Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameservers.ie - Looking for testers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Gameservers.ie: Paul

I notice you don't have prices or information on the voice servers, any idea of rough prices.

With the licensing requirements on both the big players in the voice server market (Teamspeak/Ventrilo) we decided to not offer voice servers by default unless there was shown to be some kind of interest/demand. There are currently no votes on our "what should we support next" poll.

Obviously, we exist to satisfy our customers demand (and turn some kind of profit!) so unless you guys MAKE us support voice servers it will be left to one side for now while we focus on what people want :)
    Also are the server ranked ones in the case of the BF series ?
    Alas, currently these servers are unranked. We are in the process of applying for "certification" (? right word to use ?) from EA in order to allow us to run ranked servers. This might be a reasonably tricky feat reading about the horror stories that exist. While you can run mods/trick with any setting you want/be a dick of an admin on unranked servers, you need EAs blessing before they will let you run ranked and have your settings synced centrally etc. There will be a blog post when there is an update on this!

-update-

Also, I forgot to mention. The requirements for hosting free ranked servers (10 initially) and extra ranked servers the more clients you achieve could well cripple us if go for this too early. Depending on how initial rollout goes for the "bread and butter" server offerings of CS, CS:S & TF2 this could be something we do push for in the future! (Again, everything depends on demand :) )

Regards,
    Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

With the licensing requirements on both the big players in the voice server market (Teamspeak/Ventrilo) we decided to not offer voice servers by default unless there was shown to be some kind of interest/demand. There are currently no votes on our "what should we support next" poll.

I must say I'd be surprised if you don't offer a voice option along with your server hosting, it fairly typical from the server I've rented to have one with a limited number of slots thrown in. It is part and parcel of online play and socialising for clans/guilds after all. Perhaps even something like mubble would be worth investigating.

Hope you don't mind me been so nosey :)

Are you going to be offering a facility for hosting games which aren't on the list of games you provided ?
    I can't help but imagine that the number of players requiring server isn't that large here in Ireland, at least that was my experience when we ran the servers in iol.

I must say I'd be surprised if you don't offer a voice option along with your server hosting, it fairly typical from the server I've rented to have one with a limited number of slots thrown in. It is part and parcel of online play and socialising for clans/guilds after all. Perhaps even something like mubble would be worth investigating.

Hope you don't mind me been so nosey :)

Nosey? Not at all! While steam based games have some level of voice chat thrown in, with the likes of BF voice is an important aspect. It's just a point of scale. It just wouldn't make sense for us to get licensing sorted for teamspeak and ventrilo unless we had either a bunch of servers sold (if they were to be bundled in as you suggested) or there was a massive demand for such a service as a separate product.

Saying all this, we still haven't "launched" as a company, just in the initial testing stages with regards our setup. The system as it stands does allow for voice servers to be bundled with gameservers and the control panel allows for management of said. Mubble is also an option... i didn't realise it was used that much in the mainstream through? Would many people avail of a mubble service? Would it be attractive if it was offered free along with a gameserver?
    Are you going to be offering a facility for hosting games which aren't on the list of games you provided ?
    Good question! We have a menu item in our primary links "Game VPS". More information on this to come (when we actually finish optimisation!). Suffice to say it will offer clans/individuals a logical dual/quad core box, 2-4gigs of fast, fully buffered memory in the same fast network as the shared gameservers with 2 IP addresses. The question stands whether a service like this requires an integrated CP or would a prospective admin have the skills required to administer over a CLI.
    I can't help but imagine that the number of players requiring server isn't that large here in Ireland, at least that was my experience when we ran the servers in iol.
    That's the big question! Here's hoping that if the price is right and the service of a very high quality, Irish gamers will stay in the country and not be as quick to jump over to the UK providers.

Regards,
    Paul

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Mr E wrote: »
    Only cool people like Pat in Gamesnash get their name in red.
    Paul has to prove himself first. :)

Seriously, only subscribers can change their tag line, and subscribers have coloured stars. I'll check anyway....

Ha Ha - long time since anyone even jokingly referred to me as being cool :D

Best of luck with the venture Paul.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

I find the Web based console a little slow, but its web based after all!
    I have a L4D server running on it. FTP transfers are fast, but multiple transfers at once seem to slow it down somewhat queue-wise, not speed wise! (filezilla).

HLSW is a great console/chat/Rcon tool, you can set up Mirc bots if you wish, im not sure how that works. Going to restart the server for the plugins as soon as this campaign is over. If anyone needs help with L4D servers PM me.

There are no latency issues on my server. No random lag spikes from what i can see an i have seen no-one complaining about rates or tick (I suppose you dont get that on L4d). I would tell you if people have any issues with the web based control panel, then you should direct them to third party gui based RCon programs such as the one I've previously mentioned. The web based one just doesn't do it for me. The commands are slow to input and the refresh rate of the console is 5 seconds, give or take. The "Demo" at http://gamecp.com/?key=demo seems to be down at the moment so im not sure how that would compare to yours, but i assume it would be the same given yours is probably hosted by them anyways?!

Thanks Paul, I'll surely think about it if the price is right come August.

I find the Web based console a little slow, but its web based after all!
    I have a L4D server running on it. FTP transfers are fast, but multiple transfers at once seem to slow it down somewhat queue-wise, not speed wise! (filezilla).

Hi, FTP transfers should be nice and speedy. Not sure what you mean "slow down queue-wise, not speed wise"?
    HLSW is a great console/chat/Rcon tool, you can set up Mirc bots if you wish, im not sure how that works. Going to restart the server for the plugins as soon as this campaign is over. If anyone needs help with L4D servers PM me.
    Yup, HLSW is the biz. I would deffo recommend it for your normal rcon type control.
    There are no latency issues on my server. No random lag spikes from what i can see an i have seen no-one complaining about rates or tick (I suppose you dont get that on L4d).
    Great stuff!
    I would tell you if people have any issues with the web based control panel, then you should direct them to third party gui based RCon programs such as the one I've previously mentioned. The web based one just doesn't do it for me. The commands are slow to input and the refresh rate of the console is 5 seconds, give or take.
    An inherent problem with any kind of centralised control panel is that the the server applications run distributed across numerous machines and console output/command input etc. needs to go from the CP>ssh>screen and back again. The benefits of centralised CP seperate from the actual server outweight the slow access times, but we can appreciate this can be irritating! Tweaking and refining these speeds is something that is ongoing along with finalising the Game VPS product.
    The "Demo" at http://gamecp.com/?key=demo seems to be down at the moment so im not sure how that would compare to yours, but i assume it would be the same given yours is probably hosted by them anyways?!
    We license the base source for the CP from gamecp, but our version has some extra features hacked in and support for our custom virtualised cluster. The CP is hosted in the same LAN as the game server cluster itself.
    Thanks Paul, I'll surely think about it if the price is right come August.
    In that case, we'd better get the price right!

Regards,
    Paul

Hi, FTP transfers should be nice and speedy. Not sure what you mean "slow down queue-wise, not speed wise"?
    Ahh i think its a problem with FZ, it refreshes the directory after every file uploaded and adds to the time taken for multiple transfers.
    An inherent problem with any kind of centralised control panel is that the the server applications run distributed across numerous machines and console output/command input etc. needs to go from the CP>ssh>screen and back again. The benefits of centralised CP seperate from the actual server outweight the slow access times, but we can appreciate this can be irritating! Tweaking and refining these speeds is something that is ongoing along with finalising the Game VPS product.
    We license the base source for the CP from gamecp, but our version has some extra features hacked in and support for our custom virtualised cluster. The CP is hosted in the same LAN as the game server cluster itself.
    Thanks for the detailed explanation, I appreciate the time you are putting into it, and the chance to test and give feedback on it. Ye obviously have put a lot of work into this and im hoping the net access prices aren't too high, especially this month coming!

Also, the INEX link in your original post is dead or the DNS servers are acting up.

Thanks for the detailed explanation, I appreciate the time you are putting into it, and the chance to test and give feedback on it. Ye obviously have put a lot of work into this and im hoping the net access prices aren't too high, especially this month coming!
    No problem at all! We believe in our service and the general feeling is that if we're as open and honest as possible about our infrastructure, challenges, plans etc. people will trust and appreciate the quality of the service we provide! That sounds a bit Marketing BS, but it's the truth!
    Also, the INEX link in your original post is dead or the DNS servers are acting up.
    Whoops, I left out the www. - www.inex.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Saying all this, we still haven't "launched" as a company, just in the initial testing stages with regards our setup. The system as it stands does allow for voice servers to be bundled with gameservers and the control panel allows for management of said. Mubble is also an option... i didn't realise it was used that much in the mainstream through? Would many people avail of a mubble service? Would it be attractive if it was offered free along with a gameserver?

If you can offer a free private voice server setup already for users and they all have to do is enter a password for it then I think people would jump on it. Everybody likes free stuff and there isn't really that much difference between the voice software that most people would have allegiance to Ventrillo IMO anyway.

Private chat really helps in a game like L4D.

Signed up for TF2 server, I'm guessing there won't be any movement on it on the day of rest :D

Seems very affordable TBH so I don't think you'll have much problem finding people to sign up. Cheaper than UK services I've looked at when you take into account conversion rates.

Best of luck with it.

thebman wrote: »
    If you can offer a free private voice server setup already for users and they all have to do is enter a password for it then I think people would jump on it. Everybody likes free stuff and there isn't really that much difference between the voice software that most people would have allegiance to Ventrillo IMO anyway.

Private chat really helps in a game like L4D.
    Yes, but for games like L4D, it provides chat capability as is. As do most Steam games.
    Signed up for TF2 server, I'm guessing there won't be any movement on it on the day of rest :D
    "Day of rest" indeed :) Your details should be with you now.
    Seems very affordable TBH so I don't think you'll have much problem finding people to sign up. Cheaper than UK services I've looked at when you take into account conversion rates.
    Again, prices arn't final but if they're going to change, they'll be changing down.

Regards,
    Paul

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Alas, currently these servers are unranked. We are in the process of applying for "certification" (? right word to use ?) from EA in order to allow us to run ranked servers. This might be a reasonably tricky feat reading about the horror stories that exist. While you can run mods/trick with any setting you want/be a dick of an admin on unranked servers, you need EAs blessing before they will let you run ranked and have your settings synced centrally etc. There will be a blog post when there is an update on this!l

I don't know if you'll find a lot of interest in BF2 in Ireland. Maybe best to focus on BF1943 due to be released this September.

There is a lot of support for BF2 worldwide but not much in Ireland these days.

Ponster wrote: »
    I don't know if you'll find a lot of interest in BF2 in Ireland. Maybe best to focus on BF1943 due to be released this September.

Absolutely, we're going to have to stay on our toes with regards new releases. Don't want people having to go over the water if we're slow with support!

Regards,
    Paul

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Applying now:)

Two questions:
    What is the story with adding server mods? I would love to add the RTD Mod to my TF2 server if I were to be accpeted.
    Would you consider Insurgency Mod for your product list. Its continually grown since its release(I played the first public version, then stopped when my clan moved to COD4). AFAIK there are no irish servers, and I think if somebody was to host one there are sufficient players to keep it busy. When I played half the clan were from N.I.

Fingers Crossed,
    Lethal.

Two questions:
    What is the story with adding server mods? I would love to add the RTD Mod to my TF2 server if I were to be accpeted.
    No problem with mods. Minor issue is that the CP has to control the command that actually starts and stops the server binary. Install whatever files that are required and then open a ticket with any non standard command line options required. No hard limits on space usage as of yet, which will have to change once we go live.
    Would you consider Insurgency Mod for your product list. Its continually grown since its release(I played the first public version, then stopped when my clan moved to COD4). AFAIK there are no irish servers, and I think if somebody was to host one there are sufficient players to keep it busy. When I played half the clan were from N.I.
    Shouldn't be a massive deal to offer Insurgency support - Easiest games to offer are anything based on the HL engine (since steam is such a great update tool!)

I'll add it to the site poll and if there's enough interest we'll add support. Although it'll have to get a good few votes to get up there with arma2 :)

Regards,
    Paul

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Good luck with this Paul.
    Ive emailed quite a few of my old first person shooter mates from old clans linking to this thread and your site.

Dcully wrote: »
    Good luck with this Paul.
    Ive emailed quite a few of my old first person shooter mates from old clans linking to this thread and your site.

That's very good of you :) We're pushing 30 servers setups now. Still to see a 20+ slot server at even close to capacity!

Regards,
    Paul

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

I have tried to add the CP_orange_x3 map to my tf2 server, but I can't. I tried to put the .bz2 file in a new directory "maps" in "tf2". But it won't let me make the "maps" folder. Any advice Paul?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Yeah mines setup already.

Getting a 7ms ping time :D

It was easy to setup eveything although a neat feature would be a FAQ or wiki for people on different options for the config files.

I had to google for different configs and to find out what different things meant etc...

Not too much of an issue but might be a nice to have a public wiki that people could add to with you branding on it as a free marketing tool as people google for what the different cvars mean ;)

Maybe there is a place like that already but I just haven't run into it in my google searches yet. I ran into some places trying to help people setup cfg's but mostly I'd rather have a comprehensive list of everything that I could search.

I've put out the word about my server so hope to get as many as possible online soon enough :D

About in game voice things like L4D. I know they exist but a lot of people want to use their own chat as well for conversations so as not to flood the game chat. Like a few freinds I play with in the states use Ventrillo all the time as there is 4 or 5 of us and talk about all sorts of things but playing versus you have a public lobby with a few randomers and you don't want to annoy them or have them know about your rash down there :P

I think people would mostly use it for stuff like that. I just have a separate button assigned to each for public and private chat. I don't know if there is much demand for it outside of that but when I said I was playing L4D using Ventrillo, everyone I run into seems to go oh yeah I use that too or know other people using it so it seems quite popular.

giggsy664 wrote: »
    I have tried to add the CP_orange_x3 map to my tf2 server, but I can't. I tried to put the .bz2 file in a new directory "maps" in "tf2". But it won't let me make the "maps" folder. Any advice Paul?

It's definitely the best idea to open a ticket about this kind of thing. Means we can assign it to someone to look into it and get back to you. Try and include as much info as possible! Like, if you're using FTP or the CP file management interface etc.
    thebman wrote: »
    Yeah mines setup already.

Getting a 7ms ping time :D
    Yippie!
    It was easy to setup eveything although a neat feature would be a FAQ or wiki for people on different options for the config files.
    ..snip..
    Yup, this was touched on before. I think we'll deffo have some kind of knowledge-base for config stuff.
    About in game voice things like L4D. I know they exist but a lot of people want to use their own chat as well for conversations so as not to flood the game chat.
    ..snip..
    I don't know if there is much demand for it outside of that but when I said I was playing L4D using Ventrillo, everyone I run into seems to go oh yeah I use that too or know other people using it so it seems quite popular.
    I absolutely take your point. It's just a matter of demand and whether the majority of folk think it's a draw. Currently voice servers only has 3 votes on the poll for "Next to Implement". Saying this, mubble looks like it might be a contender for implementation, at least for testing purposes (and no messing about with licensing!)

Regards,
    Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

giggsy664 wrote: »
    tbh, that just proves that you are not good with servers, and you are just taking the mick out of this offer. The point of it is to test the servers against heavy loads to see how they last, not for newbies to learn how to put a map on a server *roll* have you added the map to mapcycle.txt etc?

CutzEr wrote: »
    tbh, that just proves that you are not good with servers, and you are just taking the mick out of this offer. The point of it is to test the servers against heavy loads to see how they last, not for newbies to learn how to put a map on a server *roll* have you added the map to mapcycle.txt etc?

Well... I don't think I'd completely agree on the above... I agree it's probably a good idea to at least know what map files are and where they go - but the purposes of this trial is also to test out the CP and logical snafus etc. Considering giggsy knows what he WANTS to do, and is just having trouble doing it... everyone has to start somewhere with regards their admin career :)

I'd be happy if more people showed an interest in learning and then gave us money to host their server!

Regards,
    Paul

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Yes, I am a newb. Never ran a server before in my life. Didn't ever hear of a "mapcycle.txt" before

Also what Paul said

Ah now lads, no need for it.

I was somewhat nub at this until I got an 8 slot server off Paul.
    I knew how to set up custom CSS lans with mani and mapchange etc..
    But i knew feck all about L4D. Thats different now.

Im sure if Paul decides that there isn't much or any traffic or activity on some test servers he will disable them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fmjdrdeath

Hi lads,

I sent a request regarding a 24 slot server for COD4 through yesterday and unfortunately have yet to receive any confirmation.

As mentioned we are an international squad of passionate gamers willing to assist you in testing your server environment on offer. Currently we are running a gameserver @ 217.163.26.223:28960 which I would like to mirror on your platform to see its performance.

It would be great to get some feedback from your end - I also did not complete the message I wanted to send along with the request - it is important to me to find out if the test server - should it be granted - will have to be cancelled before the renewal date to avoid any subscription before being sure that your service is the right thing for us?! :)

thanks

fmjdrdeath

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Looking eager to see if any Arma 2 servers go up, I believe there is a large demand for it, and seemingly most MP servers are very unstable for irish players.

Best of luck with the venture, I fear you might be a few years too late, but hoepfully all goes well.

fmjdrdeath wrote: »
    Hi lads,

I sent a request regarding a 24 slot server for COD4 through yesterday and unfortunately have yet to receive any confirmation.

As mentioned we are an international squad of passionate gamers willing to assist you in testing your server environment on offer. Currently we are running a gameserver @ 217.163.26.223:28960 which I would like to mirror on your platform to see its performance.
    Hi there, we were actually quite excited to have you test out the platform - there is nobody else testing out CoD4. However, it seemed your store submission had no server associated with it, so showed up in our billing/provision system as a purchase with no packages associated. Somebody should have sent you an email explaining this hiccup.

If you wouldn't mind going through the process again we can set you up ASAP.

It would be great to get some feedback from your end - I also did not complete the message I wanted to send along with the request - it is important to me to find out if the test server - should it be granted - will have to be cancelled before the renewal date to avoid any subscription before being sure that your service is the right thing for us?! :)
    Good question, I don't think it was addressed directly before. This is a pure test account, no tricking people into paying after the month is up etc. No obligation beyond the 1 month free testing.

TheDoc wrote: »
    Looking eager to see if any Arma 2 servers go up, I believe there is a large demand for it, and seemingly most MP servers are very unstable for irish players.
    Unofficially we're looking to get something going with regards Arma2 by the end of the week. Few hurdles to jump first... the dedicated server functions slightly different then other game types - server goes into sleep mode when not running, server locks all configs etc. while so no files can be touched/changed. It's apparently also a beast with regards system resource usage... something we'll have to fully benchmark (here's hoping with help from you guys!)

Anyways, unofficially, initially support by "end of the week" - fingers crossed including CP integration.
    Best of luck with the venture, I fear you might be a few years too late, but hoepfully all goes well.
    Alas, I don't believe a company such as this could have existed in this country a few years ago. Hosting and bandwidth in the UK has always been much cheaper in comparison to Ireland (it still is). Fingers crossed we can get off the ground and compete for your business :)

Regards,
    Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

A gameserver company is looking for business from all gamers from newbies to proz0rz! If they priovide support to the people with less knowledge then they're going to gain a good reputation.

A suggestion for the site paul, do up some tutorials to cover the source engnie servers with extra pages to cover the specific games that will have different variants. Maybe a wiki.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    A suggestion for the site paul, do up some tutorials to cover the source engnie servers with extra pages to cover the specific games that will have different variants. Maybe a wiki.

While tutorials may be outside of the scope of what we'd be looking to provide (there are many, many tutorials for this kind of thing online) a wiki has been mentioned a few times on this thread so far. More then likely this, is the route we'll take.

Regards,
    Paul

Hi All,

Apparently it was quite easy to add Insurgency support, so that skips the polling process. It's up now in the store for anyone who wants to sign up for the free month trial. (I believe someone here mentioned it before?)

Regards,
    Paul

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Hi All,

Apparently it was quite easy to add Insurgency support, so that skips the polling process. It's up now in the store for anyone who wants to sign up for the free month trial. (I believe someone here mentioned it before?)

Regards,
    Paul

I did. Nice one lads:)

/me runs to re-install INS-Mod:D

I already have a TF2 application in, but I'd much prefer INS. Do you wanna keep the application and just change the game when you create the server, or should I re-apply?

Thanks,
    Lethal.