and the settled, but also robbing us of our right to tell and hear the truth. Worse still, it has deprived so many Travellers of a sense of moral decency, and so behaviour that is shocking is not even seen as such. Most dreadfully of all, evil men like Simon McGinley are loudly proclaimed by their womenfolk simply to be victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

The ethnic background of the rapist is not the issue, it is his actions.

Yes he is a filthy racist scumbag, but his ethnic background is irrelavent.

besides, Myers is the proverbial bomb thrower just like that power woman in the Sunday Times, and should be ignored. always looking for something controversial to say to get people roiled up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

god i seen the ma outside.
    "i think his sentence is too long"

mathair le dia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Whosbetter? & Uncle Arthur, keep your posts on topic in future.

kevin myers under opinon archive on www.unison.ie for excellent article on this 'article'

There was one striking feature about the shocking story of Simon McGinley, who on Wednesday was convicted of raping an 85-year old woman.

It is what wasn't reported -- which is that he is a Traveller. Had he been the victim of an attack, his identity as a Traveller would have been all over the media. But he was not the victim. He was the culprit: and thus the almost overwhelming silence about his background.

But no one conversant with the wilder extremes of Traveller behaviour and who heard about what happened in court the other day would be in any doubt about Simon McGinley's origins. It is almost inconceivable that young children from any other background would have been present, as his were (including one in nappies) to hear how he had brutally raped an 85-year-old woman.

Other details confirm this sense of an entirely different moral order. After the trial, his mother abused the victim's adult children, shouting that they should have put their mother in a home. Then there were protests at the refusal of prison officers to let his children speak to him before he was led away. They even shouted: "You didn't murder anyone. You shouldn't have got 21 years."

He himself declared to the victim's offspring: "Just remember. I never done it." (His semen was found on her bed and her injured genitals.)

Later, his mother, Mary McGinley, burst into song outside the courthouse, with a rendition of 'If Tomorrow Never Comes'. Perhaps the strangest aspect to this case was the presence, as a spectator in court, of the woman who McGinley had raped 12 years ago, when she was 13. She, too, is a Traveller. She had been babysitting for the McGinleys in 1997. While driving her home, McGinley violently attacked and raped her. Discovered by his wife in the course of this rape, he drove off naked and assaulted the girl again. She was thrown naked out the van, in front of her mother and his wife. She and her family were threatened with being "cut" -- he always carried a knife -- and told not to report the rape.

She later became famous as the 'Miss C', who went to England for an abortion. And although he was only 25 at the time, the court heard at his first trial that he had a daughter nearly her age.

It is almost impossible to imagine the details of this case occurring within the non-Travelling community, from the wife finding her naked husband raping the 13-year old babysitter, to a 25-year-old man having a child of nearly 13, to his mother singing 'If Tomorrow Never Comes' outside the courtroom in which he had been imprisoned for raping a woman of 85.

Now all of us broadly know that Travellers, from their capital T, to their unreciprocated expectations from the rest of society, are different from us. This dissimilarity has been built into an entire rights industry, which many Travellers know all about, and exploit to the full. Even that risible entity, the Equality Authority, which has done more to provoke the compensation culture than any other government-funded body, has called "Enough".

Of the 37 cases taken to the authority last year, only two were upheld; and of the 35 dismissed, 25 were from Travellers. One such Traveller representative, Heather Rosen, has actually been fined €7,800 by the authority, a truly bizarre achievement, the equivalent of GOAL robbing starving Africans. Her dozens of frivolous complaints, on behalf of Travellers, have cost Clare County Council €150,000 in legal fees. She was actually subsidised to make her complaints by an organisation called Social Entrepreneurs Ireland: well, certainly no one can accuse her of lacking enterprise.

This, alas, cannot be said more generally of her community. Less than 14pc of Travellers are in mainstream employment, the Equality Authority's Niall Crowley revealed last December. Ten separate organisations came together to give employment for Travellers. They managed to get jobs for just 39 of them.

Indeed, the chronic failure to treat Travellers according to normal laws caused Fingal council not to evict some Traveller squatters from Dunsink for years; and then the council had to pay them €5.47m to move.

Moreover, were this column about the poor, baffled and unsuccessful resident of the sink estates of Dublin, Limerick and Galway, it would not cause a legal problem. But because it is about Travellers, absurd "hate" legislation could be invoked against me and this newspaper. For we have created a legal apartheid for Travellers, in which all sorts of aberrant behaviour, from chronic alcoholism, to pathological educational under-achievement and lethal faction fights, is not merely tolerated, but actually called "culture".

The poisonous rights and victimhood litigiousness has been sedulously cultivated by state agencies, not merely corrupting the relationship between the Traveller population and the settled, but also robbing us of our right to tell and hear the truth. Worse still, it has deprived so many Travellers of a sense of moral decency, and so behaviour that is shocking is not even seen as such. Most dreadfully of all, evil men like Simon McGinley are loudly proclaimed by their womenfolk simply to be victims.

Why do people keep giving that cretin Myers attention?

Fuck him and his badly written word vomit.

The ethnic background of the rapist is not the issue, it is his actions.

Yes he is a filthy racist scumbag, but his ethnic background is irrelavent.

besides, Myers is the proverbial bomb thrower just like that power woman in the Sunday Times, and should be ignored. always looking for something controversial to say to get people roiled up.

A lot of people would have a problem with you using that word, in that context. There was not an ethnic issue with the rape of a woman in her 80's on that morning.

Of course a person's background should be brought up, including living **** to shovel in your attitude towards others. The rapist AND the family, seemingly living in an ethical and moral vacuum, at the state's expense.

If you want to live a certain way, physically.. and remove your children from a stable social structure (schooling etc), at what point is it a self imposed set of problems and issues.. and not society's?

There's no race issue. I am a traveller, you are a traveller.. because travellers are us, they just choose to live a different way. You make your bed and lie in it.

Why do people keep giving that cretin Myers attention?

Fuck him and his badly written word vomit.

He is perfectly entitled to his opinions.
    Freedom of speech ..........

galwayrush wrote: »
    He is perfectly entitled to his opinions.
    Freedom of speech ..........

Nobody said he wasn't, learn to read.

What i want to know is why do people give his shitty opinion any credence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

A lot of people would have a problem with you using that word, in that context. There was not an ethnic issue with the rape of a woman in her 80's on that morning.

Of course a person's background should be brought up, including living **** to shovel in your attitude towards others. The rapist AND the family, seemingly living in an ethical and moral vacuum, at the state's expense.

If you want to live a certain way, physically.. and remove your children from a stable social structure (schooling etc), at what point is it a self imposed set of problems and issues.. and not society's?

There's no race issue. I am a traveller, you are a traveller.. because travellers are us, they just choose to live a different way. You make your bed and lie in it.

My opinions are my own, and I am just as free to express them as you are, so **** what a lot of people think.

The debate over whether travellers are an ethnic group is a different matter which is not relavent to the thread. so am not going to get into it.