Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour Of Ireland Route Announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I was in bike shop yday that has been asked to provide a bike for Lances mammy. She is going to do some cycling for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

ROK ON wrote: »
    I was in bike shop yday that has been asked to provide a bike for Lances mammy. She is going to do some cycling for the weekend.

In Dub? I wonder is he bringing any of his friends over for a weekend in 'Eye-re -land' ( not good at writting phonetics)

No this was last night in Killarney.

Given that Lance is minted, I would not be surprised if he stays somewhere like The Park Hotel in Kenmare (halfway between Killarney and Bantry). Hoping so, then I may get to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

Going to cycle down on Friday to catch the action. Trying to think of some good spots for it. All I can think of is Callary or the drag just after Annamoe. I might go out through Enniskerry first and see if I can get into Powerscourt and see the preparations and then head out the road and find a vantage point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

All riders now announced.

http://www.tourofireland.ie/teams.php

Lance brought a strong bunch.Hope I get to meet Popo! That Jesus Hernandez is supposed to be class too.
    A guy I think will be a big contender is Andrey Grivko ISD-Neri.The course really suits him.

No Jens :(

Happy to see Paidi O'brien is back on the bike after his hand injury. i hope he does well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

what no vino (or rasmussen) i'm disappointed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

No Jens :(

Happy to see Paidi O'brien is back on the bike after his hand injury. i hope he does well.

No he's not in good enough shape yet. Have you seen the vid of him from hospital saying hi to his fans? It's a classic - if not I will try and post it here from my forum back home.

They are wanting volunteers for the finish stages, which is a pain, not going to Waterford for it or back to Cork, was there a couple of weekend ago, sorry, but have to say what a crazy town to try and get out of, or worse still around!!:eek:

Also wanting volunteers for Livestrong Foundation at RDS, so might volunteer for that.

ozchick wrote: »
    No he's not in good enough shape yet. Have you seen the vid of him from hospital saying hi to his fans?
    I saw it and believed that the warrior he is would be well enough to come over to see us.
    They are wanting volunteers for the finish stages
    Prob to marshall the roads.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

For owners of the iphone there is a tour of Ireland app available which will carry live updates of this years tour, go to the appstore and search for Tour of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Need to change the Ireland ASAP on the website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

regarding mount leinster lads, would you have to b there at the crack of dawn to get a decent vantage point? oh yeah, and parking, whats the craic with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

regarding mount leinster lads, would you have to b there at the crack of dawn to get a decent vantage point? oh yeah, and parking, whats the craic with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I called in to the Ritz Carlton today to see about access on Friday. Thumbs up to the extremely helpful and polite (no, not being sarcastic) reception staff. They say that the hotel complex will shut between 8.15 and 8.30am. I forgot to ask is that for spectators or just motors (Caroline.ie might be able to answer that one). Also, the entire Powerscourt Estate itself will shut the main gate at 9am. For those not familiar with the area if you get in before 9 and are driving continue past the hotel for a few hundred metres and the is a large FREE car park-should be plenty of space. Not much going on at this stage but did notice one "Fiat" race type car leaving the grounds. Either he was locked or has not got used to driving on the left yet. I'll presume it's the latter (I won't jump to any other conclusions).

Question for the aforementioned Caroline, you mentioned that there will be a shop at the start-when does that go up, is it on the day or beforehand?

Me, I think I'll go to Calary and then drag the kids to Aughrim or Shillelagh with the hang sangwiches. They won't mind-last year I made them come to Inistioge!

Anyway, hope that helps a few of you.

Hi :)

I am not really sure where the shop will be, but my best guess would be outside the hotel where the sign on will take place or in the vicinity. It will depend on how much the whoel thing expends. I think you should be able to walk or cycle up after the complex is closed, I remember the area was shut last year at the Grand Canal and the previous year at Kilkenny, but people were still wandering around, of course! I won't be at the start Thursday, unfortunately I have to head down early to the finish.
    I should know more tomorrow evening when I am back from my 1st day getting things ready, I will tell you what I can. I will ask the questions on behalf of the irish cycling fans :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Whats your job at the finish Caroline ?

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Whats your job at the finish Caroline ?
    I am the press officer :) ( we're 3 )

Dont see your name in Race Manual.... are you unofficial ?

My last name is not IE lol ( i am under HQ )

which one are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Freddy687

Would anyone know where the feed stations are going to be on stages 2 and 3. I cannot find a detailed map of the route anywhere. My son would love to get a bottle and/ or a musette.

Ah there you are great stuff....... welcome to the Race.... You looking forward to it... ?? Did you get you hotel manual yet ??? ..Im Security (Sec2) by the way.

my second year back. should a lot of work for the lot of us.

you bet we have to do starts and then try and get ahead of race to help out at finish its manic I swear....and this year I dont know wots ahead of us...maybe its just aswell its only 3 days and not 5 as previous years...anyway Im looking forward to it.... although Its going to be difficult for all involved who knew Paul knowing he should have been racing.

Freddy687 wrote: »
    Would anyone know where the feed stations are going to be on stages 2 and 3. I cannot find a detailed map of the route anywhere. My son would love to get a bottle and/ or a musette.

Stage 2 Clonmel to Killarney feed @ 97.3 km approx 16km after sprint at Castletownroche

Stage 3 Bantry to Cork feed @99.6 km approx 3km after sprint at Kinsale

Will be clearly marked on the day with large roadside FEED signs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

Its a big mountain - it won't be full! (although LA may bring one or two more spectators)

This was the first 3 over last year. You can see there's loads of room. The KOM line is on the flat part near the car park at the Nine Stones. There were groups of people at various points along the climb. Visibility had been terrible at the top 5 minutes earlier with a heavy mist down on the mountain and some people had gone back down to the lower, but steeper parts to watch.

You probably need to be in Bunclody before 12 to be on the safe side. Fastest arrival time in Bunclody is 12.16 and 12.33 at the KOM but I would guess its more likely to be at the avg or slowest times.

88421.jpg

Martin Irvine was the first Irishman over in 4th place

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Med 4 at your service ! Got the manual by email today ! (officially)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

King Kelly wrote: »
    Its a big mountain - it won't be full! (although LA may bring one or two more spectators)

This was the first 3 over last year. You can see there's loads of room. The KOM line is on the flat part near the car park at the Nine Stones. There were groups of people at various points along the climb. Visibility had been terrible at the top 5 minutes earlier with a heavy mist down on the mountain and some people had gone back down to the lower, but steeper parts to watch.

You probably need to be in Bunclody before 12 to be on the safe side. Fastest arrival time in Bunclody is 12.16 and 12.33 at the KOM but I would guess its more likely to be at the avg or slowest times.

88421.jpg

Martin Irvine was the first Irishman over in 4th place

cheers,

still not sure what part i want to view it from, im tempted to see the decent, just to see how quick they can go, but the climb is what seperates the men from the boys, so i reckon close to the top should be the option, then i might try and make the sprint in Waterford, ill have to see on that

RobFowl wrote: »
    Med 4 at your service ! Got the manual by email today ! (officially)

Robfowl were you part of the Ambulance crew last year ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Freddy687

BikerBhoy,
    Thanks for the post. The icons on the map dont match with the distances.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Robfowl were you part of the Ambulance crew last year ?
    Medical control :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

Has anybody got Mt Lenister in Google\MapMyRide?

Not familar with the climb/area and the OS map on the TOI website is not great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

decrrrrrr wrote: »
    Has anybody got Mt Lenister in Google\MapMyRide?

Not familar with the climb/area and the OS map on the TOI website is not great...

Some Map My Ride maps from the Mount Leinster Challenge here - http://www.slaneycyclingclub.com/?page_id=33

Regarding getting to Waterford for the finish, time schedules have the finish about 2 hours after Mt Leinster. I think it would be difficult to get there in time. I know the area well and doubt you would get from the mountain to the quay in waterford in under 1hour 15min with light traffic. Last year the break was 7/8 minutes ahead of the bunch which meant you would be at least 20 minutes down before you set off and you also need to get parking in Waterford which isn't easy on a good day.

If you watched the race from the bottom of the climb at Bunclody village you probably would make it going straight to Eniscorthy, New Ross and Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭mugwumpjism

I was thinking of watching the start at powerscourt and then trying to get to mount leinster for the ascent, anybody know the best place to park for mount leinster and how long would it take to get to the summit line from there? I'm not too familiar with the area..plus the ritz carlton where is that exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

I was thinking of watching the start at powerscourt and then trying to get to mount leinster for the ascent, anybody know the best place to park for mount leinster and how long would it take to get to the summit line from there? I'm not too familiar with the area..plus the ritz carlton where is that exactly?
    its in enniskerry take the road up hill with the school on your left ,powers court is on the right its less than a k from the village

does any one know the eta in thomastown as im working on route

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Fairly bad oil spill down rockshire road and onto the ferrybank dual carriage way tonight here in Waterford. This is part of the final 3km on Friday. The fire crews have been out tonight already putting down that green stuff on the roads. Rockshire road is a very dangerous hill to be coming down in normal conditions never mind in the wet, there is a tight right hand turn on to the dual carriage way and then it's slightly down hill again and then over the bridge for the last 1 km which is flat along the quays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

jwshooter wrote: »
    does any one know the eta in thomastown as im working on route

Thomastown 1.24pm

http://www.tourofireland.ie/stage1.php

blorg wrote: »

cheers blog ,its a half day tommrrow so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭poolboy

Any locals or anyone here know if it would be possible to go to clonmel saturday morning have a look around the start area and shoot off about 15mins before they leave to get up the vee ahead of them. Will road closures etc make this impossible? Also what road out of clonmel takes you up the vee any maps ive looked at have just confused me. Any info greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Was thinking of doing this myself.

How far of a drive is Mount Leinster from Powerscourt? Also are you allowed drive along the route from Powerscourt to Mount Leinster and how long before the start would I have to leave.

If thats not possible Im just going to go to Powerscourt and then to the cat 3 climb at the sugar loaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Beached

Was thinking of doing this myself.

How far of a drive is Mount Leinster from Powerscourt? Also are you allowed drive along the route from Powerscourt to Mount Leinster and how long before the start would I have to leave.

If thats not possible Im just going to go to Powerscourt and then to the cat 3 climb at the sugar loaf.

I have gone to the Local climbs for the tour of Ireland for the last 2 years (Healy Pass and Conor Pass). From what I can see, you can come and go as you please, even with the car. There might be a 15 min window before the race arrives on Mount Leinster that the road will be shut, but you would even get by that if ur on a bike.

Im looking out the window now, and its lashing. I really hope it clears up for ye tomorrow. Ill be watching the race on sat in comfort coming to Killarney, probably in the rain also

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

FFS, I've just been called for a job interview tomorrow at 1pm so I can't go and watch it. Don't even want this job but I need something.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Anyone watching the stage into Killarney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

Any ideas how early I'd have to be at St. Patrick's Hill to get a good spot to view the suffering? ToI.ie says they go up the hill for the first time at 1.35 pm, would an hour beforehand do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

A few pics from today uploaded. Just click on the sig

Networks are great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

kensutz wrote: »
    Just click on the sig

Sig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭triv88

The sig is the image in kensutz's profile,click on that.sir Lance looking cool:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ctrallying

Networks are great

not much different from mine best band in the world pity i cant pedal a bike like him:P